Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Thompsons Compares

Value for money

This firm - 99%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thompsons on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Thompsons. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompsons and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thompsons performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thompsons and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thompsons compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thompsons offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1714
  • Very Good

    98
  • Average

    17
  • Poor

    10
  • Awful

    43

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Anonymous

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

claim

Robert help get me get a settlement for my injury at work, he did this in a very professional way and managed to get me the best settlement for my case.

Was this review helpful?

Patrick noble

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Patrick noble

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Patrick noble claim

Robert was a treat to deal with and his advice was sound 5 star

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Anonymous

April 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from Robert

Robert was professional in all my dealings with him, primarily through phone calls and email. He kept me up to date throughout the process which was roughly 2years from start to finish. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Joyce

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Joyce

April 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury Claim

Following on from work related personal injury I contacted Local Solicitor and was advised to contact Thompsons Solicitors . from start to finish Stewart White was excellent clearly explaining process and timescales etc . 3 operations and 4 years on was very happy with end result and I would 100% recommend Stewart

Was this review helpful?

Rory Smith

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Rory Smith

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Made the whole process simple.

From start to finish, Robert and his team supported me and kept me informed of the progress of my claim.
I got regular and timely advice when I needed it and was given time to digest the information I was given.
I was very happy with all aspects of the service I received.
Thank you Robert.

Was this review helpful?

Shaun

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Shaun

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury Case

From start to finish Robert has been great to have to represent myself over the many months my case has been going on for and I am very happy with the resolution

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Alan

March 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robert Cranston and Team

Having been appointed Robert Cranston and Thompsons Solicitors through my union (Unite), I was pleased initially by his great manners and positive attitude to what I though would be a mundane and relatively small job for him. I really wasn't expecting much from the whole experience. I couldn't have been more wrong.
Robert gave me sound advice on what to expect, what time frame could be involved, and how many outside agencies could eventually take part in my case. He advised me to go ahead with legal action when I was really unsure as to whether there was any point in pursuing anything. Robert and his team involved a doctor, an employment expert, a pensions expert and even a psychiatrist to work on my case. This all took time and between Robert, and his team, I was kept fully informed and reassured about how things were going.
My case was eventually settled at the pre trial meeting and I was given very sound advice as everything progressed towards that point. Ken and then Leo came on side to assist and provide advice with my case in the later stages, and along with Kath, Lyn and Yvonne, all working in the background, everything ended well into the evening at pre trial. Robert was always there for me. Questions were dealt with as I thought of them and I was reassured every time we spoke that I was being very well advised and cared for.
Now that it's over, and I have time to reflect, I cannot fault Thompsons Solicitors in any way. I've been looked after since day one. My outcome, having been left with an amputation after an incident at work on another site, has far exceeded anything I could have initially imagined. It will help me and my wife to get on with our lives, which will of course never be as they previously were.
I can wholly recommend Thompsons to look after anyone in need of a solicitor. Thank you Robert and the whole team ( Leo, Ken, Kath, Lyn and Yvonne). You've changed our future in the most positive way.
With kind regards and best wishes.. Alan

Was this review helpful?

Zara McLeod

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Car Accident

Zara McLeod

March 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend

After my accident my friend recommended Stewart White to me and gave me his details.
I had no idea what to do, I had never made a claim in my life.
Stewart called me very quickly after my initial enquiry. He put my mind at rest straight away. He explained all of the process to me and highlighted the options available to me. He was very calming and professional. Stewart was with me every step of the way and his advice was always correct. Being in a car accident makes you question yourself, especially as it is not something you do every day. I can say without any doubt that Stewart looked after me and I will 100% recommend him.

Was this review helpful?

William Hogg

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

William Hogg

March 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class service

I can’t thank Robert enough for all his hard work on my case he was there for me 100% great communication from him. Always kept me in the loop with every stage of the process.

Was this review helpful?

Eddie Collins

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thompsons.

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Eddie Collins

March 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal injury claim

Mr Robert Cranston was very pro at his job & great to deal with cant do better than that , Mr Robert Cranston top man .

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Laila

Laila

October 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Laila

Oops, accidentally said this place never contacted me again after first call, that was NOT this place.
This place actually did reply to my email pretty quickly to say sorry to hear about my situation but that unfortunately it wasn't something they deal with.
So I don't really have any proper experience with them but at least them got back to me and seemed nice so giving 5 stars based on that :)

Was this review helpful?

gary

gary

October 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

gary

Excellent they have been helping me out so much

Was this review helpful?

Marion

Marion

March 03, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Marion

Hi I recently used these people namely Allan calderwood and he was excellent kept me up to date every step of the way and got me a decent settlement it was Edinburgh office I used thank you very much Allan from Maryann in Dundee

Was this review helpful?

JAIME

JAIME

September 14, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

JAIME

Im having a very good service here,they are keeping me informed about the process and explaining me about everything

Was this review helpful?

Leanne

Leanne

August 30, 2015

Report to admin

Collected on:

Leanne

Great communication, kept me informed every step of the way and fast turnaround. Definitely
recommend for an easy no hassle professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Thompsons are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Thompsons is an award-winning firm of accident injury and employment law solicitors. We are confident that our team will be able to answer all your queries, provide care and understanding of your circumstances, and, most importantly, help you receive the compensation that you deserve. As a firm, we are proud to say that we only represent individuals, victims of accidents and those suffering occupational illnesses for example, and this is what sets us apart from many other firms. We have a passion for justice and a commitment to our clients that is second to none, and this commitment is demonstrated through the following: We put your interests, and those of your family and loved ones, at the heart of all we do. Our friendly contact centre staff’s first concern will be to find out how you are, and whether we can offer any help, advice or reassurance; we can come and see you at home, in hospital or arrange transport to our offices; we can put you in touch with a wide range of medical professionals, at no cost and with no obligation; we campaign for victims and work with MSPs and MPs to change the law where it fails our clients; we always represent victims, never insurance companies or big businesses. Above all, we always seek to recover the maximum compensation that you are entitled to. We have offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dundee, Galashiels, Peebles and Dumfries.

Practice areas

We are best known for our expertise in personal injury claims and are one of the leading firms of accident injury lawyers in the country. Our teams of accident lawyers cover the full range of compensation claims, large or small, straightforward or of the utmost complexity. We win more than 90% of our court cases and obtain over £1 million compensation weekly for our clients. We have offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Dundee, Peebles, Galashiels and Dumfries and, through our sister company, branches throughout England and Wales. BROAD EXPERTISE But our expertise extends beyond accident claims. We also specialise in employment law, and our solicitors and solicitor advocates have extensive experience in resolving employment disputes of all types. We never represent insurers or big business: we always act for the underdog – the accident victim or worker. Nor do we limit ourselves to dealing with the law as it is - we actively campaign to make the law better, seeking reforms that will help workers, accident victims and their families.

Regulated by

Law Society of Scotland

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Redundancy
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Armed Forces Compensation Scheme
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Military Accident Claim
    • Military Hearing Loss
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Insurance
Book an appointment