Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Thornton Jones Solicitors app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Thornton Jones Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 97%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thornton Jones Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 12%
About Right 87%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thornton Jones Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    270
  • Very Good

    6
  • Average

    5
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

June 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Super Service again from Stuart Knox & Geraldine Micallef.

We have been using Thornton Jones over several years for Conveyancing, Wills and Business Debt Recovery.
The service, efficiency, professionalism and enthusiasm has always been of a top level standard.
Very Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Anonymous

May 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of property

We can’t recommend our dealings with Alison Jewel enough. We have mentioned your business to our friends and family. We felt that we were valued as customers and always dealt with promptly. Since being involved we have sold a house, made a will, and currently in the process of buying our next house. Communication via the phone, email and App has been up to date and very helpful. When we have rung to ask a question we were always put through to Alison and she always took our call.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

May 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really good solicitors especially Jessica.

First time buying a property and the sale took 8 weeks to complete.

Jessica was our appointed person and she was really helpful and answered every question i had.

Reasonably priced and would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Adrian

Matter Type:

Child Abduction

Adrian

May 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child custody issues

Shelley and her team were very efficient and active in assisting with my case.
Unfortunately the court process is slow and outdated leading to inadequate hearings where issues raised never got resolved despite fees being paid to courts in relation to the problem.
The final hearing was a complete waste of money to of

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Excellent service easy to communicate with , have used the company for years

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Anonymous

May 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Equity Transfer

Dealing with Stuart and the team is very easy. They give you a good quote and then get on with the work. Very communicative and always available. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Anonymous

April 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

House purchase

Great experience with seamless communication through the process. Always able to get hold of people and e-mail response also fast.

Very impressed.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Anonymous

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

advice on joint tenancy

An excellent service. Clear advice. Efficient organisation. Very satisfied

Was this review helpful?

SUSAN

SUSAN

February 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Supportive, Friendly, service

27 years of marrige saw me going to the solicitors a broken woman with no self-esteem. Shelly Wales, Stacey Higgs, Liz and the reception team, helped and guided me through a difficult divorce. A kind word, no judgements and frank conersations got me through the difficult and sometimes unpleasant moments that I was enduring. I would highly reccomend Shelly's services to help you through the process of divorce and financial settlements.

Was this review helpful?

Hamira

Matter Type:

Domestic Abuse

Hamira

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Client

Shelley wales is a brilliant solicitor infact the best around her assistant Stacey Higgs is also very helpful this is the second time I’ve used Shelley wales and would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

shirley

shirley

December 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

shirley

We would like to say thank you to all the staff at Thornton Jones Solicitors for the efficient sale of our property which was completed without any problems. Also a big thank you to Alison Jewell for all of her help in making it a quick and easy transaction.
Kind regards
John and Shirley Dyson

Was this review helpful?

Partward

Partward

December 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Partward

Lasting Powers of Attorney.

Happy to initially discuss your needs on telephone with no obligations.
Initial telephone discussion and outlining not pressured and conducted efficiently and professionally. All early stages were conducted by telephone conference calls due to lock downs and social distancing. I don’t think it could have been any better if we had been in the same room.
All preliminary documents and proofs were on email, which was swift, all question answered if not on the day certainly the day after.
Once prepared office meeting arranged, conducted totally within the then guidelines, in offices clean, bright, all precautions undertaken without any issues.
All communication with the necessary Government Agencies was dealt with the office professionally, all papers and copies sent to ourselves.
I can’t fault how Thornton Jones conducted themselves in providing such good advise, guidance and concise efficient legal support to meet out needs.
I would not hesitate to recommend them, to help and guide you through any situation or need you might have.

Was this review helpful?

P

P

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Even after 8 years of finishing contact with this company, the service from this company still hurts. All they are after is your money.
Once they see your financial situation they just go for the jugular and bleed you dry..they quote an hourly rate, then get the junior staff to do the leg work, but still charge a partner's rate.
One of the worst aspects is that they have a tendency to send out email's containing information from the other side which you have no chance to respond to until the morning which just let you have a sleepless night..
I CANNOT EMPHASIS ENOUGH AS TO HOW BAD THIS COMPANY IS. IF YOU DO USE THEM, GO IN WITH YOUR EYES WIDE OPE. THEY TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE VULNERABLE.

Was this review helpful?

Pamela

Pamela

September 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pamela

Absolutely awful solicitor's.
AVOID USING THEM. IT WILL COST YOU. They are only after your money. Still paying years later but a wonderful law firm in Leeds gave me the help I needed. #poorcustomerservice

Was this review helpful?

Nic

Nic

August 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nic

Brilliant experience with the team at Thornton Jones. The team was always easy to get in touch with, no hanging on the phone or waiting an eternity for a call back. Their method for handling case files must be organised very well because everyone I spoke to had up to date information on our case and our expectations were managed perfectly. Particular call out to Jess, Natalie and Francesca who have been a pleasure to deal with from start to finish. If house purchases weren't such a rare event Thornton Jones would absolutely have our repeat custom.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Petra

Petra

June 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Petra's experience...

Thank you for everything. The best company for selling the house. Stress-free and everything was sorted quick and easy.

Was this review helpful?

Tina

Tina

April 04, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tina's experience...

Alison Jewell is so easy to work with and I feel confident in the knowledge she will do a thorough job but more than that she’s extremely pleasant and I would highly recommend her services.

Was this review helpful?

Thornton Jones Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment