Balfour + Manson LLP

0141 370 0528

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

5.0/5 55 Customer Reviews 55
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

55 Customer Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Dunajski
Dunajski Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 05, 2019 20190505010000

Diana showed a lot of intrest in my case, she showed great customer care and I am very pleased.

5

My overall impression of that Diana and her team are very professional in what they do, they show a lot of passion which makes a very good impression on the customers they deal with. It was very easy to contact Diana. The ladies at reception were also very helpful.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 5 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2019 20190418010000

Review of Lynne Mulcahy - 5/5

5

Very sweet + Professional. Informative & Caring also

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019 20190329121403

Very professional and efficient service

5

Met with and engaged Scott Clair for a couple of services and he is very pleasant and efficient and kept me informed throughout the process.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 April, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalind
Verified Rosalind Added 6 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2019 20190311081546

Employment contract help

5

Andrew was extremely helpful when dealing with my employment contract, very communicative and helpful. And we got the resolution we were hoping for!

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 11 March, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Porter
Porter Added 7 months ago Report to admin
February 13, 2019 20190213000000

VERY impressed with level or service

5

Good explanation given from the beginning

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 27 February, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 10, 2018 20180910010000

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

5

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Corney
Corney Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 21, 2018 20180821010000

Her compassion and sensitivity have been much appreciated.

5

What has been a very long and stressful process has been made a great deal easier by Jenna Dicken.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 15, 2018 20180815010000

I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

5

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case. I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured she chased up things on my behalf. I was very happy with the level of service I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018 20180601010000

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case.

5

I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured that she chased me up. Thank you on my behalf. I am very happy with the level of service I received. I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 10, 2018 20180510010000

Thank you for your commitment and ongoing support.

5

Most of the communication was done via my parents who were the primary party in this case. However, they were kept fully up to date with progress. Julie and Jenna were excellent in returning emails and calls if I had any questions or queries. I think that Julie and Jenna provided an excellent service to myself and my family. They provided honest down to earth advice and were very realistic about any outcomes of the case. They were careful to manage our expectations and expenditure. I just wanted to add that Julie and Jenna are to be commended for not only securing a beneficial outcome for all but that they acted with the utmost professionalism and sensitivity towards a difficult subject matter in a very complex case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Professional Discipline
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Family Leave
  • Divorce
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Employment Law
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Judicial review
  • Leasehold properties
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • International Divorce
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Human rights
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Trusts
  • Family law
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Child contact
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Part Time Workers
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Fall From Height
  • Buying at auction
  • Housing Associations
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Child Maintenance
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Redundancy
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Separation
  • Medical Negligence
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Dog Bite
  • Stress at Work
  • Cycling Accident
  • Collaborative Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tax
  • Flexible Working
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Family Mediation
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Civil partnerships
  • Child Custody
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Senior Executives
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • No Win No Fee
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Whiplash
  • Disputed Probate
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Wills
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Car Accident
  • Accident Abroad
  • Legal aid
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Remortgaging
  • Car Passenger
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Annulment
  • Housing Management
  • Injunctions
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Amputation
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • MRSA Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • International
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Sports Injury
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Pension and property advice
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Military
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Child Access
  • Lease Extensions
  • Pension Law
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Accident At Work
  • Manual Handling
  • Transfer of title
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Second charges
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Child Law
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Pay Issue
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Financial Matters
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Media and Sports
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Asbestosis
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Elderly care
  • Property Disputes
  • Chronic Pain
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Injunctions
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Domestic Violence
  • Serious Injury
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Children's Accident
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Trusts
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Planning
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Social Services
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Repossessions
  • Children
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Tinnitus
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • TUPE
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Probate
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Housing disputes
  • Skiing Injury
  • Purchase of development land
  • Summary Judgment
  • Intellectual Property
  • Share option schemes
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Mediation
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Banking
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial Leases
  • Employment - business
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Asset Tracing
  • Insurance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Planning law
  • Commercial Law
  • Tax
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Management buyouts
  • Agency agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Franchising
  • Competition law
  • Developer disputes
  • Data Protection
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Slander
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Charities
  • Contract law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Small businesses
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Corporate Law
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Statutory Demands
  • Finance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Corporate finance
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Debt Recovery
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000