Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Butcher & Barlow LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butcher & Barlow LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Butcher & Barlow LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Butcher & Barlow LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    313
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Lisa

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Lisa

June 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy

Very efficient, honest and offered sound advice

Was this review helpful?

Jack

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Jack

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent advice and service

Excellent advice and guidance from Mohammed

Was this review helpful?

Emma-Jean

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Constructive/Unfair Dismissal

Emma-Jean

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent support

I found Mohammed easy to approach, professional and would definitely recommend this service to others.

Was this review helpful?

Colin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Colin

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Settlement Process

Dealt with a difficult situation in a professional and efficient manner

Was this review helpful?

Giles

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Giles

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Quick, Professional, Helpful

Mohammed contacted me quickly and was helpful from the start. The advice he gave was really useful and ensured I understood the whole process. The speed with which Mohammed completed the work was amazing. I was delighted. I would use him again if I need a solicitor and would recommend Butcher and Barlow to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Daniel

June 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy

I got made redundant from my work very quickly and was in a state of shock, Mo was very quick to respond to any emails and made everything easy to understand

Was this review helpful?

Anna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anna

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Employment Law Support

From the beginning to end Mohammed Balal was consistent in his approach to supporting me through one of the toughest periods I’ve had to endure, due to a discrimination during my pregnancy. I was really anxious about going down a route with a solicitor though I also felt it necessary. Mohammed was empathetic and patient, as well as clearly well equipped and experienced to provide me their legal advice and the actions required to resolve something I felt to be quite complicated and stressful managing alone. As a woman, I felt quite nervous regarding who I felt could share my experience with and I felt well supported by Mohammed on a professional and personal level. I highly recommend Mohammed as an employment lawyer.

Was this review helpful?

John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

John

May 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Quick, effective and efficient

Mohammed dealt with my confidential case with great effectiveness. Easy to work with and honest advice.

Was this review helpful?

Danny

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Danny

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Employment issue

I contacted Butcher and Barlow regarding an employment issue I required assistance with.

The receptionist put me straight through to a specialist in this area. Who immediately understood the situation and agreed to help.

With a few days, my case was resolved. Really pleased with the service I received.

Was this review helpful?

Sam

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Sam

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Clear and Communicative

Mohammad made the process clear and kept great communication helping me quickly to resolve my issue.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Stephen

Stephen

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

"!UseLess!" do not deal with a;Civil Dispute.

Was this review helpful?

Simon

Simon

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Simon

Partners ignored client instructions to engage on a fee paying personal matter. Then the complaints process failed to follow their own procedure. Consequently a new full service firm has taken over my file.

Was this review helpful?

Carole

Carole

April 04, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carole

I received professional advice and lots of help and support. We have used Butcher & Barlow several times over the years and have always received a great service.

Was this review helpful?

Pete

Matter Type:

Probate

Pete

March 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pete

This is the second time I have had dealings with Butcher and Barlow. The first was to set up Power of Attorney for my mother, the second was to arrange Grant of Probate following my mother's death. On both occasions I found B&B to be highly professional and efficient. Ms Remi Kelly was particularly helpful at a time when I was expecting major surgery. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Debbie

March 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debbie

The team at Butcher and Barlow are a perfect example of synergy. The communication and professionalism of its employees are outstanding. Right down from the legal team through to the reception team who are as equally impressive.

They are friendly and warm but remain professional and straight to the point – translating the intricate details of a complex legal system into a language I can easily understand. Their legal knowledge, speed at which they work, meticulous attention to detail, communication between the departments and ability to think outside of the box are truly impressive, so I feel confident that all aspects of my business are totally safe in their hands. So far, I have employed the services of their phenomenally tough and brilliant litigation department, the extremely detailed and fast commercial property department, and also their wills, contracts and HR departments who leave no stone unturned, protecting my future and mitigating any unforeseen events.

Somehow, they have the ability to be succinct, yet provide a vast amount of pertinent information without waffling. They have always provided regular email updates which sum up the situation, reiterate what has been said, and then clearly state 'the next steps or options to choose from.' Brilliant.

Amazingly, there has never been a spelling mistake or error in all the vast communication we’ve had over the past few years. If ever they propose any work, they always confirm the cost and ensure that I am happy to proceed first. I will never, ever go to any other solicitors’ firm - I have used many other solicitors throughout my life and none even come close to the ability, legal knowledge and meticulous attention to detail that Butcher and Barlow offer. Their professionalism is second to none.

When I first established my business, I will never forget my Bank Manager advising that I ‘invest’ in good accountants or solicitors since they are “worth their weight in gold and ultimately save you money in the long run.” He was dead right.

Was this review helpful?

Butcher & Barlow LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Butcher & Barlow is a Legal 500 Firm with a rich heritage and 10 Offices across the North West. We pride ourselves on being a law firm with local connections but the size to provide an approachable expert in every field. We are big enough to cope with the requirements of all manner of clients across a broad range of services, from making a Will to multi million pound share sales, but we do not forget that the personal touch and attention to detail is what sets us apart from others in the profession. We are the big firm on the doorstep. We are your Solicitors, for life.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment