Balfour + Manson LLP

0141 370 0528

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

4.9/5 131 Client Reviews 131 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

131 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    129
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    2

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Dunajski
Dunajski Added 2 years ago Report to admin
May 05, 2019 20190505000000

Diana showed a lot of intrest in my case, she showed great customer care and I am very pleased.

5

Matter Type: Personal Injury Law

My overall impression of that Diana and her team are very professional in what they do, they show a lot of passion which makes a very good impression on the customers they deal with. It was very easy to contact Diana. The ladies at reception were also very helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Diana Mackenzie

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 18, 2019 20190418000000

Review of Lynne Mulcahy - 5/5

5

Matter Type: Family law

Very sweet + Professional. Informative & Caring also

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 29 May, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. David Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019 20190329121403

Very professional and efficient service

5

Met with and engaged Scott Clair for a couple of services and he is very pleasant and efficient and kept me informed throughout the process.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 April, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosalind
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Rosalind Added 2 years ago Report to admin
March 11, 2019 20190311081546

Employment contract help

5

Matter Type: Employment Law

Andrew was extremely helpful when dealing with my employment contract, very communicative and helpful. And we got the resolution we were hoping for!

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Wallace

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 11 March, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Porter
Porter Added 2 years ago Report to admin
February 13, 2019 20190213000000

VERY impressed with level or service

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Good explanation given from the beginning

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 27 February, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 years ago Report to admin
September 10, 2018 20180910000000

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

Our experience of our dealings with Balfour+Manson has been of the highest standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Corney
Corney Added 2 years ago Report to admin
August 21, 2018 20180821000000

Her compassion and sensitivity have been much appreciated.

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

What has been a very long and stressful process has been made a great deal easier by Jenna Dicken.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 years ago Report to admin
May 10, 2018 20180510000000

Thank you for your commitment and ongoing support.

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

Most of the communication was done via my parents who were the primary party in this case. However, they were kept fully up to date with progress. Julie and Jenna were excellent in returning emails and calls if I had any questions or queries. I think that Julie and Jenna provided an excellent service to myself and my family. They provided honest down to earth advice and were very realistic about any outcomes of the case. They were careful to manage our expectations and expenditure. I just wanted to add that Julie and Jenna are to be commended for not only securing a beneficial outcome for all but that they acted with the utmost professionalism and sensitivity towards a difficult subject matter in a very complex case.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Clark-Spence

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 years ago Report to admin
January 14, 2018 20180114000000

I must thank you all for your hard work and commitment on behalf of my grandson.

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

We hope now that this may help to prevent a similar case happening to other families.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 years ago Report to admin
July 10, 2017 20170710000000

I am very grateful to Balfour+Manson for listening to my case initially and for taking my claim forward!!!

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

I would just like to say that I am very grateful to Balfour+Manson for listening to my case initially and for taking my claim forward. Until then I was on a serious downwards spiral and progressively worsening. In particular, I would like to thank Jenna Dicken for being very helpful, approachable and professional and for the support she gave at such a difficult time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kim
Kim Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 30, 2021
Collected on
20210330084505

Kim

5

I Would like to thank Fiona Muirs for all the hard work she put in to my case.
It was a long and lengthy process however, worth it in the end.... (Nothing to do with fiona)
I was always made aware of what was happening and Fiona communicated with me all the way through.
I felt so relaxed speaking to Fiona and she always listened.
Thanks again Fiona.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 01 April, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Sandra
Sandra Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 19, 2020
Collected on
20200919040345

Sandra

5

Very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann
Ann Added 9 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 19, 2020
Collected on
20200719141403

Ann

5

Top notch legal firm. Covers all areas of law. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 17, 2019
Collected on
20191217182329

Ian

5

Expensive but good value. Go out of their way to explain things and be clear

Was this review helpful? Yes

NIC
NIC Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909205154

NIC

5

Excellent service from several departments

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Regulated By:
Law Society of Scotland

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000