Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01233 505 555

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.2/5 131 Customer Reviews 131
Recommended by
124 Verified Clients
like Jason and Paul
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

131 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    96
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Paul
Paul Added 1 day ago Report to admin
May 22, 2019 20190522201235

Kerry Hunt

5

Kerry Hunt dealt with the sale and purchase of my properties and was extremely professional, patient and went above and beyond to get the exchange/completion done before the deadline. My buyers solicitors were quite difficult to deal with due to lack of communication and misinformation that Kerry was receiving, and Kerry dealt with the situation superbly to keep myself on track with where I needed to be throughout the whole process. She was always reachable whenever I needed her to be, and always dealt with my questions and concerns professionally and efficiently. I highly recommend Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. Kerry is a true asset to their business!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gemma
Gemma Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308120748

Happy customers

5

Great service, quick responses and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nora
Nora Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 07, 2019 20190307162313

Excellent service

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitiors were efficient and helpful. Gemma Nie was both efficient and supportive. She helped to get through a sale and purchase with quite a few hiccups. She responded quickly and helpfully to questions and necessary steps.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Sean Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 23, 2019 20190123191948

Giles Dobson

5

Throughout my dealings with Giles Dobson I found him to be professional and efficient and felt that I was in safe hands.I was always at ease when speaking to him as he has great communication skills.

Solicitor being reviewed: Giles Mackenzie Dobson

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aria
Aria Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 22, 2019 20190122123704

Rachel Plumb

2

I been dealing with Rachel Plum , communication was just via email , the state agent Kim gave me more advice and it was more helpful then her. Im first time buyer and it was very difficult process I had loads of questions as first time buyer, and the way she answer was not professional at all. For example when I asked her when I have to go to the bank to pay my deposit , she said whenever you like we can exchange you without it,I found is answer very unprofessional , she wasn't helpful at all ! Went to the bank to pay my deposit found out that she forwarded me the wrong sort code , totally unacceptable ! When she called the next day didn't even appolgise she gave me wrong sort code ! I would still use them in the future but I definitely am for different salicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Asma
Asma Added 5 months ago Report to admin
December 19, 2018 20181219164712

Amazing Team

5

We would like to say a big big thank you to Jane Williams Longfield branch and her wonderful team for supporting us step by step throughout the whole process of buying our family home. These months have been absolutely draining as we had the worst vendors any one can imagine! It's been a nightmare however Jane has always guided us as a professional and finally completion has taken place. Thank you to Natalie Rebecca for helping us too. Once again we couldn't of had better Solicotors then Jane from Martin Tolhurst. I have already recommended the firm to my family and friends please keep all the excellent work you do. Wishing you all a festive season.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally
Sally Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 24, 2018 20180924090352

Excellent service!

5

We chose Martin Tolhurst because of the mostly positive reviews and we were so glad we did. Our solicitor, Gemma Nie, was faultless. She represented us professionally, efficiently, was super friendly and always picked up the phone if we needed to speak with her. Our sales agent's communication was extremely poor, so we were incredibly thankful for Gemma's prompt and concise responses. It often felt like I'd barely clicked 'send' and her email response would come through. 9 weeks from start to finish selling our house and it would have been way more had she not been as on the ball as she was. Will highly recommend and use again without doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annie
Annie Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 21, 2018 20180521174130

Sale of my flat

5

I would highly recommend Martin Tolhurst in Ashford who were suggested to me by my estate agents, Ward & Partners.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Catherine
Catherine Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 13, 2018 20180313111858

Ashford Office - Excellent Service

5

I would highly recommend Martin Tolhurst in Ashford who were suggested to me by my estate agents, Ward & Partners. They dealt with the sale of my elderly mum’s bungalow which was quite protracted and difficult due to the fact that the house had never been registered at the Land Registry and my inability to track down the deeds. Despite all this Richard Carter and his team worked hard throughout the sale process to keep me informed and chase things through. Then at the very end when we were given about an hour’s notice that the buyers wanted to complete immediately, they somehow managed to do that - and it was mid afternoon on a Friday. Very impressed with their service from start to finish and feel they fully deserve 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 20, 2017 20170920110147

Thorough, Efficient and Well Priced

5

We have had a very thorough and efficient service from the Ashford office of Martin Tolhurst.

We instructed them back in May and we completed on our house in August.

Their legal advice was so helpful in enabling us to purchase without concern. We thought the pricing was competitive as well.

Special thanks to Richard and Melissa for their help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Pete
Pete Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 03, 2019
Collected on
20190403100901

Pete C

2

Employed Victoria Robinson at the Ashford branch to deal with the purchase of an assisted living flat on behalf of an elderly relative. We found her communication skills to be appalling - only responded to requests for updates when pressed, other solicitors (sellers and care home operator) both finding it necessary to ask us to chase her for updates! All in all I suspect she added weeks to the purchase process which was most unwelcome for an elderly person trying to move into an assisted living property. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 03 April, 2019

Hi Pete, Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had from us. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

matthew
matthew Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 21, 2019
Collected on
20190221114302

matthew green

1

Dont use these solicitors, Wards recommend them, which i see as detrimental to Wards reputation. Response times are poor, Cant correctly format a letter. Always waiting on them to pull there finger out. Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 22 February, 2019

Hi Matthew, Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Geoff
Geoff Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 30, 2019
Collected on
20190130143245

Geoff Arbin

5

I used Martin Tolhurst when selling my percentage of a part own/part rent flat in Summer 2017. Jane Williams handled everything and kept me informed in a timely manner, mostly via email but also by phone. I didn't have to chase anything. Upon completion and moving I thought that was the end.
In January 2019 I received notice from Jane I was receiving an additional payment from an excess service charge.
Delighted with the service provided even when I thought the case had finished, it was still being worked on.
Would highly recommend using Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. Many thanks to Jane and her team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Justina
Justina Added 6 months ago Report to admin
November 12, 2018
Collected on
20181112133239

Justina Grey

5

I wish I could give this solicitor's 10 stars. I used them to buy my first property. As a single mother, I was doing it all on my own, no help or guidance from older family who had gone through this process before, and Martin & Tolhurst made the process so smooth and easy. The member of staff who was working on my property was called Kerry and she answered every question in a timely matter, would phone me and explain anything about the house buying process in detail and was very patient with me when I didn't understand certain . There was even a point when my vendors were trying to pressure/bully me to exchange and complete on a date that I was not ready for, and Kerry stood her ground ( on my behalf) and did not let the pressure get to her and negotiated for a date that suited me. I would recommend this company to anyone, especially people living in London, as I do, there are so many solicitors in London ( Dodgy ones at that) who bend the truth and who are only interested in being paid rather than helping the customer understand. Everything can be done via post or email so there's no need for Londoners to drive to Kent. We need a solicitor throughout our lives and I plan to use Martin & Tolhurst for other needs that may require a solicitor especially as they charged me atleast £500 less than other solicitors I had looked into. Thank you Martin & Tolhurst again, I just can't thank you enough and specifically Kerry!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2018

Dear Justina, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad you are happy with our service. Kind Regards, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Paul
Paul Added 6 months ago Report to admin
October 29, 2018
Collected on
20181029121639

Paul Marsh

5

Having used Martin Tolhurst Solicitors for a personnel matter, I would highly recommend them, as my experience was very comforting with clear and precise advice. In particular, Nameeta Gujral handled matters very professionally in difficult times. I will always return to them regarding legal matters.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 October, 2018

Hi Paul, Thank you for your positive feedback we really appreciate your comments and hope you use us again in the future. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

Solicitors who work at Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

  • Richard Carter

    Richard is Managing Partner of the firm who specialises in Residential Property Law. As a residential conveyancing solicitor he has a wealth of experience with a wide range of residential property transactions, including expertise in Staircasing and Shared Ownership, Re-mortgages, Listed Buildings and mixed Commercial and Residential Units.

  • Kevin Newell

    Kevin is the Partner in charge of our Sittingbourne office and specialises in residential and commercial property transactions for individuals/private clients. He has significant experience with Freehold and Leasehold property sales and purchases and new build transactions.

  • Andrew Ashley-Edwards

    Andrew is a partner and head of the commercial department at the firm. Specialising in Commercial Property, Business and corporate matters, Andrew has broad experience looking after small and medium enterprises with particular emphasis on family businesses.

  • Simon Franklin

    Simon is a Partner and the Head of our Wills & Probate Department based at our Gravesend office. He has a wealth of experience in Property Law, Wills, Trust and Probate work and is a member of the Agricultural Law Association with a specialist Agricultural practice acting for many farmers in the North Kent area

  • Giles Dobson

    Giles deals with a broad spectrum of matters from divorce and cohabitation to personal injury, contractual disputes and debt recovery for individuals and businesses. He is experienced across a number of areas of law and has built a wide ranging caseload of matters dealt with in the County Court, High Court and Court of Appeal.

  • Paul Rothwell

    Paul specialisms are in the preparation of wills, tax planning, lasting powers of attorney, applications to the Court of Protection and estate administration. He has experience of advising a broad range of clients including high net wealth clients, specifically preparing wills and administering estates for business owners and farmers.

  • Barbara Stewart

    Barbara is the Partner in charge of our Dartford office. Barbara has vast experience and expertise within all aspects of Probate, Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Residential Conveyancing.

  • Kevin Denny

    Kevin is one of the Residential Conveyancing Partners and is in charge of our Medway office; he has over 20 years of experience within his area of law. Kevin has a large caseload involving a wide variety of conveyancing transactions and is ably supported by his experienced secretarial team. Kevin also has expertise with Re-mortgages, Transfers of Equity, New-Build purchases, and Equity Release charges.

  • Jane Williams

    Jane deals with all areas of residential property including leasehold and freehold sales and purchases, new build plot purchases, re-mortgage transactions, transfers of equity and transfers of part, home-ownership sales, purchases and staircasing. Jane is the partner in charge of our Longfield office.

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • TUPE
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Family law
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Tax
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • Property Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Pension Law
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Civil partnerships
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Leasehold properties
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Trusts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Children
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Social Services
  • Transfers of equity
  • Litigation Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Transfer of title
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing Management
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Right to Manage
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Part Time Workers
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Separation Agreement
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Housing disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Flexible Working
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Separation
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Gardening Leave
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Probate
  • Wills
  • Pension and property advice
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Injunctions
  • Trusts
  • Family Leave
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Buying at auction
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Lease Extensions
  • Collaborative Law
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Extending your Lease
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Senior Executives
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Discipline
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Family Mediation
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Management buyouts
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Mediation
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Statutory Demands
  • Commercial Law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Corporate Law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Environmental policy law
  • Agency agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Tax
  • Purchase of development land
  • Commercial Leases
  • Setting up a business
  • Franchising
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Corporate finance
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Developer disputes
  • Competition law
  • Share option schemes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Intellectual Property
  • Development plot sales
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Debt Recovery
  • Employment - business
  • Data Protection
  • Rights of way issues

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000