Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 86%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    399
  • Very Good

    38
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    30

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Pat

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Pat

May 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I have just moved into an apartment having been in my previous house for forty-five years. Samantha was always able to answer my sometimes silly questions. I was in a lengthy chain but all went through very smoothly. On the day of completion I couldn’t believe the speed of money transfers with the remaining funds in my account by lunchtime! What service. I have absolutely no reservations about recommending Samantha,

Was this review helpful?

Irina

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Irina

May 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors - efficient and professional

I used the services of Martin Tolhurst Solicitors on two occasions over the course of five years: to assist with the purchase and later the sale of my property. I would like to strongly commend the work of my solicitor Samantha Newton, who is very helpful, knowledgeable, professional and always on schedule. I would highly recommend anyone who is looking for a strong and reliable property solicitors to go with Martin Tolhurst.

Was this review helpful?

A. C.

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

A. C.

May 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Conveyancer review

Introduced by my Estate Agent, MTP provided a good professional and thorough service taking me through both the Sale of my property and the purchase of my new property. Nowhere through the process did I have reason to question my choice of conveyancer or their allocated staff.

Was this review helpful?

I m marshall

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

I m marshall

May 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal

Service was quite efficient. Information given was clear.

Was this review helpful?

Georgia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Georgia

April 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fab service

Great service from every person I dealt with at Martin Tolhurst, especially Hannah who helped me complete on my flat very quickly. Would recommend as a solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Kyran

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kyran

March 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First-time purchase made easy

We have just completed a first-time purchase with many different variables and complications, and Jane Williams and her team at Martin Tolhurst – particularly Hannah – handled everything as smoothly as possible. We were kept updated to any changes, communication was (office lockdown permitting) prompt and clear, and every change or issue along the way was explained to us as many times as we needed to understand the complexities of the situation. The sellers’ solicitors were appropriately chased and prevented from dragging their feet at every opportunity, as they seemed to want to do, and the team at Martin Tolhurst were continually pushing for things in our favour to make our purchase as painless as possible. It was sometimes hard to get hold of a team member that was working on our conveyancing, but this is due to the sheer volume of conveyances taking place considering the SDLT holiday – and even with the odds against them the communication was perfectly acceptable. We will not hesitate to return to Martin Tolhurst for any of our future housing needs.

Was this review helpful?

Shirley

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Shirley

March 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

I have used Martin Tolhurst many times for various purchases over the past 20 years. This time Hannah Mooney was allocated to my purchase and Jane Williams was my solicitor for my sale. I have to say that both were completely diligent and I could speak to them any time to ask questions. The whole team at Martin Tolhurst is excellent and always do what they say they will, and quickly and efficiently. I would recommend this company to anyone, and especially Hannah Mooney and Jane Williams.

Was this review helpful?

pauline doyle

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

pauline doyle

March 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

house purchase

I would just like to state that Karthiga and her team were truly supportive and helpful during the stressful process of purchasing a new property. They listened to my concerns and genuinely tried to resolve them as quickly and efficiently as possible. The housing market has been extremely business with everyone trying to complete before the stamp duty end and despite this they worked hard to provide an excellent service.
I would recommend Marting Tolhurst in the future.

Was this review helpful?

KATHLEEN

KATHLEEN

March 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient, with great legal knowledge. Social awareness and humanity.

I have sold and purchased with Jane Williams of the Longfield branch. This is the second time she has acted on my behalf. Jane is a perfectionist. She has been patient and supportive throughout the process. Dealing with my demands and indecisiveness! Promptly answered all my messages, Dedicated and often seemed to still be working in the early evenings to ensure of a quick exchange during the Pandemic. I highly recommend her to others and am so grateful to her.

Was this review helpful?

Danielle

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Danielle

March 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recent Property Sale & Purchase

We recently sold and purchased a property using Longfield Martin Tolhurst as our Solicitor.
Jane and her team made the whole process run smoothly always keeping us informed and got us to exchange quickly.
I would highly recommend using Martin Tolhurst, they made the whole experience stress free and we would have no doubt in using their services if required in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

BHM

BHM

April 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

BHM

Very impressed with the service and advice from Martin Tolhurst Longfield office when dealing with our house selling and buying. Samantha Harvey and Chelsea were always on the ball and provided excellent advice during difficult moments in the process.

Was this review helpful?

Relative

Relative

April 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Relative

Hannah Mooney is an excellent Solicitor. Sensitive and aware of her clients needs. I felt comfortable with her when I was indecisive about my house move. Despite the problems of the pandemic she found time to explain correct legal procedures. Always someone available to answer any concerns. She assisted Jane Williams throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Farida

Farida

March 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Farida

Martin Tolhurst were very professional and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending Jane and her team again and I will certainly use them on my next purchase.

Was this review helpful?

KEVIN

KEVIN

March 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

KEVIN

I used Martin Tolhurst for conveyancing services. Sadia and Emma were fantastic, even at the 11th hour when presented with additional problems we managed to get across the finish line.
Thank you very much for all of your effort.
Kevin

Was this review helpful?

Suzanne

Suzanne

March 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Suzanne

An absolutely fantastic service from start to finish. Samantha Harvey communicated with me throughout. I cannot fault this firm for conveyancing services .

Was this review helpful?

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Children
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment