Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP

0116 2999 199

View map
Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP

How Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 85%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 6%
Overpriced 24%
About Right 68%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 77%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 77%
No 23%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 80%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 80%
No 20%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Douglas Wemyss Solicitors LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.3/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    64
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    4
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Nick

Nick

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Martyna’s attention to detail, updates & communication were brilliant

I have just sold a BTL in Mar-22, & was told by many people they could not recommend a solicitors as they were not very good. Well I would highly recommend DWS. Martyna provided great communication, kept me updated & I would use them again when we next sell a house. Having sold multiple BTL this is the best experience I have had. Nick

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Lee

April 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly and Professional service

I'm not usually one to leave reviews but the service offered by Rebecca and the litigation team over the last few months has been fantastic, it was a new area for me but Rebecca was excellent and guided me through the various decisions along the way, always taking time to explain the pros and cons. Thanks DWS...

Was this review helpful?

Carole

Carole

April 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank You

We cannot thank DWS enough for their extremely professional work they have completed for us yesterday. 100% from start to finish. Thank you very much Dilan Ajmeria and Chaz Thandi for making a complicated legal experience easy for us to complete.
In much appreciation, Carole Cundill and Alan Eales

Was this review helpful?

AL

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

AL

April 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stressful time made worse

Due to a notice of intending to sue us by DWS I have removed the original review which spoke about individuals who were part of the bad service we experienced. I will say in absolute truth we were less than impressed with the service from DWS with our house sale and purchase and from our point of view we would certainly say to avoid.
If I could give 0 stars I would. They are bullies when it comes to negative reviews, not interested in hearing an opinion on their really terrible service!
Since my original review where I negatively commented on Chaz Thandi and his team there have been a questionable number of 5 star reviews posted (see the dates). All i can say is its obviously a strange coincidence and i personally don't believe this company should be trusted one bit. I was fooled and i just don't want the same to happen to others.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Rachel

February 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Hilary Cruz from DWS Legal has completed the sale of 2 properties in 2021 and in Feb 2022 on both occasions we have recieved a professional and friendly service. All correspondence was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. We highly recommend DWS Legal for any conveyencing matter with special thanks to Hilary Cruz.

Was this review helpful?

Kam

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kam

January 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Sale

Really pleased with the professional, efficient and reliable service provided by Luke Shipley, have used him twice for conveyancing matters and will definitely use him again. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Pam

Pam

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale and purchase

I used Michaela Blackett for my sale and purchase having used her previously in the past.

Very professional experience. Extremely helpful and would most definitely use again.

I would highly recommend DWS to any person looking for a solicitor

Was this review helpful?

Maria

Maria

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Proactive and Supportive

We have had nothing but a Brilliant and Professional Service from the DWS team.
I would highly recommend DWS they are extremely hot on communication and extremely helpful and forward thinking in their approach. Exactly what is needed from a Law Firm
Will definitely be using DWS in the future

Was this review helpful?

Cat

Matter Type:

Legal aid

Cat

October 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful

I had the misfortune to temp at this firm awhile ago and left after 1 day. One of the partners based himself in the same room as the secretaries and monitored their every move all day long. It was awful and created a very strange, dictatorial atmosphere as if the secretaries couldn't be trusted to get on with their jobs without being constantly watched over. So strange. Also, the firm used to be owned by Douglas Wemyss, who had it for years in Bowling Green Street, Leicester, and also had an office in Loughborough. Apparently, it was then taken over a few years ago and the Leicester office is now in Friar Lane. Bizarrely, the people who took it over, at the time I temped there kept Douglas Wemyss's name (and DWS) as the firm name instead of changing it to something entirely different. As far as I know he doesn't have any involvement with the firm anymore, and certainly at the time I temped there a few years ago he didn't work there. I would NEVER go back there now, either to work or as a client, and I would NOT recommend them to anybody I know!

Was this review helpful?

David

David

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service and very supportive

Nabiilah at DWS provided very professional service and was very throughout what turned out to be a difficult and very long process. She provided good advice and chased up with our buyers to ensure the transaction completed despite repeated delays

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Fraud
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety