Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01795 436941

Also known as - Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.4/5 248 Customer Reviews 248 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

248 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    192
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
C Sanderson
Verified C Sanderson Added 4 days ago Report to admin
March 27, 2020 20200327221528

House move

5

Great service from beginning to end, thank you

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Verified Katie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 28, 2020 20200228135914

Brilliant firm

5

The whole process with Martin Tolhurst was smooth and stress free. We exchanged around 3 weeks after instructing and I am extremely impressed with them. I will be sure to use them again in the future.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 28 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ant
Ant Added 11 months ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
April 28, 2019 20190428093454

No communication. Delays. Dissatisfied.

2

We chose this firm for convenience as they have a deal with the estate agents. First advice I have - shop around and get advice from impartial people.
It was impossible to get hold of my allocated solicitor. Always promised calls back which never materialised. The house move dragged on and my bank finally got involved and discovered my solicitor was on maternity leave.
A replacement took over and pushed the move through. There were plenty of legacy issues with our new property which the solicitors had no interest in whatsoever. Wholly disappointing all round and will definitely be avoiding this firm next time we move.

Solicitor named in this review: Jane Williams

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had from us. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kim Erin
Kim Erin Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 09, 2018 20180809204400

Very good. Very understanding.

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors managed my father's sale and purchase. He is partially sighted and so needs extra help. Some documents and letters were sent in especially large print and the solicitor explained things calmly and with patience.

The sale in particular was quite testing and it was helpful that our solicitor could speak to other experts within the firm to gather additional experience and insight.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lilia
Lilia Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 21, 2018 20180721073856

Excellent service

5

Satvir, Danielle and their team were excellent supporters and helpers in whole process of buying our first home. They make us feel comfortable and the process went smoothly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel
Daniel Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 12, 2018 20180612104917

Excellent service

5

Excellent team of Solicitors. Danielle and Satvir were extremely helpful and guided us through everything. Would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adeniran
Adeniran Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 04, 2018 20180604234939

You will never go wrong with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

5

Highly recommended. Very professional. Always at the end of the phone whenever you need Satvir. Kept us informed every step of the way

Thanks Satvir you are a great asset to your firm. Will definitely come back for my future conveyancing etc

Thank you Harry Dhinsa from Mortgage Matters for recommending

Was this review helpful? Yes

Labukun
Labukun Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 06, 2018 20180406001513

Brilliant service

5

We've recently completed the sale of our property and purchase of another using Martin Tolhurst, who were recommended by our estate agents. Satvir and Danielle were very efficient and kept us informed through out the process. They were both also very accommodating, responding to my many questions patiently. Although the process was longer than we'd anticipated, due to no fault of Satvir and Danielle, they regularly followed up with the other parties and worked hard to meet our final agreed completion date. I would definitely recommend them and would like to say a big thanks again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

ricky
ricky Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 29, 2018 20180129115710

New house purchase

5

I recently purchased a new build home and was recommended to use Martin Tolhurst. Both Satvir and Danielle (Martin Tolhurst) were extremely helpful, efficient and re-assuring. Due to the new home provider constantly changing the 'completion date' of my new property as they were not able to meet the deadlines they promised when I bought the house my mortgage offer had expired and I was required to get a new mortgage in time in order to ensure that I did not lose my deposit given that I had already exchanged. Satvir and Danielle knew the risk I faced and the urgency of the requests I raised. Nonetheless, despite being thrown under the bus by the developer, Satvir and Danielle helped me across the line and certainly ensure I did not face any penalty costs. Will certainly be using them again in the future and would recommend others to do so too.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fliss
Fliss Added 2 years ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
December 13, 2017 20171213114552

Fantastic, fast, friendly!

5

We remortgaged our primary property to rent out and purchased a new house with the proceeds. Both transactions were handled by Martin Tolhurst solicitors. We had previously been using a much larger firm but decided to swallow the costs and to move after a few months as we found them slow, rude and very dismissive of our questions.
Changing to Martin Tolhurst was the best thing we ever did: Danielle and Satvir were absolutely brilliant; friendly, understanding, nothing was too much trouble. I CANNOT RECOMMEND THEM HIGHLY ENOUGH!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

John
John Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2020
Collected on
20200125132531

John

5

Words cannot describe the positive experiences I have encountered when using Danny Ball and his team. Danny is not only an extremely professional individual but approachable when called upon and a "can do" attitude to his role. I will certainly endorse this organisation wholeheartedly moving forwards and would like to thank all concerned once again for assisting me with my latest house move - especially when you consider Danny was able to get me into a position to exchange contracts within 3 weeks of instruction - awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

mike
mike Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 02, 2019
Collected on
20191102080029

mike

5

What can you say????? Its an office

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deborah
Deborah Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909182404

Deborah

5

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Sittingbourne office. A massive thank you to Lucy Rodrigues in your Sittingbourne office. I have just completed on the purchase of my new home. Lucy was professional throughout, extremely helpful, answered all my questions and concerns swiftly either by e-mail or telephone. Nothing was too much trouble. I am extremely grateful to Lucy for all her hard work ensuring that I purchased my new home stress free. I will certainly recommend Lucy to my friends and family. Thank you Lucy and all at Martin Tolhurst

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 13 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Deborah
Deborah Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906112442

Deborah

3

A nice friendly solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 06 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

D
D Added 8 months ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
July 28, 2019
Collected on
20190728173341

A client

1

I STARTED TO USE THIS COMPANY AS CAME RECOMMEND BY WARD'S! BUT TOOK A WEEK FOR LUCY RODRIGUES TO REPLY TO AN EMAIL I SENT! SO I SACKED HER AND WENT WITH A BRILLIANT COMPANY WHO WERE £900 CHEAPER! PROBLEM NOW IS MY PURCHASE SOLICITOR IS LUCY RODRIGUES AND IF SHE DONT HURRY UP AND REPLY TO MY SOLICITORS EMAILS SO I CAN MOVE I WILL SIMPLY PULL OUT!!

MORAL TO STORY: DONT EVER USE MARTIN TOLLHURST SOLICITORS, FROM MY EXPERIENCE THEY ARE VERY SLOW AND VERY EXPENSIVE!! THERE IS BETTER FOR LESS MONEY AS I FOUND!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Extending your Lease
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Financial Matters
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Lease Extensions
  • Transfers of equity
  • Family law
  • Litigation Law
  • Stress at Work
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Civil partnerships
  • Senior Executives
  • Property Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Children
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Collaborative Law
  • Employment Contracts
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Professional Discipline
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Trusts
  • Part Time Workers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Separation
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Trusts
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Housing Management
  • Separation Agreement
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Housing disputes
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Injunctions
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Pension Law
  • TUPE
  • Pension and property advice
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Right to Manage
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Family Leave
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Redundancy
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Injunctions
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Gardening Leave
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Flexible Working
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Transfer of title
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Wills
  • Housing Associations
  • Social Services
  • Family Mediation
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Tax
  • Buying at auction
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Repossessions
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Data Protection
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate Law
  • Competition law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Statutory Demands
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Commercial Law
  • Employment - business
  • Setting up a business
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Finance
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Summary Judgment
  • Developer disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Corporate finance
  • Credit Control
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Agency agreements
  • Tax
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Environmental policy law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Purchase of development land
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Franchising
  • Intellectual Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000