Howells LLP

3.0/5 6 Client Reviews Leave a review

How Howells LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Howells LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Howells LLP only have 6 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


6 Client Reviews

3.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    3
Anonymous
Click to rate
Michael
Michael Added 1 month ago 5 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 16, 2021 20210116063746

Conveyancing

1

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I am totally dissatisfied with Howells Conveyancing for a straightforward, family sale with no chain. The completion date was not communicated to me, and then funds were not distributed to me on the completion date. Communication was certainly lacking - multiple emails were not responded to, and I had to constantly chase them for updates. I understand there was a long wait for local council documents to come through - however, there were no updates given, and I seemed to be forgotten about until I prompted them (and sometimes not even then!). They were most definitely reactive and not proactive - even having to contact them when the completion funds were not paid to myself on the completion date (who knows when I would have received these if I hadn't!). Compared to the buyers (family members) solicitors - it became a complete embarrassment as I found out more information from them and their solicitors than my own! Although a complaint was raised and I was compensated a whole £50 for the completion fiasco - Howells believed the service they provided was completely acceptable - I do not, so will absolutely not be using them again.

Solicitor named in this review: Rosamund Twambley

A representative from Howells LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2021

Hi Michael, Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with our service on this occasion, and I can see this has been dealt with following our formal complaints procedure. RH

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Simon Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 15, 2021 20210115151834

House sale and future purchase

5

This was my first experience with Howells Conveyancing and i wasn't overly impressed with my solicitor at the beginning of the file being opened, its fair to say that this particular person has now moved on and i couldn't have been HAPPIER with the response from Howells.

Emma has been a breath of fresh air since grabbing the file with both hands. Her communication is EXCELLENT, knowledge of the file and the selling process EXCELLENT. I couldn't have been happier and i can tell she genuinely cares about her clients and doing the very best possible.

I look forward to passing over any Sales or Purchases in the future.

A representative from Howells LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathan
Jonathan Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 29, 2020 20201229074020

Excellent

5

Alex Nolan represented me and I was very happy with his professionalism and communication throughout.Thank you again Alex.

A representative from Howells LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sayam
Sayam Added 2 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 16, 2020 20201216012730

New house purchase

1

We started the process of buying our new house about 4months ago..... still nowhere near completion...every other week it was we need this, we need that oh sorry we need this..then to top it all off our main solicitor decided to leave the company and then we have a new solicitor who wants take a review...and see where we are i mean come on please... i hope we are being treated the same as every one else mmmh..who knows...please its not my fault...the lead guy leaves and you need a review..
.. honest hard-working people... work.for direct line group in case you wondering.

Just want this over with please howells.....tried speaking to my new solicitor kept saying she is engaged all the time weirdly..mmmh again...
..anyway please could we finish this in a matter of.hours...pleaseeee..!!!!

A representative from Howells LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2021

Hi Sayam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologise for the delay in your conveyancing transaction, however we were experiencing delays, as were all law firms in the country, due to the ongoing pandemic. The predicted turn around, with no complications, is currently 5 months for a conveyancing transaction, which is started on our website and social media. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for choosing Howells Solicitors. RH

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kate
Kate Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 07, 2020 20200207181429

Leon at Howells was GREAT !

5

I had the privilege of dealing with a man called Leon at Howells Solicitors.
He has handled all the difficulties (there were many left over by incompetent previous solicitor) with charm, skill and a high level of efficiency. I trust Howells and I recommend Leon highly to anyone with land or property to sell. THANKS LEON!

Solicitor named in this review: Leon Dawkins

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maggie
Maggie Added 4 years ago 8 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 09, 2016 20160409135151

Lack of important advice and information

1

Matter Type: Family law

Disappointed that at the stage they acted for my Mum to process LPA's they did not advise that Mum was eligible to have the registration fees waived due her receipt of benefits. Then also to discover just 5 months later that the Joint not severally LPA's became null and void after a very sad loss. A total waste of Mums funds therefore spent of fees to both the Office of Public Guardian and the Solicitors fees for work that was of little benefit. Followed by the trauma of having to start the LPA process all over again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Regulated By:

Legal Services