Get advice now

Get advice now

Irwin Mitchell LLP

0370 1500 100

View map
Irwin Mitchell LLP

How Irwin Mitchell LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 32%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Irwin Mitchell LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Irwin Mitchell LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Irwin Mitchell LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

1.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    2
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    8

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Heather

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

Heather

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS!!

Wish I could give zero stars!! On contacting them and the assistant taking 30 mins to take an account of my accident claim, the forms came through completely wrong, even saying i was an employee of the company i had the accident at!! No one got back to me after trying to contact them. When I said I was thinking of not going with them another person convinced me to stay so I signed the forms. TWO MONTHS LATER, I requested a phone call asking for an update and Tania Sultana calls to say she is still going through the claim and will get back to me by end of week. Within 1 minute, I get an email from her saying they are not going to continue with claim. ABSOLUTE TIME WASTERS!!!! AVOID, TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Was this review helpful?

Marion

Marion

December 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Help with child orders

My solicitor James Henshall at Irwin Mitchell was fantastic, so professional and yet providing a calming influence when needed .A totally lovely guy who got the job done ,excellent service ,this man has made my family look forward with hope and excitement, something we havent been able to do for a while .A massive thanku .

Was this review helpful?

Tania

Tania

December 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent would very highly recommend

At the most difficult time in my life, Hilary Wetherell at the Birmingham office has provided the most amazing support. Hilary really cares about her clients. The rehabilitation package she arranged for my daughter has helped her to recover to a stage that I didn't think would be possible. The award she has secured has exceeded all of my expectations. My daughter now has a secure and hopeful future. Hilary is always professional but personable and there when needed. I thank the day I made that first call to Irwin Mitchell!

Was this review helpful?

dylan

dylan

November 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Was Going to use them, NOT NOW AFTER READING REVIEWS.

I was looking for a Solicitor as my Legal Expenses Insurers are going to fund my case, after looking at these reviews I will not be using them, these reviews of the experience of clients by this company are very useful and help us avid having our cases aborted and made into a financial disaster.

I thank all the victims for sharing their experiences of this company and helping me avoid using them.

Was this review helpful?

Angela

Angela

September 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lackadaisical | Lazy | Money hungry | No priority | Poor Service

Shocking solicitor - should be remanded for utter laziness and fleecing clients for money. Had to remind him to progress case. Never responded to emails in good time. Never answered queries. Had to assist him with evidence which was in plain site.

Worst service from a solicitor I have ever had.

Took my case to another firm and would never recommend this firm.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

March 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Irwin Mitchell

My name is Stephen Reed and I am the victim of the most appalling treatment at the hands of John Vickery who has now left the profession. I was subjected to the most cruellest of perjury eventually resulting in me becoming Homeless but only after suffering from bribery and blackmail. My story is on most social media platforms including a video on YouTube under Afroman Scarecrow Productions.

Was this review helpful?

R

R

March 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anonymous

Do not use Lisa Roberts for conveyancing service is appalling and slow not to mention the untruthful statements

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Matter Type:

Building contracts and professional appointments

Jonathan

September 10, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disgraceful company,avoid.

We went through 18 months of with this company,we had 3 different paralegals which meant we had to go through the whole process with them each time,they told us to walk away and shake hands with the defendant as they stated the amount claimed would only be £300 (in fact we sued for over £10,000!!)They called us by our wrong names,they sent letters to the defendant in the wrong name and to add insult to injury they closed our case because they informed our insurance company we would not get any money.....because the defendant stated he had none!!! (The defendant had already settled two CCJ's against him).This company is a disgrace, avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

Richard

October 02, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Definitely not recommended if you want a professional service

I advise anyone NOT to engage this firm if you expect your claim to be properly handled by a qualified and experienced practitioner. It certainly did not happen for me.
They completely mishandled my claim against a roofing contractor and even worse failed to address the issues when I complained to them. They:
1) Assigned the 'assessment' of my claim to a "paralegal". Shorthand for "unqualified and/or inexperienced" in my case.
2) When I questioned a long list of fundamental errors and misunderstandings of my claim in the “initial assessment” of my claim, this "paralegal" could not (or would not) address ANY of my specific concerns. She demonstrated a complete lack of very basic knowledge (just one example was asking me why I was claiming for a new TV aerial instead of getting a quote to repair it when anyone with any common sense would know that the cost of replacing a TV aerial is primarily in the fitting and adjusting and they are NOT repairable.
3) The paralegal then came up with a fictitious 'value' for the company I was claiming against that was very low and then used this to dismiss my claim as being 'unrecoverable' against the contractor.
4) When I asked the paralegal to explain how this company ‘valuation’ was arrived at this was ignored and she then demanded that I provide an (unnecessary at this stage) expert witness statement that conformed to CPR part 2 when the brief she was working to was an initial assessment of the value and viability of my claim, not in preparing an application to court. This paralegal then used this unnecessary demand to cease acting on my claim unless I provided this court witness statement at my expense.
5) When I made a complaint to management about the apparent lack of inexperience and qualifications of the paralegal, and the failure to respond to my specific complaints, her manager completely failed to address any of the specific issue I had raised and simply closed ranks with her paralegal and summarily dismissed my complaints.
All together very poor service and you would be better of using a local (qualified and experienced) solicitor who would maintain a dialogue and get an understanding of the issues, and would have some legal qualifications.
Oh well, its off to the Legal Ombudsman then.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

Richard

September 29, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worst claim handler ever?

Complete waste of time if you engage this firm if you want your claim properly handled by a qualified and experienced practitioner.
They completely mishandled my claim against a roofing contractor and worse failed to address the many issues when I complained to them by:
1) Assigning the 'assessment' of my claim to a "paralegal". Shorthand for "unqualified and/or inexperienced" in my case.
2) When I questioned a long list of fundamental errors and misunderstanding of my claim in her initial 'assessment' of my claim, this "paralegal" could not (or would not) address ANY of my specific concerns. She demonstrated a complete lack of very basic knowledge (just one example was asking me why I was claiming for a new TV aerial instead of getting a quote to repair the completely destroyed item when anyone with common sense would know that the cost of replacing a TV aerial is primarily in the fitting and adjusting and they NOT repairable.
3) The paralegal then invented a fictitious 'value' for the company I was claiming against that was very low and then used this to dismiss my claim as being 'unrecoverable' against the contractor.
4) When I complained the same paralegal then demanded that I provide an (unnecessary at this stage) expert witness statement that conformed to CPR part 2 when the brief she was working to was an initial assessment of the value and viability of my claim, not in preparing an application to court. This paralegal then used this for unnecessary demand to cease acting on my claim.
5) When I made a complaint about the apparent inexperience and lack of qualifications of the paralegal her manager failed to address any of the specific issue I complained about and simply closed ranks with her paralegal and summarily dismissed my complaints.
Altogether very poor service and you would be better of using a local (qualified and experienced) solicitor rather than this firm

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Assault using a Taser gun
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • No Win No Fee
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing