Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Boys & Maughan Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Boys & Maughan Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 92%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Boys & Maughan Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    725
  • Very Good

    102
  • Average

    13
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Ailsa brough

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Ailsa brough

January 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vicki - Best solicitor we have ever used BY FAR

We recently completed a property purchase and Vicki came recommended to us by the estate agents. In previous transactions I have always found other solicitors we have used poor in communication, slow to respond and not very transparent.

Vicki was the complete opposite, her responses were insanely fast, she kept us updated regularly on what was a quick timeline. She also was quite patient in following some of the more complex areas of our transaction and funds flow - remaining super professional throughout. Additionally all searches etc came with an easy to understand letter which pointed us clearly in the direction of things we needed to worry about - again refreshing from the generic approach I have seen elsewhere.

We will be using Vicki for any future conveyancing we need regardless of where the property is based - cannot recommend highly enough!

Was this review helpful?

Wendy & Gordon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Wendy & Gordon

January 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and Helpful Advice

Karen was so helpful, not only with her advice but support during a stressful time. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Patrick

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Patrick

January 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase of a Property

I would not hesitate to use these solicitors again. I was totally impressed and satisfied with the service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Marben and Company

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Marben and Company

January 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Commercial Purchase

Natalie Campany helped us with a Commercial Property Purchase. We found the service provided to be thorough and prompt. She was always easily contactable by phone or email and we would not hesitate in recommending Boys & Maughan to others.

A 5 star service.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

January 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property Sale Perfection

We have used Boys & Maughan for several property sales over the past years, and cannot fault them. We find them to be professional and quick to respond, in all communications. They will continue to be our first port of call in all legal matters.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

January 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Boys & Maughan were imposed on me - Thankfully

With a colleague offering to pay my legal fees, I felt obliged to use this company. They then quoted me fees one third cheaper than my usual solicitor, and carried out the work just as efficiently, and, possibly more quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Faton

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Faton

January 15, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Very happy that I use them and definitely will use again if needed.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Eleanor is an exceptional solicitor. Very easy process and excellent communication. I would highly recommend Eleanor.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ian

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Pleased

Prompt, efficient service and completed quickly to avoid extra stamp duty.

Was this review helpful?

Dilip

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Dilip

January 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

5 Star- Property & Employment

Excellent service, knowledge, communication and honest. Would definitely use again. 5 star.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Dorothy

Dorothy

December 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dorothy

Karen Gray is a really excellent Solicitor to deal with for conveyancing. Although based in Margate everything can be dealt with on line and/or by telephone in a most effective and responsive way.

Was this review helpful?

DB

DB

November 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Sharon is an excellent conveyancer, not judged solely by her ability to complete our transaction smoothly, but mainly because her level of communication to us was impeccable. Doing so by email was my preference, as it is quicker and easier, but also, when things needed explaining to us, she did so in a way that made it very easy to understand. We would wholeheartedly recommend Sharon and therefore the firm and look forward to using her again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Alison

Alison

October 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alison

I needed a tight deadline. Emma was confident from the outset that it could be done. She was always calm and confident despite some last minute hitches. She got it done!

Was this review helpful?

Wieslaw

Wieslaw

October 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wieslaw

Absolutely fantastic, made buying this property so easy, no hassle, no chasing up they were onto it from day one I was kept fully informed certainly use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

September 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

Great efforts and a speedy transaction. Perfect, very helpful every step of the way.

Was this review helpful?

Boys & Maughan Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Boys & Maughan Solicitors is an award winning law firm offering local legal services to individuals and businesses. Founded more than two centuries ago, we have offices in Margate, Birchington, Broadstairs, Canterbury and Ramsgate. Our specialisms include conveyancing, commercial property, landlord & tenant, divorce and family law, disputes & litigation, personal injury, wills & probate, and employment law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
Book an appointment