Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Simpson Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Simpson Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Simpson Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 75%
About Right 25%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Simpson Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Simpson Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Simpson Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Simpson Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Simpson Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    597
  • Very Good

    25
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    31

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Wieslaw Adam

Matter Type:

Wills

Wieslaw Adam

February 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent value for truly professional service

Melissa Witter LL.B took me through the process of writing my Last Will and appointing my Executors.
Ms Witter has clearly and professionally explained every detail, including the cost that amounts to 1.5% of the value of my estate with no additional hidden costs for every email, phone call or other costs of some third party that may be involved in the process of the probate.
This fresh approach has been very appreciated since my previous solicitors, naturally I will not name them, have been very cagey for years about the final costs and I could never find out how much their hidden charges could amount to on top of their 2.5 - 3.0% of the value of my estate.
I strongly recommend Simpson Solicitors and Ms. Melissa Witter LL.B in particular.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Matter Type:

Wills

Lisa

July 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

BEST EVER EXPERIENCE

OH MY WORD, THESE GUYS ARE ACTUALLY THE BEST. NO SERIOUSLY. NO PRESSURE, YOU DO WHAT YOU WANT AT THE STAGE YOUR AT AND NO PRESSURE WHATSOEVER. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL FRIENDLY PERSONAL SERVICE. WOULD RECOMMEND 100000000 TIMES OVER. MICHELLE BADEN DAINTREE IS AN ANGEL. LOVE HER TO BITS SHE BECAME FAMILY IN ONE PHONE CALL. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE CALL THESE GUYS THEY ARE WONDERFUL

Was this review helpful?

Nisza

Matter Type:

Wills

Nisza

June 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Right Legal Group Derby Branch

Richard - Customer Experience Executive was very helpful and informative. Giving clear and correct information needed before the appointment . He kindly and promptly booked me and my family an appointment with the Legal Advisor .
Very clear at communication.

Ashleigh - Legal Advisor
She clearly defined the process in a detailed , easy to understand manner.
She was very patient in answering all our queries and any misunderstandings we had regarding wills. She is very kind and accomodating.

Was this review helpful?

Jackie

Matter Type:

Probate

Jackie

April 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate application still not in after nearly two years

This firm do not even deserve one star. The service has been absolutely appalling and prospective clients should go elsewhere. Right Legal were instructed in June 2022 to process my mother's straightforward probate application. We have speedily provided all information requested to keep things moving. For no good reason, the development of the probate application has proceeded at slower than snail's pace. We have politely waited weeks sometimes months for updates and these have only been provided after several emails from us. The firm has upheld two formal complaints from me about slow service and poor communication. Finally the papers came through to sign in November 2023 and the firm verified that they had been received back by them and would be sent on. Unbelievably my sister found out yesterday (April 2024) that the application has still not been submitted!!!

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Sam

February 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incomplete Will

Do not use or recommend. They had stored my Mum's incorrectly and upon retrieval was incomplete and was missing a page. Lengthy delay to probate. Poor and unprofessional communication with lack of call backs during a difficult time. Tried charging extra fees on top. Complaint referred to Ombudsman

Was this review helpful?

Gareth

Gareth

February 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really poor service and quality of work.

The service is shockingly poor. From start to finish it was clear that documents are not checked and there is no qualified solicitor checking the work. The individual looking after our account sent out a letter with their own name spelled wrong. Multiple loops of corrections for basic errors and errors which already asked to correct. Finally thought we were at the end of the process when we received our wills but yet again sent the wrong versions. When I emailed and rang up to complain no one returned the call.

Was this review helpful?

Vikki

Matter Type:

Probate

Vikki

January 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid unless you want a costly drawn out probate

If I could give Rights zero stars it would be too many. This company took over 2.5 years to do a straight forward probate. We had three different legal advisors. Documents were lost, they were incorrect and try getting them to answer or return your telephone calls - impossible!
Simpsons solicitors added themselves as an executor when updating my dads Will - he had onset dementia and they told him it would be for the best and then told us we needed to use Rights for the Probate. What this resulted in was a costly and extremely drawn out Probate that was handled poorly by Rights. This firm has put our family in great financial and emotional stress. We even reported them to the Legal Ombudsman and won but it still didnt make anything happen any quicker.
Now we are battling with their Document Management Team to get the return of our property docs - its been 4 months so far and they cant even do a simple thing like that correctly.

People giving 5* reviews for the Will service - check it and make sure they havent added themselves in as an executor and if so get it changed immediately and save the sanity of your family.

Was this review helpful?

Margaret

Matter Type:

Wills

Margaret

January 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will review

I had the pleasure of a visit from the lovely Jessica this morning from the Derby office. She was very friendly and chatty and completely put me at ease. She answered my questions and explained everything to me clearly so I could understand.
This young lady is going to be a huge asset to your company and if I need legal advice in the future I shall be employing Jessica and recommending her to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Matter Type:

Wills

Anthony

January 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recommendation

This is the first time we have used this firm of Solicitors and both my wife and I most impressed with Lauren Bailey, she is the most delightful, professional and understanding person we have met for many years. We can highly recommend her

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kate

January 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

DOCUMENT MANAGEMENT

Took 10 weeks to obtain title deeds for my Mums house. First they sent me the wrong form, nobody bothered to tell me until I called them 3 weeks later. Sent in the documents, again nobody bothered to call me. After 2 weeks I rang them (good luck getting through) and on the 8th attempt was told I still needed more documentation which I wasn't told initially, or in the other conversions I had with them. Sent in the required documents and again, nobody called me or acknowledged my email. Rang them 13 times and eventually was told my deeds were there. Arranged to pick them up and the day I went to get them the girl was off sick!! I did get them the same day as I refused to leave without them. Utterly shambolic service from start to finish! Lack of communication and understanding.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Sophie

Matter Type:

Wills

Sophie

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sophie

Excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

Jim

Matter Type:

Wills

Jim

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jim

Very knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Gill

Matter Type:

Wills

Gill

May 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gill

For what could be a difficult and stressful experience in making a Will, it turned out to be an extremely easy and smooth one. A big thanks to Caitlin for her expertise, and for making it a pleasant and reassuring experience. I would definitely recommend Simpsons if you are thinking of making a new Will, and have recommended them to my family and friends. G

Was this review helpful?

Anthony

Matter Type:

Wills

Anthony

April 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anthony

Arranged a meeting today with Katlyn Williams who conducted a Financial and Health P.O.A. review for my father. Katlyn was extremely helpful in explaining the procedure to my father who suffers from poor hearing. A very professional attitude and pleasant demeanor throughout the whole process. Very impressed with Simpsons, would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Jim

Matter Type:

Wills

Jim

April 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jim

Anna put us at our ease and helped us through every stage of our wills and LPA. I would definitely recommend Simpson solicitors.
Anna was friendly and helped us in every way she could. Thankyou

Was this review helpful?

Simpson Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are one of the largest Wills & Probate providers in the country. Welcome to Right Legal Group. We are a well established Law firm, regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority. We specialise in Wills, Probate & Estate Planning. We have built a network across the country which provides the ‘RightWill’ platform, working together on a mission to change the way people think about making a Will. We preserve not only our clients’ financial assets but their emotional assets too.

Practice areas

Wills, Probate and Estate Planning

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment