Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Tinsdills Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Tinsdills Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Tinsdills Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tinsdills Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Tinsdills Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Tinsdills Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Tinsdills Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Tinsdills Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1843
  • Very Good

    241
  • Average

    13
  • Poor

    4
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Anonymous

June 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Efficient Service.

Very efficient service from friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Anonymous

June 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills and Lasting power of Attorney.

From our first meeting with Rachel Manby we were put at ease. We were given helpful advice on costs and found the process stress free. We found Rachel approachable and informative.

Was this review helpful?

I & R Pritchard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

I & R Pritchard

June 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Satisfied with our experience

I can assure anyone considering using this firm that they will be in good hands with Rachel Manby.
Our new Wills have been explained to us in clear, succinct language, and we are quite satisfied that the legal advice Rachel has given us meets our needs and expectations.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Financial Matters

Emma

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent!!

I felt at ease with Helen and appreciate all the advice given.
Helen is very knowledgeable and explains everything you need to know.
Highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

June Hartley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

June Hartley

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Advice appointment

Very informative appointment and it was easy to comprehend.

Was this review helpful?

Trev Wilson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Trev Wilson

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Initial Consultation

Clear, concise explanations of expectations and requirements. After my initial consultation I did not hesitate in making the decision that I wished Tinsdills & Helen to represent me.

Was this review helpful?

Katy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Katy

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase and sale

I found great peace of mind knowing that’m Mrs Wakeman had everything on hand for both my sale and purchase. Everything was organised and efficient and I felt in ver safe hands.

Was this review helpful?

J M Hubball

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

J M Hubball

May 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extremely Helpful

I was really pleased with the service and I would recommend Tinsdills to anyone

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Richard

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

Helen was incredibly helpful, guiding and advising me through my divorce but also listening to what I wanted and adjusting her position to best represent me. It made a challenging process as stress-free as possible and delivered the outcome that was the best for me and my family.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Tinsdills Limited.

Emma

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Honest advice

Helen was thoughtful, demonstrated active listening and provided sound and honest advice for me. No pressure on instructing her, and gave me all the information I needed to proceed with decision making.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Julie

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Julie

October 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julie

Thank you to Alison Abbotts who did an outstanding job on our house sale and more recently on our house purchase. She was very professional, proactive and kept us well
informed She's very approachable and the service was topnotch but very reasonably priced. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Karen

September 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Karen

Sold 2 properties & purchased new home using Alison & her team. Prompt professional service. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Adam

May 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam

Excellent , worked with Abdi at the Newcastle-under-lyme office. He was excellent

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Richard

November 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

I work with solcitors regularly for different projects and issues. Rebecca Lea at Tinsdills is best in class. Very professional and efficient and really knows her stuff. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

ashiq

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

ashiq

October 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

ashiq

I had used Tinsdills Solicitors for an investment property my SOLICITOR Alison Abbotts. and her team really help me through the process , I will for sure use this practice again .

Was this review helpful?

Tinsdills Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our firm has been practising in the local area in one guise or another for nearly 350 years! We have grown over the years through a combination of organic growth, merger and acquisition including names such as Tinsdill, Hollinshead & Moody in Tunstall, Sproston Slaney & Swann in Newcastle, Challinor & Shaw in Leek and N A Whieldon & Co in Sandbach. In 1991 it all came together under the name of THM Tinsdills and in 1999 we became Tinsdills Solicitors. Today we are one of the area’s most experienced and knowledgeable law firms with offices in Hanley, Leek, Newcastle-under-Lyme and Sandbach. We offer a broad range of legal services for individuals and for business including: Family Law, Wills, Trust and Probate, Personal Injury and Compensation, Residential Property, Agriculture, Company and Commercial and Employment Law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
Book an appointment