Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Howells Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Howells Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Howells Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Howells Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Howells Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Howells Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Howells Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    768
  • Very Good

    35
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Anonymous

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Very professional and friendly lady, my will was altered to my instructions

Was this review helpful?

Daniel

Matter Type:

Prison law

Daniel

April 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Megan Wright

Megan recently helped me in an interview and she was brilliant. She helped me understand the mate gave me great advice and made the whole experience a lot less stressful.

Was this review helpful?

Martin D

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Road Traffic Accident

Martin D

April 22, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Road Traffic Accident

Everyone involved was fantastic

Was this review helpful?

John W & Trace M

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

John W & Trace M

April 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Kerry was very professional and friendly throughout the whole process. We explained our wishes and she was able to suggest what was needed to ensure they would be carried out.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Assault

Anonymous

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

The Right choice, great legal knowledge and first class service

I had the best experience,,
My solicitor give me the right advice
At the right time.
For me was a lifesaver, I get the best results I could ever wish.
I strongly recommend Howells Solicitors as it's have best solicitors
Like my solicitor Chris wong...

Was this review helpful?

ABDESSEMED OUCHEN

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

ABDESSEMED OUCHEN

April 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Writing a will for my family

My wife and myself had the great pleasure to meet Lindsey Rawson when writing a will for our children. It was an good experience and Lindsey showed an outstanding service throughout all steps of the procedure.

Was this review helpful?

Iqbal khan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Iqbal khan

April 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Excellent customer service provided. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Ian

April 11, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

It couldn’t have been easier to do, transferring my will over to Howells especially how Kerry Green made it seem so easy to do.
Explained everything from start to finish, kept me informed throughout the process and was a pleasure to deal with her indeed.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

New wills

We came to see Melody to make new wills and we were thoroughly impressed with the service we received. It turned out to be a lot more complicated than we first thought but she led us through the steps clearly and professionally. Thanks very much.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Howells Solicitors.

Anonymous

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

5 Stars

Very helpful

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Harry

Matter Type:

Assault

Harry

February 01, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Harry

Was reccomended to use howells by a close friend and they did not disapoint, specifically mr chris wong very knowledgeable and knows his way around a court room.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Matter Type:

Criminal Damage

Rachel

January 28, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel

Mary-rose!! Well what can I say, about this lady,shes just brilliant,shes one nice lady iv ever ever met puts you at ease,shes soooo nice,and knows her job ..

Super star.

Thank you

And the lady on reception was lovely too.

Was this review helpful?

Penny

Matter Type:

Children

Penny

December 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Penny

I was enquiring about something.

Was this review helpful?

jason

Matter Type:

Accident At Work

jason

December 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

jason

Sharon Rinaldi
Sharon has worked on my case for the last 5 years and is a fantastic solicitor very approachable and got me a fantastic settlement thanks Sharon for all your hard work

Was this review helpful?

David

David

October 20, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Really professional team, come highly recommended

Was this review helpful?

Howells Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Howells Solicitors has more than 40 years’ experience of providing high quality legal advice. We have expert solicitors in key areas of personal law from family and matrimonial to personal injury, wills, probate and clinical negligence as well as residential conveyancing, and taxi licensing. We also have a highly experienced criminal defence department to give advice and representation in all areas including arrest and court appearances. Howells is committed to offering expert legal advice to every individual who seeks it, to improving access to justice and our clients’ experience of the law, and to deliver a customer-focused, value-based service at all times. We are different at Howells. You are at the heart of what we do, which is why we pride ourselves on being friendly and approachable and making sure that you always get personal attention and a top quality service, whether you are a private paying client or are receiving publicly funded legal aid. The vast range of services we offer means that we can help you in all key stages of life, as well as the times that you hadn’t planned for.

Practice areas

Property & Conveyancing Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Law Divorce and Separation Medical Negligence Accident and Personal Injury Care Proceedings Inheritance Tax Planning and Trusts Lasting Powers of Attorney Actions against the Police Human Rights Inquests Housing Benefits and Credits Criminal Defence

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Actions against the police
    • Actions against the police
    • Excessive force or assault
    • Human rights breaches
    • Malicious prosecution
    • Police negligence
    • Wrongful arrest or false imprisonment
  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Legal aid
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Cycling Accident
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Serious Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
    • Mental Health Legal aid
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills