Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Blacks Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Blacks Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 57%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blacks Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Blacks Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 60%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blacks Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Blacks Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Blacks Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    250
  • Very Good

    15
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    26

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Kim Norris

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kim Norris

May 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

The service received from Blacks solicitors was excellent, I would use them again

Was this review helpful?

Alison Lynch

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Alison Lynch

May 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Joanna Emmett at Blacks

I used Blacks for my flat sale. Joanna Emmett dealt with my sale and although the sale was long and complicated she was so helpful, efficient, on the ball ,comforting and friendly . She stayed at the other end of the phone at all times, replied really quickly and sorted out all problems with ease. She made a very stressful and traumatic time so much better as i felt like she knew what she was doing and she worked hard to get my sale through. I would definitely use her again and recommend her to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Sarah

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Professional

David Ward gave me very professional and realistic advice regarding a potential employment claim. I really appreciated that he gave me an honest appraisal of my situation, rather than just telling me what I wanted to hear.

I found Blacks through an online search regarding employment law, but I have previously used them for conveyancing and they were very professional on that occasion too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah Scarlett

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sarah Scarlett

April 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Thankyou Blacks for being so efficient and supportive through our sale and purchase experience, your communication with us gave piece of mind and nothing was too much bother for you.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Annie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Annie

April 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

This was organised via an estate agent to do the conveyancing on seek and onward purchase of property.

The first person to handle the case was not great - did not respond to emails or answer the phone but he was replaced with someone else who was very good- she kept me informed and also responded to emails or phone calls in a timely manner.

As I am new to this process she explained what needed to happen and what information was needed.

Was this review helpful?

Tom Richmond

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tom Richmond

April 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Soliciting of moving home

I honestly can’t give enough praise for the support, help and overall professionalism seen from the team at blacks who supported me through a recent house move, Clare and Crystal have been absolutely fantastic, they always have your best interests at heart and will do anything for you, overall they made the whole experience easier for me and my family

Was this review helpful?

Margaret Trossell

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Margaret Trossell

March 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I used Blacks on recommendation from my daughter who sold and bought a house last year using Blacks. I bought my present house last year before my daughter and used a solicitors I had used before but a different person. The service was appalling, she was extremely rude and delayed my completion. After being shouted at down the phone I had a dread of using a solicitor to sell my previous house. The service I received from Talah Hussain was excellent. He was very courteous, explained everything and kept me informed throughout. I will definitely be recommending Talah and Blacks to friends and family and cannot praise him enough. Thank you for making this experience pleasurable and smooth running.

Was this review helpful?

Bereaved daughter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Bereaved daughter

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent and helpful

Many thanks to Rebecca and Sophie at Blacks of Leeds. Helpful, and swift to answer any questions. Always felt that they had my best interests.

Was this review helpful?

Dean Musgrove

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blacks Solicitors LLP.

Dean Musgrove

March 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Joanna Emmett was fantastic

My sale and purchase was taken over early doors by Joanna Emmett. She was fantastic. She was quick to reply to any queries I had and so efficient and very thorough ensuring that I had completed all respective forms for my sale and purchase. Nothing to do with Joanna, but my sale was particularly difficult. Joanna was understanding and reassuring. She was always at the end of the phone and was great in chasing other solicitors to ensure all went smoothly. She made to process so much easier and bearable. She was a breath of fresh air. I would highly recommend Blacks, particularly Joanna Emmett to deal with your Conveyancing. In my opinion, she is a fantastic asset to the company.

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Matter Type:

Disciplinary Hearings

Tim

March 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incredible service

Dave was a complete hero when I needed some help with employment matters. With every query I had, he responded very promptly and aided my navigation through a difficult set of circumstances. You couldn't wish for a more supportive service. I highly recommend Blacks for any employment law matters.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Chloe

Chloe

December 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Chloe

Couldn’t say a bad word about our experience with blacks, Clare had been reassuring all the way through the process of buying our first house, she replies to emails nearly straight away and has been so helpful.
Would 100% recommend blacks and would definitely use them again myself.
Made the stressful time of buying a house so much easier and put myself and my partner at ease through it all. 10/10 service.

Chloe

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Sam

October 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sam

We recently used Black's for the purchase of our new house and Jack Parkinson was absolutely brilliant. To be honest I was dreading the conveyancing part after a rubbish experience with another large Leeds based law firm who would win awards for dragging everything out and making it as slow and tedious as possible. Jack however, was the the complete opposite. His responses to all our queries were absolutely instant and there were quite a few due to our very complicated purchase, sale and remortgaging situation. He was always at the end of the phone and very accommodating if there were any issues and he managed to turn our purchase around in just under 6 weeks!

I would highly recommend using Jack Parkinson for conveyancing, he is an asset to the firm and I would definitely use these again.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Nick

December 23, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nick

Eleanor and Sarah did a fantastic job, proffessional, prompt and great value! Would definitely use them again, made the vendors solicitors look like an embarrassment.

Was this review helpful?

Sandra

Sandra

February 13, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sandra

This on behalf of a client called James Jackson: Very good service and were very patient in handling equity release of my house. Excellent communication. Would highly recommend to other people.

Was this review helpful?

Nicole

Nicole

August 02, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicole

five star all the way. Megan Neethling has been a blessing dealing with our first house. She always answers emailed and always answers calls quickly when she's there. And when she's not at her desk her colleagues are also very helpful. Thanks Blacks!

Was this review helpful?

Blacks Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Blacks Solicitors provide a wide range of legal advice to commercial and private clients across Yorkshire and throughout the UK. We continue to go from strength to strength with 24 partners and over 200 staff operating across two offices based in Leeds. At Blacks we like to do things differently, taking time to understand our clients’ needs and the sectors they work in, whilst giving clear and sensible advice at realistic prices. Our legal services include: Corporate Law Commercial Law Commercial Property Law Commercial / Civil Dispute Resolution Employment Law Business Immigration Insolvency & Recovery Debt Recovery Family Law Wills & Probate Residential Property / Conveyancing In addition we act for clients across a range of niche sectors including: Healthcare; Education; Leisure & Hospitality (including Holiday & Home Parks and Hotels); and Sport. We were also delighted to win Medium Law Firm of the Year at the Yorkshire Legal Awards in 2018, and are proud to be consistently recognised by The Legal 500 as a ‘Leading Firm’ (with several members of our team regularly singled out as Recommend Lawyers).

Practice areas

Corporate Law Commercial Law Commercial Property Law Commercial / Civil Dispute Resolution Employment Law Business Immigration Insolvency & Recovery Debt Recovery Family Law Wills & Probate Residential Property / Conveyancing

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Malicious falsehood
    • Pre-publication advice
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Statutory Demands
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment