Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Wall James Chappell Compares

Value for money

This firm - 88%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Wall James Chappell on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wall James Chappell and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Wall James Chappell performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Wall James Chappell and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Wall James Chappell compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Wall James Chappell offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    56
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    1

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Stephen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stephen

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Very pleased with WJC and Clare M, especially as two house purchases fell through prior to this purchase. Very friendly, approachable and efficient. Would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Geoffrey

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Geoffrey

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of house included in an estate of which I am an executor.

The team headed by Clare Marriott were totally professional from day one. Any queries were dealt with immediately and we were kept informed on any developements. I would not hesitate to recommend Wall James Chappell.

Was this review helpful?

Wendy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Wendy

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of property

Overall very happy.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

August 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

New will

Very precise instructions, cost involved advised at outset. Quick and efficient. No hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Justin

August 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First time buyer

Deepa came recommended to me and she did not disappoint. Excellent service, very clear and helpful with anything I was unsure about, good honest communication and overall made my experience buying my first house really pleasant! Thanks Deepa!

Was this review helpful?

G & J

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Wills

G & J

August 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Updating of wills

WJC were very friendly, professional and well prepared in helping us to update our wills.
They took care to explain details in layman's terms.
We would certainly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Justin

August 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Deepa Patel - Best service possible

As a former solicitor I know how tricky matters can be. Deepa was first class and richly deserves her position in the firm.

Was this review helpful?

Jude

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Probate

Jude

August 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A guiding hand

During a very difficult time both personally and for the country as a whole with the covid pandemic, our solicitor guided us through all the intricate workings that come with dealing with the estate of my deceased father. As a family we found the whole experience was handled safely, efficiently and with sensitivity. We were regularly updated on how the procedure was progressing until its conclusion. We shall definitely be using their very professional services again.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

July 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Always going the extra-mile and genuinely cares

I have worked with various solicitors during my business career, however, Vic Younis and his firm WJC are now my go-to partner for all legal matters.

Vic and his team act as extension to my businesses, offering first class legal advice. Vic will always go the extra-mile to ensure we are supported, including out of hours contact. Vic is very approachable and has perfected the art of managing our expectations and delivering on all commitments made.

Working with Vic and WJC gives me the peace of mind we have a legal partner who can get ‘stuff done’, but also genuinely cares.

I have referred Vic and his team to many of my associates which should say all that’s required for the trust and confidence I place in him.

Was this review helpful?

Henry

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Wall James Chappell.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Henry

July 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A great experience

Deepa and her team were an absolute pleasure to work with, on what was a particularly complex, stressful and occasionaly distressing house move. In particular, Deepa went over and above what we expected, making sure the other parties in the chain were aligned, remaining calm throughout, and generally being an all-round hero. Without her, I genuinely don't think we would have ended up completing on our sale in time for the stamp duty holiday, and would likely have lost it entirely. But thanks to her, we are now living in our dream home and couldn't be happier. Thanks Deepa! You deserve more than five stars.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

John

John

June 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

John

Very helpful, and covid safe.

Was this review helpful?

Nimal

Nimal

April 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nimal

A big thank you to Deepa Patel, for sorting everything out for us and making our experience in moving into our very first home very easy and straight forward. Great communication and explanation of everything, answered all our questions with no issues and made our experience very good. I Highly recommend Deepa Patel, and look forward to working with her again in the near future. Thank you for all your help.

Was this review helpful?

Andy

Andy

October 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Andy

During my working and private career I've worked with a lot of solicitors and I can honestly say that few come close to the professionalism and responsiveness of Wall James Chappell. They wrote my late father's will and were incredibly helpful during the whole process of dealing with the estate. From the receptionist, whose job is doubly difficult due to COVID-19, through to the senior partner who dealt with dad's affairs, I only have the highest praise. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Katie

Katie

August 22, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Katie

Clare as always did a fantastic job on both the sale and completion on our homes. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

Craig

Craig

August 07, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Craig

We completed on a property in Kingswinford 3 weeks ago, we could not have been happier, Sarah looked after us, the level of service and knowledge was exceptional. She took the stress and worry away allowing us to just be excited to move into our new home. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Wall James Chappell are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Wall James Chappell is a modern specialist firm of solicitors which can trace its origins in Stourbridge back to 1830. The firm has expanded both organically and through amalgamation and in 2009 the long-established firms of Wall, James and Davies and Chappell and Perry merged to form Wall James Chappell. We offer a wealth of specialist expert knowledge to both corporate and individual clients not just locally but across the UK. The firm places importance on providing technically excellent advice with a practical and sensitive approach, working in partnership with its clients. Our clients receive friendly and effective advice from a solicitor whom they can trust. Our commitment to working together with our clients and prioritising the value of our service has allowed us to maintain long-term relationships with our clients and establish a reputation as a trusted legal advisor. In 1986 the firms of Wall, James & Davies and Bannister & King merged. The roots of the two Stourbridge solicitors stretch back nearly 200 years when gas lighting was first installed in the town and the Industrial Revolution was getting up steam. Bannister & King was originally founded in 1830 by William Blow Collis – whose only fees for that year were recorded as being £5 9s 2d for the drawing up of a lease! Meanwhile, back in 1865, when Gladstone became leader of the House of Commons, Thomas J.Wall set himself up as a solicitor at 19 Hagley Road. Some 25 years later he went into partnership with George Francis James. Wall’s son, Oswald Leo Wall, also later entered into partnership with Trevor Davies. In 2009 Wall, James & Davies merged with Chappell & Perry to form Wall James Chappell. Percy Chappell started from 14 Hagley Road, his house in 1906! Today the firm of Wall James Chappell still operates from its office at 15-23 Hagley Road with 7 partners and 40 people.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment