Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Farnfields LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 98%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Farnfields LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Farnfields LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Farnfields LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Farnfields LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Farnfields LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Farnfields LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Farnfields LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    859
  • Very Good

    21
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Megan

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Megan

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Buying a house - first time buyer

Abbey Starr has been fantastic during this experience, always quick to reply and to walk you through the process. She has been impressive and efficient though this time and I am very happy to recommend her to others.

Was this review helpful?

Sally

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Sally

April 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing with abhortive sale and subsequent sale

Both Clare Gundry and Natalie Hopkinson at Farnfields provided an excellent service to me at what has been a very stressful time . I found the service both professional , supportive and friendly and would thoroughly recommend their services and those of the wider team at Farnfields.

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Steven

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing completed under extremely difficult circumstances

This was an extremely messy property sale with a very difficult buyer. However, Abbey Starr handled the process with great professionalism and kept us fully informed throughout. Many thanks to her.

Was this review helpful?

Tamsin

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Tamsin

April 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

I would highly recommend...

Abbey Starr has made the whole process of selling my house very straight forward. I felt confident in her management of my case and I felt that she was working in my best interest. She was also very willing to answer all my questions.

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Simon

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sold and Bought with Farnfields

We have now engaged Farnfields to sell an existing property and purchase another and the service has been of the highest order. Joanna and Amanda could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them and they helped us through the whole process.

Was this review helpful?

Henry

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Henry

January 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Joanne was very helpful with our move and I would recommend the solicitors to anyone

Was this review helpful?

Barbara

Matter Type:

Housing disputes

Barbara

January 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Section 21 Eviction

The service I received over several months from Louise Cook was exemplary. She was very reactive, quick to call or e-Mail in response to queries, thorough and industrious.
Unfortunately, we had to take our tenant to court, but the process was painless and effective, not nearly as scary as I had feared.
I would not hesitate to recommend Louise to any prospective client as a very efficient and hard working solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Norma

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Norma

January 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of property

Victoria Williams and Natalie dealt with the Residential Conveyancing on my property.
I met with them in the Warminster Office and communicated via email and phone. In all instances I found them both to be very friendly and professional, making the whole transaction very straight forward.

Was this review helpful?

Maureen

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Maureen

January 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Much needed help when needed

I am going through a will dispute and contacted Farnfields Gillingham and made an appointment.
I met with solicitor Nigel Mills and explained my problems. Unfortunately, due to my mother's will having been held at this office and renounced by them they were unable to help me further due to a potential conflict of interest.
Nigel was very professional during our meeting and made me feel at complete ease.
We, my husband and I, still hold our wills at this office and have used them for conveyancing many times in the past.
They are a good all round solicitors' office and I would not hesitate in recommending them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David

October 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sevice Excellence

I would fully endorse using Farnfields for all your conveyancing matters. My experience has been first class throughout the process and my needs were fully met. Amanda and Jo have been very thorough and professional. I would highly recommend using them. Brilliant!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Megan

Megan

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Megan

Abbey Starr was incredibly helpful and very efficient when being my house conveyancer. She was always quick to reply and was very proactive throughout. She was organised and was happy to help with any questions. I would be happy to recommend her and Farnfields when buying a house.

Was this review helpful?

Sarah

Sarah

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sarah

Really grateful for the prompt, efficient and detail-focused conveyancing by Jo Shortland and her team. And for the empathetic and responsive support during a protracted process. Would highly recommend Farnfields Solicitors without any hesitation!

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Steven

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Steven

An extremely difficult process with a great many unforseen obstacles but handled both diligently and professionally by Abbey Starr.

Was this review helpful?

Kirby

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Kirby

April 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kirby

Excellent service from the Team, Victoria Williams, Sarah Blackburn and Natalie Hawkes.
Clear and precise communication. Nothing is to much for them. Would definitely us them for further services.

Was this review helpful?

Kate

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Kate

April 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kate

Decent. Professional. Considerate.
Thankyou Gayle and Sandra

Was this review helpful?

Farnfields LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Farnfields at a glance: • Farnfields Solicitors is a well-established law firm in Dorset, Wiltshire, Somerset and further afield providing a comprehensive range of services for business and individual clients • Our specialist legal advisors provide help to both individuals and businesses across a wide range of legal services • Farnfields is LEXCEL and CQS accredited and several of our solicitors are members of STEP and Solicitors for the Elderly • Farnfields has three offices in Shaftesbury, Gillingham and Warminster. • We have been in existence for over 80 years and have a team of over a 100 people, including ten partners • We strongly believe in supporting the communities in which we work including; sponsorship of North Dorset Rugby Club based in Gillingham, TLW Dance in Shaftesbury, The Exchange in Sturminster Newton and Shaftesbury Youth Cricket Club

Practice areas

Residential and commercial property. Family, mediation and collaborative law. Probate, wills and powers of attorney. Civil litigation and employment. Corporate and commercial agricultural.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Finance
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Tax
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation