Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    120
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    0

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sue Leek

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons.

Matter Type:

Wills

Sue Leek

April 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

exemplary wills service

Nick was brilliant. He was patient in explaining and offering advice and listened carefully as we discussed our wishes. He remembered the names of our beneficiaries and it seemed a very kind and personal service. It was a pleasure talking to you, many thanks.

Was this review helpful?

Barry Gostling

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons.

Barry Gostling

April 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helpful and efficient

Thanks for your assistance with writing my Will

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons.

Nick

February 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and understanding in difficult times

Ellisons were used as Executor to a will during the midst of the Covid pandemic. They were very easy to deal with, and kept me updated re progress which wasn't always quick, through no fault of their own.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons.

Matter Type:

Redundancy

Nick

January 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vrtually Perfect.

Everyone I dealt with at Ellisons were 100% on the ball and knew what they were about. Obviously I have to pick Frances out for the spotlight as she was who I dealt the most with.

Extremely professional whilst remaining friendly and relaxed, a great combination. I immediately recommeded her to my colleagues (in the same boat as myself), and would not hesitate to do so again.

In fact I have mentioned her to people just in case they should need this service at some point.

Was this review helpful?

Philippa Knights

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons.

Matter Type:

Employment Contracts

Philippa Knights

January 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Reassuring

At a very difficult point in my employment Frances provided the guidance and support to help me through.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

September 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matthew coped very well with the problems caused by Covid.

Compared to other solicitorswe had to deal with his performance was exceptional.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Carly was brilliant.

The whole process was dealt with efficiently and we can't fault her. She even replied to texts and email queries well outside of office hours. We attended an appointment at the office anf after seeing my husband struggle in a wheelchair she offered to meet us on our driveway for a further appointment. She also did this with my sister in law in Ipswich. Cannot praise Carly enough. You have a real gem in her!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

I would highly recommend.

At a very stressful time Ellisons took care of all matters concerned explainded in detail procedures with a brilliant outcome, I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Robert was very professional throughout.

Ellisons supported and guided me through the whole process to a more than satisfactory outcome.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

May 14, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Also, communication has been first-rate.

Can we thank you and your team for ensuring we had our wills drawn up in these difficult times, with the minimum of fuss and with great professionalism by yourself and your team.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Oliver

Oliver

November 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Oliver

Ellison’s solicitors Chelmsford branch was a great service and could not recommend this service enough. So professional and efficient during such a difficult time they provided all paperwork and walked me through my first time buying a house so well. This was all done during the first lockdown and yet everything was completed properly to a high standard with them being in constant communication with me over every detail of the exchange. I could not recommend this solicitors company enough I have already been supplying friends with their details for them to use and I will be using them again in the future when needed. All I can say finally is a big thank you to all the team and one key colleague who dealt with my case.

Was this review helpful?

Samia

Samia

October 02, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Samia

Excellent service and communication . Highly satisfied with work done on my behalf

Was this review helpful?

Deborah

Deborah

September 18, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deborah

Lovely people, very good to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

Debbie

Debbie

September 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Debbie

I’ve used Ellisons solisiter for the last year and half absolutely brilliant service great help very caring and took time to explain things to me very prompt and thorough i had Samantha chance and Lauren Dunn I cannot thank these two enough definitely well recommended .

Was this review helpful?

Darren

Darren

September 08, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Darren

Looked after me every step of the way and would highly recommend to anyone! With a big thankyou to Lisa Dawson

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established for more than 250 years. Ellisons Solicitors is a top 200 UK firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms With a team of almost 250 colleagues, including 28 partners – the firm has six offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds, Tendring (Clacton-on-Sea and Frinton-on-Sea). Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment