Request a callback

Book an appointment

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Smith & Co Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Smith & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Smith & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    105
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ifeoma

Ifeoma

June 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service

Ela was our solicitor for personal guarantees for a buy-to-let mortgage. I must say it was an exceptional customer experience. Ela was patient, professional, thorough and diligent. She completed all the paperwork required for the personal guarantee before time and sent these to us to review well before our meeting. She ensured that we not only received the best service and legal advice but she was happy to help where required. We were so impressed with her service, that we would definitely use Smith & Co again and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Robert

May 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional, high quality service

I used Zeenat Pasha for the making of my will and I found her exemplary in her help to me, her feedback, explaining what was necessary and helping me understand the legalities of it. Zeenat also provided me with additional advice that I hadn't asked for but which was related to my will content, and very helpful indeed - things I would never have thought of. I am very grateful for that advice and for her overall friendly and helpful manner - and that of her colleagues, also. I can highly recommend Zeenat for providing a professional, high quality service.

Was this review helpful?

Zohreh

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Zohreh

April 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Went above and beyond for us

We used Tom for our sale and purchase and he was great. He kept us informed and updated throughout the matter. He went above and beyond for us when it appeared that there were issues with our title on our sale property and continuously chased our buyers and kept everyone informed. I would highly recommend Smith & Co Solicitors and Tom Penn for your conveyancing. He was very professional and a good representative of how lawyers should be.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

April 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stress free process

Quick, easy and stress free process.

Was this review helpful?

Helen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Helen

March 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helpful support for my house move.

Throughout the process of purchasing my new home Jo was very responsive to my queries and proactive in moving things forward. She was clear in her communication, which made the process of moving house straightforward. I would not hesitate to recommend Smith and Co and would use them again should the need arise.

Was this review helpful?

Babu

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Babu

March 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Experts in Property sale

they have bee great from the start and finished my property sale without any hassle.
They have a good team who are efficient and finished my sale even hen I had a difficult Buyer and solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

MH

MH

March 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase + sale of property

Jo's communication was second to none. I was informed on every step of the process and knew exactly how far along the chain we were. I found Jo provided the perfect service A++. I found Smith + Co extremely good value for the money. I knew that I was the client and anything I requested I got. I will and have recommended Smith + Co. It all came down to the customer service and value for money. It was the perfect service. Communication was first class. Jo done all the leg work and made a potentially stressful time stress free. I can not fault the value for money. I do not believe anything needs changing.

Was this review helpful?

Jo

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Litigation - Property litigation claims

Jo

March 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Transfer of Equity re shared property with ex partner

Having to vacate a shared property with my now ex partner re abusive behaviour

Smith & Co helped me retrieve my agreed part of the equity from the property and be released from the leasehold/freehold etc within a timescale as I had been waiting over 6 months for completion by my ex partners solicitor!

They certainly live up to their 5 star recommendations!

Thank you, Vicky, Tom, JennyD, JennyM and especially Mr Keith Holland!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Charlotte

Charlotte

May 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Charlotte

We cannot recommend Ela Mobini of Smith & Co more highly.
Extremely fast and efficient, proactive, professional and personable.
Ela was a delight to work with and provided a first rate, solution-focused service despite unusual Covid circumstances.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Stuart

May 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stuart

We have used Smith & Co Solicitors twice now. First for selling a house a few years ago and the second time, most recently for both buying and selling. For this, Thomas Penn was managing the process and was by far the most efficient and communicative solicitor in the long chain of client solicitors. Could not fault a thing and would highly recommend this professional, friendly and super efficient firm. Many thanks Tom!

Was this review helpful?

Martin

Martin

April 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Martin

Very good and very professional although it must have been tough during the last year they kept me well informed

Was this review helpful?

James

James

April 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

James

Jenny has managed 4 property transactions for us and is excellent - we would recommend her and Smith & Co to anyone

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

April 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

Friendly and helpful service - thank you!
(NONE of the local solicitors in Colchester I contacted were able to provide the relevant service due to covid-19... ).

Was this review helpful?

Smith & Co Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are located in Clarence House, a listed building on St Margaret’s Green, in the heart of Ipswich and offer free parking to our clients, to make your visit as stress-free as possible. In addition, there is nearby, on-street parking, short-term on Soane Street at a cost of £1 per 30 minutes and also medium-term parking at the Regent Theatre car park where the charge is £1.20 per hour.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment