Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

How RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 5%
About Right 95%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    291
  • Very Good

    15
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    2

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Very happy

Matter Type:

Wills

Very happy

May 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Tax and Trusts

Herman was very helpful and compassionate when dealing with my will. He explained everything to me and made sure I was comfortable with the detail before preparing the final version. Excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

Peter W

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Peter W

May 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

Patrick Simpson provided first class support when I experienced redundancy. I couldn’t have asked for more. Demonstrating his superior knowledge and experience and explaining everything to me with crystal clarity. Efficient and timely with absolutely no compromise to rigour. I highly recommend to all.

Was this review helpful?

Mr Rose

Matter Type:

Tribunal Claims

Mr Rose

April 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

The firm acted for me in an employment matter where the issues were as much practical as legal. The advice given was thorough and clear, marrying black letter law to the practicalities. This helped me greatly in achieving a satisfactory outcome

Was this review helpful?

Brian Higgins

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Brian Higgins

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

Patrick was excellent, responded quickly and gave concise, clear advice. He made the process very straightforward.

Was this review helpful?

Charlotte Barbaroussis

Matter Type:

Wills

Charlotte Barbaroussis

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Tax and Trusts

We were advised by Charlotte Barbaroussis. Her dealings were very professional. She was pleasant easy to deal with and very approachable. Her help during the process of setting up my wife's and my will made the task a lot easier.

Was this review helpful?

David Delicata

Matter Type:

Divorce

David Delicata

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Other

I dealt with Pippa Marshall for my divorce, who was recommended to me by a friend who worked with Pippa for his complicated divorce. She was very professional and very informative. Pippa took her time to go through every aspect, and I really felt like she was fighting my corner. Unfortunately I became a widower before I became a divorcee, and when this happened Pippa was supportive and empathetic to the situation but remained professional at all times. I can’t recommend her highly enough

Was this review helpful?

Kate C

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP.

Matter Type:

Redundancy

Kate C

April 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very helpful in a very stressful situation

Patrick and the team were very helpful during my redundancy process and whilst I didn't have to pursue any legal action their advice was timely and crucial in my decision making process.

Was this review helpful?

Charmaine

Matter Type:

Redundancy

Charmaine

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

I was very impressed and thankful for the service I received from Patrick. He was very meticulous in his review of the documentation provided, took the time to discuss contentious points with me and proposed the most reasonable timely approach in resolving these issues. Patrick was always very understanding of my situation, professional and prompt in his response which is extremely important with redundancy negotiations.

Was this review helpful?

Chrystabel Austin

Matter Type:

Wills

Chrystabel Austin

April 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, Tax and Trusts

James McMullan, at what was Barker Gillette, has looked after my affairs for many years now and it is reassuring to have solicitors that I trust implicitly. Charlotte was an excellent addition to the team and I was impressed from her arrival with her prompt replies and general efficiency.

Was this review helpful?

Y

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Y

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment

Patrick was very professional, efficient, friendly and very easy to speak with. He was very helpful and very responsive and made it a seamless operation, especially with the time constraints I had.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nishchal

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Nishchal

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nishchal

Used this firm after a poor service at another and the difference was vast, but of course, this was primarily down to the lawyer that was assigned to my matter at the time. To iterate this, I worked with more than one lawyer at this firm and the difference in personal styles was again quite vast. It all depends on who you deal with. Nonetheless, the firm overall, provides a professional service that's of a much higher standard than most. The advice was always open, direct, honest, and options on the table crystal clear, which you often just don't receive from a lot of firms that just want to bill you their invoice. The lawyer I had was always clear about how much time and effort each path or action would cost, giving me a good set of recommendations to make a choice with. That's no doubt testament to the firms ethos. Personally, I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

liam

liam

January 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

liam

Martin handled the purchase of my first property and I couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

Martin always made himself available for any or all questions, provided sound advice throughout the process and held our hands as first time buyers. Would absolutely recommend Martin and RIAA BC team.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Andy

December 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

Whenever I've spoken to anyone about the house buying process, one of the first things that crops up is the struggle to find a good solicitor - which prompts me to recommend Martin Alfreds to them. We were lucky enough to have Martin conveyancing on our first purchase back in 2017, and when we decided to move this year to accommodate our growing family, he was the first person we contacted as soon as our offer was accepted.

Martin is pro-active and tenacious, but always with good humour and grace, and will keep you informed throughout. Our recent sale became increasingly fraught as target dates came and went due to issues elsewhere in the chain, but he remained calm and patient while pushing for a conclusion, and I genuinely think it may otherwise have fallen through if it wasn't for Martin's guidance and efficiency.

We've now been in our new property for 4 weeks and the kids are settling in well - we'll always be hugely grateful for Martin and everything he's done to set up the latest chapter in our family's life together.

Was this review helpful?

Global

Global

August 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Global

Martin Alfreds of RIAA Barker Gillette helped me get my dream home as a first time solo buyer.
Originally from a different country I had no idea where to start, I'm also self-employed and the property was newly converted, next to a river so there had to be lot of legal questions asked and responses reviewed to ensure it is a safe buy. He always responded within hours to my emails, always picked up the phone and guided me through a process that otherwise would have been very painful. Highly recommend working with Martin, he and his team has been a pleasure to deal with.
Gabriella

Was this review helpful?

petra

petra

June 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

petra

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Martin Alfred's at Barker Gillette for his excellent service in handling the conveyancing for my recent property sale and purchase.

Having used solicitors in the past and not having a great experiences, the whole process was a pleasant surprise. I was immediately put at ease by Martin's friendly and professional manner. He took the time to explain the process to me in detail and answered all of my questions in a clear and concise way.

Martin was always available to answer my calls or emails, and him and the team always responded promptly. They kept me updated on the progress of the sale and purchase throughout, and they were always happy to go the extra mile to help me.

I was particularly impressed with Martin's attention to detail. He made sure that all of the paperwork was completed correctly, and was were always on the lookout for any potential problems.

I would not hesitate to recommend Martin to anyone who is looking for a conveyancing solicitor. Barker Gillette are professional, efficient, and friendly. I am very grateful for their help in making my property sale and purchase a smooth and stress-free experience."

Overall, I was very happy with the service I received from Martin and the team at RIAA Barker Gillette. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a conveyancing solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

RIAA Barker Gillette (UK) LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

RIAA Barker Gillette is a multi-service law firm based in the heart of London's West End. We pride ourselves on our approachability and the accessibility of our partners to their clients. From corporate law issues to more sensitive family difficulties, our experienced and efficient team are on hand to advise and help you. Our practice encompasses company and commercial, dispute resolution, employment, family, private client and real estate services. We believe every client is unique and tailor our services to meet your needs. We aim to look after your best interests and work hard to understand your specific situation to ensure we reach your goal. Since our establishment in 1981, RIAA Barker Gillette has grown to become a leading West End law firm, while the RIAA Barker Gillette Global Alliance offers capabilities in seven countries and twelve cities from New York to Beijing. If you need more information on how we can help you with any legal issues, contact us today on +44 (0)20 7636 0555 or UK@riaabg.com – we will be happy to help and assist in any way we can.

Practice areas

Banking and finance Commercial property and developments Corporate and commercial Corporate and personal insolvency Data protection & GDPR Dispute resolution Elderly client and LPAs Employment Family law Intellectual property Leasehold enfranchisement Partnerships and LLPs Probate and contentious probate Professional negligence Property litigation Regulatory, serious fraud & crime Residential property Wills, tax and trusts

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Dangerous driving
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment