Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Ellisons Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 92%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ellisons Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Ellisons Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 6%
About Right 93%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Ellisons Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Ellisons Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Ellisons Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    819
  • Very Good

    61
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    15

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
David Cox

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)

David Cox

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant Service

This is the 4th time I have used Ellisons Solicitors for Immigration services and they never disaapoint. incredible expertise, brilliant service and a true delight to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

Tania Harrington

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Tania Harrington

May 21, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service and good communication. Thank you.

My experience with this firm cannot be faulted. Full marks across the board.

Was this review helpful?

M

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

M

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

THE BEST!

As always, a more than pleasant experience with Ellisons team on the plot sale. With a speedy turnaround time (3 months to completion, with Xmas in the middle) and always willing to assist, I cannot express how wonderful it is to work alongside Ellisons! Thank you, always! M

Was this review helpful?

Paul Kirby

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Paul Kirby

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Self build mortgage application

We found the self build mortgage application process very unwieldy and it appeared to take an inordinately long time to process. The mortgage had already been agreed in principle with our lender and the staged release of funds had already been agreed by Build Store. We were expecting a straightforward process but it took a long time and we were asked to fill out irrelevant forms. An example of which was the financial incentives form that we were asked to complete. When we pointed out that it didn’t apply, the solicitor had to check back with the lender before accepting that it didn’t. An exchange of emails and time that we were no doubt charged for. Eventually we funded the completion of the build from elsewhere and are still wondering what we actually spent over £7,000 in achieving. There were others instances, but I think it is sufficient to say that we will not use this firm again.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stuart

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class Service

Claire instilled confidence from the outset. Approachable, understanding and a pleasure to deal with. The whole process was very smooth and pain free. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Sean Connor

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Sean Connor

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nathan Howe

Nathan was extremely efficient, knowledgeable and helpful.
He dealt with an extremely complex and tricky case with great patience and his advice and guidance were invaluable.

Was this review helpful?

David rose

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

David rose

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hoffmans way

I have found Phil roberts to be a very professional solicitor and very helpful person I have used him many times and will carry on doing so keep up the good work Phil

Was this review helpful?

Clare Rowe

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Clare Rowe

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Commercial Property Purchase

I have been using Ellison's for commercial, residential and personal law for over 15 years now and always receive an excellent service. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

SARA SANDERS-SMITH

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Ellisons Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

SARA SANDERS-SMITH

April 18, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

SMOOTH AND STEADY

For my conveyancing project, Ellisons provided consistent and detailed advice, as well as quick and open communication as required.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

David

April 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Outstanding service

I recently used Ellisons for advice about my will. Lauren Hancock could not have been more knowledgeable, professional and friendly, answering all my questions clearly and putting my mind at rest. Beyond Lauren, the whole experience from my first contact to the visit itself was quick, clear and very thoroughly pleasant. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending and I will certainly use again.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Alan

Alan

June 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alan

Friendly I was helping my partner to sort will out quite expensive but you do get quality service

Was this review helpful?

John

John

May 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Audrey McKenna helped us with our recent property sale and purchase.
The purchase turned out to be a difficult affair mainly because the vendors had chosen a large conveyancing firm who frankly were not good at all.
Audrey handled everything with infinite patience and professionalism and helped get the case over the line in spite of the vendors side.
Her service was exceptional, and I wouldn't go anywhere else for my conveyancing needs.

Was this review helpful?

Dane

Dane

April 10, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dane

Poor Service Work Shy

Was this review helpful?

Rob

Rob

January 23, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rob

Poor service.

Was this review helpful?

rosie

rosie

November 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

rosie

Very poor communication, left in the dark always until pressured to give an answer and when you get one it’s vague and very unhelpful. Got all information needed from other parties. Took 2x longer than need be with no explanation.

Was this review helpful?

Ellisons Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Ellisons Solicitors is a full service top 200 UK law firm, and one of the region’s oldest, most established and fastest growing firms. With a team of over 270 colleagues, the firm has offices located across Essex and Suffolk, alongside an office in London: Colchester, Chelmsford, Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Tendring. Ellisons offer comprehensive range of services to businesses and individuals across the UK and beyond - aided by our membership of the Alliott Global Alliance (a worldwide alliance of professional firms).

Practice areas

For you and your family: Wills, Trusts and Probate Family and Divorce Residential Conveyancing Insolvency Personal Injury Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution For your business: Corporate and Commercial Commercial Property Rural and Agriculture Insurance Litigation Insolvency Immigration Employment Dispute Resolution Construction and Regulatory

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • Further leave to remain applications
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
    • Energy
    • Maritime and Shipping
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing