Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01233 505 555

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.2/5 154 Customer Reviews 154
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

154 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    113
  • Very Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Lorna
Lorna Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 29, 2019 20190529184453

Kerry Hunt - Ashford Office

5

Kerry Hunt dealt with the purchase of a flat for my son that was bought from an inheritance, which made the process a little more complex. Kerry was very professional, helpful, communicative, honest and a pleasure to deal with. I whole heartedly recommend her as a conveyancer and I will be contacting her again myself when I hopefully move house in 2020. Thank you Kerry for your help and support and we wish you every success in your future career.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 28, 2019 20190528110647

Enforcing Judgement

5

Ken Amakye Dealt with our Enforcement of Judgement , he acted swiftly, to resolve this debt
The outcome was excellent would highly recommend him

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 22, 2019 20190522201235

Kerry Hunt

5

Kerry Hunt dealt with the sale and purchase of my properties and was extremely professional, patient and went above and beyond to get the exchange/completion done before the deadline. My buyers solicitors were quite difficult to deal with due to lack of communication and misinformation that Kerry was receiving, and Kerry dealt with the situation superbly to keep myself on track with where I needed to be throughout the whole process. She was always reachable whenever I needed her to be, and always dealt with my questions and concerns professionally and efficiently. I highly recommend Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. Kerry is a true asset to their business!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gemma
Gemma Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308120748

Happy customers

5

Great service, quick responses and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nora
Nora Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 07, 2019 20190307162313

Excellent service

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitiors were efficient and helpful. Gemma Nie was both efficient and supportive. She helped to get through a sale and purchase with quite a few hiccups. She responded quickly and helpfully to questions and necessary steps.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Sean Added 6 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2019 20190123191948

Giles Dobson

5

Throughout my dealings with Giles Dobson I found him to be professional and efficient and felt that I was in safe hands.I was always at ease when speaking to him as he has great communication skills.

Solicitor being reviewed: Giles Mackenzie Dobson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aria
Aria Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 22, 2019 20190122123704

Rachel Plumb

2

I been dealing with Rachel Plum , communication was just via email , the state agent Kim gave me more advice and it was more helpful then her. Im first time buyer and it was very difficult process I had loads of questions as first time buyer, and the way she answer was not professional at all. For example when I asked her when I have to go to the bank to pay my deposit , she said whenever you like we can exchange you without it,I found is answer very unprofessional , she wasn't helpful at all ! Went to the bank to pay my deposit found out that she forwarded me the wrong sort code , totally unacceptable ! When she called the next day didn't even appolgise she gave me wrong sort code ! I would still use them in the future but I definitely am for different salicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Asma
Asma Added 8 months ago Report to admin
December 19, 2018 20181219164712

Amazing Team

5

We would like to say a big big thank you to Jane Williams Longfield branch and her wonderful team for supporting us step by step throughout the whole process of buying our family home. These months have been absolutely draining as we had the worst vendors any one can imagine! It's been a nightmare however Jane has always guided us as a professional and finally completion has taken place. Thank you to Natalie Rebecca for helping us too. Once again we couldn't of had better Solicotors then Jane from Martin Tolhurst. I have already recommended the firm to my family and friends please keep all the excellent work you do. Wishing you all a festive season.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally
Sally Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 24, 2018 20180924090352

Excellent service!

5

We chose Martin Tolhurst because of the mostly positive reviews and we were so glad we did. Our solicitor, Gemma Nie, was faultless. She represented us professionally, efficiently, was super friendly and always picked up the phone if we needed to speak with her. Our sales agent's communication was extremely poor, so we were incredibly thankful for Gemma's prompt and concise responses. It often felt like I'd barely clicked 'send' and her email response would come through. 9 weeks from start to finish selling our house and it would have been way more had she not been as on the ball as she was. Will highly recommend and use again without doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annie
Annie Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 21, 2018 20180521174130

Sale of my flat

5

I would highly recommend Martin Tolhurst in Ashford who were suggested to me by my estate agents, Ward & Partners.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Pete
Pete Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 03, 2019
Collected on
20190403100901

Pete C

2

Employed Victoria Robinson at the Ashford branch to deal with the purchase of an assisted living flat on behalf of an elderly relative. We found her communication skills to be appalling - only responded to requests for updates when pressed, other solicitors (sellers and care home operator) both finding it necessary to ask us to chase her for updates! All in all I suspect she added weeks to the purchase process which was most unwelcome for an elderly person trying to move into an assisted living property. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 03 April, 2019

Hi Pete, Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had from us. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

matthew
matthew Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 21, 2019
Collected on
20190221114302

matthew green

1

Dont use these solicitors, Wards recommend them, which i see as detrimental to Wards reputation. Response times are poor, Cant correctly format a letter. Always waiting on them to pull there finger out. Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 22 February, 2019

Hi Matthew, Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Geoff
Geoff Added 6 months ago Report to admin
January 30, 2019
Collected on
20190130143245

Geoff Arbin

5

I used Martin Tolhurst when selling my percentage of a part own/part rent flat in Summer 2017. Jane Williams handled everything and kept me informed in a timely manner, mostly via email but also by phone. I didn't have to chase anything. Upon completion and moving I thought that was the end.
In January 2019 I received notice from Jane I was receiving an additional payment from an excess service charge.
Delighted with the service provided even when I thought the case had finished, it was still being worked on.
Would highly recommend using Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. Many thanks to Jane and her team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Justina
Justina Added 9 months ago Report to admin
November 12, 2018
Collected on
20181112133239

Justina Grey

5

I wish I could give this solicitor's 10 stars. I used them to buy my first property. As a single mother, I was doing it all on my own, no help or guidance from older family who had gone through this process before, and Martin & Tolhurst made the process so smooth and easy. The member of staff who was working on my property was called Kerry and she answered every question in a timely matter, would phone me and explain anything about the house buying process in detail and was very patient with me when I didn't understand certain . There was even a point when my vendors were trying to pressure/bully me to exchange and complete on a date that I was not ready for, and Kerry stood her ground ( on my behalf) and did not let the pressure get to her and negotiated for a date that suited me. I would recommend this company to anyone, especially people living in London, as I do, there are so many solicitors in London ( Dodgy ones at that) who bend the truth and who are only interested in being paid rather than helping the customer understand. Everything can be done via post or email so there's no need for Londoners to drive to Kent. We need a solicitor throughout our lives and I plan to use Martin & Tolhurst for other needs that may require a solicitor especially as they charged me atleast £500 less than other solicitors I had looked into. Thank you Martin & Tolhurst again, I just can't thank you enough and specifically Kerry!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2018

Dear Justina, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad you are happy with our service. Kind Regards, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Paul
Paul Added 9 months ago Report to admin
October 29, 2018
Collected on
20181029121639

Paul Marsh

5

Having used Martin Tolhurst Solicitors for a personnel matter, I would highly recommend them, as my experience was very comforting with clear and precise advice. In particular, Nameeta Gujral handled matters very professionally in difficult times. I will always return to them regarding legal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 October, 2018

Hi Paul, Thank you for your positive feedback we really appreciate your comments and hope you use us again in the future. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Pension and property advice
  • Separation Agreement
  • Probate
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Tax
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Buying at auction
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Financial Matters
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Senior Executives
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Trusts
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Right to Manage
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Trusts
  • Transfers of equity
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Social Services
  • Separation
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family law
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Family Mediation
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Housing disputes
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Children
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Housing Management
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Litigation Law
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Pension Law
  • Lease Extensions
  • Professional Discipline
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Civil partnerships
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Injunctions
  • Collaborative Law
  • TUPE
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Property Disputes
  • Extending your Lease
  • Leasehold properties
  • Wills
  • Flexible Working
  • Remortgaging
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Housing Associations
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Repossessions
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Redundancy
  • Family Leave
  • Injunctions
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Employment - business
  • Mediation
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Credit Control
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Intellectual Property
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Agency agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Statutory Demands
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Development plot sales
  • Tax
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Franchising
  • Debt Recovery
  • Competition law
  • Finance
  • Share option schemes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial Leases
  • Setting up a business
  • Environmental policy law
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Data Protection
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Developer disputes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Corporate finance
  • Asset Tracing
  • Summary Judgment

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000