Request a callback

Book an appointment

How HS Conveyancing Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of HS Conveyancing on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using HS Conveyancing. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 21%
About Right 78%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used HS Conveyancing and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how HS Conveyancing performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 88%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used HS Conveyancing and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how HS Conveyancing compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 88%
No 12%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that HS Conveyancing offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    914
  • Very Good

    57
  • Average

    14
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    158

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Neil,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Wills

Neil,

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills

Sorted both myself and my wife's will quickly and in a professional yet friendly manner.

Was this review helpful?

Benjamin,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Benjamin,

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Completing a Will

Holden Smith were speedy, professional and very helpful in helping us compete a Will.

Was this review helpful?

Sandra,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Sandra,

May 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

New will

Very pleasant and all questioned answered in plain English.

Was this review helpful?

Keith,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Probate

Keith,

May 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from Holden Smith Horsforth

Probate processed in just three weeks! The whole process was so quick and painless with the professional handling by Mr. Andrew Norton.

Was this review helpful?

CJ Yorkshire,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

CJ Yorkshire,

May 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommend for Conveyancing

I've now worked with Holden Smith (Nicole, Huddersfield branch) on a number of property transactions in Harrogate (and on this one also Nicole's assistant Eleanor) . Once again, their level of service has been excellent. Compared to other conveyancing solicitors that I have used previously plus those that I've seen on the "other side" of the transaction, they really are a pleasure to work with in terms of quality and timely communication and their general professional approach to concluding the transaction. Would highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?

Melanie,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

Melanie,

May 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Slow

Correspondence was very slow. Requests for information were repeated without explanation or reason. Weeks of delay were caused.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous,

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good experience

Clear communication, mostly good functioning tech used for these. Pretty good for getting in touch with and setting an aimed exchange date fairly early on.

Was this review helpful?

Gary,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

Gary,

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor communication!

It took over 5 months to complete our sale. We weren't kept in formed unless we called and we were given information of things we needed to produce at very short notice in the last few days before the sale was completed. My sister was told that she needed to provide photo ID to complete the sale, but we were told at the beginning of the sale process there where ways around this as she doesn't hold a passport or photo driving licence. The sale still went through but a lot of stress was caused.

Was this review helpful?

Nicola,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

Nicola,

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

Holden Smith were recommended by our estate agents. They were very helpful and professional throughout the sale of my mum’s property.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Agricultural land for sale or development

Anonymous,

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Deed of Covenenant. I was asked for this document and was not advised that I would not get it back. I paid for it and my name is still on it. When I questioned it I was told you don't want to risk the sale at this stage dont know who my solicitor was only was only dealt with secretary

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Phil

Phil

June 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Phil

Great experience from start to finish. Pete and Brittany dealt with the sale of my property very well. Very prompt upon any requests. Good advice given when needed. Would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Charlotte

Charlotte

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Charlotte

Megan and Kim were fantastic at keeping me up to date during the sales process, highly recommend

Was this review helpful?

Fiona

Fiona

May 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fiona

Excellent service. Easy to understand no solicitors jargon used. Peter always keeps in touch and gives you timescales for completion. Peter Foxall has now been my solicitor for over 30 years.

Was this review helpful?

Yan

Yan

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Yan

I would highly recommend Nicole Knox as a conveyancing solicitor for anyone navigating a complex property purchase. Throughout the challenging process, which was complicated by prolonged waiting times on a grant of probate and unresponsiveness from the seller's solicitor, Nicole demonstrated exceptional professionalism and dedication.

Despite the frustrations caused by the lack of communication from the seller's side, Nicole's unwavering commitment and proactive approach were truly commendable. I found myself reaching out to her almost daily, and each time she responded with patience, reassurance, and a high level of expertise.

After a long and arduous 7-month journey, I am delighted to share that we finally exchanged contracts today, thanks to Nicole's diligent efforts and perseverance. Her exceptional service and willingness to go above and beyond in handling my case have left me deeply grateful.

Thank you, Nicole, for your outstanding support and for guiding me through this challenging process with professionalism and care. I am truly appreciative of all your hard work and dedication.

Was this review helpful?

Claire

Claire

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claire

Completed with them on Thursday 2 May and i honestly have to say we had the best service we could have asked for. We used Holden Smith for both our sale and purchase Nicola and Bethany kept us up to speed through the whole process and went above and beyond to get both transactions completed as smoothly as possible. All calls and emails were answered promptly there was no chasing for answers, buying and selling is stressful but Nicola took the stress away. Would honestly highly recommend this company and staff absolutely 5 stars !!

Was this review helpful?

HS Conveyancing are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

HS Conveyancing is led by Julie Makin, David Bancroft and James Smith who have years of combined experience and exceptional relationships with National Estate Agents, Brokers and leading Panel Providers. HS Conveyancing is proud to hold the Quality Conveyancing Scheme accreditation.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
Book an appointment