Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Holden Smith Law Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Holden Smith Law Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Holden Smith Law Limited. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 24%
About Right 72%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 87%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 87%
No 13%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 89%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Holden Smith Law Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Holden Smith Law Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 89%
No 11%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Holden Smith Law Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    765
  • Very Good

    46
  • Average

    12
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    137

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Christopher,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Christopher,

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will Writing

Great and speedy service from Dominic! Very helpful throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Andrew,

February 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extension of Lease

Mr Cronshaw was willing to go the extra mile to achieve completion in good time to both our and our Tenants satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

Ro Ro

Ro Ro

January 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible!! Failed to even read the documents they sent me to sign

Nicola Cheeseborough was extremely difficult to speak to and communicate with via email. Her assistant was far easier as she actually responded and answered the questions in the email. Nicola was always on lunch and even felt it was ok when everyone was trying to confirm if the documents were going to be ready for the next steps so we could all agree a date she felt telling me she was going to check her other emails first was appropriate. My family, including my disabled baby, were nearly homeless!

There was a lot of hand holding and steps taken for Holden Smith because they were very disorganised and delayed. I would have got nowhere and felt even less supported if it wasnt for the estage agent (also legally trained - owner of the estate agent company). He was great at mediating an adjusted agreement between myself and the seller - Nicola was supposed to be doing this...after many many weeks waiting it was done in under an hour when we removed her from the equation!

Fast forward to finally getting the documents - all I do is read them and there are clear errors. One huge. Nicola finally called me and had the audacity to state the information was missed when the current sellers solictors completed the sale and should have been picked up (but failed to realised, she, as my solictor for the purchase this time, should have picked it up - the same responsibility but a real lack of responsibility). This caused a very very very long process entering Deed of variation. Again, contact ceased no updated and the estate agent supported me with updates. Someone senior tried to help Nicola, her name is Julie, but she honestly made things even worse as she failed to read the entire case so was constantly corrected. Despite it written in emails she tried to say the team flagged the concern but one email earlier and she would have seen it was my email that raised this as a question and they then went back review the details before flagging it to the other solictor. I was given documents to sign with a date a few days later for the keys - so it most certainly was not them.

So, the Director was supposed to contact me...twice. They did not.

Then after the prolonged disaster they did not even support with transfering my searches for another property I had to find to another solictor (as obviously our relatiobship and trust was destroyed by this point).

They lost their position on a very well respected list as I was not the only disaster they had. They stopped getting client referrals as they were awful. I hope they learnt to actually do their job - just reading the documents would be a good start.

Safe to say I have directed everyone I know elsewhere. The impact this caused on my family and work life was tremendous and I hope someone conisdering Holden Smith sees this and goes elsewhere. I wish I knew.

Was this review helpful?

Trevor,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Trevor,

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Prompt and professional. Exactly what I required.

Was this review helpful?

Jack,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Jack,

December 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills, House purchase and Deed of Trust

We used Holden Smith to organise the purchase of a Right To Buy property and they also recommended further services which in the following years have become essential for us to keep the life of the entire family stable and as peaceful as possible.

Were recommended to me by a solicitor friend (luckily so as I have no background in law) and would absolutely use again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful?

Sean

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sean

November 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Untrustworthy, neglectful and unprofessional

I would describe Holden Smith as untrustworthy, neglectful and unprofessional. They were slow to respond to emails and are difficult to get in touch with.

They carried out the wrong searches and misquoted me for my house purchase. I had to pay almost £300 extra to cover their mistakes. They did not notice or make me aware of these mistakes until we were three days away from completion.

The completion statement had multiple errors. Their contract for sale had errors. I pointed this out to them but never received an updated copy of it. I would not recommend their conveyancing services. They do not adhere to their own complaints policy.

I have raised a formal complaint with them but they refuse to respond in accordance to their own complaints policy.

Was this review helpful?

Christina,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

International

Christina,

November 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

5 Stars for Holden Smith

Great local solicitors. They were efficient and responded quickly to emails. Would definitely recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful?

Victorine

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Victorine

October 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Purchase 2 Elm Road

Alex Jones managed the purchase from start to finish.
Alex was super efficient and completed the purchase on my target date which was incredible.
Thank you sooo much Alex. 👏

Was this review helpful?

William,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

William,

October 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Land Purchase

Simon was very thorough and chased things through on a very slow purchase due to the sellers parties being distant and not engaged.

Was this review helpful?

Brenda,

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Holden Smith Law Limited.

Matter Type:

International

Brenda,

October 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Will writing service

Dominic was exceptional! He even joined a zoom call with me as many time as I needed to make sure I was happy with everything! And I am 89 and find these things a lot more complicated that what they are but he was very patient and informative

I would recommend him to everyone in my friends and family circle!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Noeleen

Noeleen

February 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Noeleen

Was met when arriving at offices by very helpful and approachable receptionist.
Was there for an appointment with Dominic Cronshaw for writing of my Will.
He gave me additional advice which I may not have considered previously. And I came away very confident with my experience. Would highly recommend to any future clients.

Was this review helpful?

Sharlotte

Sharlotte

February 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sharlotte

Lucy and Lauren were absolutely brilliant with quick communication at all times. I would highly recommend Holden Smith Law.

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Jane

February 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jane

I only needed them to verify my ID. Paid £99. It involved a 3 minute video call. Should have been so easy but I had to send an email to remind the solicitor assigned to me to even book an appointment and then had to send two further emails to remind her to send me the confirmation documentation. I would not recommend these people - I should have used a cheaper, local company that needed to see me face to face as that would have been less hassle and than doing it all online.

Was this review helpful?

Thomas

Thomas

February 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thomas

I was referred to Holden Smith by my mortgage broker. Katie, who handled my case was truly exceptional; she handled everything with professionalism and speed. I would recommend Holden Smith to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Chloe

Chloe

January 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chloe

Absolutely amazing service
Excellent communication and customer service would highly recommend Holden Smith Law

Was this review helpful?

Holden Smith Law Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Having worked in various law firms of all shapes and sizes, we knew there was a better way; an easier, more client focused way, to get the law done.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
Book an appointment