Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Calthrops Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Calthrops Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Calthrops Solicitors LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 98%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Calthrops Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Calthrops Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Calthrops Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Calthrops Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Calthrops Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    308
  • Very Good

    32
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

LPA's & Will

Excellent service. Julia was practically friendly & explained everything in easy to understand language. A very nice lady

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

I found this service of a very good standard, my needs were sorted in a very helpful and friendly way.
Excellent.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Our experience with Calthrops Solicitors

We found them to be really professional and really put us at ease with everything from start to finish. We cannot fault anything all went very smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

Mr & Mrs Saward

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr & Mrs Saward

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Power of Attorney - ESSENTIAL

We were very fortunate to be able to apply for Power of Attorney for my husband. he is in the unusual position of having a court of protection deputyship cancelled, as he has regained capacity after a head injury.
The whole matter was handled without complications.
We found Julia most approachable, friendly and thorough.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen Yewman

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Stephen Yewman

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Where there's a Will, there's a way

Craig Delaney and the entire team at Calthrops Solicitors are professional, approachable and very knowledgeable. They listen to instructions from their client and provide sound, timely legal advice. i would be entirely happy to recommend their services to anyone.
I do not know what I would do without them.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs B J Anderson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mrs B J Anderson

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making my Will arranging Lasting Power of Attorney

My Solicitor provided knowledgeable, comprehensive advice which made making my Will a very easy process. She explained the benefits of Power of Attorney and advised on the implications of different options. She was friendly and professional. The whole process was very easy to complete.

Was this review helpful?

Mr & Mrs O'Nion

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mr & Mrs O'Nion

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Preparation of Wills

From the first visit to the last, I was always treated with patience & care.
I highly recommend Calthrops as I found, all the staff I spoke to were helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs A E Goslyn

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Mrs A E Goslyn

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Seamless service

Once again great service. The team are professional but approachable and very efficient. Gave clear advice. Thank you Julia and Tracey you made the whole process very easy !

Was this review helpful?

Kevin Burice

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kevin Burice

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

My thanks to Somara for a very professional, friendly service, despite the sale being very long and drawn out ( with other occupier's in the chain).
I was kept informed throughout. I would highly recommend Calthrops.

Was this review helpful?

J Hill

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Calthrops Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

J Hill

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Calthrops, especially Julia Cole

Julia was absolutely on part. Her approachability, compassion and empathy were 1st class. No question I asked was answered with anything other than complete knowledge as was her advice. At a time when I was bereft at losing my husband and I needed sound advice Julia was there for me and my children. I would have no hesitation in recommending Julia

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Mark

Mark

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

The best solicitors in Spalding friendly reception staff and very good service from the solicitors

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

February 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Very helpful

Was this review helpful?

Mandy

Mandy

December 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mandy

Calthrops dealt with my leasehold issues promptly, professionaly and I would highly recommend their services.
As a client I was made to feel important and listened to. Thankyou Craig, Paul and the team at Caltrops. I will definetly recommend your services.

Was this review helpful?

Hannah

Hannah

November 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hannah

Friendly, professional, helpful service. Trisha, in particular, was wonderful!

Was this review helpful?

Mel

Mel

August 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mel

I was dealing with Christian at this branch who was very informative. I dealt with Zoe at the Holbeach branch and she was also very informative

Was this review helpful?

Calthrops Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Calthrops was established over 155 years and believed to be the oldest established firm in town. We have offices in Spalding & Holbeach which enables us to serve clients in both South Lincolnshire & North Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough, Crowland, Stamford and areas within a 50-mile radius of ourselves. Our lawyers have advised many private and business clients through several generations on aspects of family law, civil litigation, personal injury claims, property conveyancing and wills and probate.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Money & Tax
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment