Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01474 706168

Also known as - Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.4/5 259 Customer Reviews 259 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

259 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    203
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Matthew
Matthew Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
May 05, 2020 20200505132133

An Exchange under the Shadow of COVID-19

5

My sale and purchase were going well then disaster - Lock-Down. Despite this, and the difficulties we all are facing at NO time could I not speak to the team at Martin Tolhurst, it was business as usual. I could have been mistaken for assuming there was no COVID-19. The sale went through smoothly with four simultaneously transfers in hours. Exceptional organisational and operational skills. Thanks to the team at Martin Tolhurst.

Matthew Harris

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Harvey

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adam B
Verified Adam B Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 28, 2020 20200428164809

Sale of house during COVID-19 lockdown

5

I used Jane Williams in the Longfield, Kent branch of Martin Tolhurst as my solicitor for selling my house in Hampshire. Jane and her team were excellent throughout the whole process and kept me readily updated on progress. In addition, Jane and her team managed to push the completion of the sale through during COVID-19 lockdown which was an amazing feat. I would thoroughly recommend using Martin Tolhurst and in particular Jane Williams in the Longfield branch if you are looking for a solicitor to sell or buy a house.

Solicitor named in this review: Jane Williams

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Michael Moran, on behalf of Moroko Property Limited
Verified Michael Moran, on behalf of Moroko Property Limited Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 07, 2020 20200407135921

They go the extra mile

5

We have been clients of Martin Tolhurst in Longfield, and of Jane Williams in particular, for several years. We have always been treated with consummate professionalism, but also with friendliness, which makes working with them a very pleasant experience. We particularly value Jane's ability to foresee difficulties, but even more, we value her ability to come up with practical and cost-effective solutions. We look forward to concluding many more successful transactions via Jane and Martin Tolhurst and we recommend them unreservedly.

Solicitor named in this review: Jane Williams

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 09 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Janet Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 25, 2020 20200325055727

Fantastic service from beginning to end for house sale and purchase

5

I had such great service from Samantha Newton at Martin Tolhurst. Along with the usual rigours of house selling and purchase, It was a tough emotional time, selling the marital home for divorce, splitting monies accordingly, finding my feet back out in the house-purchasing world again after 23 years in one place. And I'm a really fussy, picky person when it comes to doing a job and to customer service (because of my own high standards in doing my own job) who wants all the detail searched through with a fine tooth comb, expecting efficiency AND wanting a friendly, human service. I got all of this - total and empathetic understanding of my situation, excellent advice re financials during the delay between sale and my purchase.... and all done professionally and efficiently within a pre-agreed good value budget. I intend to use Martin Tolhurst going forward for other legal matters. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Newton

Was this review helpful? Yes

N Mortimer on behalf of Epoch Property Group Ltd
Verified N Mortimer on behalf of Epoch Property Group Ltd Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 18, 2020 20200318210852

Recent house purchase

5

This isn't the first time we have used the services of Martin Tolhurst and nor will it be our last. As ever, we were provided with a first-class service - Hannah and Jane kept in regular contact, have amazing attention to detail and acted in our best interests at every step of the way. I have no hesitation in recommending their services, they are professional, approachable and efficient!

Thank you to you both for all your hard work and commitment in progressing our transactions.

Solicitor named in this review: Hannah Mooney

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 19 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Josh
Josh Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 29, 2020 20200229083726

J Ball

5

Jane and the team at Martin Tolhurst have been approachable and knowledgable from start to finish. They have responded to emails/calls immediately keeping us fully up to date with the process throughout despite our buyers solicitors being particularly poor. I would not hesitate to recommend their services to others.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 02 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Timothy Leney
Verified Timothy Leney Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2020 20200211091842

A smooth sale

5

Impressed. Martin Tolhurst was friendly and informative and helped smooth the selling process. Selling my house took about two months. Fees were reasonable. I will definitely use them in the future. Impressed.

Solicitor named in this review: Karthiga Mayooran

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 11 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kate
Kate Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131212236

Fantastic Work

5

Thank you so much Samantha for making me a proud home owner today.
You made my long and painful experience, much less painful.
You pulled out all the stops, you and your team informed me along the way.
I will definitely be using you and your company again in the future.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Newton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michelle
Michelle Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131183541

Brilliant Conveyancer

5

I used a different conveyancer before I used Martin Tolhurst on a previous move, I can honestly say If I ever moved again, then u would use Martin Tolhurst. The conveyancer we used was Samantha Newton & her team. Who I would recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Newton

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 07 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roy
Roy Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 31, 2020 20200131155027

Super Sam!!

5

Absolutely amazing as always! I have personally used Sam for so many years and would never use anyone else. Quick, efficient and extremely helpful! Thank you for everything you have done for me and also our clients over the years!

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Newton

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 07 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 5 days ago Report to admin
May 19, 2020
Collected on
20200519101056

Rebecca

5

I received excellent service from both Samantha Newton and Sam Harvey during the sale of my property. Thank you for your help and I shall definitely recommend you to anyone looking for a good solicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Siddharth
Siddharth Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 28, 2020
Collected on
20200228113457

Siddharth

5

We have bought a house before but the service we got from our solicitors this time was just exceptional. We are very happy with Karthiga, she was very detailed oriented and guided us through both the purchase and the sale process. Thanks for your help and we would definitely prefer to have you if and when we purchase next.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 28 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Simon
Simon Added 5 months ago Report to admin
December 21, 2019
Collected on
20191221172712

Simon

5

We were very happy with the speed and communications we received from Samantha and Sarah at the Martin Tolhurst Partnership in the sale of our house.

Our Buyers wanted to move in before Christmas and although it was tight they managed to achieve it. We particularly appreciated the fixed fee as it allowed us to budget more effectively.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 06 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

A
A Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 02, 2019
Collected on
20191202121507

A client

1

Rude staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 13, 2019
Collected on
20191013225207

Paul

5

We used then for our 1st and 2nd house and they were fantastic. Did not get to use them for the 3rd and final but if we had the option we would have. But hope fully our 3rd is the final.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Civil partnerships
  • Children
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Financial Matters
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Lease Extensions
  • Extending your Lease
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Family Mediation
  • Redundancy
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Transfer of title
  • Right to Manage
  • Flexible Working
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Remortgaging
  • Injunctions
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Purchase and Sale
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Litigation Law
  • Part Time Workers
  • Trusts
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Senior Executives
  • Social Services
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Employment Contracts
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Housing Associations
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Family law
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Pension and property advice
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Separation
  • Transfers of equity
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • TUPE
  • Stress at Work
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Tax
  • Collaborative Law
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Gardening Leave
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Leasehold properties
  • Trusts
  • Housing Management
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Wills
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Family Leave
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Injunctions
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Property Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Asset Tracing
  • Summary Judgment
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Management buyouts
  • Agency agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Tax
  • Credit Control
  • Environmental policy law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Competition law
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Employment - business
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Franchising
  • Mediation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Debt Recovery
  • Corporate finance
  • Setting up a business
  • Finance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Statutory Demands
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Commercial Law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development plot sales
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Data Protection
  • Developer disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Corporate Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000