Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Smith & Co Solicitors app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Smith & Co Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Smith & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Smith & Co Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Smith & Co Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 94%
No 6%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Smith & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    162
  • Very Good

    9
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Janina

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase of development land

Janina

May 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Approachable and professional service. Kept informed by my solicitor at every step

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Emily

April 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service - Fantastic from start to finish.

We recently sold our first house and have now moved into our new home! We used Amber previously when we brought our first house and there was absolutely no question about using Amber again with Smith and Co. Amber was fantastic from start to finish; answering any queries, responding so quickly, keeping us updated, supportive and pushed forward despite some challenges from our buyers solicitor. We could not thank Amber enough and have had excellent service from all members of the team we have dealt with. I would highly recommend Amber and Smith and Co to anyone in need of their services.

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Emily

April 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

We have used Smith and Co twice now and both times have been excellent. Jo Perrins has worked very quickly and efficiently throughout the transaction. Her communication has been amazing and we cannot recommend her enough!

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Alan

April 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Disappointed

Can not recommend. We were very disappointed with the service we received.

Was this review helpful?

Amr

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Amr

April 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service and really helpful

They deliver great service
Very helpful teamwork
And I’m using this service for other leasehold case with them

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Daniel

April 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale and purchase twice.

Very happy with service provided, outstanding communications always kept informed and very good to get other party’s moving. Very happy indeed we used twice and would use again and have already recommended to my friends, very good price and upfront and nothing hidden. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Landlord and Tenant

John

April 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent professional service

Excellent professional service, with attention to detail, which I would be happy to recommend. Keith Holland was always very accessible and great support.

Was this review helpful?

Kevin Quinlan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Kevin Quinlan

March 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

It was a pleasure dealing with Ms Perrins. She was very professional and acted in our best interests. Very approachable and easily contactable. Made a very stressful situation much smoother.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Robert

March 24, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lasting Power of Attorney

Lasting Power of Attorney.
We were very satisfied with Zeenat Pasha's explanation of and guidance through the process of making powers of attorney for both financial & property affairs and health & welfare. Our matter was dealt with during the first lockdown in 2020 and dealt with via zoom meetings, email and the phone without a hitch.

Was this review helpful?

Luke

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Smith & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase of development land

Luke

March 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Seamless Service

I have used Smith & Co in the past and will be using them again in the future! Very happy with the service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Anita

Anita

February 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Anita

Great place for them to do a will.very professional

Was this review helpful?

Chris

Chris

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chris

We have now used Smith & CO’s conveyancing service twice and cannot recommend them highly enough (as another reviewer has said - we would give 6 stars out of 5 if we could!). For our latest move in December 2021, Jo Perrins was our allocated conveyancer and could not have been more helpful with what turned out to be a tricky chain. Thanks again to all at Smith & Co!

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew

Very helpful and understanding about my situation.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

September 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Great conveyancing service - would rate 6 stars out of 5. We’re based overseas and bought a UK house remotely, which was very efficient. Jenny Dawson and the wider team are excellent and flagged the key things we needed to be across and looked out for our best interests. Would use again.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

July 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul

I was lucky enough to work with Tom Penn on the purchase of some land. Tom was professional responsive and dedicated. I can not say the same for the other sides solicitor. I thought that this would have been a simple process and it should have been. Tom picked up the slack left by the other side and was the one to get this finally pushed through. I'd highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Philip

Philip

December 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Philip's experience...

Everything very efficiently dealt with in a professional and friendly way. Many thanks, Philip and Ann Young

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Dean

December 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dean's experience...

We had a really positive experience of buying and selling with the support of Jo Perrins and would highly recommend her.

Was this review helpful?

Georgina

Georgina

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Georgina's experience...

Quick process and moving . Amber was extremely quick

Was this review helpful?

Paris

Paris

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paris's experience...

Poor communication. Did not use the app at all. Sold on use of the app, but it was not actually used.

Was this review helpful?

Smith & Co Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We are located in Clarence House, a listed building on St Margaret’s Green, in the heart of Ipswich and offer free parking to our clients, to make your visit as stress-free as possible. In addition, there is nearby, on-street parking, short-term on Soane Street at a cost of £1 per 30 minutes and also medium-term parking at the Regent Theatre car park where the charge is £1.20 per hour.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
Book an appointment