Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Blacks Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Blacks Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 10%
Overpriced 43%
About Right 45%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 85%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blacks Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Blacks Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 85%
No 15%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 85%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blacks Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Blacks Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 85%
No 15%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Blacks Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    273
  • Very Good

    16
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    30

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Katharine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Katharine

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helpful conveyance service

Thank you to Kim and her team for pulling out the stops to ensure our sale went through for a particular time frame. She was approachable, helpful and proactive. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Tracy Turner

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Tracy Turner

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul Kelly

Paul was recommended to me for some personal advice. From the beginning, Paul understood what was required, was diligent and quick to respond and managed the matter in a professional manner.
A pleasure to work with and no hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful?

richard

richard

November 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant

Used Blacks for a Company Purchase of a buy to let. Dealt with a lady who was brilliant. Communicative, straight forward, responsive and got on with the job. I have dealt with Solicitors for years , at times very tedious. This was a breath of fresh air. Would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Joseph Mullen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Joseph Mullen

November 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stress free, easy & efficient

Sophie Jones dealt with the purchase of our first home, she was professional throughout and helped us understand everything that was going on during the purchase of our property.

We didn’t have to ask her twice about anything, she was always on the ball and got everything done before we even asked about it.

We’ll be back to use Blacks and Sophie again in a few years!

Was this review helpful?

Mr & Mrs W Chapman

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Mr & Mrs W Chapman

November 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

We chose Blacks as our Solicitors and we must say that we never regretted a minute of it. Sophie Jones and Rebecca Pickles were excellent and a credit to your company. We had two houses fall through and they supported us with positive professional attitudes throughout. On purchasing our current home they were always available for any questions we had and always replied to us in a professional and timely manner. We would not hesitate to use this company again and would definitely recommend Blacks to friends. All in all well worth a 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful?

Hayley Jones

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Hayley Jones

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Time Buyers

As first time buyers, the process of buying a property can be quite daunting. However, Sophie and the team were always on hand to reassure and answer any questions that we had. Thank you for making our first house purchase so straightforward and stress free! We would highly recommend and will definitely be using Blacks for future services.

Was this review helpful?

Richard Dunhill

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Richard Dunhill

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

FIVE STAR SERVICE

I recently instructed Blacks and the service I received was exemplar.

I would particularly like to thank Bilal and his team for their patience, perseverance, time and effort.

If the need should arise, I will have no hesitation in instructing Blacks Solicitors again and can certainly recommend the Company to others.

A big thank you to Bilal and his team.

Was this review helpful?

Nicola Tresadern

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Nicola Tresadern

October 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly, fast and so helpful

Thanks to Clare and Crystal, my partner and I were recently able to complete on our first home purchase. Both Clare and Crystal were so helpful and really explained the process of how home buying works from a solicitors point of view and what we needed to provide and even helped us over a couple of hurdles! This was super helpful as being first time buyers we had no idea and there was a huge amount of paperwork to get through. Thankfully they made it easy, quick and pain free and now we are officially home owners. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Debbie

October 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent!!!

At the offset we thought Blacks were an average solicitor but then huge problems started with our buyer's solicitors to the point when we all thought after six months everything was going to fall through....
Then came Sophie Arnold, a solicitor in shining armour on her white horse and literally went at our case relentlessly until yesterday we finally arrived at our dream home. I don't doubt at all we wouldn't be here without her and the team.
Our buyer went with a cheap and cheerful solicitor, we went for a more established one and wow, could you see the difference!
We got the bill for Blacks and literally said "they earnt every penny of it".
Highly recommended for even the most basic sale as you don't know you need a decent solicitor until you do and by that time it can be too late.

Was this review helpful?

Catherine

Catherine

September 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Staff on holiday and unable to complete on time

We decided to go with the firm after many good review regardless that their fees were £500+ more than other firms. We already told up front that we needed to complete within 7 weeks and in the end lengthen to 10 weeks to meet the stamp duty deadline. Yet, they keep saying the files under review with senior and also the solicitor in charge was on leave twice without anyone continue to process the file, leading to delay. I already asked if anyone else can act on it while current one was on leave and yet they keep saying file processed in date ordered and no one could help. The partner dealing with lease extension was very helpful ând worked late to try to make it faster but the conveyancing solicitor kept using the excuses to delay ánd show no willingness to help us. Now it will cost us another £2.5k for the delay. They seem to have a very lengthy approval review process and will not willing to speed up. DO NOT USE IF YOU WANT TO COMPLETE WITH A DEADLINE.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Christine

Christine

January 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christine

We were recommended to use Blacks - what a mistake - it was a total fiasco, calls never returned, emails ignored - important original documents (LPA) " lost "internally despite them being sent recorded delivery they kept insisting they didn't have them . Eventually found them but then returned them to a totally different person !!! and it was left to us to track them down. We had to dismiss them as we would have lost our buyer due to their incompetence. Avoid, avoid, avoid

Was this review helpful?

Tao

Tao

January 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tao

Top service from a top company

Was this review helpful?

Rahiema

Rahiema

December 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rahiema

The experience I had was abit of both, they helped alot but at times they were also really slow at getting back to us. I think if it wasn't for the sellers agency (Your Move) pushing them I probably wouldn't have got my house til next year.

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

December 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

Very responsive and efficient! Yunus and his team are a pleasure to deal with. The speed and efficiency of service was exceptional. The personal touch is key for me, for a company that is so large and so busy, to feel like you are the only client makes you really appreciate the effort that goes into every single case. The knowledge and expertise of Yunus is incredible, so grateful to have found such a reliable, honest and straightforward solicitor. Ambreen kept me in the loop every step of the way too, the whole team couldn’t have been more helpful.

Was this review helpful?

alyson

alyson

October 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

alyson

Excellent service many thanks to Liz Daniels for all her time and patience also reception staff very wellcoming many thanks again

Was this review helpful?

Blacks Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We provide a wide range of legal services to commercial and private clients in Yorkshire, and across the UK, from our two offices based in Leeds. Our primary objective is the delivery of a first class service to all of our clients, whilst providing expert advice at realistic and competitive rates. To achieve this we take time to get to know and understand our clients, building long-term relationships to deliver the best results possible. We are also committed to our unique ‘Four Hour Call Back Promise’, which means that our clients get the support that they need when they need it.

Practice areas

Corporate Law Commercial Law Commercial Property Law Commercial / Civil Dispute Resolution Employment Law Business Immigration Insolvency & Recovery Debt Recovery Family Law Wills & Probate Residential Property / Conveyancing

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment