Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Butcher & Barlow LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butcher & Barlow LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Butcher & Barlow LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Butcher & Barlow LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Butcher & Barlow LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Butcher & Barlow LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    322
  • Very Good

    3
  • Average

    4
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Carole

Matter Type:

Wills

Carole

March 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Myself and partner was involved with another firm of solicitors for approximately two years, we had an absolute nightmare with them nothing was moving forward and solicitor involved would not respond to calls or give any updates, and time was of the essence as my partner had alzheimers, so we took the decision to speak to Alex Williams after she was referred to us by a family friend, after speaking to Alex we decided to move everything over to Butcher & Barlow.
Alex very kindly agreed to take on a very complex case that had been ongoing for approximately two years, Alex kept us updated every step of the way and had achieved more in first couple of months than that of the other solicitor in two years.
Alex was very easy to speak to and very understanding of our circumstances, Alex showed compassion to my partner and would always involve him with any discussion/decisions when we met in person, Alex would always show patience when he wasnt having his best days, I would always get a response to my calls and emails no matter the query and without fail, Alex made our life a little easier when she agreed to take us on as clients.
I trusted Alex to do what needed to be done and I could concentrate on looking after my partner, sadly after some time my partner passed from alzheimers, even then Alex came to our home with flowers, card even a big hug and to pass on her condolences, she didn't have to do that but it just shows the type of person she is.....
I'm extremely grateful to Alex and all the staff at Butcher & Barlow for everything but most of all for being understanding and patient of Billy's needs.
I highly recommend Alex and those at Butcher & Barlow, so much so I am a client again with Philip who is dealing with different matters.
I don't think I could use another firm now, especially after all the trouble we had previously.

Was this review helpful?

liam

Matter Type:

Child Access

liam

July 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child matter

Dealt with the Frodsham branch of Butcher and Barlow, very knowledgeable and professional. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking sound legal advice and support.

Was this review helpful?

liam

Matter Type:

Child contact

liam

July 07, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Child matter

Dealt with the Frodsham branch of Butcher and Barlow, very knowledgeable and professional. Would highly recommend to anyone seeking sound legal advice and support.

Was this review helpful?

Nicola

Matter Type:

Divorce

Nicola

June 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good solicitors

They are a very good firm for getting things done quickly and professionally our soilitors went beyond the call off duty to get us what we wanted 5 stars isn't high enough for them

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Matter Type:

Family law

Jay

May 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Parental rights

Alex was fantastic with my case, really helped me understand everything going on from start to finish, was always available when needed along with Valerie assisting. Made this emotional endeavour a lot easier and smoother for me and I am very very grateful thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Claire

Matter Type:

Child Access

Claire

November 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very reassuring, making a stressful situation easier

I dealt with my solicitor Cathy and I cannot recommend her enough, she reassured me, had unbelievable knowledge and compassion. I honestly would have had a breakdown without her help in my case. Would 100% recommend this company and Cathy to assist.

Was this review helpful?

Nichola

Nichola

September 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Legal advice

I rang Butcher and Barlow for some legal advice. I spoke with Kevan Hankinson and he couldn't of been more helpful! I felt reassured and and well-informed. I would definitely use them if I were to take any further legal proceedings.

Was this review helpful?

Rachael

Rachael

March 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Donna is super helpful, professional and responsive. I would really recommend Butcher and Barlow - a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

Roger

Roger

December 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Conveyancing

Phillip Thompson acted on my behalf, and the process was trouble free - especially considering the negative effects of the Covid-19 on businesses. The house purchase was completed in good time, and i am now in my new property. Butcher & Barlow have acted on my behalf on most of my house moves over the years, and have always provided an excellent service. Would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Young

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Butcher And Barlow LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Young

October 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The Caring Solicitors

I found Butcher and Barlow to be so caring and understanding, especially Donna who was so professional. Nothing was too much trouble to her after the death of my sister.

I would definitely recommend them.


Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Amanda

Amanda

October 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amanda

Fantastic company very helpful and staff are lovely

Was this review helpful?

Mattias

Mattias

August 30, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mattias

Ignorant scum people who did not return the call don't bother with this tripe

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Steven

April 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Steven

We (me & my partner) recently bought our first house and used Butcher & Barlow as we needed a conveyancer.

Our conveyancer, Diane, was absolutely phenomenal. She really went above and beyond and we can't praise her enough. The seller's solicitor (different company) were being extremely difficult and hard to contact throughout the whole process. Despite this, Diane's determination and enthusiasm allowed us to finalise and complete the purchase of our first home.

A massive thank you again to Diane and the team. We will definitely be contacting you again for future services.

- Steven & Rebecca

Was this review helpful?

Liam

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Liam

January 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Liam

I couldn't recommend Butcher &, Barlow any more highly. We used their conveyance services.

Diane, Elaine and the team were brilliant. We had 8 weeks from putting an offer on a house before we had to leave our flat and B&B made it happen in 7 weeks.

They respond to emails quickly, they always answer the phone and they are on the ball with everything. Nothing seemed like too much. Even when i thought I was asking for too much (like bringing the completion date forward a week before) Diane got it sorted.

100% recommend.

Was this review helpful?

sibylle

sibylle

April 05, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

sibylle

I did have the chance to work with the solicitor Mr.Philip Thompson both for the purchase and the sale of my house and I have to say he is very professional, efficient and has your best interests at heart. Highly recommend ++

Was this review helpful?

Butcher & Barlow LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Butcher & Barlow is a Legal 500 Firm with a rich heritage and 10 Offices across the North West. We pride ourselves on being a law firm with local connections but the size to provide an approachable expert in every field. We are big enough to cope with the requirements of all manner of clients across a broad range of services, from making a Will to multi million pound share sales, but we do not forget that the personal touch and attention to detail is what sets us apart from others in the profession. We are the big firm on the doorstep. We are your Solicitors, for life.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment