Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Irwin Mitchell LLP

0370 1500 100

Also known as :

  • Im Private Wealth
  • Irwin Mitchell Private Wealth
View map
Irwin Mitchell LLP

How Irwin Mitchell LLP Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 38%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Irwin Mitchell LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 21%
No 79%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Irwin Mitchell LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Irwin Mitchell LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 18%
No 82%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Irwin Mitchell LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Irwin Mitchell LLP only have 20 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

1.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    4
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sean

Matter Type:

Sepsis Negligence Claims

Sean

January 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great at first, then no contact or updates

Did first/basic info gather. Had call back quite quickly and had cast iron case as trust had already admitted poor service liability. Resulting in permanent damage to joints called septic arthritis.

No call back, really disappointed in their attitude and felt my story not taken seriously. Not even a call back to explain.

I would not recommend this firm, they certainly don’t perform as well as their TV advert tries to show

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Debbie

August 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Misleading

All the other reveiws seem to have echoed what I was about to say, but be mindful when and if your doing " A no win, no fee", because they tell you it's originally 25% but that goes up when it gets to the nitty gritty of getting compensation. The Solicitor told me the terms were in the contract it can be as high as 40% and more, then why on earth did I start the process in the first place.
The contract reads like a Bible Amen to that I got to the first paragraph and gave up and they expect you've read it in times of turmoil in your life, no you must make it clear verbally.
Don't take anything for granted, don't make assumptions, because youl get the total opposite. I don't understand I was recommended by 2 people to go to Irwin Mitchell, why on earth didn't I go locally.

Was this review helpful?

Andy N Elaine

Andy N Elaine

July 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Life Changing accident

After a serious life changing accident at work I contacted Irwin Mitchell for advise. My case was assigned to Claire Newstead who came to see me to explain the process.
Claire was very professional and understanding and arranged everything I needed very promptly. She was only a phone call away and guided me through the legal process with ease. After nearly 40 months of trying to get a resolution, we finally agreed to settle out of court. I received substantial compensation thanks to the negotiating skills of our barrister, Daniel. I would wholeheartedly recommend Irwin Mitchell, especially Claire Newstead and her team at Leeds, to anybody, who requires legal advise and help. Ten stars from me for Irwin Mitchell.

Was this review helpful?

S

S

July 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deputy Irwin Mitchell Trust Corporation

After more than 12 months of ongoing issues, I raised in November 2021 a complaint about the deputy of my daughters complex care package, Irwin Mitchell LLP, represented by Julia Lomas and Lucy Nicol. As the law firm refused to take actions or find a resolution for any of the issues raised.

In summary, Irwin Mitchell caused severe and irreversible and continuing financial damage to my daughters limited care funds and compromised my daughters wellbeing, by means of
a) slow processing of urgent deputy related decisions, towards e.g. investments but also care relevant equipment.
b) repeated ignorance of mutually agreed processes, resulting in exorbitant time spend from my side to rectify and resolve issues created by the deputy
c) ongoing payment issues, processing invoices in relation to my daughters care to late or only after final warnings (with all related implications) have been issued, resulting in additional work, avoidable interest charged to my daughters care package and reputational and credit rating related damages to me

The entire deputy team appears unable to acknowledge or apologise for any errors made. Senior managers are poorly prepared, high defensive and argue even the most appalling errors made by their trainee teams - as client, we felt continuously left alone with poorly trained and sometimes unprofessional associates.

Stay away from the deputy team at Irwin Mitchell LLP

Was this review helpful?

Be

Be

July 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Research this company very well and take note of reviews

Virtually destroyed my chance of getting compensation for my accident. Consistent errors running through all the departments who handled this case. Altering factual I formation to suit themselves and dragging the case over 6 years. I am utterly disgusted by my experience. June 2022

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Only want money, not bothered about the law

want £2,000 just to speak to them I mean what more can be said, most places allow a free first consultation but these guys want money straight away.

Was this review helpful?

richard

richard

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Unreliable

Despite leaving messages and assusances of a reply within 24 hours, I'm still waiting a week later.
Would you put your legal trust in a firm that even can't organise themselves to return a call
I'm certainly not going to.

Was this review helpful?

C

Matter Type:

Medical Negligence

C

December 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jenna Harris

Today we received the telephone call that we never thought we would get – our Medical Negligence Claim had been settled out of court - This has only been possible due to the tenacity empathy and World Class support and advice from the WONDERFUL Jenna Harris.
Jenna and her team were recommend by so many people due to her ability to get results, she always has your back – she is a winner!
Jenna and her team provided clear realistic advice by also showing that as individuals they care but also Irwin Mitchell care about people.
Jenna, Jacqui and Kay have been fantastic keeping us updated on a weekly basis and being very sympathetic but factual to the issues we were faced with on a day to day basis.
The team go the extra mile for their clients and have been a great support from a legal and friendly perspective but also showing that they care and are very experienced in medical negligence and have been very honest with me from day one - which is something I really appreciate.
Jenna and the team are now considered family friends and should be looked at by clients as trusted advisors as they had the ability to make me and my family feel at ease when difficult conversations needed to be had.
Jenna's ability to build relationships quickly (even in a Pandemic) is World Class and in my humble opinion IM are so lucky to have her on the team as she is a massive asset to the Firm. I don't know where we would be without her !
For those of you out there who are unsure who to instruct and rely on for support with a medical negligence claim - we do not hesitate to recommend Jenna Harris and her team.
For those of you that might think that a big law firm like IM are to big to care, you are mistaken - we have to say that with every interaction we have with Jenna and the team, they ALWAYS ask how we are and how the family is - which is a game changer from other legal firms my colleagues and friends have instructed in the past.
Jenna gets to know you and your family and has the natural ability to build client relationships really quickly with her professional friendly manner. Jenna is surrounded by likeminded people who care about you, your family and the case.
Although as a family we have never actually met Jenna and the team face to face (due to COVID) they have become part of the family with all their support.
For a 'World Class,' friendly, realistic and professional approach - Speak to Jenna!!
Jenna – we can’t thank you enough for what you have done / achieved and the support you have given our family – you will always have a special place in our hearts as you have been able to give us closure on what was a terrible situation.

THANK YOU Jenna – you and the team are WONDERFUL!

Was this review helpful?

K

K

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible useless lazy greedgreedy

I was referred to Irwin Mitchell as my insurance company deals with them. Lindsey fox made sure to avoid all calls and emails despite chasing time and again knowing full well that my case was extremely time sensitive and there was a huge amount at stake that I was trying to recover. At each point she dragged things out the maximum possible time was rude uncooperative petty to the point of becoming impossible to deal with and threatened me constantly that she would ask my insurers to stop funding her legal fees. It has now been over 1 month and this incompetent woman with a chip on her shoulder has done less than nothing. Meanwhile I have been spending my hard earned money on lawyers directly. Now she has tried to get funding to 'write a letter' thT she knows has not only been written but also a response received. I have paid the insurance premium, I have paid lawyers directly, I have gone through so much stress and hassle to provide all the case material to this lazy incompetent woman and now she has had the cheek to get funding from my insurers to pay for her undeserved holiday without passing any benefits to me. Long story short despite my insurers paying out this greedy womN with a grudge to bear Hs made sure I get no help and made my case impossible and also kept the money for sitting Nd doing nothing but be a pain. IF YOUR INSURERS USE IM CHANGE THEM I KNOW I WILL.

Was this review helpful?

Heather

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

Heather

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS!!

Wish I could give zero stars!! On contacting them and the assistant taking 30 mins to take an account of my accident claim, the forms came through completely wrong, even saying i was an employee of the company i had the accident at!! No one got back to me after trying to contact them. When I said I was thinking of not going with them another person convinced me to stay so I signed the forms. TWO MONTHS LATER, I requested a phone call asking for an update and Tania Sultana calls to say she is still going through the claim and will get back to me by end of week. Within 1 minute, I get an email from her saying they are not going to continue with claim. ABSOLUTE TIME WASTERS!!!! AVOID, TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Assault using a Taser gun
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • No Win No Fee
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing