Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

01322225353

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.1/5 25 Customer Reviews 25
Recommended by
20 Verified Clients
like Linda
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

25 Customer Reviews

4.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    17
  • Very Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5
Anonymous
Click to rate
Linda
Linda Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 10, 2018 20181010172348

Sale and purchase

5

A big thank you to Barbara and her team especially Sally

Throughout the whole purchase they have kept us up to date but phone e mail or letter

Nothing was too much trouble for them

This would be the third time this team have worked with us in conveyancing and probate and can not praise them enough

Great job

Thanks

Tim and Linda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Linda
Linda Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 10, 2018 20181010172233

Sale and purchase

5

A big thank you to Barbara and her team especially Sally

Throughout the whole purchase they have kept us up to date but phone e mail or letter

Nothing was too much trouble for them

This would be the third time this team have worked with us in conveyancing and probate and can not praise them enough

Great job

Thanks

Tim and Linda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dave
Dave Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 08, 2018 20181008161236

Danielle Morgan

5

Danielle Morgan is the most dedicated, efficient and helpful Conveyencer I have ever had dealings with. She has been amazing with two recent sales. I cannot rate professional person highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally
Sally Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2018 20180924090352

Excellent service!

5

We chose Martin Tolhurst because of the mostly positive reviews and we were so glad we did. Our solicitor, Gemma Nie, was faultless. She represented us professionally, efficiently, was super friendly and always picked up the phone if we needed to speak with her. Our sales agent's communication was extremely poor, so we were incredibly thankful for Gemma's prompt and concise responses. It often felt like I'd barely clicked 'send' and her email response would come through. 9 weeks from start to finish selling our house and it would have been way more had she not been as on the ball as she was. Will highly recommend and use again without doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kim Erin
Kim Erin Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 09, 2018 20180809204400

Very good. Very understanding.

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors managed my father's sale and purchase. He is partially sighted and so needs extra help. Some documents and letters were sent in especially large print and the solicitor explained things calmly and with patience.

The sale in particular was quite testing and it was helpful that our solicitor could speak to other experts within the firm to gather additional experience and insight.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lilia
Lilia Added 4 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 21, 2018 20180721073856

Excellent service

5

Satvir, Danielle and their team were excellent supporters and helpers in whole process of buying our first home. They make us feel comfortable and the process went smoothly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel
Daniel Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 12, 2018 20180612104917

Excellent service

5

Excellent team of Solicitors. Danielle and Satvir were extremely helpful and guided us through everything. Would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adeniran
Adeniran Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 04, 2018 20180604234939

You will never go wrong with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

5

Highly recommended. Very professional. Always at the end of the phone whenever you need Satvir. Kept us informed every step of the way

Thanks Satvir you are a great asset to your firm. Will definitely come back for my future conveyancing etc

Thank you Harry Dhinsa from Mortgage Matters for recommending

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annie
Annie Added 6 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 21, 2018 20180521174130

Sale of my flat

5

I would highly recommend Martin Tolhurst in Ashford who were suggested to me by my estate agents, Ward & Partners.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Labukun
Labukun Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 06, 2018 20180406001513

Brilliant service

5

We've recently completed the sale of our property and purchase of another using Martin Tolhurst, who were recommended by our estate agents. Satvir and Danielle were very efficient and kept us informed through out the process. They were both also very accommodating, responding to my many questions patiently. Although the process was longer than we'd anticipated, due to no fault of Satvir and Danielle, they regularly followed up with the other parties and worked hard to meet our final agreed completion date. I would definitely recommend them and would like to say a big thanks again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

  • Barbara Stewart

    Barbara is the Partner in charge of our Dartford office. Barbara has vast experience and expertise within all aspects of Probate, Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Residential Conveyancing.

  • Kevin Newell

    Kevin is the Partner in charge of our Sittingbourne office and specialises in residential and commercial property transactions for individuals/private clients. He has significant experience with Freehold and Leasehold property sales and purchases and new build transactions.

  • Richard Carter

    Richard is Managing Partner of the firm who specialises in Residential Property Law. As a residential conveyancing solicitor he has a wealth of experience with a wide range of residential property transactions, including expertise in Staircasing and Shared Ownership, Re-mortgages, Listed Buildings and mixed Commercial and Residential Units.

  • Andrew Ashley-Edwards

    Andrew is a partner and head of the commercial department at the firm. Specialising in Commercial Property, Business and corporate matters, Andrew has broad experience looking after small and medium enterprises with particular emphasis on family businesses.

  • Simon Franklin

    Simon is a Partner and the Head of our Wills & Probate Department based at our Gravesend office. He has a wealth of experience in Property Law, Wills, Trust and Probate work and is a member of the Agricultural Law Association with a specialist Agricultural practice acting for many farmers in the North Kent area

  • Giles Dobson

    Giles deals with a broad spectrum of matters from divorce and cohabitation to personal injury, contractual disputes and debt recovery for individuals and businesses. He is experienced across a number of areas of law and has built a wide ranging caseload of matters dealt with in the County Court, High Court and Court of Appeal.

  • Paul Rothwell

    Paul specialisms are in the preparation of wills, tax planning, lasting powers of attorney, applications to the Court of Protection and estate administration. He has experience of advising a broad range of clients including high net wealth clients, specifically preparing wills and administering estates for business owners and farmers.

  • Kevin Denny

    Kevin is one of the Residential Conveyancing Partners and is in charge of our Medway office; he has over 20 years of experience within his area of law. Kevin has a large caseload involving a wide variety of conveyancing transactions and is ably supported by his experienced secretarial team. Kevin also has expertise with Re-mortgages, Transfers of Equity, New-Build purchases, and Equity Release charges.

  • Jane Williams

    Jane deals with all areas of residential property including leasehold and freehold sales and purchases, new build plot purchases, re-mortgage transactions, transfers of equity and transfers of part, home-ownership sales, purchases and staircasing. Jane is the partner in charge of our Longfield office.

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Injunctions
  • Flexible Working
  • Trusts
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Family law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Family Mediation
  • Professional Negligence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Tax
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Collaborative Law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Right to Manage
  • TUPE
  • Trusts
  • Separation
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Repossessions
  • Leasehold properties
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Lease Extensions
  • Gardening Leave
  • Property Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Wills
  • Separation Agreement
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Probate
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Mental Health
  • Stress at Work
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Housing
  • Redundancy
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Employment Contracts
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Housing Associations
  • Pension Law
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Children
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Transfers of equity
  • Litigation Law
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Transfer of title
  • Remortgaging
  • Housing Management
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Buying at auction
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Benefits
  • Housing disputes
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Professional Discipline
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Social Services
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Extending your Lease
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Family Leave
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Pension and property advice
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Law
  • Finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Farming disputes
  • Equestrian property
  • Tax
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Corporate Law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Corporate finance
  • Agency agreements
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Licensing
  • Data Protection
  • Employment - business
  • Rights of way issues
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Statutory Demands
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Management buyouts
  • Franchising
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Setting up a business
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Developer disputes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mediation
  • Development plot sales
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial Leases
  • Competition law
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Intellectual Property
  • Health and Safety
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000