Balfour + Manson LLP

0141 370 0528

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

4.9/5 67 Customer Reviews 67
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

67 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    66
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Dunajski
Dunajski Added 8 months ago Report to admin
May 05, 2019 20190505010000

Diana showed a lot of intrest in my case, she showed great customer care and I am very pleased.

5

My overall impression of that Diana and her team are very professional in what they do, they show a lot of passion which makes a very good impression on the customers they deal with. It was very easy to contact Diana. The ladies at reception were also very helpful.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 18, 2019 20190418010000

Review of Lynne Mulcahy - 5/5

5

Very sweet + Professional. Informative & Caring also

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 10 months ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019 20190329121403

Very professional and efficient service

5

Met with and engaged Scott Clair for a couple of services and he is very pleasant and efficient and kept me informed throughout the process.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 April, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalind
Verified Rosalind Added 10 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2019 20190311081546

Employment contract help

5

Andrew was extremely helpful when dealing with my employment contract, very communicative and helpful. And we got the resolution we were hoping for!

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 11 March, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Porter
Porter Added 11 months ago Report to admin
February 13, 2019 20190213000000

VERY impressed with level or service

5

Good explanation given from the beginning

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 27 February, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 10, 2018 20180910010000

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

5

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Corney
Corney Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 21, 2018 20180821010000

Her compassion and sensitivity have been much appreciated.

5

What has been a very long and stressful process has been made a great deal easier by Jenna Dicken.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 15, 2018 20180815010000

I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

5

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case. I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured she chased up things on my behalf. I was very happy with the level of service I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018 20180601010000

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case.

5

I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured that she chased me up. Thank you on my behalf. I am very happy with the level of service I received. I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 10, 2018 20180510010000

Thank you for your commitment and ongoing support.

5

Most of the communication was done via my parents who were the primary party in this case. However, they were kept fully up to date with progress. Julie and Jenna were excellent in returning emails and calls if I had any questions or queries. I think that Julie and Jenna provided an excellent service to myself and my family. They provided honest down to earth advice and were very realistic about any outcomes of the case. They were careful to manage our expectations and expenditure. I just wanted to add that Julie and Jenna are to be commended for not only securing a beneficial outcome for all but that they acted with the utmost professionalism and sensitivity towards a difficult subject matter in a very complex case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Family law
  • Senior Executives
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Flexible Working
  • Accident Abroad
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Annulment
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Pension Law
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Child Law
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Skiing Injury
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Trusts
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • International
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Wills
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Pay Issue
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Legal aid
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Separation Agreement
  • Child Abduction
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Social Services
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tinnitus
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Injunctions
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Employment Contracts
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Leasehold properties
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Part Time Workers
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Child contact
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Manual Handling
  • Housing Associations
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Collaborative Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Separation
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Human rights
  • Purchase and Sale
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • No Win No Fee
  • Elderly care
  • Domestic Violence
  • Military
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Dog Bite
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Transfers of equity
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Housing Management
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Children
  • Asbestosis
  • Divorce
  • Lease Extensions
  • Dental Negligence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Tax
  • Car Accident
  • Disputed Probate
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Child Access
  • Child Custody
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Serious Injury
  • Extending your Lease
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Property Disputes
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Second charges
  • Accident At Work
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Injunctions
  • Right to Manage
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Child Maintenance
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Redundancy
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Car Passenger
  • Planning
  • Family Leave
  • Children's Accident
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • International Divorce
  • TUPE
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Fall From Height
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Media and Sports
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Probate
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Gardening Leave
  • Chronic Pain
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Stress at Work
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Repossessions
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Whiplash
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Cycling Accident
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Financial Matters
  • Amputation
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Judicial review
  • Medical Negligence
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Pension and property advice
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Sports Injury
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Intellectual Property
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Share option schemes
  • Mediation
  • Banking
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Data Protection
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Agency agreements
  • Tax
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Corporate finance
  • Management buyouts
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Setting up a business
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Employment - business
  • Charities
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Small businesses
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Environmental policy law
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Competition law
  • Corporate Law
  • Franchising
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Summary Judgment
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Insurance
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Asset Tracing
  • Debt Recovery
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Contract law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Planning law
  • Developer disputes
  • Statutory Demands
  • Slander
  • Rights of way issues

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000