Balfour + Manson LLP

0131 200 1200

We are a leading 23 partner, medium sized law firm based in Edinburgh and Aberdeen, delivering legal services in the areas of dispute resolution, commercial and charities, and private client and property work. The firm has a distinguished track record since its inception in 1888. The firm combines the best of traditional values with a modern, progressive approach. Our firm is headed up by Chairman, Elaine Motion.

4.9/5 129 Client Reviews 129 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation

How Balfour + Manson LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

129 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    127
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    2

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Grateful customer
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Grateful customer Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 09, 2021 20210409124744

Case resolved to satisfaction.

5

I was very happy with the service I received, what was an unusual situation, they helped to resolve it and reach an outcome I was very happy with. I was somewhat lost at first as to who to speak to as never required a solicitor before for this type of situation. Very helpful and very pleased with the service I received and would happily reccomend to anyone requiring assistance.

Solicitor named in this review: Scott Clair

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 15 April, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Raymond Jenkinson
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Raymond Jenkinson Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 18, 2021 20210318162943

claim for ankle injury

5

Matter Type: Industrial Disease Compensation

Adelle has been exellent all the way through the claim,has advised and communicated through the claim,excellent service and would use again

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 24 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ross
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Ross Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 12, 2021 20210312131808

Adelle Walker

5

Very nice lady to work with and always polite and prompt with msg

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barry Greig
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Barry Greig Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 03, 2021 20210303133913

Would use again

5

Very good service and communication with Adelle Walker

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Sarah Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 17, 2021 20210217162515

Fantastic experience

5

Matter Type: Car Accident

Great experience from start to finish, Adelle was extremely informative and all information was clear and transparent. I felt like she had my best interest at the forefront of her mind at all times.

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Alan Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 11, 2021 20210211190927

Should Have 10 Stars

5

Very friendly and approachable, very high standard of professionalism. Communication is key, and there was plenty it.

Solicitor named in this review: Lauren Smith

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fiona Sinclair
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Fiona Sinclair Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 05, 2021 20210205152728

Helpful and encouraging

5

I feel indebted to Balfour and Manson and in particular to James Hyams, as I have been helped and encouraged over the last year during my husband Stuart’s illness and subsequent death. Wills, Powers of Attorney and Confirmation etc, all very difficult for me, have been made so much more straightforward by letters and emails and FaceTime signings and discussions. I felt confident in your care. A very sincere thank you. Fiona Sinclair

Solicitor named in this review: James Hyams

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Prefer Anon
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Prefer Anon Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 29, 2021 20210129113149

Delighted

5

I engaged Scott Clair of BM via a recommendation from a friend.

From the outset Scott was helpful, professional and a great asset. While I knew the direction of travel I wanted to go Scott kept me right from a legal perspective every step of the way.

We achieved the desired outcome and delighted with Scott's service throughout.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine O'Brien
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Christine O'Brien Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 24, 2021 20210124143517

Excellent Result

5

Scott Clair was extremely professional, he provided excellent communication and the situation was dealt with effectively and swiftly.

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Davettuk
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP. Davettuk Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 22, 2021 20210122165843

injury at work

5

claimed with Adellle Walker excellent service and correspondence through out the process highly praise Adelle for her work in this matter

Solicitor named in this review: Adelle Walker

A representative from Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 16 March, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kim
Kim Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 30, 2021
Collected on
20210330084505

Kim

5

I Would like to thank Fiona Muirs for all the hard work she put in to my case.
It was a long and lengthy process however, worth it in the end.... (Nothing to do with fiona)
I was always made aware of what was happening and Fiona communicated with me all the way through.
I felt so relaxed speaking to Fiona and she always listened.
Thanks again Fiona.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Balfour + Manson LLP responded to this review on 01 April, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.

Ann
Ann Added 9 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2020
Collected on
20200719141403

Ann

5

Top notch legal firm. Covers all areas of law. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
December 17, 2019
Collected on
20191217182329

Ian

5

Expensive but good value. Go out of their way to explain things and be clear

Was this review helpful? Yes

NIC
NIC Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909205154

NIC

5

Excellent service from several departments

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 19, 2019
Collected on
20190619093321

John

5

Very professional and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.


Regulated By:
Law Society of Scotland

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000