Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Boys & Maughan Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Boys & Maughan Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 5%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Boys & Maughan Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    621
  • Very Good

    87
  • Average

    12
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Charles

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Charles

November 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mortgage

Boys & Maughan Solicitors were extremely professional and very proactive throughout my mortgage application and always acted in my best interest. I could not thank Liz and her team enough! I would definitely use them again and recommend them to friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Ann

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ann

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First Class Service

Superb service. Brilliant!!!

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Richard

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Convayence

Very good all round would highly recommend Victoria Simpson

Was this review helpful?

Paula

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Paula

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Solicitor services

Always helpful, professional, would not hesitate to use again.

Was this review helpful?

MB

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

MB

November 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Responsive, Friendly and efficient

As a first time homebuyer, and a foreigner, I was unaware of the processes required to purchase a property. Victoria was patient and explained every part of the process carefully and responded to my many questions with empathy and expertise.

The only thing I would recommend is that there's a bit less paper, and perhaps more electronic communication. Think of the trees!

Was this review helpful?

Nasreen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Nasreen

November 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Excellent service. Timely responses and very knowledgeable. Would use again.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Richard

November 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of flat

All went well despite the sale happening during the pandemic

Was this review helpful?

Buyer0

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Buyer0

November 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very happy with conveyancing

Graham was very thorough, extremely efficient and professional!

All correspondence was fast, concise and to-the-point. He would point out important things that I would normally have no clue about and answer any queries I had in a simple and professional manner.

I felt that I really had a line of defence with Graham looking out for my best interests during the process. All the difficult questions were asked to the relevant parties. All the potential problems were queried and clarified.

Patience was the number one factor in my case. I was very keen to investigate various issues that came up which were fairly time consuming. I also turned away from an initial property, even though Graham had done searches etc., it was no issue at all (with reimbursements made for the next buyer's purchase of the searches)... this level of transparency is what made me sure to continue with Boys & Maughan on the next property.

All fees are transparent, clearly laid out and easy to understand. Very refreshing.

Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lisa

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

We used Boys & Maughan as recommended by Oakwood Homes for our house sale and purchase. Despite difficult times during Covid-19 our solicitor was always available by email/phone and dealt with enquiries promptly.

Was this review helpful?

John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John

October 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient service

Efficient, friendly service, and good value for money

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

June

June

October 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

June

Elizabeth Thomson from the Canterbury branch was brilliant throughout the whole process.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Rachel

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel

Excellent conveyancing from start to finish. Liz Thomson and her team were just fantastic. Very responsive and efficient service. Would throughly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Tim

Tim

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tim

Dealt professionally with the long, unnecessarily painful sale of my property....due mainly to the incompetence of my estate agent (Miles & Barr).
Throughout the process, Liz kept calm, measured and unfailingly helpful and was able to guide and advise me.
I would have no hesitation in engaging them should there be any need in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Harriet

Harriet

October 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Harriet

I’m very happy with the work done behind the scenes to get the job done. Everything seemed to be very quick and efficient. As a first time buyer I was very worried and generally I was reassured throughout. There were a couple of occasions when correspondence wasn’t responded to and calls weren’t returned. I was also disappointed that I told two members of the team that a family member had passed away when we were close to completion, and this wasn’t acknowledged at all. I’m very grateful for all the work that has happened in the background and that they got the job done, but the customer service could be improved. Even a simple “how are you” on the phone would go a long way, especially when I had asked this to them first.

Was this review helpful?

suzy

suzy

October 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

suzy

Helped us through the sale and purchase of our homes. Kept us informed in a timely manner even during the crazy rush due to the Stamp Duty discount.
Efficient, effective, an ease and a pleasure to work with!

Was this review helpful?

Boys & Maughan Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Boys & Maughan Solicitors is an award winning law firm offering local legal services to individuals and businesses. Founded more than two centuries ago, we have offices in Margate, Birchington, Broadstairs, Canterbury and Ramsgate. Our specialisms include conveyancing, commercial property, landlord & tenant, divorce and family law, disputes & litigation, personal injury, wills & probate, and employment law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
Book an appointment