Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Calthrops Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Calthrops Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Calthrops Solicitors LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 2%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Calthrops Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Calthrops Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Calthrops Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Calthrops Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Calthrops Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    308
  • Very Good

    32
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Anonymous

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Totally professional & efficient, friendly and very helpful.

We have met with Ms Naomi Message on a few occasions now, firstly to make our Wills and then a number of months later to amend them. Calthrops communications are excellent, the team are all friendly and welcoming including the receptionist. It feels very reassuring to be in safe hands and comfortable enough to ask advice, however silly it may seem. All at very reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful?

Gillian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Gillian

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Very professional and friendly, would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Made changes to Will dealt with very promptly & professionally.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Stephen

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

executor of will

all sorted in the end in a satisfactory manner, really down to Naomi who was very good with excellent communication , someone you can trust to carry out what she said she would do. i would recommend calthrops on the back of Naomi.
earlier experiences without her not good.
i do appreciate all of her help with the matter.
thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Mr Sorrell

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr Sorrell

April 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Naomi was efficient and friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful?

Thelma Scrace

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Thelma Scrace

March 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Changing my Will

It was done very professional and explained to me well.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

March 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Naomi provided an excellent service when she drafted our wills. She answered any questions promptly and always explained in a way we could understand.
It was great communication and we felt the cost of the service was very fair.

Was this review helpful?

Brian Hughes

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Brian Hughes

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Writing my Will

My experience with Calthrops was friendly, comfortable, and altogether a pleasant one. i would recommend their service and use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

New Wills

Good advice on new Wills & produced in good time, happy with service.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

No title

Initially a very bad impression, I made an appointment by phone and when I arrived and waited no appointment. I send a copy, how I wanted my Will to be. I was 5 weeks in hospital, impossible to sign a will, it had to be at my home I waited nearly 2 months for a Solicitor to come to my house to sign the Will. which was executed on the 13th February.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

LYNN

LYNN

December 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

LYNN

Zoe was professional, helpful and caring, would highly recommend Zoe and the team at Calthrops.

Was this review helpful?

colin

colin

August 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

colin

Will writing was very quick and easy ,amendments tgat needed to be done was a very quick res.Brilliant service, Thank you Naomi

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

July 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

With regards to the business itself, it was perfect, the receptionist and solicitor were friendly, helpful and diligent, they are definitely worthy of the 5 stars as I couldn't fault them in anyway.

However, the building they work from was a disabled nightmare... Uneven and worn out stone steps made it impossible for wheelchair users to gain entry. As for people with mobility issues it was unsafe. There was no handrail, but did have a spiked metal fence either side of the steps which, with careful use could help. There could be the ability to install a handrail on the metal fence? And visual aids on the worn part of the steps.
Once inside the floors were uneven and had moving mats. The doors were narrow.

This reflects on old towns not accommodating for disabled users which I find Holbeach to be the worst in this area.
I did not ask if there was another entrance. But did find their spalding site to be disabled friendly for future use.

I did not book this appointment, I was there to help with a documentation.

Was this review helpful?

Heidi

Heidi

April 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Heidi

Our experience with Zoe at Calthrops met and then exceeded all expectations. Zoe was quick, efficient, responsive and got the job done, taking a huge amount of stress out of the house buying process for us. I would highly recommend Calthrops for conveyancing services. Thank you Zoe.

Was this review helpful?

Michal

Michal

May 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michal

Always nice and helpful solicitors! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

Calthrops Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Calthrops was established over 155 years and believed to be the oldest established firm in town. We have offices in Spalding & Holbeach which enables us to serve clients in both South Lincolnshire & North Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough, Crowland, Stamford and areas within a 50-mile radius of ourselves. Our lawyers have advised many private and business clients through several generations on aspects of family law, civil litigation, personal injury claims, property conveyancing and wills and probate.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment