Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Smith & Co Solicitors app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Smith & Co Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Smith & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Smith & Co Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Smith & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    329
  • Very Good

    31
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Melanie,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Melanie,

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you to Keith

Keith was excellent, extremely patient and helped us with a very difficult and traumatic case, we were very happy with the outcome and Keith’s advise was invaluable.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Patricia

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

The best legal help

Keith Holland was just do good in helping me when I was completely struggling with my situation, he explained everything as things progressed in terms I could understand. Would recommend him highly.

Was this review helpful?

Lee-Ann,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Lee-Ann,

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Transfer of equity

Jenny Dawson is AMAZING. So are the ladies who covered when Jenny not there. Helped me through a very rough time. Now living happily on my own.

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Litigation Law

Christopher

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional support in difficult times

Well organised good communication and service with a smile…

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ben

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, informative and efficient throughout!

Alexandra was great throughout the process of purchasing my first property - always answered any queries in a timely manner, and presented all findings and information in a way which was easy to understand for a total property conveyancing novice. Would thoroughly recommend, and will be sure to use again for any future moves. Thanks again!

Was this review helpful?

Katie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Katie

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will update

Victoria and Lorraine were extremely helpful and gave us some very helpful advice x super appreciated it xx

Was this review helpful?

Christopher

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Christopher

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

P O A

Quick pleasant and efficient proceedure ************

Was this review helpful?

Gareth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

Gareth

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Help for families

Having Powers of attorney. We we guided through the procedures and eased through what appeared to be difficult problems

Was this review helpful?

John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

John

April 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills and power of attorney advice

Good advice and patience for my slow replies

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Anonymous,

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Impossible to get hold of

My experience with Smith &Co was more than 2 years ago, not sure if things has changed since.
I was not able to get hold of my solicitor at the time, she never replied to my email/call. Had to physically go to their office only to speak to assistant/ other member of staff. They were all very nice when I was there though.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Gary

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Gary

May 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gary

Natasha and the team were great, very helpful and responsive and our purchase went very smoothly.

Was this review helpful?

Dmitri

Dmitri

April 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dmitri

Brilliant, highly recommended! My mother and I really appreciate your guidance.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Tony

December 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tony

Excellent highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Maurice

Matter Type:

Wills

Maurice

October 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Maurice

Just to say i was very happy with the attention, help and at times patience , and above all advice in completing my will. Something which until now i had avoided carrying out. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful?

Malcolm

Malcolm

August 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Malcolm

Very good advice straight to the point and explaing the legal wording so we would understand

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Philip

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Philip

December 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Philip's experience...

Everything very efficiently dealt with in a professional and friendly way. Many thanks, Philip and Ann Young

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dean

December 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dean's experience...

We had a really positive experience of buying and selling with the support of Jo Perrins and would highly recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Georgina

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Georgina

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Georgina's experience...

Quick process and moving . Amber was extremely quick

Was this review helpful?

Paris

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Paris

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paris's experience...

Poor communication. Did not use the app at all. Sold on use of the app, but it was not actually used.

Was this review helpful?

J Scorer

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

J Scorer

October 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julie's experience...

First class service . Jo is excellent and kept me informed every step of the way!
Can’t recommend enough!

Was this review helpful?

Smith & Co Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are located in Clarence House, a listed building on St Margaret’s Green, in the heart of Ipswich and offer free parking to our clients, to make your visit as stress-free as possible. In addition, there is nearby, on-street parking, short-term on Soane Street at a cost of £1 per 30 minutes and also medium-term parking at the Regent Theatre car park where the charge is £1.20 per hour.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
Book an appointment