Ashtons Legal

01223 363111

At some point in our lives we will need to consult a solicitor. It might be about our property or investments. It could relate to our workforce or family. It might be a dispute we'd rather not be in. Or it might be the chance to embark on the business opportunity of a lifetime. Whatever your need, you deserve straightforward, uncomplicated advice that delivers results, and that is where we come in. With a comprehensive range of services, Ashtons Legal will give you prompt and effective advice for your business or personal matter.

4.3/5 80 Customer Reviews 80
Recommended by
73 Verified Clients
like Lucy and Rachel
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ashtons Legal compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ashtons Legal on ReviewSolicitors

80 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    60
  • Very Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    11

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Daren
Verified Daren Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 04, 2019 20190104091705

simply the best

5

i owe my life to Michael Alexander Wangermann and his team for the last 5 years who took it over from another law firm who had no idea.

best decision i ever made was swapping law firms x

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for your review and five star feedback. We are delighted that are pleased with the service that you received. Very best wishes for the future.

Roisin
Verified Roisin Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 03, 2019 20190103134224

Great service

5

Ashtons were amazing throughout a difficult process. They kept me informed throughout and gave clear helpful advice. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Tiegan
Verified Tiegan Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 03, 2019 20190103132014

Thank you

5

Flawless service, highly professional staff. Will definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 07 January, 2019

Thank you for the five star rating and glowing feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Caroline
Caroline Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2018 20180617164851

Family Law

1

Please please do not use Ashton’s Legal for family law I used Stephen Williams Katy Rush Ipswich office and went up against my ex husband who is a conveyancing solicitor and I’m about to be made homeless with my two children one who is very ill with type 1 diabetes and the other with OCD and other mental issues but because no provisions were made in the order that we had to find a home first we are now about to be made homeless. They will not care where end up home it docent matter could be 500 miles away from family friends schools support. Please just spend a little more money and use someone else after all they could not even give me a safe environment against a solicitor that sells and buys houses for a living “ Attwell” they just want your money it’s like they read of a script we all out in one basket. Please don’t use them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on

We are very sorry to read about your dissatisfaction as Ashtons Legal are committed to achieving a high level of service for all clients. If you would like to discuss any issues outside of the court ruling that relates to the service that you have received from us, our Client Care Partner is willing to discuss them with you further. Please contact Claire Sleep on clientcarepartner@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Karen Ann
Verified Karen Ann Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 29, 2019 20190129133727

Employment Legal Support

5

Brilliant Service from Ashtons Legal.. Thank you to Jessica Piper for an excellent professional service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for the outstanding review. I will pass your appreciation on to Jessica and the team.

Paul
Verified Paul Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 28, 2019 20190128194308

Settlement agreement

5

I required a solicitor to guide me through a redundancy settlement agreement. On the recommendation of a close friend I visited Ashtons. From reception through to final meeting everyone was very helpful, professional and gave you time. I would have no hesitation in recommending Ashtons to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 28, 2019 20190128171123

Ashton Review

5

They were great, they sorted out my problem with ease

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Vivien
Verified Vivien Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 28, 2019 20190128152121

Excellent service

5

A thoroughly satisfactory consultation and outcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for five star feedback and we hope to work with you again in the future.

Russell
Verified Russell Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 26, 2019 20190126075951

French house sale

5

Efficient translation of our French paperwork for our house sale,very helpful which made the sale easier to understand.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for the five star review. We will pass your feedback onto Matthew Cameron and the French Legal team.

Adrian
Verified Adrian Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 25, 2019 20190125215149

Alround great service

5

Having dealt with three Ashton’s Solicitors each on separate matters I can confirm that I received the same high quality advice and support from them all and would not hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with the service that you have received and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Reviews collected on

Amanda
Amanda Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018
Collected on
20180601154018

Amanda Culver

1

A simple, chain-free purchase is due to complete in almost 4 months. The seller questioned nothing, I questioned nothing. There were *no* complicating factors yet somehow, it took 4 months.
Comms
=======
Their phones auto-redirect to VoiceMail, their customer relations answer phone message says they're returning to work on 8th January (it's JUNE).
They *never* send a status update. They had apparently sent chasers to the seller's solicitor but all of this was invisible to me, I was left languishing in the dark.
Output
======
They received some illegible photocopies from the seller's solicitor, (apparently) but printed and mailed them to me advising I pay "close attention".
I confirmed that there was nothing outstanding and that everything was aligned for exchange of contracts - yup, we're all ready to go. Later, I thought it best to confirm they'd received the contract in the post, Nope, it hasn't arrived - so how could you confirm that everything is ready to go ?

I really wish I hadn't chosen Ashtons.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 06 June, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we have passed this onto the lawyer acting for you. I am sorry that your matter is not progressing as you would wish thus far. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your issues with you further, either through your lawyer or with our Client Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, who can be contacted on 01603 703230 or email dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk. Best wishes. Vicki

Debbie
Debbie Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 15, 2017
Collected on
20171115160416

Debbie Jones

5

I would definitely recommend Ashtons, to anyone seeking legal experts, when they come to sell their business, I was delighted with their friendly, open approach and help received. From the start they took what was a very stressful situation and handled it very smoothly, easing the stress on me. At the same time, I was involved at every step of the way, so I knew what was going on. I felt I could rely on them to achieve the best outcome, whilst smoothing what can be a very painful process. Their prices were also reasonable for the work done!
I would have no hesitation in using their services again, and in recommending them to colleagues and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 15 November, 2017

Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback Debbie.

Adam
Adam Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 15, 2017
Collected on
20170915202707

Adam Osborne

1

We wont use them again. Having used them a few years ago to purchase a property we were happy to contact again to say we were moving and didn't even consider anyone else. This time though, very different story. Lack of contact, many mistakes, the whole service we received was a shambles. I was even put through to head of department at one stage who said they take complaints very seriously and someone would be in touch but I still heard nothing - that just summed them up for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 25 September, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies on behalf of the firm. I understand that our Business Manager, Russell Fox, contacted you to discuss your grievances and this was followed up with your solicitor. We strive to provide a positive experience for every client and are keen to investigate your experience further if you are willing to contact our Customer Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk . We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes. Vicki

Jo
Jo Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 09, 2017
Collected on
20170809124857

Jo Johns

5

Excellent caring advice given, well beyond what would have been expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 09 August, 2017

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback Jo.

Johnny
Johnny Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 12, 2017
Collected on
20170712205250

Johnny Holland

4

Ashtons Legal and their Litigation Department resolved the issue sensibly and effectively.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Rachel
Rachel Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 02, 2017
Collected on
20170402145526

Rachel Kim

5

Really good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Edward
Edward Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 18, 2017
Collected on
20170318194136

Edward Moffett

3

OK

Was this review helpful? Yes

zzz
zzz Added 2 years ago Report to admin
February 09, 2017
Collected on
20170209193440

zzz zzz

1

Happy to review my rating but on current experience - on writing to the "CAMBRIDGE" Ashtons branch - to seek legal advice on a mortgage, email stipulating that we would have to come into sign a document. My case is transferred to Bury St Edmunds. On calling them and informing them (not to mention my address is already highlighted to them) - not convenient, a 1 hour 45 minute round journey to sign a document particularly as we both work and have a young family - not to mention we live in central Cambridge, less than a 10 minute cycle from the Cambridge office - informed "someone has left so short staffed" at the Cambridge office so we must travel to Bury St Edmunds to sign a document - and to take it or leave it! So on this shoddy service - I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 14 February, 2017

We are very sorry to read that you are dissatisfied with the service that you have received. What you describe is certainly not usual practice and we are keen to investigate your experience further. Please contact our Customer Relationship Manager, Dave Richardson, on dave.richardson@ashtonslegal.co.uk . We look forward to hearing from you.

ova
ova Added 2 years ago Report to admin
December 05, 2016
Collected on
20161205114807

ova incekaraoglu

2

We have used Ashtons with our purchase as they were recommended by a friend. they have completed the purchase ok however I did not found their communication very effective. Most of the calls goes to voicemail unfortunately. Also after the purchase I emailed about something and never got a reply back which was a bit disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lucy
Lucy Added 2 years ago Report to admin
July 15, 2016
Collected on
20160715100223

Lucy Whelan

5

In my experience (conveyancing) these solicitors have been really good, very efficient, friendly, understanding, always available. Our house move didn't go through in the end (for personal reasons nothing to do with Ashtons) so no experience of the whole process with them, but based on the service we received, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you again in the future.

Solicitors who work at Ashtons Legal

  • Michael Frape

    Michael specialises in resolving complex / high value commercial disputes for clients ranging from private individuals to public companies. Michael believes that the best outcome for a client can only be achieved by a thorough and detailed appraisal of the case at the outset. He always seeks to resolve a dispute at the least possible cost and at the earliest possible stage by utilising the most appropriate dispute resolution procedure including negotiations, mediation, expert determination, arbitration, adjudication, or litigation or a combination of these. Throughout any case Michael will always keep firmly in mind the client’s objectives and their commercial considerations. Michael has particular expertise in breach of contract / warranty claims, shareholder and partnership disputes, directors’ duties, guarantees and indemnities, company law and insolvency issues, and professional negligence. Michael is relationship partner for a leading regional building society, for whom he advises on complex / high value matters. He is an ADR Group Accredited Civil & Commercial Mediator and is rated as a “Leading Individual” by Legal 500. Michael is Chairman of Ashtons Legal and Head of the Cambridge Office. Michael is Council Member of the Law Society for England and Wales for Cambridgeshire and Bedfordshire (2017 to 2021) and Vice-President of the Cambridge and District Law Society (2018-2019).

  • Claire Sleep

    Claire joined the firm in March 2014 from Eversheds LLP in Cambridge where she was based for seven years. Claire has worked for a wide range of clients during her career including both employers and employees. She carries out a broad range of HR advisory work and assists with the employment aspects of company sales and reorganisations. Claire is a member of the Employment Lawyer’s Association. She has significant experience in handling Employment Tribunal and Employment Appeal Tribunal matters. Claire regularly carries out training for organisations on a wide range of employment law issues, devising training material to suit individual organisations.

  • Christina Duck

    Christina has over seventeen years’ experience acting for a wide range of clients as a private client specialist. Her clients include those with assets abroad needing advice on cross border issues in Will drafting or estates containing substantial foreign assets. Also included in her client base are academic clients in receipt of royalties and those requiring advice on the creation of trusts, Inheritance tax planning, Will drafting and powers of attorney. She is a member of the Society of Trusts and Estate Practitioners (STEP) and completed the Inheritance, Tax, Trusts and Estates certificate with the Association of Taxation Technicians (ATT).

  • Charles Webb

    Charles is a key member of the Commercial Property team. He has over 30 years' experience in all aspects of commercial property work, with particular emphasis on site acquisitions and assembly (including the multi-million pound redevelopment of Cambridge railway station), development work throughout East Anglia and commercial and private secured lending and borrowing. His clients include property developers, housing associations and other property-owning institutions, banks and building societies. Charles is based at our Cambridge office.

  • John Yatchisin

    John advises businesses on a full range of corporate and commercial law matters, including: - Share / asset sales and purchases - MBOs - Company and Charitable Incorporated Organisation formation - Shareholders’ agreements - Contracts for the sale and purchase of goods / services (including bespoke agreements) - Terms and conditions for the sale and purchase of goods / services (including on-line transactions) - Trademark and IP-related advice and agreements - Distribution and outsourcing agreements - Website terms and conditions / terms of acceptable use / privacy policies - Care home sales and purchases. John has many years of experience representing clients of all sizes, and has also spent over seven years working in-house at Autoglass®, ensuring he understands a client’s needs from a commercial as well as legal perspective. John is originally from the United States, and is also qualified to practice law in the State of New York. John is based in our Cambridge office.

  • Phoebe Osborne

    Phoebe qualified in 2013 and joined the firm in 2016 and specialises in asbestos related disease claims. Phoebe has a particular interest in multi-track fatal mesothelioma and dependency claims and has secured a settlement of £750,000 for a deceased mesothelioma widow with complex health needs. Phoebe also has experience in attending inquests and provisional damages claims for clients with benign asbestos disease, including pleural thickening and asbestosis. She provides benefits advice and works closely with our client liaison managers to improve the quality of clients and their families’ lives during their claim from diagnosis through to conclusion of their claim. Phoebe is Chair of the Anglia Asbestos Diseases Support Group and works closely with Mesothelioma UK, leading counsel and QC’s, health care professionals and is an advocate in the national asbestos in schools campaign, together with the Joint union Asbestos Committee. Phoebe also appears regularly in the regional and legal media for her charity and legal work. Phoebe is a committee member of the Cambridgeshire & District Law Society, Social Committee and was nominated as Vice-President of Cambridgeshire & District Law Society for 2018 and Law Net Young Lawyer of the year 2018. She is an Accredited Litigator member of APIL, represents Ashtons at Addenbrooke’s Charitable Trust events and delivers training to existing and potential referrers around the asbestos claims process, including hospices and regional branches of Citizens Advice. Phoebe regularly represents the firm and the AADSG support group at national events, including the National Lung Cancer Forum for Nurses and speaks at the Action Mesothelioma Day service held at St Edmundsbury Cathedral each year.

  • Fiona Ouzman

    Fiona has worked for the firm since 2004 and is a member of the Institute of Legal Executives. She specialises in residential property work, and handles residential freeholds, leasehold sales and purchases, sales and purchases of land, matrimonial transfers, drafting legal charges and preparing assents and probate sales. Fiona is based at our Cambridge office.

  • Lynn Wicks

    Lynn is the Business Unit Director of the Lifetime Planning department and has extensive experience of private client matters. She deals with all aspects of private client work including the administration of unusual, complex and diverse Estates, Estate Planning, Wills (with the inclusion of various types of trusts) and tailored Powers of Attorney. Lynn specialises in work for elderly and vulnerable clients and those with mental capacity issues and heads up the Vulnerable Client niche at Ashtons. Lynn increasingly advises Attorneys and Deputies in their duties and on complex Court of Protection matters, including Statutory Will and Specific Gift applications. Lynn also offers advice to disabled clients and the parents of young, disabled children. Part of Lynn’s specialist area encompasses advising on care funding including The Care Act, NHS Continuing Care, Registered Nursing Care Contributions and Local Authority funded care. In addition, Lynn assists with challenging funding decisions made by the Local Authority or Clinical commissioning group (CCG). She regularly acts as a professional Executor and Trustee as well as an Attorney and Court of Protection Deputy for clients unable to manage their affairs. Lynn became a practicing Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Legal Executives (CILEX) in 1994 after training for 7 years. She continued her studies part-time and qualified as a solicitor in 2000. Lynn joined Ashtons in January 2001 and became a partner in 2004. She has been working in the private client area of law, including Wills and the administration of estates, since she commenced her training in 1987 and has helped thousands of families and individuals. Lynn is an accredited member of Solicitors for the Elderly (SFE) and a Dementia Friend. She is a member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) and is undertaking the STEP Vulnerable Client diploma. Lynn is on the referral panels for the Alzheimer’s Research UK, Alzheimer’s Society, Mencap and St Nicholas Hospice. She also provides advice through workshops, seminars and online videos for organisations such as Alzheimer’s Research UK, St Nicholas Hospice, Parkinson’s, Mencap and Cambridgeshire Mental Health Trust. Lynn is based at our Cambridge office but sees clients at any of the firm’s offices across the region.

  • Tim Norris

    Tim is a specialist Regulatory and Road Transport lawyer. His regulatory practice encompasses advising those, individuals and Companies, facing investigation and prosecution, brought by the Health and Safety Executive, Environmental Health Offices, Environment Agency, Trading Standards, Ofsted, Food Standards Agency, and the Police. He provides detailed advice and compliance guidance to the Road Transport and Logistics sector; including those subject to investigation and prosecution by enforcement agencies including DVSA, HMRC, Border Force, the Crown Prosecution Service, the Environmental Agency and HSE. He regularly represents Operators, transport managers and drivers called to Public Inquiry before a Traffic Commissioner. Tim frequently represents Taxi (both Private Hire and Hackney Carriage) Operators and drivers before the Courts and Local Authority Licensing Committees. On a non-contentious basis he is often called to advise on applications covering a broad spectrum of licenses from alcohol to education to zoos. He is highly conversant with the process of investigation and prosecution having served as a Senior Investigating Officer in the Police for 30 years. This enables him to provide a greater focus that understands both sides of any case. He is also frequently called upon to provide guidance, when Companies face crisis management following external and internal incidents. Tim is a member of the Freight Transport Association and the Institute of Licensing. Recommended in Legal 500 in 2015, 2016 and 2017 Tim is based in our Cambridge office.

  • Joanna Cotgrove

    Joanna joined Ashtons Legal in 2016 and is experienced in dealing with a wide range of family matters. Joanna has a particular interest in the financial aspects of the breakdown of relationships, whether acting for married couples or cohabitees, and in particular advises on cases where assets involve family businesses and where issues arise in respects of pensions. Joanna advises increasingly on pre-nuptial agreements, particularly dealing with agreements involving personal injury trusts. Joanna also advises on cases which involve children, including cases which involve complex issues such as domestic violence and parental alienation. Joanna also has particular experience in acting for Special Guardians in both Children Act and Adoption proceedings. Joanna is a member of Resolution.

  • Magnus McManus

    Magnus is a highly experienced property lawyer dealing with sales and purchases of investment property (including whole portfolios), development work, joint ventures and secured lending projects. He acts for many Cambridge Colleges in their property interests and heads up our specialist Education Unit. Magnus is based at our Cambridge office.

  • Amy Richardson

    Amy is a partner within the Commercial Property team specialising in planning. Amy is an ex local authority solicitor who specialises in drafting planning agreements, project development and appraisal, planning appeals, submission of planning applications, enforcement issues, certificates of lawfulness, defending planning prosecutions and noise abatement issues. Her client base and work areas are extremely wide ranging from residential developers, agricultural and equine related development, commercial buildings, affordable housing providers, local planning authorities, Parish Council’s and private individuals. She is well known within East Anglia having been practising in the region for over 18 years.

  • Nigel Maguire

    Nigel qualified as a solicitor in 1999 and has a wealth of experience and expertise in all issues relating to property management, both legal and commercial. Areas of expertise include: - Commercial Leases - advice on tactics and procedure relating to lease renewals including interim rent applications, break notices, application of PACT to 1954 Act proceedings, commercial rent arrears recovery (CRAR), dilapidation claims, forfeiture, enforcement of leasehold covenants and tenant insolvency - Advice on compulsory purchase procedure and Nationally Significant Important Infrastructure Projects under the Planning Act 2008, application of Section 237 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 to override third party rights. - Enfranchisement - collective and individual - Advice on farm business tenancies and agricultural holdings. - Freehold property - title disputes, easements, nuisance, boundaries, adverse possession claims, enforcement of restrictive covenants and rights to light. Notable cases include: - Acting on the East Anglia One off shore windfarm nationally significant infrastructure project - Acting for successful Respondent in recent Court of Appeal case of Baxter v Mannion on the issue of mistake and the jurisdiction of the Adjudicator under the Land Registration Act 2002. Nigel is a Solicitor Advocate and member of the Property Litigation Association. Nigel is based in our Cambridge office.

  • Charlotte Vallins

    Charlotte is a Senior Associate in the Cambridge commercial property team and acts for a range of business and investment clients in connection with their property portfolios. Charlotte has particular specialisms dealing with landlord and tenant matters and operational support. Charlotte is the “go-to” lawyer for a global surveying practice and looks after their extensive national branch network of over 115 locations. Charlotte acts for a variety of other clients both from an operational and investment perspective including an international fast food brand, a national food packaging supplier and several Cambridge colleges. Charlotte has considerable experience of the East-Anglian commercial property market and is well placed to advise clients in and around the region and nationally.

  • Jack Burroughs

    Jack Burroughs studied Law at the University of Cambridge and the Legal Practice Course at Anglia Ruskin University. Jack completed his training contract with Ashtons Legal and qualified as a Solicitor in September 2014. He now works in the Lifetime Planning department specialising in Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Probate, and assisting with Estate Planning matters. Jack also receives referrals from nationwide for the preparation of Personal Injury Compensation Protection Trusts and regularly advises clients with foreign backgrounds and assets abroad. Jack achieved remarkable success in the first half of 2016, when he was recognised as one of the top students for the first half of 2016 by the Society of Trusts and Estate Practitioners (STEP). He received a Distinction and achieved the highest mark in his class for the STEP Advanced Certificate in Will Preparation Jack has been shortlisted for the Cambridgeshire and District Law Society’s Young Lawyer of the Year award 2017.

  • Joanne Sandwell

    Jo is an experienced property solicitor qualifying over 12 years ago, and since then she has concentrated on working with property owners, farmers, landowners and tenants, and developers. Jo now deals primarily with the development of agricultural land, including site acquisition and assembly as well as secured lending and borrowing. As development projects are often on rural land Jo’s extensive experience in all aspects of rural property including dealing with agricultural tenancies (and advising on gaining vacant possession of otherwise secured tenancy land), means she understands the nuances of the issues affecting rural land acquisition, development and diversification. Jo also has significant experience of the renewables sector, where she has acted for rural landowners and renewable energy providers on matters ranging from solar and wind farms to large scale new renewable power plants. Jo is a member of the ALA (Agricultural Law Association), the CLA (Country Land and Business Association) and the CPA (Compulsory Purchase Association). She frequently acts for rural landowners seeking to develop their land and developers seeking to acquire and develop the same, including transactions involving mineral rights. Jo also deals with general commercial property work including freehold and leasehold transactions. Jo provides corporate support on various matters and other focuses of her work involve acting on the property aspects of the care home and franchising sectors. Jo’s clients include property developers & housing associations, commercial property owners, rural landowners, farmers, investors, land owning charities and friendly societies, franchising businesses and commercial businesses. She also provides advice to other law firms on various aspects of rural property and also on releasing potential development on a consultancy basis and speaks at professional conferences on various aspects of property law. Clients and other professionals recommend Jo as being ‘efficient and proactive’, showing a ‘real understanding of the matters, remaining calm under pressure’ and providing ‘invaluable help and guidance.’ Some say, ‘we love working with Jo, she is on the ball and always easy to deal with, she is our ‘go-to’ person.’ Referrers say ‘she has a real understanding of the nuances of agricultural tenancies and developing rural land, I never hesitate to pick up the phone.’

  • Martyn Hayward

    Martyn has an industrial background having worked for 25 years as an electrician. He is a qualified Solicitor and former ILEX Fellow. Martyn has been dealing with asbestos related disease claims for more than 16 years. He is recognised by the Association of Personal Injury Lawyers (APIL) as a Senior Litigator and as an Accredited Asbestos and Occupational Disease specialist. Martyn actively supports the Anglia Asbestos Disease Support Group and works closely with counsel and health care professionals. He has appeared in the media in relation to asbestos related disease matters; for example by appealing for former work colleagues of sufferers to provide details of asbestos exposure. Martyn deals with all types of asbestos related disease case, including the fatal conditions of mesothelioma, asbestos related lung cancer and “secondary” exposure cases (where a spouse, or other family member may have been exposed indirectly). Martyn attends inquests on behalf of the family and guides them through the complicated process of bringing a claim on behalf of the Estate. He can provide benefit advice to the client and works closely with our client liaison manager to improve their quality of life during the very difficult time from diagnosis through to a claim’s conclusion. Martyn also acts for those who have contracted non-malignant asbestos related diseases, such as asbestosis and pleural thickening and will advise on whether a client should settle his or her case provisionally or on a full and final basis. Martyn is passionate about obtaining a just result for his clients and is firmly of the belief that continuing to raise the public’s awareness of the dangers of asbestos related disease is just as important now, as it ever was.

  • Paul Mitchell

    Paul is a solicitor in our Corporate and Commercial team and advises on both corporate transactions and commercial contracts for a range of businesses. In his corporate role, Paul typically advises clients on non-disclosure agreements, heads of terms, due diligence, share and asset purchase agreements and the disclosure process. Paul’s experience ranges over acquisitions and disposals, restructuring and management buy-outs. Paul advises clients in relation to their company’s constitutional documents and shareholder rights and protections, including drafting shareholder agreements. Paul regularly provides independent legal advice in respect of personal guarantees for bank loan agreements. Paul also advises clients on various commercial agreements such as the supply of goods and services, terms and conditions and is experienced in creating bespoke agreements to cover a variety of commercial arrangements for businesses. Paul’s experience also extends to advising on and drafting numerous website policies such as terms and conditions of use, cookie policies, and privacy policies. Paul has a particular interest in advising start-ups and ensuring that they are on the correct legal path as they grow their businesses.

  • Katy Williamson

    Katy qualified as a solicitor in New Zealand in 2016. She joined the commercial property team at Ashtons Legal in 2018. Katy acts for a range of business clients in connection with their commercial property portfolios. She deals primarily with acquisition and development matters. Katy is based in our Cambridge office.

  • Jennie Pratt

    Jennie has extensive wealth management and tax planning experience, having worked for over 30 years in Cambridge. She advises a wide range of clients on Estate Planning, Wills, Trusts and the administration of complex and high value estates, including complex and overseas assets. She is well known for her expertise in the taxation of trusts. Jennie advises charitable trusts and their trustees including on applications to the Charity Commission. Jennie is a past Chairman of both STEP Cambridge and STEP England and Wales Regional Committee, and represents England and Wales eastern region on STEP Worldwide Council. She is also a member of the Association of Taxation Technicians and enjoys presenting on local training courses.

  • Alexandra Chater

    Alexandra undertook her training contract with DLA Piper in London and qualified as a solicitor in 2009. Following qualification, she continued to work there for four years in the dedicated property team of the Restructuring Department. She joined Ashtons Legal in 2014. Alexandra specialises in Commercial Property focusing on the sale and purchase of freehold and leasehold premises, management of investment properties, development work and Landlord and Tenant matters.

  • Francesca Tubb

    Francesca deals with a broad range of private client work including wills, powers of attorney, probate (both taxable and non-taxable) and Court of Protection matters. She specialises in advising and acting for vulnerable and elderly clients and aspects of mental capacity. Francesca prepares and advises on Deputyship and other Court of Protection applications (including Statutory Wills and Gift applications) and provides guidance for deputies and attorneys in carrying out their roles. Around 40% of Francesca’s time is spent on probate matters. Francesca qualified as a solicitor in March 2017. She attended the University of Leicester and completed the Legal Practice Course at Nottingham Law School. Prior to qualifying as a solicitor Francesca worked as a paralegal for several years at a national firm. Francesca is an associate member of Solicitors for the Elderly (SFE) having completed both the SFE OCCP and OCLP award. She is a Dementia Friend and has also completed several professional development courses in probate and estate administration, mental capacity and wills. Francesca is a member of the STEP Special Interest Group for Mental Capacity and Cross-Border Estates. Outside of the office Francesca is a keen baker, enjoys various creative endeavours (including an ongoing attempt to learn to knit) and has an interest in movie-themed lego.

  • Sophie McCadney

    Sophie joined the Commercial Property team at Ashtons Legal in August 2015, having qualified in February 2012. Sophie deals with various property related matters including sales and acquisitions, site set up for developers, property finance, including work for lenders and other general property-related issues. Her clients include individuals, companies, developers and lenders. Sophie is based in our Cambridge office.

  • Rhian Brook

    Rhian joined the Commercial Property team in Cambridge in 2007. Prior to joining the firm, Rhian worked in the legal department of Autonomy. Rhian has experience of non contentious commercial property related matters including freehold acquisitions and disposals and advising commercial landlords and tenants . Rhian acts for a broad range of business, education and charity clients.

  • Carrie March

    Carrie qualified as a Solicitor in 2013. She provides direct support to clients as well as supporting teams within Ashtons Legal on transactional work. Carrie deals with both contentious and non-contentious matters and can advise on a broad range of employment matters. Day to day work typically includes advising on TUPE, redundancies/restructures as well as disciplinaries, grievances, performance issues and contract and policy drafting. Carrie is experienced in dealing with complex dismissals and bulk settlement agreements and regularly advises on unfair dismissal, whistleblowing and discrimination. Carrie advises both employees and employers in Employment Tribunal proceedings and is very capable in handling matters where there are several competing interests.

  • Sophie Newman

    Sophie studied Law at the University of East Anglia, achieving a 2:1, before going to study the Legal Practice Course at BPP University in Cambridge. Sophie achieved a distinction in the Legal Practice Course, specialising in Employment Law, Family Law and Commercial Property. Sophie commenced her training contract with Ashtons in September 2017 and is currently working in our Lifetime Planning team alongside Lynn Wicks. Sophie is based at our Cambridge office.

  • Amanda Smitherman

    Amanda is a paralegal in our Lifetime Planning team. She joined the team in 2005 and provides advice and assistance to clients from all backgrounds on Wills, Lasting (and Enduring) Powers of Attorney and Probate. Amanda is based at our Cambridge office.

  • Amanda Pink

    Amanda works with Tim Ridyard and Tim Norris in the Regulatory Department. She also works alongside Joanne Sandwell in the Agriculture & Estates Department. Amanda has worked in law firms for over 25 years, mainly based at a leading Legal 500 Directory firm in London. Amanda has experience in Regulatory, Agriculture, Family and Conveyancing Departments. Amanda is currently based in our Cambridge office.

  • Johanna Morrish

    Johanna is a Paralegal in our Lifetime Planning team. She joined the team in 2013 and provides advice and assistance to clients from all backgrounds on Wills, Lasting (and Enduring) Powers of Attorney and Estate Administration. Johanna is based at our Cambridge office.

  • Patricia Gray

    Patricia is a paralegal in our Lifetime Planning team. She joined the team in 2005 and provides advice and assistance to clients from all backgrounds on Wills, Lasting (and Enduring) Powers of Attorney and Probate.

  • Ruby Jennings

    Ruby achieved a first class honours degree in Criminology before studying the GDL at BPP University. She joined the firm in July 2016 and worked as a paralegal in the commercial property department. Ruby then studied the LPC, specialising in family law, commercial property and criminal litigation, and is currently sitting in the dispute resolution team in Cambridge as a trainee solicitor.

  • Susan Magona

    Susan is a member of the Trust and Tax Team. She has been with the firm since March 2006 and is an affiliated member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP). Susan has worked in accounting for over 15 years and specialises in preparing Trust and Estate Accounts, together with the day to day administrations of Trusts. Susan is based at our Cambridge office.

About This Branch

Description

We realise that when you call us it may well be for specific help at a difficult or stressful time. When you appoint Ashtons Legal for your personal legal needs, you can be sure that we will approach every issue with the utmost care and sensitivity. We will always try to understand what is important to you and offer advice, which will solve all the issues surrounding your needs. Our team includes lawyers who are members of the Law Society Children Panel, the Family Law Panel, and the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners. We also have trained mediators and collaborative family lawyers.


Legal Services
  • Osteoarthritis
  • International
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • IT professionals
  • No Win No Fee
  • Social Services
  • Engineers
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Lease Extensions
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Architects
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Libel and Defamation
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Family Mediation
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Leasehold properties
  • Dog Bite
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Child Access
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Tinnitus
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Domestic Violence
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Child Abduction
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Buying at auction
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Child Law
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Media and Sports
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Redundancy
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Probate
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Transfer of title
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Divorce
  • Senior Executives
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Injunctions
  • Serious Injury
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Disputed Probate
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Civil partnerships
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Wills
  • Accountants
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Taxi offences
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Disputed Wills
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Gardening Leave
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Asbestosis
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Travel rights
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Child contact
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • TUPE
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Professional Discipline
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Dental Negligence
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Extending your Lease
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Housing Associations
  • Pay Issue
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Insurance brokers
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Tax consultants
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Children's Accident
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Valuers
  • Child Maintenance
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Collaborative Law
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Flexible Working
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Separation
  • Repossessions
  • Separation Agreement
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Children
  • Family Leave
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Surveyors
  • Injunctions
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Accident Abroad
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Fatal Accident
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Property Disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Employment Contracts
  • Sports Injury
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Chronic Pain
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Trusts
  • Car Accident
  • Professional trustees
  • Remortgaging
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Second charges
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Manual Handling
  • Right to Manage
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Whiplash
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Military
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Professional Negligence
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Tax
  • MRSA Claims
  • Family law
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Barristers
  • International Divorce
  • Amputation
  • Car Passenger
  • Planning
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Fall From Height
  • Trusts
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Consumer Rights
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Part Time Workers
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Statutory Demands
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Debt Recovery
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Construction
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Environmental policy law
  • Small businesses
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Planning law
  • Developer disputes
  • Health and Safety
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Insurance
  • Data Protection
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Commercial Leases
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Framework agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Corporate Law
  • Domain Names
  • Credit Control
  • Agency agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • GDPR
  • Asset Tracing
  • Development agreements
  • Farming disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Mediation
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Intellectual Property
  • Employment - business
  • Slander
  • Contract law
  • Environment
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Rights of way issues
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Patents
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Banking
  • Corporate finance
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial Law
  • Tax
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Franchising
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Energy
  • Equestrian property
  • Share option schemes
  • Development plot sales
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Copyright
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Engineering contracts
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Licensing
  • Finance
  • Purchase of development land
  • Competition law
  • In-house training
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Maritime and Shipping
  • Development loan facilities
  • Management buyouts
  • Building contracts and professional appointments

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000