Request a callback

Book an appointment

How K J Smith Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of K J Smith Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using K J Smith Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 13%
Overpriced 20%
About Right 66%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used K J Smith Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how K J Smith Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used K J Smith Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how K J Smith Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that K J Smith Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    332
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Paul

Paul

March 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Keep clear

Stay well clear of this company. The service is appalling. They think they are above the law. You’ve been warned stay clear of this company.

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Dan

February 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Aaron O’Malley Was a great help.
Very professional and easy to understand with no judgement

Was this review helpful?

Laura

Laura

November 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family law

Amazing service very professional understand all he had to say very well will be using Dan again if I need to

Was this review helpful?

ALISON

ALISON

September 04, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

I cannot thank Harpreet Sihra enough for her prompt attention and clear advice that she gave when it came to finalising my divorce. I was kept informed and up to date as things progressed. Harpreet was efficient and friendly and dealt with the matter in a very professional manner. I would highly recommend Harpreet to prospective clients.

Was this review helpful?

Hannah

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Hannah

June 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child custody

There cannot be anything much more stressful for a mother than battling over child custody with an ex-partner. Daniel Norris not only listened to me with empathy he provided me with the reassurance and legal guidance I desperately needed. I left their offices knowing the custody of my child was safely secured

Was this review helpful?

stephen

stephen

February 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service, highly recommend.

After being faced with huge disappointment from numerous other law firms, I found KJ Smith Law. During the initial consultation meeting, Beth was very helpful and honest about the strength of my case and possible outcomes. From the minute I decided to instruct Beth as my solicitor her communication and response times have been faultless. She has been thorough, fair and transparent in fighting my case.
Her advice has always been clear and concise, allowing me to make informed decisions, in turn easing some of the stress off a very stressful situation. Beth was very supportive, and I felt like I had someone in the know, fighting my corner every step of the way. I couldn’t have asked for a more friendly, professional and competent solicitor. I have no reservation in highly recommending KJS solicitors.
Steve Wood

Was this review helpful?

Stephy

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Stephy

February 22, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from KJSmith Solicitors

I have had an excellent experience under the care of Edward Morton and Jack Owen during my child matter case. They have walked me through this alien process with ease and were able to provide attainable results. They were approachable and made the whole process effortless. I would definitely recommend that if you are having a child matter case you consider using KJSmith as your representatives.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Divorce

Peter

October 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lack of service for divorce

I engaged this office, after weeks weeks chasing I got a very very poor document, but got charged a lot of money for, I then got charged twice as much for another document, which I haven’t seen yet, I raised a complaint, but the office was just keen to close it and now move on, I am a lot of money out of pocket and got nothing to show. Have now changed to another company to support me

I would never use this firm

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Matter Type:

Divorce

Tony

September 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

divorce

Having decided to end my marriage of thirty years it was with some trepidation that I phoned the Woodley practice. I was immediately put at ease by the sympathetic response from the reception team. I later met Sam Archer and her colleagues (In full Covid masks and social distancing) and was treated with understanding, empathy and a very professional approach. There were a few bumps along the way, but Sam dealt patiently with the third-party solicitor putting her right on some errors and resolving problems. If your ship of life runs into stormy waters, then nail your colours to KJSmith's mast and let Sam and her crew bring you to safe harbour!! Excellent service, Thank you all.
Tony Whyatt

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Matter Type:

Children

Emma

August 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Eleanor Towsey

Eleanor has been so fantastic dealing with my matter. She was very helpful and gave great advice and suggestions which concluded with the best outcome possible for my child. She was very quick with responding to emails and very quick with sorting the matter in hand. Very happy!!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Christine

Christine

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christine

Rachael has been extremely professional, knowledgeable and supportive throughout my time in dealing with KJ Smith. I am very grateful and would highly recommend KJ Smith, in particular, Rachael.

Was this review helpful?

Robin

Robin

April 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robin

I knew Aaron before he joined K J Smith. He deals with my very difficult divorce case. Such is the very good quality of work he provides, I followed him from his previous company and he continues the excellent work he does for me. Because of the excessively long duration of this case and mindful of the huge costs I have incurred, he has done all he can to minimise these costs.

Aaron balances being very personable and very professional perfectly. Great qualities from a family solicitor

Was this review helpful?

Ken

Ken

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ken

I've recently had Aaron O'Malley from K J Smith helping me with a personal matter.
The service has been nothing short of excellent!
Aaron, himself, is very knowledgeable, prompt in his responses and always gave me confidence I was in good hands. He frequently went to great lengths to ensure I fully understood the implications and meaning of complex legal jargon.
Equally the 'back office' staff have been great to deal with - prompt with responses to my questions and arranging meetings.

Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Scott

March 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Scott

I recently had Emily woods from Kjs solicitors represent me in family court. She was fantastic and took care of everything I needed help with regarding my family court matter. Highly recommended and definitely will keep her number if she is ever needed again. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Thomas

March 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thomas

Emily has been great. She is very helpful, clear and quick communication
She explained the whole process and made it very understandable

Was this review helpful?

K J Smith Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

Although we can't take away the stress of divorce, family breakdown or bereavement we can help to ease it. Through understanding and prompt action, our family solicitors aim to provide practical solutions to help you resolve any family matters as quickly and as amicably as possible. Our dedicated and caring team of family law solicitors always aim to deliver an efficient and professional service with continued support and advice throughout. We have dealt with a vast number of cases from the simple to the highly complex including international family law and high net worth divorce cases. Speak to our team today for immediate professional advice. We are highly regarded for our expertise in family law and are a recommended and ranked firm in the Legal 500, the leading guide to law firms in the UK.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment