Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Boys & Maughan Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Boys & Maughan Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Boys & Maughan Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 2%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Boys & Maughan Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    2361
  • Very Good

    382
  • Average

    43
  • Poor

    13
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Anonymous

May 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

On first contact by phone to enquire about service, the process was fully explained and the costs, person very helpful and friendly. All during process excellent and efficient. Solicitor and support staff, very helpful with all my questions. Would use again, no hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Peter Gore

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Peter Gore

May 19, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Transfer of Interest

Very Professional in every way. Advised to Deal with Stephanie Power and in a way a matter of satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

P

Matter Type:

Probate

P

May 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Not enough stars can be given!!

I wanted to express my deepest gratitude for the exceptional service that Kathleen has provided my family and myself throughout the entire probate process. Kathleens’ professionalism, attention to detail, and personal touch have truly made a difference, and I am immensely grateful for all the support.
Once again, thank you, Kathleen, for your outstanding assistance. Your dedication to your clients is truly commendable, and I will not hesitate to recommend your services to others in the future.

Was this review helpful?

S.Reader

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

S.Reader

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Drafting a will.

Paula was very pleasant and we felt very comfortable in her company. Good advice and in terms we understood.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

May 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate, late mother's estate.

very professional and friendly, Paula was very compassionate and approachable. I would definitely use this solicitors again. thank you Paula for your hard work.

Was this review helpful?

Bridget

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Bridget

May 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

I found Kathleen extremely professional, kind and helpful. I would recommend her to other clients.

Was this review helpful?

Brooke Gillingwater

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Brooke Gillingwater

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Many thanks to Mikayla and Jessica for how they handled our file, they were available whenever we needed help and very quick to respond whenever we had any queries or needed any help. The transaction had its challenges but they were there every step of the way to help us through and across the line.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Anonymous

May 07, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce petition

My experience with Jonathan was excellent. I came to him part way through my divorce after my previous solicitors failed to get things done on time. Jonathan took the time to talk me through the process and kept me fully informed throughout. I am happy to recommend him to others needing a stress free professional service.

Was this review helpful?

Steven Amos

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Steven Amos

April 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hard working professional

Andrea and Chloe (secretary)are an amazing duo.
They gave great guidance, advice, support and they have a really friendly but professional attitude.
After a very stressful process they have both been fantastic. I can’t thank them both enough for their hard work. Whether on the phone, email or in person always honest, attentive to detail and punctual with paperwork and court proceedings keeping me with regular updates on how the process was going. Great legal knowledge. From both me and my family 5 stars for both of you and once again thank you

Was this review helpful?

Mark Riddoch

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Mark Riddoch

April 20, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

The sale of my home.

The sale of my home went flawlessly. I was kept informed at all stages, either by email or phone, calls were friendly, but also professional.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Abanan

Abanan

April 12, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Abanan

A big thank you to Greg and the team at Boys and Maughan Solicitors, couldnt off asked for a better legal team, finally got the result we were looking for thanks to Greg and the rest of the team.

Was this review helpful?

Allison

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Allison

December 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Allison

Our experience with Karen Gray has been excellent. Would recommend .

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Richard

September 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

As an estate agent of 24 years I can honestly say Richard Durrant of Boys and Maughan is the best conveyancing solicitor In the industry by a country mile! I have worked with him on both a personal and professional level. His dedication to his clients and resolving issues that other solicitors would give up on is unrivalled. If you want your home sale or purchase to complete with as little stress as possible then Richard is your man. Thanks again Richard first class job as always.

Was this review helpful?

2kidscommunication

Matter Type:

Divorce

2kidscommunication

September 25, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

2kidscommunication

I just wanted to say a big thank you to Alan Kirkaldie Karen Redmond and Jonathan De Costa who have worked hard so hard and to get an agreement and managed to settle my divorce. It was a very complicated case that had been ongoing for 4 years. With out their professional expertise it would still be ongoing I cannot thank them enough. I would totally recommend them for any family or divorce disputes. If you need a solicitor that is professional upfront and would like to resolve long legal matters
Look no further than this firm. Thank you once again.
Oliver Marley

Was this review helpful?

Allan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Allan

July 21, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Allan

Having just completed on the sale of my flat, I would like to say a big thank you to Orla Priston for all her hard work and invaluable advice. Orla was always at the end of the phone and answered all emails and calls promptly. I will definitely recommend Boys & Maughan to family and friends.

Was this review helpful?

Boys & Maughan Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Boys & Maughan Solicitors is an award winning law firm offering local legal services to individuals and businesses. Founded more than two centuries ago, we have offices in Margate, Birchington, Broadstairs, Canterbury and Ramsgate. Our specialisms include conveyancing, commercial property, landlord & tenant, divorce and family law, disputes & litigation, personal injury, wills & probate, and employment law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
Book an appointment