Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Clough & Willis Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Clough & Willis on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Clough & Willis. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clough & Willis and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Clough & Willis performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Clough & Willis and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Clough & Willis compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Clough & Willis offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    169
  • Very Good

    5
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    13

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Paul

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Paul

January 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class Conveyancing

First class service at every stage of the sale / conveyancing process from Darren Rich, John Parker and Stephanie Rogerson. Darren dealt with our sale seamlessly, proactively chasing our buyer's solicitor to move the process along. We can't recommend Clough & Willis highly enough.
Genuine, professional people who went above and beyond our expectations and kept us informed throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anonymous

June 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Help with an Employment Settlement Agreement

This sensitive situation required a fairly quick turnaround, which Clough & Willis understood immediately. From the first person who took my query to the excellent Subject Matter Expert (Senior Solicitor) who dealt with my agreement, I was looked after and kept informed throughout ensuring my tight deadline was met. I am now looking forward to a more slower paced lifestyle for a while!!

Was this review helpful?

Lindita

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Family law

Lindita

June 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Feed back

I always was very impressed with the way my solicitor dealt with my matter.

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Debt Recovery

Chris

June 08, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debtor recovery

Too date C&W have provided excellent service and guidance in our overdue debt recovery programme.

Was this review helpful?

Matt

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Matt

June 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Business sale

Excellent service and knowledge from both Guy and David and are great to deal with but as always with solicitors it’d be nice if things moved quicker!

Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David

May 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

25 Rydal Road, Little Lever

I never felt that the process of the sale was encountering issues out of my control. The communication from Caroline and Sarah Finbow was first class.

Was this review helpful?

Lesley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Lesley

May 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will making and removing a name from the title deeds

As I’m disabled they came to my house. Took photos on their mobiles for proof of ownership.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Clough & Willis.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andrew

May 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Clough & Willis outstanding Solicitors

I’ve been in contact with Clough and Willis since mid 2022 as they’ve carried out the conveyancing in both the sale and on going purchase of my new property.
All the staff I’ve dealt with from Stephanie on reception and both Fiona’s and Caroline the solicitors have been very professional and prompt in dealing with my conveyancing. Nothing is too much trouble and attention to detail superb too. They have for me been very knowledgeable and dedicated to my case and attention to detail always high. Direct contact with my solicitor also so I’m really happy with them.
I had many problems along the way but they’ve truly been outstanding and I can’t thank them enough.
Quite simply don’t go anywhere else as they’re the best and very competitive on charges.

Was this review helpful?

Mary

Matter Type:

Wills

Mary

March 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

She was very courteous, explained everything to me so I could understand

I was very pleased with Rafia who I met. She was very courteous, explained everything to me so I could understand, she put me at my ease. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Jon

Jon

December 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jon

Really disappointing. Used Lee Marston. Found sole objective to be boosting fee income rather than having any interest in doing a good job. Will say anything to keep a case going rather than attempting to resolve anything.

Was this review helpful?

Jimmy

Jimmy

October 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jimmy

Just found out I've been blamed for these guys sitting on questions for over a month before sending them through to me. Very dishonest to be blaming the vendor for their own slow actions

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Justin

August 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Justin

Very helpful through a difficult time

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Tony

July 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tony

Very disappointing.. I am disabled and took the time to travel to clough and Willis office in Bury.. Nice receptionist took my number and said they would ring me back, and thus so far no phone call,,

Was this review helpful?

roy

roy

April 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

roy

Went to sort my will out perfect recommendations

Was this review helpful?

Clough & Willis are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our current incarnation came into being in June 1946 although with the addition of Clayton Castle Monks back in 1999 our roots can be traced back to around 1887. We are a leading firm in the North West of England and employ over 15 specialist lawyers. Committed to existing and future clients and business partners, our firm continues to recruit skilled specialised professionals and has the breadth of experience and strength in depth to support you and your business. Providing accurate and timely legal advice, the dedicated team are proactive and adaptable. Specialist legal knowledge is complimented by commercial awareness. We are committed to excellence, emphasising quality of service, expertise and efficiency. The partners and solicitors recognise that every client is unique. Understanding your business and individual circumstances, the team will work with you to meet your objectives. We believe in balancing work and personal life to enable our team to participate in our community. Our team's enthusiasm is the basis for our excellent relationship with clients and referrers - and explains our high level of repeat business. All our solicitors are highly skilled and specialised in their field. A number hold registrations, memberships and accreditations with organisations that illustrate our commitment excellence.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Military Accident Claim
    • Military Hearing Loss
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Non Freezing Cold Injury
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Surveyors
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Development agreements
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment