Request a callback

Book an appointment

How McAlister Family Law Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of McAlister Family Law on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using McAlister Family Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 92%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used McAlister Family Law and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how McAlister Family Law performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used McAlister Family Law and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how McAlister Family Law compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that McAlister Family Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    164
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Matt

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used McAlister Family Law Limited.

Matt

June 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class service

I instructed McAlister Family Law to handle the financial settlement aspect of my divorce. My matter was handled by Lisa Brown, one of the partners at McAlister.

Right from my initial conversation with Lisa, it was clear that I was in excellent hands; throughout the process Lisa was always available and consistently provided clear, honest and professional advice. I was also kept fully up to date as the matter progressed, which is so very important when working through situations like these.

I would thoroughly recommend Lisa.

Was this review helpful?

Rich

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used McAlister Family Law Limited.

Rich

February 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Lisa helped draw up a pre-nup for me. Very happy with the service received. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

T

T

March 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Ruth

Ruth worked on my case for around 18 months, having being recommended to me to support my long running and increasingly complex matter. Ruth is an outstanding professional, working incredibly my case. She is non-judgemental and importantly, highly communicative, providing regular updates and conferences. Ruth did not hesitate to get stuck into the case from the start, focussing objectively on the issues of key importance to both my child and I. Ruth worked brilliantly with carefully-selected barristers and maintained constant communication with them to ensure collectively, we were up to speed at all times. This had been an extremely stressful experience for me, for a number of years, however, Ruth's depth of experience has been clearly apparent throughout. Ruth and her team were at hand to break the issues down into a way I understood, and guided me carefully through statements, reports and hearings. Ruth took time to assess every new piece of information and gave full consideration to every document, sentence by sentence, whilst setting my mind at ease and managing my own tendencies to get lost in detail and the legal process. I am extremely grateful for Ruth's support in achieving the best possible outcome for my child, thank you Ruth!

Was this review helpful?

T

T

March 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Superb Support - Thank you so much

Nicola has worked on my case for over a year and has been outstanding throughout what has been an extremely complex and challenging matter. Nicola is highly child focussed, regularly breaking down conversation to what things really mean for my child and their future. Nicola has been a fabulous support to me as I navigated the last year under very stressful circumstances, working hard to ensure my concerns have been heard, responding in the most professional and timely manner and contributed brilliantly to the detail of my case. Nicola is blessed with a fabulously friendly nature and a supportive, compassionate approach, ideal for family law matters. I have no doubt she genuinely cared for both my child and I and I am so grateful for her support and guidance.
I am extremely grateful for Nicola's dedication to achieving the best possible outcome for my child - Thank you Nikki!

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used McAlister Family Law Limited.

Matter Type:

Child Maintenance

Michelle

February 22, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Financial support for our child

I am so thankful and forever grateful to Lisa and the team at McAlister Family Law. Lisa's legal advice and expertise helped me significantly, she held my hand with warmth and support throughout the process of obtaining financial support from my (frustratingly avoidant) ex-partner for our young son in what was such an extremely difficult period of my life. Lisa has been very caring, calming and understanding and felt like a true friend throughout. She is very approachable, personable and professional. I honestly don't think i would've got through it all without Lisa. The best outcome for my son. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Matter Type:

Divorce

Brian

January 21, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Solicitor

This is the second time that I have used Paul as my Solicitor, the first time was through a very messy Divorce with which I could not have done without Paul's guidance and advice, this time it is a family dispute over a property left to me and 2 sisters. I have met Paul twice over this and things are now back on track to get a quick sale, If anybody ever askes me if I know a good Solicitor I would always recommend Paul as my first choice,

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Matter Type:

Family law

Robert

June 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service overall from Paul Reay, thanks

As a solicitor myself, I know how hard it can be to meet client expectations and to keep on top of rapidly escalating costs; since these issues were uppermost in my mind, I suspect that I must have been a difficult client to please!

It is fair to say that there were a few issues with the claim along the way, but I suppose that was to be expected - divorce can be an acrimonious process, with a number of difficult issues to grapple with, particularly when the other party is psychotic and restricts access to the children as leverage for more money. Throughout all of this, Paul was supportive, straight-talking and honest. When things became difficult or urgent, he was almost always available and kept me informed as he dealt with the issues in question. He was sympathetic and understanding, but with a sharp edge - just what I wanted from the solicitor in my corner. When it came to the financial dispute resolution hearing, Paul dealt with this himself, rather than using Counsel, at my specific request in order to keep costs in check. He did a sterling job and we managed to get a good outcome under the circumstances.

Once I have more funds, I would not hesitate to use Paul to deal with the Children Act issues which remain outstanding.

Was this review helpful?

alan

Matter Type:

Collaborative Law

alan

May 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional Service

Just a few words , regarding the helpful , straight forward and friendly service provided by Ruth Hetherington @ Mcalister Family Law. Ruth has just recently joined Mcalisters and her assistance in navigating me through the maze which are divorce proceedings, I have nothing but praise for her approach, empathy and sensible advice . I'm sure she will be a great asset to your firm.

regards Alan R

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Matter Type:

Child Custody

Nick

March 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Advice and Guidance

Paul Reay, acted for me in a child custody case with my ex-partner .
Throughout what has been a stressful and horrendous experience Paul offered sound advice, knowledge and guidance.
From the outset I unfortunately faced numerous allegations from my ex-partner that required local authority intervention, Paul guided me through this process with the children's interests first and foremost.
Paul arranged for a barrister to represent at my final hearing , who at the conclusion of the hearing informed me that their role had been made easy due to the representation from Paul at previous hearings and the case preparation Paul had completed on my behalf.
Paul also represented myself at a final separate hearing ordered by the Judge and prior to the hearing Paul explained what he hoped to achieve and made no false promises.
I am delighted to say , from having no contact whatsoever in June 2020, Paul and his team at Mcalister Family Law (Anna Rooney) have secured a shared living order for me with my children. I am now looking forward confidently to the future safe in the knowledge that I can enjoy time with the children and be a part of their lives again.
Throughout this process Paul has been professional and offered support , guidance and counsel for which I will be eternally grateful.
I would highly recommend Paul for his commitment, knowledge, guidance and support.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Matter Type:

Divorce

Michael

March 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul Reay - Excellent Advice and Service

Paul Reay at McAlister Family Law acted for me in relation to a very complicated divorce. He provided excellent, pragmatic and sensible advice on a series of complicated matters making them easy to understand and deal with. He navigated complex law and technical matters, was incredibly knowledgeable and provided great counsel and accurate forecasts of the outcomes. I would recommend Paul most highly on such matters and has brought all matters to favourable resolution without exception.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Stephen

Matter Type:

Family law

Stephen

April 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

The original solicitor handling my case left McAlister Law near the ending of my case and Melissa Jones took control of my case. I was unsure whether to proceed with McAlister because I did not know Melissa. I should not have worried.

Melissa’s handling of the case was perfect. I found her to be professional, approachable, and very focused. Melissa’s advice was informative, and she guided the closing of the case perfectly during the final two hearings – I could not have asked for anything more from her.

I went from not seeing my children for 20 months to a Live With / Live With order – that would not have happened without Melissa.

I cannot speak for other solicitors at McAlister Law, but I would strongly recommend Melissa.

Thank you, Melissa, for all you did.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

November 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

I initially instructed Paul Reay in order to gain more contact with my son. This was now a number of years ago and therefore in that time I have got to know Paul extremely well. As well as being a specialist in children law, Paul is someone who I easily connected with on a human level. Paul has extremely good knowledge and a deep understanding of the law, including Parental Alienation, which was crucial for my case. Prior to instructing Paul, my relationship with my son was hanging in the balance, yet having secured a significant increase in time with my son, things have all changed. On behalf of myself and my son, I want to thank Paul for everything that he has done for us.’

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Karen

October 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Karen

I was represented by Nicola McDaid in a very sensitive family matter. I can not recommend her enough. Nicola was excellent throughout the case and represented me well ensuring my views and opinions were heard every step of the way. Excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Nick

August 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nick

I can highly recommend the services of McAlister Family Law , due to a breakdown in my relationship I sought their guidance in relation to issues concerning access to my children . Throughout I have been given sound advice and guidance . In particular I would like to thank Anna (Rooney) and Paul ((Reay) both of whom have been instrumental in ensuring I am able to take my children away for a much needed holiday after what has been a few stressful months .
I am highly confident that with their continuing advice and support that I will be able to reach an amicable resolution with my ex-partner which I feel would not be possible without their sound expertise, guidance and knowledge.

Thank you
Nick A.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Nick

August 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nick

I can highly recommend the services of McAlister Family Law , due to a breakdown in my relationship I sought their guidance in relation to issues concerning access to my children . Throughout I have been given sound advice and guidance . In particular I would like to thank Anna (Rooney) and Paul ((Reay) both of whom have been instrumental in ensuring I am able to take my children away for a much needed holiday after what has been a few stressful months .
I am highly confident that with their continuing advice and support that I will be able to reach an amicable resolution with my ex-partner which I feel would not be possible without their sound expertise, guidance and knowledge.

Thank you
Nick A.

Was this review helpful?

McAlister Family Law are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Clients choose McAlister Family Law for our expertise, legal excellence and innovative approach to family law. We can help you whether you are seeking to protect your assets, looking for your fair share or are wanting assistance with any other divorce or child-related dispute. Our focus is always on success and delivering the best possible results for you and your family. Fighting for fairness is what we do. Our partners are highly respected both by clients and fellow professionals and are top ranked in both the Legal 500 and Chambers, the top guides to the legal profession in the UK.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
Book an appointment