Balfour + Manson LLP

0131 200 1200

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

4.9/5 67 Customer Reviews 67
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

67 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    66
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Alan mackay
Verified Alan mackay Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 15, 2020 20200115175658

A pleasure to deal with

5

I recently used Balfour and Manson to represent me in an employment tribunal, I didn’t know the first thing about it and never thought I would ever find myself in such a position, I was dealing with Mr Andrew Wallace and I can honestly say he is a very pleasant, thorough and caring individual he helped me through the whole process and were it not for his knowledge and approach I certainly wouldn’t have come out with the result I did which was better than I ever anticipated possible.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Taylor
Verified David Taylor Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 13, 2020 20200113172054

Deed of Servitude regarding SSE Power lines

5

Shelley Moore handled this case for us. She could not have been more helpful or efficient whether by correspondence, email or phone. The whole process was marked by efficiency and courtesy. Very impressed.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tony
Verified Tony Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 13, 2020 20200113152007

Great service

5

This is the second time I have been represented by Balfour & Manson LLP for a non-fault accident. I found them to be courteous and efficient in both instances. Both claims were settled to my satisfaction and I was kept updated on any developments at the first opportunity.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

J. Young
Verified J. Young Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 10, 2020 20200110165226

Amazing!

5

Adelle was incredibly helpful and persistent to ensure no stone was left unturned. Truly grateful for all the guidance and effort placed that got an unexpected yet amazing outcome.

Highly recommend Balfour + Manson LLP.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gill Farquharson
Verified Gill Farquharson Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 29, 2019 20191129163539

Sale of my Mothers house, acting as her POA

5

Having never sold a property before I was anxious to do the best for my Mother. I have been delighted with the help and attention I received from my Mothers solicitor, Catriona Torrance,the client care manager Jo Downie and Karen Fleming and the property team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

SJD
Verified SJD Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 14, 2019 20191114114617

Great service

5

I used B&M to negotiate a lease for a commercial property. They were helpful, professional and highly responsive. I particularly valued their ability to rapidly provide simple, practical advice on how to resolve the many issues that emerged through out the process, and their ability to deliver this within a reasonable fixed fee range that was pre-agreed. Overall I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Doris
Verified Doris Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 14, 2019 20191114082809

Redundancy issues

5

The company performed extremely quick and efficiently. I would certainly recommend them to be used. The solicitor who handled my case was courteous and very prompt in responding to emails and very professional. A credit to the company.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 14 November, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Claire
Verified Claire Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 13, 2019 20191113000000

Claire recommends Balfour + Manson LLP

5

Claire recommends Balfour + Manson LLP

Was this review helpful? Yes

Catriona
Verified Catriona Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 13, 2019 20191113000000

Catriona recommends Balfour + Manson LLP

5

Catriona recommends Balfour + Manson LLP

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordon
Gordon Added 3 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 08, 2019 20191008162519

Not recommended

1

I instructed this firm in 2018 on a clinical negligence matter, Iain Nicol is a very good solicitor and although he couldn’t get the result that I wanted, he didn’t give up on me like the NHS did until he was forced to, I would recommend his services.

In terms of a recent matter, I contacted Sindi Mules on a prospective judicial review relating to the government and was not provided a reason why my case could be taken forward. I was very disappointed with her customer service skills and would not recommend this firm unless you’re one of the elite.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 09 October, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with Balfour+Manson on this occasion. We listened to your queries very carefully however unfortunately we were unable to take this piece of work on, on the funding basis requested. If you have any further queries please contact us on marketing@balfour-manson.co.uk

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Family Leave
  • Child Law
  • Second charges
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Children's Accident
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Wills
  • Tax
  • Fall From Height
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Divorce
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Transfers of equity
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Pension and property advice
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Media and Sports
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Flexible Working
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Family law
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Car Passenger
  • Leasehold properties
  • Legal aid
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Children
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Child contact
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Senior Executives
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Housing Management
  • Asbestosis
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Gardening Leave
  • Injunctions
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • TUPE
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Civil partnerships
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Fatal Accident
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Accident At Work
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Transfer of title
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Annulment
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Medical Negligence
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Child Access
  • Property Disputes
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Serious Injury
  • Military
  • Amputation
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Custody
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Disputed Probate
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Skiing Injury
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • MRSA Claims
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Pension Law
  • Right to Manage
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Social Services
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Chronic Pain
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Accident Abroad
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Family Mediation
  • Redundancy
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • International
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Pay Issue
  • Judicial review
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Manual Handling
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Dental Negligence
  • Child Maintenance
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Sports Injury
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Against The Council
  • International Divorce
  • Car Accident
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Tinnitus
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Child Abduction
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Trusts
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Housing disputes
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • No Win No Fee
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Planning
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Whiplash
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Dog Bite
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Human rights
  • Trusts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Housing Associations
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Extending your Lease
  • Employment Law
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Separation
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Charities
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Data Protection
  • Environmental policy law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Summary Judgment
  • Asset Tracing
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Share option schemes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Corporate finance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Franchising
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Credit Control
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Setting up a business
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contract law
  • Developer disputes
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Employment - business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Tax
  • Intellectual Property
  • Purchase of development land
  • Competition law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Rights of way issues
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Corporate Law
  • Insurance
  • Management buyouts
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Slander
  • Mediation
  • Small businesses
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Finance
  • Banking
  • Planning law
  • Agency agreements
  • Development plot sales

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000