Balfour + Manson LLP

0141 370 0528

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

5.0/5 51 Customer Reviews 51
Recommended by
112 Verified Clients
like Anonymous and Dunajski
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

51 Customer Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    51
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Dunajski
Dunajski Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 05, 2019 20190505010000

Diana showed a lot of intrest in my case, she showed great customer care and I am very pleased.

5

My overall impression of that Diana and her team are very professional in what they do, they show a lot of passion which makes a very good impression on the customers they deal with. It was very easy to contact Diana. The ladies at reception were also very helpful.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2019 20190418010000

Review of Lynne Mulcahy - 5/5

5

Very sweet + Professional. Informative & Caring also

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019 20190329121403

Very professional and efficient service

5

Met with and engaged Scott Clair for a couple of services and he is very pleasant and efficient and kept me informed throughout the process.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 April, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalind
Verified Rosalind Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2019 20190311081546

Employment contract help

5

Andrew was extremely helpful when dealing with my employment contract, very communicative and helpful. And we got the resolution we were hoping for!

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 11 March, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Porter
Porter Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 13, 2019 20190213000000

VERY impressed with level or service

5

Good explanation given from the beginning

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 27 February, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 10 months ago Report to admin
September 10, 2018 20180910010000

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

5

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Corney
Corney Added 11 months ago Report to admin
August 21, 2018 20180821010000

Her compassion and sensitivity have been much appreciated.

5

What has been a very long and stressful process has been made a great deal easier by Jenna Dicken.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 11 months ago Report to admin
August 15, 2018 20180815010000

I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

5

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case. I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured she chased up things on my behalf. I was very happy with the level of service I received.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 01, 2018 20180601010000

Very professional and helpful during the course of my case.

5

I was kept informed all the time and Diana Mackenzie who dealt with the case always ensured that she chased me up. Thank you on my behalf. I am very happy with the level of service I received. I will recommend this firm to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 10, 2018 20180510010000

Thank you for your commitment and ongoing support.

5

Most of the communication was done via my parents who were the primary party in this case. However, they were kept fully up to date with progress. Julie and Jenna were excellent in returning emails and calls if I had any questions or queries. I think that Julie and Jenna provided an excellent service to myself and my family. They provided honest down to earth advice and were very realistic about any outcomes of the case. They were careful to manage our expectations and expenditure. I just wanted to add that Julie and Jenna are to be commended for not only securing a beneficial outcome for all but that they acted with the utmost professionalism and sensitivity towards a difficult subject matter in a very complex case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Collaborative Law
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Family law
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Dog Bite
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Whiplash
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Divorce
  • Fatal Accident
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Children
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Separation
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Disputed Probate
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Leasehold properties
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Lease Extensions
  • Car Accident
  • Annulment
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Judicial review
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Family Leave
  • Tinnitus
  • Military
  • Trusts
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Housing disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Sports Injury
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Dental Negligence
  • Second charges
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Tax
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Civil partnerships
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Redundancy
  • Serious Injury
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Flexible Working
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Trusts
  • Disputed Wills
  • Legal aid
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Chronic Pain
  • MRSA Claims
  • Wills
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Senior Executives
  • Child Custody
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pay Issue
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Medical Negligence
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Child Abduction
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Professional Discipline
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Repossessions
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Social Services
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Child Access
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Employment Law
  • Fall From Height
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • No Win No Fee
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Housing Associations
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Car Passenger
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Human rights
  • Accident At Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Probate
  • International Divorce
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • TUPE
  • Planning
  • Manual Handling
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Amputation
  • Child Law
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • International
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Buying at auction
  • Child contact
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Elderly care
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Property Disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Part Time Workers
  • Accident Abroad
  • Media and Sports
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Competition law
  • Small businesses
  • Franchising
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Leases
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Agency agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Purchase of development land
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Slander
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Contract law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Summary Judgment
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Planning law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Environmental policy law
  • Charities
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate finance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Setting up a business
  • Debt Recovery
  • Finance
  • Developer disputes
  • Tax
  • Credit Control
  • Corporate Law
  • Mediation
  • Banking
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Commercial Law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Employment - business
  • Insurance
  • Asset Tracing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000