Balfour + Manson LLP

0131 200 1200

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

5.0/5 100 Client Reviews 100 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

100 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    99
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Mark tierney
Verified Mark tierney Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 22, 2020 20201122214735

Motorbike accident

5

Matter Type: Road Traffic Accident

Yes adelle was really great getting my claim ,I strongly recommend this company

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 24 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

M Brown
Verified M Brown Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111121018

Personal Injury Claim

5

Matter Type: Slips, Trips and Falls

Adelle dealt with my claim and was great from beginning to end. I was advised claims like mine can take around a year to be completed and that was about right. Adelle got me a very good result and I am very happy with the outcome. Would definitely recommend Balfour Manson.

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 24 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jason
Verified jason Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 05, 2020 20201105170141

Excellent

5

Matter Type: Motor Insurance Policy

I have never had an insurance claim and was unsure of what to do. Lauren was excellent. She explained everything step by step and kept me up to date with regular updates and requirements needed. Everything was dealth with for me, removing all stress and worry.

Solicitor named in this review: Lauren Smith

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 24 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stewart mitchell
Verified Stewart mitchell Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
November 03, 2020 20201103122544

Personal injury claim

5

Matter Type: Accident At Work

I can't thank Adelle enough for all her help in getting me alot more than I expected and for shown patience with everything we had to go through to get what I was owed. Thanks again Adelle you've been amazing

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Princess
Verified Princess Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 30, 2020 20201030195734

Helpful and friendly

5

Matter Type: Medical Negligence

I had a great solicitor who listen to what happened to me and our family and she worked very hard to get us all the help to get this sored

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

GBisset
Verified GBisset Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 30, 2020 20201030191401

Proficient service with a smile

5

Matter Type: Wills

My wife and I had to arrange and set up wills. Having approached other law firms Balfour+Manson were the only ones capable of assisting.

Everything was completed online, quickly and efficiently. Even with postage time, our case was concluded in a little over two weeks.

The lawyer was highly professional, knowledgeable and straight talking.

We will be taking all of our legal business to Balfour+Manson from now on.

Solicitor named in this review: James Hyams

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Grace
Verified Grace Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 30, 2020 20201030132300

Helpful friendly staff

5

Matter Type: Personal Injury Law

From initial contact I was kept informed about the case and progress. It was settled quickly and I was very happy with the outcome.

Solicitor named in this review: Ann Logan

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 04 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 16, 2020 20201016001850

Karen Phillips, excellent Lawyer, Balfour & Manson.

5

Karen Phillips is, in my experience as a Client, an excellent Lawyer; Karen is kindly very understanding of diverse people, is not easily offended by the challenges that disabled people like me can present due to one's disability and very responsive when responses are needed. Karen is always fair with me, always honest, always understanding. I am a very well-intentioned person, however, my Autistic Disability can, sometimes, come accross in ways which some of The General Public struggle to understand. Karen, and all other staff at Balfour & Manson, choose, quite rightly, to see past one's Autistic Communication Challenges; and never judges (in a bad way) me, nor any other disabled people. Balfor & Manson is an excellent group of Lawyers (and other staff) and Karen Phillips is an excellent part of that Company. Thanks be to Karen Phillips.

Solicitor named in this review: Karen Phillips

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 14, 2020 20201014194657

Kind assistance provided to me by Mr. Jim McMahon, Tax Manager at Balfour+Manson Solicitors LLP

5

At Balfour+Manson Solicitors ( Edinburgh ), consummate specialist legal expertise is a given . .. What was extraordinary about the recent occasion on which Mr. McMahon assisted me as a private client with a tax matter however was both the speed with which he assisted me, plus his immediate grasp of the matter's vital importance to me along with my obvious inability to solve it myself in any other way, and lastly his kindness and generosity with the time and personal attention he invested on resolving the matter . As a result the question is now fully resolved and I have complete peace of mind over the matter once again . I could not recommend him or the Firm in general highly enough . My heartfelt thanks once again to him, and to every other fellow-member of staff of his at the Firm who has also assisted me recently as well .

Solicitor named in this review: Jim McMahon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anon
Anon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 13, 2020 20201013133103

Highly recommend

5

James kindly helped me in preparing a new will. He patiently explained every step of the process to me, and kept me updated throughout the process. It was a very pleasant, straightforward experience.

Solicitor named in this review: James Hyams

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000