Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Butcher & Barlow LLP Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butcher & Barlow LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Butcher & Barlow LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 25%
About Right 75%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Butcher & Barlow LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    318
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    16

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Colin

Matter Type:

Divorce

Colin

February 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce

I was initially with the runcorn branch but due to my solicitor leaving the company I was transferred to the Frodsham branch. Both are about the same travel time so no real issues. Alex Williams took over my case and she was amazing always ready to give me advice be that good or bad. She helped make some difficult decisions easier to swallow by explaining everything in extremely simple terms. If I ever need a solicitor again ( I hope not ) I'll be back!

Was this review helpful?

w

Matter Type:

Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship

w

February 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal representation

At a very stressful time they represented us in a family matter. Throughout the whole proceedings they were completely professional, kept us informed at every stage and supported us on the lead up to and throughout the court proceedings. All staff involved with our case were friendly, courteous and respectful.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Excellent service, very friendly, good communication & advice.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Attention to detail

Dear Alex I cannot thank you enough for the speed, professionalism and attention to detail in dealing with all matters. It is a real rarity nowadays and worth its weight in gold. I have paid your invoice in full and thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Was this review helpful?

William

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

William

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Work settlement

Super fast, easy and very cooperative. Mohammed really settle my worries and questions. By breaking the contract down to my level over a zoom call. Thank you again it is much appreciated.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anonymous

July 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Severence Agreement

Efficient and Effective process. I would certainly recommend Butcher and Barlow generally and Mohammed Balal from an employment law perspective from my experience

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Anonymous

July 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement agreement

The process was really quick and efficient.

Was this review helpful?

Vicki

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Vicki

July 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service from Butcher and Barlow

I recently had the opportunity to work with Butcher and Barlow for the transfer and re-mortgage of my house, and I cannot speak highly enough of the service I received. My case was particularly challenging as I had been dealing with the probate (via another solicitor) of my grandfather's will for nearly three years. The process had been painfully slow, causing significant delays and frustration.

Once the house had finally been transferred into joint names, Matt stepped in and helped me navigate the process of buying out my brother's share of the property. His involvement was transformative.

From the moment Matt came on board, there was a noticeable change in the pace and efficiency of the process. His professionalism, dedication, and expertise were evident as he swiftly handled the legal intricacies involved in the transfer and re-mortgage. Matt's proactive approach and clear communication were refreshing, ensuring that all necessary steps were completed promptly.

One of the standout aspects of working with Matt Watson was his ability to streamline the process. Given the lengthy wait we had already endured for probate, it was crucial to have someone who could push things forward without unnecessary delays. Matt did just that, ensuring that the transaction was completed as quickly as possible.

In summary, my experience with Butcher and Barlow, and specifically Matt Watson, was exceptional. They stepped in at a time of need and delivered efficient, effective service, turning a frustratingly long ordeal into a smooth and manageable process. I highly recommend their services to anyone in need of professional and reliable legal assistance for property matters.

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Steve

June 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Compromise Deal

Quick and effective delivery of my compromise deal.

Was this review helpful?

Vaughan Thompson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Vaughan Thompson

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Buying and selling in Sandbach

Once again we have had excellent service from Amanda O'Hare and the rest of the team at Butcher and Barlow in Sandbach. This was the third sale in as many years and each has been completed with great professionalism and advice.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

MISS

MISS

May 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

MISS

When selling our house, Kay and the team were very knowledgeable and guided us through the process with ease. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The office was always a hive of activity but you were always seen and treated as if you were the only ones that needed help. Great service and value for money, thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Alex

Alex

April 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alex

Very helpful and pragmatic in achieving multiple changes on our behalf with Land Registry. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Jean

Matter Type:

Wills

Jean

April 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jean

Helpful, courteous staff both solicitor and office people.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

March 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Always had good friendly service from this firm.

Was this review helpful?

Robert

Robert

February 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robert

still got no forms to sign

Was this review helpful?

Butcher & Barlow LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Butcher & Barlow is a Legal 500 Firm with a rich heritage and 10 Offices across the North West. We pride ourselves on being a law firm with local connections but the size to provide an approachable expert in every field. We are big enough to cope with the requirements of all manner of clients across a broad range of services, from making a Will to multi million pound share sales, but we do not forget that the personal touch and attention to detail is what sets us apart from others in the profession. We are the big firm on the doorstep. We are your Solicitors for life.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment