Balfour + Manson LLP

0131 200 1200

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

5.0/5 55 Customer Reviews 55
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

55 Customer Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Alberto
Verified Alberto Added 1 week ago Report to admin
September 01, 2019 20190901111042

Arm Injury

5

I burned my arm with hot oil at work and I decided to contact this company for a compensation. It took a while to settle but I didn't have to spend a dime, I received the money minus 20%, which is the amount they tell you from the beginning, no hidden fees. The solicitors where always very kind and professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Niall Campbell
Verified Niall Campbell Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 13, 2019 20190813160547

Sale of flat in Belgrave Place

5

Delighted with frequent and thorough feedback on interest from buyers. Excellent marketing and a very satisfactory sale, guided by sound and confident advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bethany Christian Trust
Verified Bethany Christian Trust Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 01, 2019 20190801172106

Sale of properties

5

The team were extremely professional in every regard; their expert knowledge, communication, attention to detail and willingness to provide excellent service is very much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

katarzyna
katarzyna Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 19, 2019 20190719151411

Personal Injury Claim

5

I am so grateful and want to say big thank you to Jenna Dicken and her workmates for being the greatest people ever and really helpful service. I would highly recommend for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James Hill
Verified James Hill Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 15, 2019 20190715092649

Insurance Claim

5

I would like to thank Adelle Walker for such a efficient and helpful service in relation to the claim I made.
First class service that I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris Lake
Verified Chris Lake Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 12, 2019 20190712103815

Good overall experience

5

Overall the experience was enhanced by excellent communications, being informed of an expected schedule for the work and kept up to date with progress. When required explanations were clear and provided in plain English. Direct 'phone contact with our solicitor and paralegal was always possible and messages were promptly returned.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Isobel Crichton
Verified Isobel Crichton Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 02, 2019 20190702080601

Road Traffic Accident Personal Injury Claim

5

I am most grateful to Balfour + Manson, and Iain Nicol in particular, for the excellent service and assistance in the aftermath of a traumatic experience. I was kept informed throughout the process with all issues addressed quickly and successfully. I have no hesitation in recommending their service.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 02 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra Turner
Verified Sandra Turner Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 01, 2019 20190701092026

Very Professional service

5

My husband and I have recently completed our Wills together with POA's where we had a few complicated requests to include.
James Hyams at Balfour and Manson made this experience easy for us to understand as his patience, knowledge and professionalisam was amazing. He is always a pleasure to deal with.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 02 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Verified Anne Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 28, 2019 20190628135622

Good work

5

Good service and advice on writing my will and setting up Power of Attorney.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 02 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lynette Livingstone
Verified Lynette Livingstone Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 28, 2019 20190628120431

Personal Injury Claim

5

Mr Iain Nicol of Balfour+Manson LLP has shown professionalism and patience helping my Sister and I through a Personal Injury Claim, which had been on-going for 2years 7months, and now settled. Throughout that time we have been able to meet with Mr Nicol when required, he, and members of his team, have responded to our emails by return, or very quickly, and have kept us informed and explained the procedures, along the way. I am very satisfied with the service Mr Nicol, and his team, have supplied and would have no hesitation in recommending him.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 02 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Against The Council
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Collaborative Law
  • Employee Team Moves
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • MRSA Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Child Law
  • Accident Abroad
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Annulment
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Lease Extensions
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Skiing Injury
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Housing disputes
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Probate
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Injunctions
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Sports Injury
  • Right to Manage
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Flexible Working
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Divorce
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Second charges
  • Gardening Leave
  • Wills
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Separation Agreement
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Disputed Trusts
  • International Divorce
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Children
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Housing Associations
  • Housing Management
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Remortgaging
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Elderly care
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Trusts
  • Employment Law
  • Transfer of title
  • Family law
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Chronic Pain
  • Car Passenger
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • TUPE
  • Judicial review
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Domestic Violence
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Pension and property advice
  • Car Accident
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Leasehold properties
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Fatal Accident
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Abduction
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Financial Matters
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Buying at auction
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Fall From Height
  • Trusts
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Pension Law
  • Medical Negligence
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Whiplash
  • Tax
  • Child contact
  • Property Disputes
  • No Win No Fee
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Child Maintenance
  • Senior Executives
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Social Services
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Planning
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Human rights
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Military
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Pay Issue
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Dental Negligence
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Repossessions
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • International
  • Stress at Work
  • Disputed Probate
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Tinnitus
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Civil partnerships
  • Media and Sports
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Extending your Lease
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Separation
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Amputation
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Children's Accident
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Child Access
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cycling Accident
  • Child Custody
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Legal aid
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Injunctions
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Asbestosis
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Finance
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Statutory Demands
  • Slander
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Environmental policy law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial Leases
  • Purchase of development land
  • Planning law
  • Agency agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Small businesses
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Charities
  • Share option schemes
  • Contract law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Employment - business
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Insurance
  • Competition law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Banking
  • Corporate finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Asset Tracing
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Corporate Law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Tax
  • Rights of way issues
  • Developer disputes
  • Franchising
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Summary Judgment
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Setting up a business
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Management buyouts
  • Mediation
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial Law
  • Sales and Purchases

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000