Request a callback

Book an appointment

How W. & A.S. Bruce Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of W. & A.S. Bruce on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using W. & A.S. Bruce. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 6%
Overpriced 43%
About Right 50%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used W. & A.S. Bruce and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how W. & A.S. Bruce performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used W. & A.S. Bruce and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how W. & A.S. Bruce compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that W. & A.S. Bruce offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    110
  • Very Good

    6
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Keith

Matter Type:

Divorce

Keith

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Superb service

I recently required the services of a solicitor. Having dealt with W and AS Bruce before with house purchases, I had no hesitation in contacting them for assistance. The entire process was seamless and I was fully appraised of what was happening throughout the process. They made what could have been a difficult situation, very straightforward for myself and my now ex-wife.
Helen Gibb and Selina Mackay are an absolute credit to the firm and I would have no hesitation in seeking their help again.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Matter Type:

Trusts

Andrew

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service...!

My elderly parents wanted their Family Trust moved to a firm closer to home and Anna Hills was happy to do the work. She also reviewed the Trust, as well as making changes to their wills that my parents had requested. From our initial meeting with Anna, she inspired confidence and professionalism, which combined with her friendly manner, made for an all-round positive experience.
Everything was completed in good time and I found the cost for all the work to be very reasonable.
My wife and I are thinking about setting up a Family Trust and updating our wills in the near future. It will definitely be Anna we'll be contacting to do the work.

Was this review helpful?

Campbell

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Campbell

May 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really good Solicitors

Great Solicitors, recommended by our estate agent who sold our property and they did not disappoint one bit. Very professional and made the whole process straightforward. Would recommend to anyone selling a property.

Was this review helpful?

Kenny

Matter Type:

Probate

Kenny

May 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

From confirmation of executor to conveyancing, they were professional and thorough, always helpful throughout. Would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Marscha

Matter Type:

Family law

Marscha

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great help during a hard time

Selina has supported us through our court cases in the family court over the past 4 years and has been extremely helpful, professional and caring. She has gone out of her way to help us and I would definitely recommend her!

Was this review helpful?

William

William

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will/Confirmation/Conveyancing

I have recently used W&AS Bruce for producing a will for my late Father, for Confirmation of his Will and finally for the Conveyancing during the sale of my late Father’s property.

The processing of all the above services were completed promptly, efficiently with consummate professionalism and empathy.

The costs associated with all the above services were very competitive.

In summary, I would recommend to use this practice for any legal requirements.

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Colin

April 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling House

I recently sold my house using W&AS Bruce Dunfermline. The process was made stress free by Paralegal Gillian Dyer and her team. The service was very efficient with problems resolved in a friendly manner. I have used W&AS Bruce on many occasions and I'm delighted with their service at a very fair price.

Was this review helpful?

Scott

Matter Type:

Children

Scott

March 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

DISCUSSED AND DISAPPOINTED

These people took on my case for my child for a full 9 month I am 2 weeks away from getting full contact back after having a Barr reporter my child has been threw so much stress I then find out last week that the solicitor damian who was on the case is leaving. He called Me and says not to worry it would be in great hands with another person in the firm I then received a letter after my child hearing thst day saying they canot represent me now this is vile to my child it is Easter holidays and I canot speak to any one I now have tk go threw stress again on Tuesday and find My self some one else which will not have a clue about the case I may even loose contact with my child for good If they can do this to a,7 year old girl please avoid them they are mebt to uphold the law and finish a case not walk away from a little girl who's 2 weeks away from being with her father as the report is says that's what's to happen I'm now in tears on the easter holidays because of yhe failure

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

November 09, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful, shoddy and very poor service

Not the greatest of experiences - never saw my Solicitor, was all phone and email conversations. Even then, felt like nothing was being taken seriously and there was never any urgency (until the fees were due for payment).

At a bad time of my life (battling severe depression and suicidal thoughts), I certainly didn't feel like they were fighting my corner. I wasn't kept up to date with what was happening (often I'd mention something and be told they had it in notes from weeks ago), and advice given wasn't what I'd call brilliant.

Obviously I won't go into specifics, but suffice to say their service could also have cost me a significant amount of money (6 digits). And that's without much personal distress caused by the situation, that they weren't interested in doing anything about.

Even the final bill wasn't correct, and I've just had to fork out even more money as they made an error.

I now have a different Solicitor at Stevenson Marshall (for a different matter), and the difference is night and day. They're friendly, you actually see them in person and they take the time to fully explain the process.

Although the reception and secretaries are great, I certainly would NOT recommend this firm for legal representation. My advice is look elsewhere - you're going to be paying regardless, and your money would be put to better use employing Solicitors who actually care.

All this firm seem interested in is cash, and their service is appalling compared to other Solicitors (whose fees are more or less the same).

Was this review helpful?

Jennifer

Jennifer

April 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Solicitors

W S Bruce, and Charles Campbell in particular, are absolutely brilliant. I wanted to send a 'thank you' card for their wonderful service but my son insisted it is best to put a review on google.
Well I might do both. But in the first instance I will write here what I would have written in the card.
Dear Mr Campbell
Thank you so much for the wonderful work you did for me when I bought my house. I would absolutely not have wanted to do all that myself! I thought your charges were more than reasonable and then when I got an unexpected refund several weeks later I was quite amazed.
Thank you once again
Jenny James

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Eias

Eias

June 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Eias

The best service so helpful so supportive and always available to answer your questions
Completely satisfied with their service 10 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Gillian and Ross you are the stars
Wish all the success
Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Nadeem

Nadeem

June 14, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nadeem

I used a and a s Bruce for buying and selling my house and couldn't fault the service from Gillian and Annie. They made the process so easy when it came to doing all this

Was this review helpful?

Glynis

Glynis

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Glynis

I can’t thank Selina, Helen, Charles Campbell & all other staff who were all very friendly, helpful & very professional. I would highly recommend W&AS Bruce to anyone who needs legal advice

Was this review helpful?

Ninian

Ninian

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ninian

I have used W&AS Bruce for many years now for my conveyancing and family business. They have assisted me again in the sale of my residential home and I am happy to recommend them to others. Thank you to Gillian and her team.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Matter Type:

Trusts

Andy

June 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

Elderly parents had a Family Trust set up that had been transferred through to a firm in Glasgow after the original solicitors closed.
Parents wanted it transferred through to a local firm, as well as getting it reviewed.
Met with Anna Hills who arranged all this in an efficient, helpful and professional manner. She explained everything carefully and got the work completed in a lot quicker time than I thought.
Anna also reviewed their wills and carried out some changes that were requested, as well as obtaining some current valuations on investments they have.
Communication was great and the fees were very reasonable.
I think Trusts are becoming very popular now to help protect the assets you've built up over the years. I'd definitively recommend Anna.

Was this review helpful?

W. & A.S. Bruce are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

We fully acknowledge that you have a choice when it comes to who to use for your legal requirements and advice. Making the right decision can be confusing, yet it is key to building a successful long-term relationship with your solicitor. Below we’ve set out some reasons we believe make us the right choice. Personal Touch – our clients are the reason we come into work every day. We will take the time to get to know you and your situation so we can offer a personalised and tailored service to get you the best results possible Integrity – at all times our experts will give transparent, honest, fair and impartial advice. We want you to feel secure in the knowledge that your best interests are at the very heart of why we do what we do Professional Service Partners – over the years we have built up strong relationships with service providers that complement our services allowing us to confidently recommend other companies to you so you avoid the time taken to research these yourself History/Longevity – with a world in turmoil and large institutions, such as high street banks having lost a large amount of respect and trust in recent years, we hope the fact we have been a solid, respected and trusted firm for decades stands us in good stead – bringing you peace of mind we are right choice for you and your family Compassionate When it Matters – we take an empathetic yet pragmatic approach by listening to our clients, to truly understand their individual circumstances and goals. We do our upmost to make them feel at ease by carefully explaining their choices and options in a way they can understand Formidable When it Counts – a lot of the services we cover can be complex, difficult and have life-changing implications for our clients. We are straight-talking and upfront. If we are representing you in court you can be sure you have a highly strategic, knowledgeable and experienced solicitor fighting your corner.

Regulated by

Law Society of Scotland

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Extending your Lease
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment