Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01474 706168

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.2/5 131 Customer Reviews 131
Recommended by
124 Verified Clients
like Laura and Sarah
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

131 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    96
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    20

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Roy
Roy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405160620

Awesome service

5

Just exchanged on an investment property. 6.5 weeks from sales memos, awesome result by Sam Newton and the team!!! Thank you so much and wouldn’t use anyone else!!! 👍🏻💥👊🏻

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 22, 2019 20190522201235

Kerry Hunt

5

Kerry Hunt dealt with the sale and purchase of my properties and was extremely professional, patient and went above and beyond to get the exchange/completion done before the deadline. My buyers solicitors were quite difficult to deal with due to lack of communication and misinformation that Kerry was receiving, and Kerry dealt with the situation superbly to keep myself on track with where I needed to be throughout the whole process. She was always reachable whenever I needed her to be, and always dealt with my questions and concerns professionally and efficiently. I highly recommend Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. Kerry is a true asset to their business!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Steven Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 19, 2019 20190519192842

Ashley Le-Core

5

It was a real pleasure to have Ashley lecore represent me at such a difficult time. He always made time and treated me like I was his only client. All the advice and direction he gave me throughout my case was spot on, and as a result I left my final hearing with an even better court order than I could have imagined. I  cannot thank Ashley enough for all his hard work and dedication to ensuring the best possible outcome for which my family and I are eternally grateful.

Solicitor being reviewed: Ashley Christopher William Le-Core

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 19, 2019 20190519105821

Martin Tolhurst Partnership Review

5

I have used Martin Tolhurst many times over the years. I would like to say that in particular Amanda Rose is outstanding! Amanda has always taken the time to listen to me, understand, care and give me a completely professional service while never forgetting to be empathic. I have always had a direct telephone line to Amanda which is always answered immediately. A huge thank you again to Amanda!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ant
Ant Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 28, 2019 20190428093454

No communication. Delays. Dissatisfied.

2

We chose this firm for convenience as they have a deal with the estate agents. First advice I have - shop around and get advice from impartial people.
It was impossible to get hold of my allocated solicitor. Always promised calls back which never materialised. The house move dragged on and my bank finally got involved and discovered my solicitor was on maternity leave.
A replacement took over and pushed the move through. There were plenty of legacy issues with our new property which the solicitors had no interest in whatsoever. Wholly disappointing all round and will definitely be avoiding this firm next time we move.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments and are sorry to hear you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have had from us. If you would like to email marketing@martintolhurst.co.uk with your property details I would be more than happy to investigate this matter further for you. Kind Regards Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Owain
Owain Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 21, 2019 20190421185802

Gemma Nie

5

I’ve recently used the Martin Tolhurst to purchase my first property, the service I received was exemplary in all area. I was kept well informed throughout the process, help was at hand any time I needed more information or help with any documents I needed to sign..... very professional, grate pleasure to deal with Gemma who made it look so easy.
Great stuff!!!!

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy
Wendy Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 16, 2019 20190316104750

Matrimonial Advice

5

After being recommended to Martin Tolhurst solicitors Giles Dobson took on my case. I found Giles to be very efficent and professional throughout my case. I would highly recommend Giles Dobson to anyone whom may require a Barrister in the near future.

Solicitor being reviewed: Giles Mackenzie Dobson

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robert
Robert Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 10, 2019 20190310102154

SIMPLY THE BEST.

5

Having been recommended by Wards to use Martin Tollhurst solicitors,we were allocated as our Conveyancer,Gemma Nie.We have moved house eleven times over the years so not looking forward to it.HOW WRONG CAN YOU BE.GEMMA is brilliant,
Knowledgeable,and above all friendly in a way that makes you know that you are in safe hands.Simply the best we have had.Borh my wife and I wouldt thoroughly recommend GEMMA NIE.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gemma
Gemma Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 08, 2019 20190308120748

Happy customers

5

Great service, quick responses and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nora
Nora Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 07, 2019 20190307162313

Excellent service

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitiors were efficient and helpful. Gemma Nie was both efficient and supportive. She helped to get through a sale and purchase with quite a few hiccups. She responded quickly and helpfully to questions and necessary steps.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

frances
frances Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 14, 2019
Collected on
20190414080516

frances braithwaite

4

Samantha Newton has acted for us before and, once again, she and her team provided an excellent and efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roy
Roy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019
Collected on
20190405150105

Roy Fever

5

Just exchanged on an investment property. 6.5 weeks from sales memos, awesome result by Sam Newton and the team!!! Thank you so much and wouldn’t use anyone else!!! 👍🏻💥👊🏻

Was this review helpful? Yes

Selby
Selby Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 01, 2019
Collected on
20190401124847

Selby Ralph

5

Many thanks to MartinTolhurst Longfield branch for the professional completion of my recent property transaction.
Throughout the procedure I found them to be extremely reassuring and informative resulting in a seamless and stress free experience.
I would not hesitate to either use them again or to recommend to others.
Mr S Ralph
1/4/2019

Was this review helpful? Yes

jon
jon Added 4 months ago Report to admin
December 28, 2018
Collected on
20181228080025

jon witham

5

This is the third time I have used Jane and her team at Martin Tolhurst, with both a sale and a purchase of a property.

The service we received was excellent throughout, even during complicated and often fustrating times. Jane and her team were on hand and often went the extra mile to always respond to my calls and e-mails and likewise we ensured all paperwork was returned as soon as possible to speed up the process.

Jane, who is clearly experienced in this field, always worked in our best interests and recommended things we hadn't thought of ourselves.

We will certainly be using the firms services again should we need to, I couldn't recommend them more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 16, 2018
Collected on
20181016100946

Steve A

5

Always done a good conveyance job for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

  • Jane Williams

    Jane deals with all areas of residential property including leasehold and freehold sales and purchases, new build plot purchases, re-mortgage transactions, transfers of equity and transfers of part, home-ownership sales, purchases and staircasing. Jane is the partner in charge of our Longfield office.

  • Kevin Newell

    Kevin is the Partner in charge of our Sittingbourne office and specialises in residential and commercial property transactions for individuals/private clients. He has significant experience with Freehold and Leasehold property sales and purchases and new build transactions.

  • Richard Carter

    Richard is Managing Partner of the firm who specialises in Residential Property Law. As a residential conveyancing solicitor he has a wealth of experience with a wide range of residential property transactions, including expertise in Staircasing and Shared Ownership, Re-mortgages, Listed Buildings and mixed Commercial and Residential Units.

  • Andrew Ashley-Edwards

    Andrew is a partner and head of the commercial department at the firm. Specialising in Commercial Property, Business and corporate matters, Andrew has broad experience looking after small and medium enterprises with particular emphasis on family businesses.

  • Simon Franklin

    Simon is a Partner and the Head of our Wills & Probate Department based at our Gravesend office. He has a wealth of experience in Property Law, Wills, Trust and Probate work and is a member of the Agricultural Law Association with a specialist Agricultural practice acting for many farmers in the North Kent area

  • Giles Dobson

    Giles deals with a broad spectrum of matters from divorce and cohabitation to personal injury, contractual disputes and debt recovery for individuals and businesses. He is experienced across a number of areas of law and has built a wide ranging caseload of matters dealt with in the County Court, High Court and Court of Appeal.

  • Paul Rothwell

    Paul specialisms are in the preparation of wills, tax planning, lasting powers of attorney, applications to the Court of Protection and estate administration. He has experience of advising a broad range of clients including high net wealth clients, specifically preparing wills and administering estates for business owners and farmers.

  • Barbara Stewart

    Barbara is the Partner in charge of our Dartford office. Barbara has vast experience and expertise within all aspects of Probate, Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Residential Conveyancing.

  • Kevin Denny

    Kevin is one of the Residential Conveyancing Partners and is in charge of our Medway office; he has over 20 years of experience within his area of law. Kevin has a large caseload involving a wide variety of conveyancing transactions and is ably supported by his experienced secretarial team. Kevin also has expertise with Re-mortgages, Transfers of Equity, New-Build purchases, and Equity Release charges.

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Trusts
  • Financial Matters
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Transfers of equity
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Housing disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Buying at auction
  • Collaborative Law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Housing Management
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Property Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Gardening Leave
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Remortgaging
  • Separation
  • Injunctions
  • Children
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Extending your Lease
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Leasehold properties
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Family Leave
  • Transfer of title
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Injunctions
  • Right to Manage
  • Housing Associations
  • Professional Discipline
  • Senior Executives
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pension Law
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Redundancy
  • Stress at Work
  • TUPE
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Tax
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Wills
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Part Time Workers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Family law
  • Employment Contracts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Social Services
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Pension and property advice
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Trusts
  • Summary Judgment
  • Mediation
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Intellectual Property
  • Employment - business
  • Rights of way issues
  • Asset Tracing
  • Finance
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Management buyouts
  • Corporate Law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial Law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Environmental policy law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Corporate finance
  • Share option schemes
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Tax
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Setting up a business
  • Franchising
  • Developer disputes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Competition law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Agency agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Purchase of development land
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Business structures and joint ventures

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000