Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Holden Smith Law Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 88%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Holden Smith Law Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Holden Smith Law Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 30%
About Right 67%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 86%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 86%
No 14%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Holden Smith Law Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.4/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    941
  • Very Good

    58
  • Average

    14
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    167

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jonathan

Jonathan

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

No communication or clarity on anything!

These were the first solicitors I’ve dealt with regards to a house purchase & will be steering well clear in the future.
There is no information or communication for days, weeks & nearly a whole month.
Multiple times I’ve been told everything was received only to be told weeks later that is not the case or something was wrong.
I had to force the issue multiple times including liaising with the seller to get information from their solicitor on what mine had/hadnt done

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

June 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very bad experience

Awful service. Avoid this company if you want your house sale/purchase to go smoothly.

1. Our bill of sale relating to our purchase was "lost" so no action was taken on our purchase for a month.
2. Enquiries raised by our buyer in December 2023 were forgotten and not actioned until I chased in February 2024.
3. It took SIX MONTHS for Holden Smith to complete searches and enquiries on our purchase.
4. Our solicitor "forgot" about our agreed completion date 5 days before it was due.
5. Our completion was delayed by several hours because they "lost" the money from our sale and couldn't send it to our purchase. The chain of 4 more houses after us were not able to start until 3pm because of this!
6. Our solicitor refused to answer any of my calls during the entire process. Even when our first attempt at completing fell through and my entire house was loaded onto a removal van she still refused to speak to me.

Was this review helpful?

A

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

A

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Time wasters

Pathetically bad service, with progress being so slow we were at risk of the house sale falling through. We were assigned a solicitor, Sheraz, to conduct our conveyancing for a house purchase. The first stage of the process (ID checks) took weeks with chasing up from our side. After a month in, Sheraz left the firm and we weren't informed. We were assigned a new solicitor, Kat, who only got in contact after repeated emails from us. Kat was equally neglectful and did not respond to emails in a timely manner. We were informed we needed to start at the first step of the process all over again as Sheraz's work was not trusted. After being ignored again and again, we decided to go with another firm. We were still charged £36 for the ID check.

Was this review helpful?

Annie

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Annie

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible Communication

I didn't ever speak to Nicole Knox, who was supposedly handling our case. Her assistant Eleanor Johnson was always off and never responded to emails or voicemails. I was constantly chasing and never had an estimated exchange/completion date. We were all set to exchange today and then find out Eleanor is on annual leave again and the case won't be handed over - with no prior warning. Made an already stressful situation way more stressful. Wouldn't recommend these guys to my worst enemy. Stop taking on more cases if you can't handle the workload.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lisa

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing services

Have just completed on our house sale today 8/5/24 and I have to say the service provided has been brilliant. So helpful and responsive I could not recommend them enough. Thank you so much for making a particularly difficult sale processes so much easier!

Was this review helpful?

keith

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

keith

March 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Seamless transition

Dealing with Holden Smith has been a very comfortable and easy going experience where Nicola Cheesbrough has made me feel totally at ease
Keeping me up to date with everything.
Replying promptly and explaining any queries that I had (fantastic)

Was this review helpful?

Christopher,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Christopher,

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will Writing

Great and speedy service from Dominic! Very helpful throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Andrew,

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extension of Lease

Mr Cronshaw was willing to go the extra mile to achieve completion in good time to both our and our Tenants satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

Ro Ro

Ro Ro

January 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible!! Failed to even read the documents they sent me to sign

Nicola Cheeseborough was extremely difficult to speak to and communicate with via email. Her assistant was far easier as she actually responded and answered the questions in the email. Nicola was always on lunch and even felt it was ok when everyone was trying to confirm if the documents were going to be ready for the next steps so we could all agree a date she felt telling me she was going to check her other emails first was appropriate. My family, including my disabled baby, were nearly homeless!

There was a lot of hand holding and steps taken for Holden Smith because they were very disorganised and delayed. I would have got nowhere and felt even less supported if it wasnt for the estage agent (also legally trained - owner of the estate agent company). He was great at mediating an adjusted agreement between myself and the seller - Nicola was supposed to be doing this...after many many weeks waiting it was done in under an hour when we removed her from the equation!

Fast forward to finally getting the documents - all I do is read them and there are clear errors. One huge. Nicola finally called me and had the audacity to state the information was missed when the current sellers solictors completed the sale and should have been picked up (but failed to realised, she, as my solictor for the purchase this time, should have picked it up - the same responsibility but a real lack of responsibility). This caused a very very very long process entering Deed of variation. Again, contact ceased no updated and the estate agent supported me with updates. Someone senior tried to help Nicola, her name is Julie, but she honestly made things even worse as she failed to read the entire case so was constantly corrected. Despite it written in emails she tried to say the team flagged the concern but one email earlier and she would have seen it was my email that raised this as a question and they then went back review the details before flagging it to the other solictor. I was given documents to sign with a date a few days later for the keys - so it most certainly was not them.

So, the Director was supposed to contact me...twice. They did not.

Then after the prolonged disaster they did not even support with transfering my searches for another property I had to find to another solictor (as obviously our relatiobship and trust was destroyed by this point).

They lost their position on a very well respected list as I was not the only disaster they had. They stopped getting client referrals as they were awful. I hope they learnt to actually do their job - just reading the documents would be a good start.

Safe to say I have directed everyone I know elsewhere. The impact this caused on my family and work life was tremendous and I hope someone conisdering Holden Smith sees this and goes elsewhere. I wish I knew.

Was this review helpful?

Trevor,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Trevor,

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Prompt and professional. Exactly what I required.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Becky

Becky

July 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Becky

Great experience. Katie was a fabulous solicitor, kind and informative at every stage. Very honest too. Highly experienced and great at what she does.
Katie made the process as a first time buyer a lot easier. I’m very grateful for her support.
The reception/admin staff were always friendly and communication with arranging calls was always smooth.
Highly recommend Holden Smith and would use them again.

Was this review helpful?

sheila

sheila

July 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

sheila

Would highly recommend. Kept us informed every step of the way, always got back to us when they said they would. And did everything in there power to get us our preferred moving date. Becca and Katie were very friendly and appreciable.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Andrew

July 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Prompt with communications and made the process easy to navigate. Would recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

July 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

A great service. Very accommodating and helpful within a short time scale. Thank you Lucy, you're a star!

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

June 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michael

Fantastic service from Lucy and her team
Thank you very much for everything you done also very reasonable for our sale and our purchase.
10 out of 10
Thank you
Michael and Deborah

Was this review helpful?

Holden Smith Law Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Having worked in various law firms of all shapes and sizes, we knew there was a better way; an easier, more client focused way, to get the law done.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
Book an appointment