Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 93%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ellisons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 98%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    868
  • Very Good

    64
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Lorraine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Lorraine

June 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel Dawson

Very welcoming reception - prompt interview to discuss matter. Clear advice as to procedure and costings. Finish within timeline. available for questions - replies also immediately.

Was this review helpful?

Victoria

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Victoria

June 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Abigail

Excellent client care, kept informed all the time and within time frame

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan

Matter Type:

New home purchases and sales

Jonathan

June 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Westwood Hall

A long drawn out affair, running alongside two other legal issues, both carried out by Ellisons. All dealt with very professionally.

Was this review helpful?

Jonathan Murphy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Jonathan Murphy

June 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review for re-writing my Will

My experience was excellent and professional throughout with everything explained clearly and all questions answered with clarity.

Was this review helpful?

Susan

Susan

June 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and friendly service

Carly and her team handled the sale of my mothers property, in a very professional and friendly way and we were very satisfied with the service we received.

Was this review helpful?

Raymond

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Raymond

May 31, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional service

First class service from start to finish

Was this review helpful?

Patrick

Patrick

May 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate and House Sale

I engaged Ellisons to handle the Probate of my late brother’s estate and the sale of his house. Throughout, all matters have been handled in a friendly and professional way. This was particularly helpful as I live a long distance away so could not be on hand to attend to everything myself.

Was this review helpful?

Nicki

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Nicki

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Made handling my Late Father's estate an easy process for me

At one of the most difficult time's of my life, I couldn't have asked for better support or a better service. Bethany was brilliant the whole way through and it was all efficiently handled and made easy for me and my family. I will definitely highly recommend Ellison's and would use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Graham

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ellisons Dealt With My Will

I used Ellisons because they had been instructed with my Mum's will and testament a few years earlier. Although that service was quite long, Ellisons dealt with it professionally and efficiently. My writing of my will was undertaken in a similar way. The solicitor I had was extremely kind and professional.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Patricia

April 02, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale house

I am extremely thankful to Ms Carly Callaghan for all her work that brought to completion the sale of my mother's house. I live abroad which made things more complicated. Ms Callaghan took the time to explain to me the different legal aspects and procedures.
I appreciated her expertise, efficiency and availability.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

debs

Matter Type:

Family law

debs

July 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

debs

The Solicitor looking after my Mum's affairs is really good. Everyone is very professional and welcoming. I would definitely recommend Ellison's. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Carol

Carol

September 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carol

Very helpful and Covid secure.

Was this review helpful?

chris

chris

November 16, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

chris

Good prices and they get the job done

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

June 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Friendly I was helping my partner to sort will out quite expensive but you do get quality service

Was this review helpful?

John

John

May 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Audrey McKenna helped us with our recent property sale and purchase.
The purchase turned out to be a difficult affair mainly because the vendors had chosen a large conveyancing firm who frankly were not good at all.
Audrey handled everything with infinite patience and professionalism and helped get the case over the line in spite of the vendors side.
Her service was exceptional, and I wouldn't go anywhere else for my conveyancing needs.

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established for more than 250 years. Ellisons Solicitors is a top 200 UK firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms. With a team of over 250 colleagues – the firm has offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Tendring. Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing