Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Howells Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Howells Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Howells Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Howells Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Howells Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Howells Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    838
  • Very Good

    39
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Linda Strudwick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Linda Strudwick

June 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills

I approached Howells as our wills needed updating. I was put in touch with Melodie who acted as our solicitor.
Melodie was very approachable and talked us through the changes we wanted to make and the effects on our will in doing so. She was very efficient and kept us informed in a timely manner. The whole experience was smooth and easy to understand. Would use Howells again

Was this review helpful?

Joshua wall

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

Joshua wall

June 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good service just some small issues

Grate services just small issues like spelling and wrong address on paperwork put me as a female but other than that Sharon was professional and easy to for with

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Medical Misdiagnosis Claims

Anonymous

June 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Compensation

Great service for medical negligence

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

The making of our wills

Everything explained perfectly,
Straight forward,very professional from start to finish

Was this review helpful?

Mark Dimbleby

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Child Arrangements Following Divorce

Mark Dimbleby

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Professional and friendly.

Ramandeep Is a highly professional Laywer and personable. Always made an effort to stay in touch and brought up any issues in a timely manner. Ramandeep is a very good lawyer and one I personally highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Glyn Barker

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Glyn Barker

June 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce and financial order

Caroline was very approachable and clear with the process involved. She was easy to contact and I appreciated the direct interaction. Her responses were quick and she was really proactive in chasing the other parties involved

Was this review helpful?

Tracy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Birth Injury Claims

Tracy

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Medical negligence

As a family we have been treated with the utmost respect and dignity at a difficult time. We have been kept in the loop regularly via emails and calls. I would recommend this solicitor to anyone in a similar situation.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

June 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

New will

Melodie-Shelton-Heath steered me through my new will with ease. She explained everything to me before I had the will drawn up. Although it was not a complicated one I personally had a lot to think about and changes had to be made twice. I had been through quite severe traumas the year before and writing a will was the last thing I wanted to think about but this lady was so, so patient and made the whole process far less daunting and simplistic. After all, she must do it on a regular basis. Extremely happy with the service I received and would definitely return if I need to amend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests

Anonymous

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Inquest

After the sudden and unexpected death of my son we were told that an inquest would be held for him. I was given Howells contact details for advice and they were extremely helpful and guided me though the whole process and I will be forever grateful for the help and support they gave me during this very difficult and emotional time.
Elizabeth listened to the information I gave to her and was able to put it into a format acceptable for the Coroner. Elizabeth was always able to answer any queries I had about the paperwork and was very quick to reply. Elizabeth attended the inquest and was absolutely amazing, even when there was a technical hitch she managed to quickly manage the situation. She stayed with me throughout and helped me and my family with any queries and questions that we had. I would definitely recommend Howells and Elizabeth for any families going through the inquest process for their loved one.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests

Anonymous

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Inquest

I would like to share my experience of a recent inquest that was held for my son. When he died I was in shock and disbelief and on top of that I was told that an inquest would be held for him at the Coroners Court. I felt totally overwhelmed, at this stage I didn't even know really what an inquest was or what the process was. I sent some documents to Howells and they replied very quickly and Amy introduced herself to me. From this point on I was reassured and everything was explained to me in a way which was easy to understand. Amy's advice throughout the whole process was clear and easy to follow. As well as being extremely professional as a solicitor Amy was also friendly and showed empathy towards my circumstances throughout.
For any families faced with an inquest for their loved one I would definitely recommend Howells and Amy to help you through the process, she is amazing!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Bukhare

Bukhare

May 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bukhare

🤙🤙🤙😍

Was this review helpful?

Harry

Matter Type:

Assault

Harry

February 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Harry

Was reccomended to use howells by a close friend and they did not disapoint, specifically mr chris wong very knowledgeable and knows his way around a court room.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Matter Type:

Criminal Damage

Rachel

January 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel

Mary-rose!! Well what can I say, about this lady,shes just brilliant,shes one nice lady iv ever ever met puts you at ease,shes soooo nice,and knows her job ..

Super star.

Thank you

And the lady on reception was lovely too.

Was this review helpful?

Penny

Matter Type:

Children

Penny

December 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Penny

I was enquiring about something.

Was this review helpful?

jason

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

jason

December 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

jason

Sharon Rinaldi
Sharon has worked on my case for the last 5 years and is a fantastic solicitor very approachable and got me a fantastic settlement thanks Sharon for all your hard work

Was this review helpful?

Howells Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Howells Solicitors has more than 40 years’ experience of providing high quality legal advice. We have expert solicitors in key areas of personal law from family and matrimonial to personal injury, wills, probate and clinical negligence as well as residential conveyancing, and taxi licensing. We also have a highly experienced criminal defence department to give advice and representation in all areas including arrest and court appearances. Howells is committed to offering expert legal advice to every individual who seeks it, to improving access to justice and our clients’ experience of the law, and to deliver a customer-focused, value-based service at all times. We are different at Howells. You are at the heart of what we do, which is why we pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable and making sure that you always get personal attention and a top quality service, whether you are a private paying client or are receiving publicly funded legal aid. The vast range of services we offer means that we can help you in all key stages of life, as well as the times that you hadn’t planned for.

Practice areas

Property & Conveyancing Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Law Divorce and Separation Medical Negligence Accident and Personal Injury Care Proceedings Inheritance Tax Planning and Trusts Lasting Powers of Attorney Actions against the Police Human Rights Inquests Housing Benefits and Credits Criminal Defence

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Cycling Accident
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills