Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ellisons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 97%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    837
  • Very Good

    62
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Julie Cave

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Commercial Contracts and Agreements

Julie Cave

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

We used Ellisons following a recommendation from another GP federation and have found them to be exemplary in their service to us. We have now used them for a range of issues from employment issues (including TUPE), contractual issues and general advice. They have responded quickly, with clear advice and guidance. We would recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful?

Nevine Coutry

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Nevine Coutry

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Playdate Share Option Agreement

Working with Petra Sharp on reviewing and fine-tuning a share option agreement with one of our most recent new advisors was as always a very positive experience. She handled it with efficiency, precision and as always flagged any areas of concern and gave advice where necessary. Her professionalism and care for our business is second to none.

Was this review helpful?

Darren Tansley - Essex Wildlife Trust

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Commercial Contracts and Agreements

Darren Tansley - Essex Wildlife Trust

May 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Flexible and Professional

Adam Kanharn was very helpful all the way through a protracted and often complicated contracting procedure. Always clear and concise advice, presented in a way that a layperson could easily understand which was really appreciated.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Rachel

April 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very reassuring

Julian recently helped me through a difficult employment situation. He and his secretary Jo were so supportive and reassuring throughout the process. Cannot thank them enough for everything they did.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

April 05, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

Tina was superb throughout the entire process of our engagement. Highly knowledgeable and supportive throughout. Tina shows a level of expertise that is second to none. Very highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

March 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thorough but to the point

Tina Maxey advised on an employment matter and I am very grateful for the time she spent checking everything over for me. So much raised that I hadn't considered, but all relevant, clear and concise. I wouldn't think twice about seeing her or Ellisons again should the need arise in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Anonymous

March 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Project Orwell

Throughout the process of selling our business, I feel that we received excellent service and advice from Ellisons Solicitors, I would highly recommend Petra and her colleagues.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Anonymous

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Personal Injury Claim

Good service, good communication, would recommend to friends & family.

Was this review helpful?

Steven rose

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Steven rose

February 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Petra sharp

Very good service efficient and effective. Successful conclusion a job well done

Was this review helpful?

Katharine

Katharine

January 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic - above and beyond

Bernice has been absolutely amazing every step of the way and I cannot thank her enough.
I was so impressed with how she did not back down, stood our ground and patiently led me (completely blind!) through this process. Bernice also did it with such sensitivity & and professionalism, especially considering it's a time I don't like remembering. She was incredibly knowledgeable on the law, and what was achievable - and achieved an excellent result. Thank you Bernice!

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

debs

Matter Type:

Family law

debs

July 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

debs

The Solicitor looking after my Mum's affairs is really good. Everyone is very professional and welcoming. I would definitely recommend Ellison's. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Alan

Alan

June 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Friendly I was helping my partner to sort will out quite expensive but you do get quality service

Was this review helpful?

John

John

May 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Audrey McKenna helped us with our recent property sale and purchase.
The purchase turned out to be a difficult affair mainly because the vendors had chosen a large conveyancing firm who frankly were not good at all.
Audrey handled everything with infinite patience and professionalism and helped get the case over the line in spite of the vendors side.
Her service was exceptional, and I wouldn't go anywhere else for my conveyancing needs.

Was this review helpful?

Jack

Jack

April 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jack

0 stars if I could, refuse to speak to me because they're told not to, although they want my money and said the only reason they pick up the phone is because its curtesy.
Rude people, horrible to talk to and Joe Brightman was my solicitor who refused to take phone calls from me but I'm trying to pay them.
I have 1 day or they're taking me to court, how am I suppose to pay?
Selfish, ignorant people who only care about a good paycheck

Was this review helpful?

George

George

April 14, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

George

*****AVOID FOR RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY PURCHASES ETC*** Would give 0 if there was an option.... Used them for a house purchase and the way it was handled was very very disappointing. Every small hurdle that cropped up was made painfully slow with no attempts to proactively solve. Ultimately adding to overall costs... One word ... Useless!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established for more than 250 years. Ellisons Solicitors is a top 200 UK firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms. With a team of over 250 colleagues – the firm has offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Tendring. Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing