Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Mcalister Family Law Limited

01625813100

View map
Mcalister Family Law Limited

How Mcalister Family Law Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Mcalister Family Law Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcalister Family Law Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Mcalister Family Law Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Mcalister Family Law Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Mcalister Family Law Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Mcalister Family Law Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Mcalister Family Law Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    21
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Harriet

Matter Type:

Fixed Fee Divorce

Harriet

July 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce Proceedings- Heather Lucy

I chose McAlister Family Law after reading reviews online. After an initial conversation with Heather Lucy who was the solicitor assigned to my case, I felt confident that I was in safe hands.
My now ex husband resided in another country, I didn't know where to start with dealing with international divorce proceedings and was finding it overwhelming. Heather was so patient and guided me through each step of the process. She was reassuring, kind, understanding and I felt supported both professionally and emotionally throughout.
Heather updated me when there was progress on my case and was more than happy to discuss and explain any questions that I had (which was quite a few!).
Heather was a great listener; as an expert in her field she advised me and was very efficient. She also ensured that my personal outcomes with how I wanted to approach this sensitive situation were carried out to the best of her ability which I am very grateful for.
Thank you Heather for your hard work and I would definitely recommend McAlister Family Law.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Matter Type:

Children Act proceedings

Nick

July 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service - Children & Family Law

I am truly grateful to Ruth Hetherington. I needed her assistance to bring an end to years of Court proceedings relating to my children. Ruth is an exceptional solicitor. She is incredibly knowledgeable and has a wealth of experience in her area of work. She is a professional of the highest standard who is also friendly, approachable and has a compassionate understanding of family life.
I cannot thank Ruth enough for all that she has done for me and my family.
I very highly recommend Ruth Hetherington and McAlister Family Law Ltd.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

July 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Consent Order Service Review - Heather Lucy

I required assistance with financial severance following my divorce, which was amicable. I was recommended to McAlister Family Law and Heather Lucy was allocated to my case as Solicitor. Heather was kind, patient, understanding, friendly and professional throughout the process. Heather gave timely updates and dealt with the case thoroughly without any delays. I am thankful to her for helping to bring a difficult period in my life to a point of closure. I would recommend Heather and the company to my friends and colleagues if they were in need of such assistance.

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Dan

June 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Got me through the most difficult time of my life

Paul acted not only as a solicitor but as lifeline for me whilst going through so extremely difficult experiences related to me not having access to my children. Although my trust and experience in the family justice system remains low my trust and experience in Paul navigating me through it with a very successful outcome is high. Paul and his team have always been fair in the repayment of any associated costs during his support over the last 18months. One of Pauls most unique qualities was the level of empathy he demonstrated on my position, it was clear he genuinely did care that I got access to my children. Thanks Paul

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Matter Type:

Divorce

Caroline

June 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Best solicitor I have come across

Having used a couple of solicitors for my divorce and really unhappy with the lack of help, advice and speed I was introduced to Paul Reay and have to say I never looked back. Throughout my difficult divorce Paul was there for me whenever I needed him, he was approachable friendly, professional, thorough and definitely knows what he's talking about. He gave sound solid advice, was incredibly speedy at responding and actually cared about the situation I was in and sympathised. He was able to word letters in a professional and informative clear manner and chased responses where required. Paul is definitely on the ball and never missed any deadline that had been set. Paul is an asset to Mcalister family law and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him to anyone looking for a solicitor. He has been amazing throughout my whole ordeal. Definitely the best I have come across.

Was this review helpful?

ava

Matter Type:

Child Custody

ava

May 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Approachable, friendly, professional solicitor, do not go anywhere else!

Paul Reay at McAlister Family Law acted for me in relation to divorce, finances, and custody proceedings. Paul has become more of a friend than a legal advisor. He has offered professional advice and wrote brilliant, detailed, professional and informative letters to other professionals, when letters were needed and sometimes, they were needed at a moment notice. Paul has excellent knowledge of children’s matters and all the dos and donts and could always advise without hesitation. Paul was on hand to help me check over letters I had to personally send out in relation to matters that didn’t require my solicitor to send. Paul is very approachable, friendly and professional and also calming when I was anxious/upset as I am sure we all feel during these awful proceedings, especially when kids are involved. Paul is an asset to McAlister Family Law and I strongly recommend him to anyone who needs a solicitor who is on the ball and treats clients like they truly matter and are not just a file reference number! Always there, and always interested! I would not use anyone else if I needed further work doing. Trustworthy and honest guy.

Was this review helpful?

Stacey

Matter Type:

Fixed Fee Divorce

Stacey

May 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Service

Anna ROONEY was my solicitor in the case. She was so helpful and kind and took the time to help me understand the process. She was always there when I needed her and would get back to me quickly if there was ever a time she was unavailable. She helped me get the result I wanted and I cannot thank her enough for her help, advice and genuinely incredible support during a difficult time. Highly recommend her....Anna - thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Jack

Jack

May 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant Service

My case was handled by Anna Rooney. She was able to answer all of my questions in the initial consultation and provide me with clear and details options for progressing my case forward. Every time that I had a query, she was very quick to respond to my emails or to give me a call. I had a lot of uncertainty of what was the right path for me but, Anna ensured I was well informed and subsequently I had no anxiety over the case. I would recommend her to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Matter Type:

Child Access

Stephen

April 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Access to my children

The original solicitor handling my case left McAlister Law near the ending of my case and Melissa Jones took control of my case. I was unsure whether to proceed with McAlister because I did not know Melissa. I should not have worried.

Melissa’s handling of the case was perfect. I found her to be professional, approachable, and very focused. Melissa’s advice was informative, and she guided the closing of the case perfectly during the final two hearings – I could not have asked for anything more from her.

I went from not seeing my children for 20 months to a Live With / Live With order – that would not have happened without Melissa.

I cannot speak for other solicitors at McAlister Law, but I would strongly recommend Melissa.

Thank you, Melissa, for all you did.

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Matter Type:

Divorce

Jonathan

April 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

I instructed Mcalister law about 4 years ago and my Divorce has only just finalized. My Divorce was very complex, as my ex wife had moved assets to try and defeat my claim. What followed was a lengthy legal battle which consisted of a trial within a trial to effectively return assets to the rightful owner so that this could be Included in the marital . My large pension was then assessed using a Pension Actuary to enable a true value of worth when sorting the financial matters. My Ex wife and her solicitors would not negotiate at all the whole Divorce hearing went to the wire, George Wilson handled and oversaw my case right up to conclusion. It was particularly frustrating for him because the other side would deliberately try and cause problems and additional expense. The judge saw right through it it the end due to the determination by George Wilson who had put a detailed case together for Trial, The barrister who was instructed By Mcalister Law could not have achieved the result that he did if it hadn’t been for the hard work from George Wilson and the staff at Mcalister Law!
I was over the moon with the result that Mcalister Law secured for me, which the other party had tried to argue was an 18 year marriage based on nothing more than a relationship which ended and continuity was broken before a short marriage of 5 years.... the judge ruled it was a 5 year marriage and my Ex wife received an 8.5 % of my pension based on a cash payment to myself which was later reduced to ZERO on an offsetting basis.
So as you can see, good advice and good representation is worth every single penny! If I had not of had professional representation then I would be in a far far worse position now.
My thanks goes out to Amanda Mcalister and the company but I would give particular thanks to George Wilson for everything he did for me. Thankyou

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights