Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01474 706168

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.2/5 166 Customer Reviews 166
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

166 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    121
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Luke
Luke Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019 20190906111607

Exceptional. Thank you.

5

Jane Williams at Martin Tolhurst is exceptional and a pleasure to work with. I will absolutely be recommending her to my clients, friends and family. My frustration with conveyancing solicitors is almost always communication and work flow. Jane is the opposite; she was patient, communicated brilliantly and I always felt that she was in control. Thank you for taking the stress out of our move.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 06 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 07, 2019 20190807212251

Scott & Edina

5

We really appreciate the excellent work and professionalism our conveyancing assistant handled our property purchase. She did an outstanding job and with her experiences she helped us making the right decisions.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 08 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roy
Roy Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405160620

Awesome service

5

Just exchanged on an investment property. 6.5 weeks from sales memos, awesome result by Sam Newton and the team!!! Thank you so much and wouldn’t use anyone else!!! 👍🏻💥👊🏻

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Eppie
Eppie Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 12, 2019 20190912141825

Conveyencing

5

Gemma Nie at Martin Tolhurst was brilliant to work with on my residential conveyencing. She was always completely on top of everything, kept me informed and drove the process along. I think we would still be hanging around waiting to complete if she wasn't so efficient. I was recommended to use her, and am now passing that recommendation to all my friend, colleagues, family etc. Could not have made the process easier! Thanks Gemma!

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 13 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 02, 2019 20190902120126

Very happy

5

I would like to write to say I am happy and very satisfied with the services Kenneth gave recently.

The advice he gave and the handling of my case, I would strongly recommend his services to anyone.

I found him to be a very nice man, very reassuring and dealt with the matter smoothly and confidently.

I would like to say a big thank you to Kenneth for making my case a successful one.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 02 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 31, 2019 20190831101815

Helpful, supportive

4

Overall the process was straight forward and handled well end to end. I had no issues dealing with my conveyancing representative.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 02 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 27, 2019 20190827214213

Kept sale \ purchase on track dispite many unexpected hurdles

5

I would like to express, to you my, appreciation for the way Rebecca handled the sale of our property and the purchase of our new property.

There were several unexpected challenges during the proceedings due to our buyers total lack of consideration and we were working towards a tight schedule due to the lady we were purchasing from moving to a new build and already having a 2 week extension on her contracted completion date.

Rebecca kept on top of everything despite the unforeseen circumstances that kept arising and came up with contingency plans to ensure that the completion date could still be met. I believe that she did everything in her power to give us the best possible outcome in a worst case scenario situation.

She was prompt on returning my calls if she was not available when I rang and replied to any emails quickly and professionally. I was always kept up-to-date of the progress which allowed me to keep my seller and our estate agent notified. (Our sellers solicitor was not as good at returning calls and passing on updates even though Rebecca always communicated them to her).

Rebecca, I believe, orchestrated the communications between all parties ensuring that everything stayed on track. (Wards said that our buyers solicitor was hard to get hold of).

I really can not praise Rebecca enough for her professionalism. I truly believe that without Rebecca we would not have completed on time and we would have risked the sale \ purchase falling through. (Our seller would have had to take out a bridging loan if we did not complete on time and said that if that happened she would put the house back on the market and wait for a offer of the full asking price). She really is, I believe, a credit to Martin Tolhurst.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sherlie
Sherlie Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 16, 2019 20190816165237

Gemma

5

Gemma was so helpful and very approachable. She put my mind at rest and kept me (relatively!) calm through the whole process, including the occasional hiccup along the way.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 16 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Matthew Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 15, 2019 20190715182716

Assistance with Employment dispute

5

I worked with Ken Amakye on a case that involved negotiations with my employer to secure a settlement agreement for us to part ways. Kenneth was very professional, excellent at communicating updates and was able to negotiate with my firm to get them to increase my settlement figure by a considerable amount. I felt he always acted with my best interests at heart and wouldn't have an issue recommending him to another for Employment related queries.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 16 July, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words, Matthew. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your positive experience with us. We hope to work with you again in the future. Thank you again. Best Wishes, Clio Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mircea
Mircea Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 13, 2019 20190713075905

Good service

5

Straight forward process. Thank you for your help Gemma Nie.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Luke
Luke Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906101913

Luke

5

Jane Williams at Martin Tolhurst is exceptional and a pleasure to work with. I will absolutely be recommending her to my clients, friends and family. My frustration with conveyancing solicitors is almost always communication and work flow. Jane is the opposite; she was patient, communicated brilliantly and I always felt that she was in control. Thank you for taking the stress out of our move.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 06 September, 2019

Hi Luke, Thank you so much for your 5* review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Gemma
Gemma Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 09, 2019
Collected on
20190809194422

Gemma

5

Great solicitor and brilliant service! Samantha replies to every email straight away and was so helpful every step of the way. Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 22, 2019
Collected on
20190722122402

Steve

5

I would thoroughly recommend the services of Samantha Newton who conveyed the purchase / sale of our property. Her services were excellent and kept us up to date and the sale on track despite some difficult solicitors elsewhere in the chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 22 July, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your positive experience with us. We hope to work with you again in the future. Thank you again. Best Wishes, Clio Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Chris
Chris Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 16, 2019
Collected on
20190716130046

Chris

5

Very good service provided to me, very professional, would recommend to anyone and everyone who are looking to move, made the move a lot less stressful

Thanks to Sam Harvey and to Chelsea who was a great help to us at all times

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 16 July, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words, Chris. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your positive experience with us. We hope to work with you again in the future. Thank you again. Best Wishes, Clio Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

Michelle
Michelle Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 26, 2019
Collected on
20190526170748

Michelle

5

Fast and friendly service. compared to previous convanencing we have experienced, Martin Tolhurst has been a walk in the park. Would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Pension Law
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Family Mediation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Leasehold properties
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Trusts
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Probate
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Repossessions
  • Redundancy
  • Civil partnerships
  • Tax
  • Professional Discipline
  • Flexible Working
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • TUPE
  • Separation Agreement
  • Stress at Work
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Housing Management
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Housing disputes
  • Trusts
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Property Disputes
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Lease Extensions
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Senior Executives
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Separation
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Litigation Law
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Wills
  • Social Services
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Buying at auction
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Family Leave
  • Children
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Injunctions
  • Transfer of title
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Housing Associations
  • Financial Matters
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Extending your Lease
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Family law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Collaborative Law
  • Part Time Workers
  • Gardening Leave
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Right to Manage
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Employment Contracts
  • Injunctions
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Pension and property advice
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Transfers of equity
  • Data Protection
  • Intellectual Property
  • Competition law
  • Employment - business
  • Debt Recovery
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Environmental policy law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Asset Tracing
  • Setting up a business
  • Management buyouts
  • Corporate Law
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Franchising
  • Credit Control
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Tax
  • Commercial Law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Mediation
  • Corporate finance
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development plot sales
  • Share option schemes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Developer disputes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Finance
  • Summary Judgment
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Statutory Demands
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Agency agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000