Balfour + Manson LLP

0131 200 1200

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

4.9/5 76 Customer Reviews 76 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

76 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    75
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
John Agnew
Verified John Agnew Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 14, 2020 20200414181742

Accident at work compensation claim

5

Since my injury I have been working closely with Adelle who has been looking after my compensation claim in great detail. I found a lot peace known that my claim was being look after by Adelle for many reason for example: she was consistently helpful, understanding, professional and filled me with confidence with her expertise and knowledge. I was constantly aware of my application at every stage as a result of emails and phone calls. I would happily recommend using Balfour + Manson as a result of my recent experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James Mitchell
Verified James Mitchell Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 09, 2020 20200409133343

Fantastic Firm

5

I approached many different solicitors before settling on Balfour & Manson, they were great and quick in providing a quote upfront with no hidden costs along the way. Julia the main Solicitor & Amy who assisted were brilliant, it was my first time buying a house and I am sure I must have nagged them with a few needless questions or quibbles but it never felt that way. There was a steady stream of updates and progress being made at every turn. Even with the issues resulting from covid-19 and the difficulties it put in the way we were able to settle missives and I moved into my new home a few days ago. I will certainly be looking towards them again when moving house and potentially other services they supply. If you are looking for a good turn to help you with a purchase I wouldnt hesitate to get a quote and see it they are within your budget, they were exceedingly competitive.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 07, 2020 20200407172914

Michaela G

5

Michaela has been from start to finish, first class
Can’t thank her enough for all her advice and help

Really really appreciate all she has done with regards to my case

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chantal wright
Verified Chantal wright Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 27, 2020 20200327144816

Fabulous

5

Been an amazing service, always in contact throughout and very kind and considerate when spoken on phone, thank you guys for all the hard work, appreciate the time and effort x

Was this review helpful? Yes

John West
Verified John West Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 13, 2020 20200313155205

Wills including liferent trust

5

We were very pleased with the service we received from James Hyams. Various options were explained to us with a recommendation that we make new wills and include a liferent trust. James sent us draft wills with a covering letter explaining what the different parts meant and answered all our questions clearly. He then gave us an opportunity to check the final draft and answered all our questions promptly. James was also a nice person to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katrina
Verified Katrina Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 01, 2020 20200301144022

Fantastic service

5

Friendly and professional service, offering advice and explanations throughout the sale of my house. I was apprehensive about the selling process but was put completely at ease with Balfour and Manson taking control and handling everything in a knowledgeable manner. Very easy to deal with and responsive, with my house selling within a week. Highly recommend Balfour and Manson for property sales. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

The NWH Group
Verified The NWH Group Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220101103

Property

5

I was very impressed with the efficiency and the overall service provided by Balfour Manson. I would definitely recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes

K Marshall
Verified K Marshall Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 07, 2020 20200207162016

Very professional service

5

I used Balfour and Manson to wind up my uncle's estate which included marketing and selling his flat. I have been very impressed with the professionalism and commitment of all the members of their staff I have dealt with

Was this review helpful? Yes

Witness.
Verified Witness. Added 3 months ago Report to admin
February 01, 2020 20200201020404

Urgent service available at short notice.

5

Urgent service was available at short notice when I required their professional assistance during the annual x-miss/new year winter holiday shutdown period. Appreciated the real interest shown to this contemplating client who habitually deviates conversations towards his artworks in progress.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan mackay
Verified Alan mackay Added 4 months ago Report to admin
January 15, 2020 20200115175658

A pleasure to deal with

5

I recently used Balfour and Manson to represent me in an employment tribunal, I didn’t know the first thing about it and never thought I would ever find myself in such a position, I was dealing with Mr Andrew Wallace and I can honestly say he is a very pleasant, thorough and caring individual he helped me through the whole process and were it not for his knowledge and approach I certainly wouldn’t have come out with the result I did which was better than I ever anticipated possible.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 17 January, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Legal Services
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Injunctions
  • Slips, Trips and Falls
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Family law
  • Second charges
  • Housing Associations
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
  • Dental Negligence
  • TUPE
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Head Injury At Work
  • Divorce
  • Pedestrian Accident
  • Disputed Probate
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Leasehold properties
  • Amputation
  • Part Time Workers
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • No Win No Fee
  • Trusts
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Disputed Wills
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • International
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Back Injury At Work
  • Serious Injury
  • Collaborative Law
  • Holiday Accidents and Illness
  • Civil partnerships
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Flexible Working
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Property Disputes
  • Legal aid
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Occupational Asthma
  • Pension and property advice
  • Child Access
  • Bus and Coach Accident
  • Pleural Thickening
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Social Services
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Right to Manage
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Whiplash
  • Housing Management
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Vibration White Finger
  • Redundancy
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Settlement Agreements
  • International Divorce
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Cycling Accident
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Children
  • Planning
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Terrorism Abroad
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Dog Bite
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Annulment
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Asbestosis
  • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
  • Buying at auction
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Child Law
  • Manual Handling
  • Fatal Accident
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Housing disputes
  • Chronic Pain
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Skiing Injury
  • Gardening Leave
  • Professional Discipline
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Motor Insurance Policy
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Transfer of title
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Horse Riding Injury
  • Military
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Wills
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Pay Issue
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Family Leave
  • Extending your Lease
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Family Mediation
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Probate
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Domestic Violence
  • Remortgaging
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Tax
  • Car Passenger
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Industrial Disease Compensation
  • Children's Accident
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Broken Bone Or Fracture
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Employment Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Child Maintenance
  • Against The Council
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Asbestos Compensation
  • Child contact
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Fall From Height
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Tinnitus
  • Purchase and Sale
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Child Abduction
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Judicial review
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Supermarket Accident
  • Human rights
  • Asbestos Lung Cancer
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Child Custody
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Motorbike Accident
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Elderly care
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Repetitive Strain Injury
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Accident At Work
  • Car Accident
  • Senior Executives
  • Trusts
  • Defective Work Equipment
  • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Accident Abroad
  • Sports Injury
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Separation
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Statutory Demands
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Law
  • Mediation
  • Charities
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Finance
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Franchising
  • Purchase of development land
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Developer disputes
  • Credit Control
  • Small businesses
  • Planning law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Slander
  • Development plot sales
  • Commercial Leases
  • Agency agreements
  • Management buyouts
  • Tax
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Contract law
  • Insurance
  • Summary Judgment
  • Environmental policy law
  • Employment - business
  • Debt Recovery
  • Competition law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Rights of way issues
  • Data Protection
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Intellectual Property
  • Corporate finance
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Banking
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Corporate Law
  • Share option schemes
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Setting up a business

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000