Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Thornton Jones Solicitors app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Thornton Jones Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thornton Jones Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Thornton Jones Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 5%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 95%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thornton Jones Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    776
  • Very Good

    25
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Lorraine Ramsden

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Lorraine Ramsden

November 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

New wills

Very professional and everything was explained to us very clearly , I wouldn’t hesitate to use Thornton Jones again if the need arises.

Was this review helpful?

Christine Sykes

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Christine Sykes

October 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent!

Could not have had better service, Amanda is amazing, down to earth and a pleasure to meet. The whole process was straight forward and uncomplicated.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Easiest Home Conveyancing Ever

We recently used Thornton Jones Solicitors for the Conveyancing of our home. They were professional and totally approachable throughout. They replied quickly to any questions we had and responded to callbacks with speed. I would definitely recommend them in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

We have dealt with Thornton Jones a few times and always find them to be efficient and helpful

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

April 16, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for Alison Jewell

Alison helped me to complete on two properties on one day, she was efficient and easy to communicate with.She would return all calls on the same day quickly and when she had to go on leave she would make sure everything was in place whilst away from her desk
I would recommend her to support in any future house moves

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Rebecca

April 03, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

This is the second time we have used Thornton Jones solicitors for buying a house. The whole process was stress free, the new online portal is great for keeping track of the progress of your sale and purchase. Alison was so friendly and kept us up to date throughout the whole process. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca Donnelly

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Rebecca Donnelly

March 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

I had an extremely positive experience both selling and buying my house. Alison was fantastic throughout, any queries I had along the way, she was more than happy to help. I would highly recommend, Alison made what always is a pretty stressful time, that little bit less stressful. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Danielle Marshall

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Danielle Marshall

January 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing review with solicitor Alison Jewell

We've just sold our house via Thornton Jones and our allocated solicitor was Alison Jewell. The level of service we recieved was absolutely first class and came directly from our solicitor. Alison constantly updated us via emails and would call if any queries were ugernt and gave a really personal level of service. We recieved a large volume of enquiries on our property and these were dealt efficiently and thoroughly thanks to some excellent legal knowledge. Would highly recommend to anybody looking to sell or buy.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding service

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Outstanding service

January 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding

Alison and Gemma were absolutely fantastic! We asked almost the impossible from them in terms of time span and they delivered. I can’t thank you enjoy or recommend them highly enough. Thank you so much for all you did.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Gaynor

Gaynor

March 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gaynor

To say I am highly disappointed with the service I have received is an understatement. I paid £420 (inc. VAT) for a half hour telephone conversation and 1 short summary letter which I received via email. I was told, on the 2nd February, that I would need a quotation for further work from the litigation department. Despite 2 follow up emails, almost 6 weeks later I still haven't received a quote. Given I was charged £420 for half an hour, I am unwilling to proceed until I have a good idea of costs involved. Very poor, unprofessional service all round.

Was this review helpful?

Dom

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Dom

January 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dom

As a first time buyer I expected this process to be stressful. What a sigh of relief when Claire Ward, Emily Pinchbeck and Robyn Grimbley started work on my case. The whole transaction was effortless, quick and fully explained. (Loved the app as this helped a lot with keeping track of where it was all up too).

Was this review helpful?

Bob

Bob

August 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bob

Quick responses helpful and trustworthy

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

May 22, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rebecca

Very thorough, professional, yet friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Katie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Katie

January 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Katie's experience...

Amazing solicitors! Always kept me updated and did everything so quick

Was this review helpful?

Thornton Jones Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment