Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Tinsdills Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Tinsdills Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Tinsdills Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 5%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tinsdills Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Tinsdills Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tinsdills Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Tinsdills Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Tinsdills Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1783
  • Very Good

    231
  • Average

    13
  • Poor

    4
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Paul

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Paul

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Reluctant Customer...

I didn't want legal advice; but I knew I needed it. I also knew it would not be cheap, no matter who I chose; but we remember the quality long after the price has been forgotten. And poor advice can cost a lot more in the long run. So without any prior experience or friendly recommendations, 'something' steered me to Karen Wilson at Tinsdills for an introductory meeting to consider 'family' issues. I was treated with curtesy and respect at all times in a friendly, welcoming manner. The information she needed was elicited from me in conversation rather than by interrogation; I was put at ease throughout. Legal matters are seldom black and white but Karen spoke with warmth and clarity in describing what the future could hold in legal terms. Probably the most important factor that I came away with was feeling confident that I fortunately had secured a solicitor who would not only ably represent my interests; but also one I felt comfortable working with.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Anonymous

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making a Will

Making a will can be a bit daunting, but I was put at ease from beginning to the end. Toni was a lovely lady and would highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Caroline Pearson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Litigation - Trust and pension issues

Caroline Pearson

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent professional service

James was extremely professional and offered timely advice on how to proceed in the future. He followed this meeting with an e mail summary the next day.
We paid for an hour of his time and have following this meeting engaged him to take on our case.
I have no hesitation in recommending him and his firm.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Anonymous

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matrimonial advice from Karen Wilson

Karen gave me excellent advice and reassured me on matters I was anxious about. I feel I now have the understanding and knowledge which I lacked regarding a previous financial agreement on separation. I felt Karen cared and wanted the best for me which means very much to me.

Was this review helpful?

Jack Bolderson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Jack Bolderson

May 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Medical negligence

Paul Wooliscroft dealt with my case professionally and provided first class service the entire time.would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Anonymous

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Advice and action regarding mother’s will

Very pleased with James advice and actions

Was this review helpful?

J P Dragun

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

J P Dragun

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Updating Will

Excellent service

Was this review helpful?

Anita Phillips

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anita Phillips

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tinsdills Hanley - Lasting Powers of Attorney

My Brother and myself were very pleased with the service we received from Georgia Cliffe at the Hanley office of Tinsdills Solicitors. She was very professional, but also friendly and knowledgeable about the subject. As she had to deal with my Mother who is 95 years of age and sometimes gets confused, she handled Mum calmly and with great patience. It was also a bonus that Tinsdills and Georgia are willing to make home visits as we found that not all Solicitors are as accommodating. The whole process was handled very well from start to finish and we would recommend them to anyone

Was this review helpful?

Lee Hope

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Lee Hope

April 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling home

We found the whole process very easy down to the excellent communication. When selling a house we just needed a stress free process which is what we got.

Was this review helpful?

Karen Stanway & Jodie Miller

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Karen Stanway & Jodie Miller

April 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Received excellent service from both Sally Atkinson and Zoe Shaw from initial enquiry right through to final completion of sale and purchase. Kept well informed at every stage of the process. Any concerns we had were dealt with promptly and in a friendly but also professional manner. Would highly recommend both Sally and Zoe and would have no hesitation in recommending them to others.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nicola

Nicola

February 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicola

Good service, didn't wait long for an appointment, kept well informed. Lots of parking close by. They do have their own car park if you can get on it.

Was this review helpful?

Know

Know

January 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Know

I contacted Tinsdills initially, because I required help with an issue that had arisen. The issue has however resolved itself. I would recommend Tinsdills to anyone requiring legal help as their compassion, kindness, friendliness, willingness to help and professionalism, was definitely something that is a rare commodity these days. They were so kind, and should I have any reason to require legal help in the future, I can categorically state, that I would have no hesitation in contacting Tinsdills. The way they dealt with me was definitely a reason for returning. I cannot thank them enough for being there during, what was, a very trying time.

Was this review helpful?

Philip

Philip

December 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Philip

Very professional and helpful

Was this review helpful?

tree

tree

December 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

tree

Fantastic service

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Chris

August 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

Beautifully Abbey and grounds. Kept in lovely condition. Quiet, delightful gardens. So peaceful. Absolutely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful?

Tinsdills Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our firm has been practising in the local area in one guise or another for nearly 350 years! We have grown over the years through a combination of organic growth, merger and acquisition including names such as Tinsdill, Hollinshead & Moody in Tunstall, Sproston Slaney & Swann in Newcastle, Challinor & Shaw in Leek and N A Whieldon & Co in Sandbach. In 1991 it all came together under the name of THM Tinsdills and in 1999 we became Tinsdills Solicitors. Today we are one of the area’s most experienced and knowledgeable law firms with offices in Hanley, Leek, Newcastle-under-Lyme and Sandbach. We offer a broad range of legal services for individuals and for business including: Family Law, Wills, Trust and Probate, Personal Injury and Compensation, Residential Property, Agriculture, Company and Commercial and Employment Law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
Book an appointment