Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Holden Smith Law Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 88%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Holden Smith Law Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Holden Smith Law Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 10%
Overpriced 10%
About Right 80%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 86%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 86%
No 14%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Holden Smith Law Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    942
  • Very Good

    58
  • Average

    14
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    167

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
John,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

John,

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Good

Very helpful, explained the process all the way through.

Was this review helpful?

Sajjad,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Sajjad,

December 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you

Smooth and efficient service as usual, Danny dealth with my buy to let sale, Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Celia,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Celia,

December 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

house sale

Lack of connection, difficult to contact which caused stress not only to me but the buyer, took far too long.

Was this review helpful?

Paul,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Probate

Paul,

November 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

So Easy

Had Dominic help us with our joint Will. Relaxed and informative , Dominic was brilliant.

Was this review helpful?

Nicola,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Nicola,

September 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worst law firm

I used Holden Smith to process the purchase of my house. What a mistake. They were very poor and seemed at times to mot know what they were doing. I could never get hold of them and they missed vital pieces of information.

Was this review helpful?

Tracy,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tracy,

August 24, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Worst solicitor I’ve ever had the misfortune to be involved with

If I could give a minus star rating I would. Absolutely awful. Rude, arrogant and generally unhelpful. Phone calls are ignored, emails unanswered, and when you do finally get to talk to them they clearly have better things to do that answer questions from the person that’s paying them. We were told one thing one day then told something else completely different the next time we made contact to then be told that’s not what we were told in the first place. What should have been a relatively quick and easy house purchase has become an almost unending nightmare. I 100% would NOT recommend this firm to anyone for anything

Was this review helpful?

Daniel,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Disputed Trusts

Daniel,

August 11, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Home Purchase

We had a good level of communication throughout the conveyancing process. Amy offered clear advice and responded to our questions and concerns in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous,

June 06, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid at all costs

From start to finish a truly horrible experience I would not in any way ever recommend the firm to anyone . Poor communication,did not respond to emails , never saw the person dealing with our conveyancing . To name but a few issues

Was this review helpful?

Kim

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

Kim

March 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

so on the ball

My experience with Holden Smith ( Dominic Cronshaw) was extremely pleasing and speedy results no false promises and always returned emails and calls, fully updated all the way and will look forwqrd to using there services again.

Was this review helpful?

Sharleen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sharleen

November 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing

Amazing!!!
I can't fault holden smith at all!! My solicitor was Keeley and she was amazing.
As a first time buyer they were so patient with us and explained every step of the way.
Even though our sellers solicitors were shocking and slow at doing everything, ours worked so getting us completed on the date we wanted!!!
Thank you so much

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Fahmy

Fahmy

July 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fahmy

The experience is very disappointing, service is bad my solicitor is not responsive at all. I am isolated with no updates. I didn’t receive even a welcome call and they keep sending me documents without explaining any context.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

June 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew

Awful service. Avoid this company if you want your house sale/purchase to go smoothly.

1. Our bill of sale relating to our purchase was "lost" so no action was taken on our purchase for a month.
2. Enquiries raised by our buyer in December 2023 were forgotten and not actioned until I chased in February 2024.
3. It took SIX MONTHS for Holden Smith to complete searches and enquiries on our purchase.
4. Our solicitor "forgot" about our agreed completion date 5 days before it was due.
5. Our completion was delayed by several hours because they "lost" the money from our sale and couldn't send it to our purchase. The chain of 4 more houses after us were not able to start until 3pm because of this!
6. Our solicitor refused to answer any of my calls during the entire process. Even when our first attempt at completing fell through and my entire house was loaded onto a removal van she still refused to speak to me.

Was this review helpful?

Hannah

Hannah

June 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hannah

Just bought our first house and we can’t thank Holden Smith enough! Ryanne Smith and Lauren Firth have made the whole process so easy! From having our offer accepted to getting our keys, they dealt with everything along the way and the whole process was so quick! Thank you very much!

Was this review helpful?

Melanie

Melanie

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Melanie

We had Daniel Cox look after our recent house purchase and despite the complexities of a simultaneous exchange and completion, Daniel navigated it as a breeze. The report he produced was brilliant and definitely the most thorough and well presented one in all the purchases I have made. I did have a bit of a panic mid way through when things went quiet (as we all do), but I needn't have as everything was clearly in hand.

Holden Smith have an online portal which is helpful and looks very professional, but does seem to have a few bugs/improvements that could be made that would have made things clearer to me and potentially stopped me from emailing Daniel so much. But this is just a small piece and doesn't reflect the actual work done.

Thanks for helping me buy our home & good luck for the future.

Was this review helpful?

Joshua

Joshua

May 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Joshua

Just wanted to shout out Dan H, as first time buyers he made the purchase of our first home feel as seamless as possible. Super easy to communicate with and knowledgeable, 100% recommend these guys.

Was this review helpful?

Holden Smith Law Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Having worked in various law firms of all shapes and sizes, we knew there was a better way; an easier, more client focused way, to get the law done.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
Book an appointment