Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Balfour + Manson LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Balfour + Manson LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Balfour + Manson LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Balfour + Manson LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Balfour + Manson LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Balfour + Manson LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Balfour + Manson LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Balfour + Manson LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    351
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Anonymous

June 17, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Balfour and Manson review

I had a great experience with Balfour and Mason. Both Ann and Alannah were amazing throughout the process. They were very empathetic and professional during all of our meetings and phone calls. A big bonus for me was being able to complete all communication virtually which greatly reduced disruption to my normal life in an already stressful period of time. They also kept me up to date throughout the process at regular intervals. The case took awhile to progress due to delays with the other company but they concluded the case with great efficiency and with a very satisfactory outcome.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Anonymous

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will and power of attorney

I needed to make a will and set up a Power of Attorney and Balfour + Manson was recommended to me by a friend whose opinions I trust. From my initial contact by phone with the receptionist to my two meetings with the excellent Catriona Torrance everything went smoothly and I feel I received excellent, clear advice given in a professional and friendly manner. Should I ever need a lawyer again I will immediately contact this firm and I would recommend them to anyone living in Scotland.

Was this review helpful?

Steven

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Steven

May 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Confidence & Assurance

From start to finish of a reasonably complex property purchase and sale exercise, I was able to always have confidence that B&M had my back, anticipated issues and applied their expertise throughout. The lawyer who supported the whole process was always amenable, proactive in communication and generally an ever-present especially when it felt the journey was getting a little bumpy.

Many thanks Adeeb!

Was this review helpful?

Gareth

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Gareth

May 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

As a first-time Buyer, Will made sure I understood every aspect clearly and always responded in a professional and timely manner. The fees were slightly more than the other Solicitors I contacted but I do not regret going with Balfour and Manson.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Anonymous

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing upon sale of flat

A wonderful service provided. Careful attention to detail, good clear advice and appropriate deadlines all met. Took all the stress off me.

Was this review helpful?

Anne Cooke

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Anne Cooke

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will writing & POA

Catriona made the process of writing my will and getting a power of attorney in place so easy. All the detail for both documents was explained to me very clearly, and everything was completed very efficiently. Catriona was a pleasure to deal with and I’m so glad that I now have these very important documents in place.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Stuart

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Navigating A Layoff Settlement

Working with B+M was a smooth process, clear communication that helped me understand where I stand and what my rights were. I recommend them to anyone facing the unfortunate circumstance of being laid off. I felt valued and respected navigating the confusing world of 'legalese'. Very good indeed!

Was this review helpful?

Thomas Brumfitt

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Thomas Brumfitt

April 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

1st class service many thanks

They worked hard to resolve problems we had with furniture company but came up against a brick wall . Furniture company dragged there heals in and never responded to solicitors, But we would use Balfour and Manson if we have any further issues in the future. But we would never use this so called Furniture company ever again family and friends, of friends also know about the problems we had.

Was this review helpful?

UR

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

UR

April 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly legal support for house purchase

Had the benefit of legal support and advice from Adeeb Mostafa of B&M in a recent house purchase. Happy to highlight the very personable and friendly, yet entirely professional and efficient approach of Mr Mostafa. All formalities were handled without any hassle and any questions from me always fully addressed and answered. Can equally happily highlight Mr Mostafa's proactive manner in dealing with matters as these arose in the course of the purchase process as well as the ease of making contact with him, whether by email or phone.

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Balfour + Manson LLP.

Lisa

April 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service!

We recently used Balfour & Manson for a house sale, we dealt solely with Kirstyn Logan who was great! Kirstyn is very knowledgable and efficient making the process easy and enjoyable. We will definitely use B&M and Kirstyn again in the future for any legal services we require.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Angel

Angel

February 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Angel

If you pay for your legal they work if your legal aid they collect legal aid and run you out of time then leave you. Its not very good when all you get is on leave will contact you when back when they never do. Over 50 gmails only 4 letters bsck . Not very good service..

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Kevin

June 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kevin

Amazing company, first class litigation team. If your looking for a solicitor that can pull out all the stops then look no further than michaela guthrie. She won me a personal injury claim which was very tricky to say the least. Communication skills were second to none. Also very understanding and caring. Well done michaela. Keep up your amazing work..

Was this review helpful?

Kim

Kim

March 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kim

I Would like to thank Fiona Muirs for all the hard work she put in to my case.
It was a long and lengthy process however, worth it in the end.... (Nothing to do with fiona)
I was always made aware of what was happening and Fiona communicated with me all the way through.
I felt so relaxed speaking to Fiona and she always listened.
Thanks again Fiona.

Was this review helpful?

Ann

Ann

July 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ann

Top notch legal firm. Covers all areas of law. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

December 17, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

Expensive but good value. Go out of their way to explain things and be clear

Was this review helpful?

Balfour + Manson LLP are accredited by

accreditation

About this branch

Description

The firm is the sole Scottish member of The Parlex Group, an alliance of law firms. This ensures that our clients have instant access to specialist legal advice concerning their business affairs throughout the European Economic Area and beyond. Parlex has members in most European countries and affiliate members in the United States of America, China, Israel and Malaysia. We take pride in delivering a personalised service to all its clients, who include public sector organisations, regulatory and disciplinary bodies, companies, partnerships and individuals. The relationship we develop with our clients is central to the success of this approach.

Regulated by

Law Society of Scotland

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
    • Judicial review
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment