Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 100%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

5.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    160
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Adam Mcbirnie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Adam Mcbirnie

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchase

The purchase of our home was particularly difficult with many obstacles along the way. However from start to finish Rose was brilliant - nothing was an issue and her knowledge and experience definitely showed! We would highly recommend BSG to anyone buying or selling.

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Daniel

July 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional Service; heatily recommend

I have instructed BSG twice over recent years - both for conveyancing transactions.
The most recent was exceptional. The conveyancer was responsive, dilligent and thorough. All documentation completed efficiently. Even during annual leave, others picked up the work to make sure that it ran smoothly.
If you're looking for a professional team, with exceptional communication, BSG is the one for you.

Was this review helpful?

Olivia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Olivia

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

15 sugham lane

Very quick with response and searches. Rose was very approachable and friendly

Was this review helpful?

Suhail

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Suhail

May 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Superb

Professional team and very efficient. This law firm is fairly priced and you are certain to get the best experience. Special thanks to Pippa who specialises in conveyancing. She is always available to answer questions. I highly recommend this firm if you would like to buy or sell a property.

Was this review helpful?

Jess and Gary

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jess and Gary

May 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Recent Move

Fantastic service, great communication, we sold and bought a house through BSG. This is the second time we have used them to buy a house. They have been transparent from the beginning, reasonable pricing.

Was this review helpful?

C.T.

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

C.T.

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

An exceptionally professional, positive and compassionate legal service. My solicitor and her staff supported me throughout the ordeal.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

August 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

very helpful with advice and information.

Rose kept us informed throughout the process of buying our first house and was very helpful with advice and information.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Staff are always friendly

Staff are always friendly and very helpful. Guiding you through difficult decisions

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma was knowledgeable and reassuring.

Emma was knowledgeable and reassuring. She is a very competent professional.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 04, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thanks for all your efforts to get this sorted.

Totally smooth and stress-free! No issues whatsoever – Thanks for all your efforts to get this sorted.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Leander

Leander

July 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Leander

Hired BSG to help with mortgage, declaration of trust and wills.

The service is prompt and professional, with good communication.
The work was carried out diligently, with no stones left unturned.

They were always happy to have a phone call whenever we needed something explaining in more detail.

Thank you for your help!

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Andy

January 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

Very pleased with their service in helping us write our wills. We had a few things that needed amending after the work had been completed and they did this at no extra cost. They were friendly, helpful and worked with us to establish our needs clearly. Would recommend and use them in future if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Claudia

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Claudia

December 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claudia

Rose helped us through the process of buying our first home. She was very patient and attentive with all our questions and doubts. It was a very positive experience for us as first time buyers.

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Daniel

October 17, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel

BSG were fantastic to work with on our recent house sale and onward purchase. Rose was attentive, clear in communication and meticulous. Definitely going to be recommending to family and friends when they come to move!

Was this review helpful?

John

John

September 22, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Top notch Solicitors .Professional and friendly 👍

Was this review helpful?

Blackhurst Swainson Goodier LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Practice areas

We work hard to get to know you in order to deliver timely, individual advice on how to deal with your legal issues and, where relevant, improve and protect your business and personal lifestyle. BSG (Blackhurst Swainson Goodier) is a result of a number of mergers between Blackhurst Parker and Yates, Swainson Son & Reynolds and Oswald Goodier & Co. Our services are available through both offices in Lancaster and Preston. We now offer fixed fees in many areas of law including divorce, residential conveyancing, and Wills.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment