Request a callback

Book an appointment

Mobile app for your matter

Mobile app for your matter

Download the Thornton Jones Solicitors app to track the progress of your case.

Choose your device platform below:

Generate Conveyancing Quote

How Thornton Jones Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Thornton Jones Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Thornton Jones Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Thornton Jones Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Thornton Jones Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Thornton Jones Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    776
  • Very Good

    25
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Annette Shaw

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Annette Shaw

June 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Friendly and professional .
All questions answered and good clear advice given . The service was excellent from beginning to end . Thank you all.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca Summerton

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Family law

Rebecca Summerton

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Transfer

I dealt with Shelley at Thorntons regarding a transfer of equity. Shelley was excellent throughout such a stressful time. Shelley was quick at responding to emails and returning my phone calls within a few days. I would highly recommend Thornton Jones to anyone. Thank you again Shelley.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate Performance

We employed Thornton Jones to carry out the probate process for my uncle’s estate as it was not a straightforward matter. Initially we were unhappy with the service as the appointed case solicitor left the firm and the replacement was also not able to give sufficient time/attention to the matter. However, following our complaint, Liz Fyfe took charge of the case and from then on we were very pleased with how things were handled and the eventual outcome. Liz gave very clear and wise counsel, always ensuring we were aware of possible consequences of the decisions we made. In addition, she and her assistant Ellie, were always approachable, helpful and friendly. They made a difficult and stressful period much more manageable.

Was this review helpful?

Derek Harrison

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Derek Harrison

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Obtaining probate

Always attended to my queries in a very timely manner. Always courteous and professional. Very precise and efficient work. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Michael Lee

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Trusts

Michael Lee

May 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pensions/Trusts

Having made a decision to re write our pensions and also cancel the trusts we had in place we met with Melanie Pickering.Explaining our wishes was probably the most input we had to make. From that point on wards she made ever thing easy to understand, explaining the next steps in layman terms.
We would highly recommend her and the team at Thornton Jones without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

LH

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

LH

May 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service, Thank you!

Thank you so much to Alison Jewell and Rachele Marshall who both helped in our conveyancing with two properties. You helped us through a very stressful time as first time buyers and we are extremely thankful. Alison and Rachele were amazing throughout especially during the first conveyancing process which did not work out, offering help and reassurance. Alison went above and beyond and even helped us when searching for our second property. She looked at the house listings and provided us with information so that we would feel more confident going ahead. Both Alison and Rachele were quick to respond to any and all queries throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Chun Zhao

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Chun Zhao

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Buy house

She very patience with me .And faster.Friendly.Every time I asked some question.She very patience answered.Made me happy and relaxed.

Was this review helpful?

Chun Zhao

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Chun Zhao

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Buy house

Good patience with me. And faster.Every time I been to office ask some questions.She very patience help me .Made me happy and relaxed.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen Elliott

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Thornton Jones Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Stephen Elliott

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Melanie was very professional throughout and also has a sense of humour.She was very easy to deal with. The office girls were also very helpful.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Andrew

Andrew

June 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andrew

Arooj was extremely helpful throughout the case and always on hand to offer advice when needed. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Gaz

Matter Type:

Family law

Gaz

June 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Gaz

Personally I wouldn’t use these at all, especially not for a child case matter. Don’t really do anything apart from take money. Around 4k for nothing. Didn’t even send the solicitor we were dealing with to a court hearing without much notice then miscommunicated on other hearings. Communication was very poor throughout. Not sure what they actually did apart from adding more stress. Avoid.

Was this review helpful?

james

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

james

May 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

james

A big thank you to Claire and Robyn who dealt with a house sale on behalf of myself and a ex partner.
They had a tedious of working between us and also on top of that a very slow and lacking conveyance solicitor of the buyers who made it almost impossible to be patient with.
All throughout the process we were both kept up to date and the girls made nothing less than all their efforts to move the sale along smoothly even with the buyers solicitor being useless at best.
They also made things clear to me in email or on the phone when there were things that didn’t make much sense (solicitor jargon) I couldn’t be any happier with all the work put in by Claire and Robyn.
If you need a conveyance solicitor Thornton Jones is the one to use and they will be my first call the next time I’m in need of a solicitor!
Thank you so much Claire ward and Robyn Grimbley, I wish you both all the best in the future and thank you for all your hard work!!

Was this review helpful?

Matty

Matty

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matty

Rang, was given the option of "family" so I pressed 2, then asked the lady if I was in the right place and she had a very unprofessional manner about her. Then said "bye" in a very child-like manner, as if she was happy to get rid of someone looking for help. Poor.

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Debbie

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debbie

Absolutely amazing service. Geraldine has made our transaction so smooth & totally stress free. Any queries we have she has been easily contacted & has always been very quick to deal with them. The whole process has been quick & very easy. We are very pleased. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Arifa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Arifa

May 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Arifa's experience...

I am very much satisfied with the way I was dealt during the process. I would really like to thank Robyn and Claire for their continual support. I will definitely refer my friends to Thornton and Jones.
Thank you once again.

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jonathan

March 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jonathan's experience...

I have been delighted with the personable and professional way Claire and her team have completed the work. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Thornton Jones Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills
Book an appointment