Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Boys & Maughan Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Boys & Maughan Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Boys & Maughan Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    621
  • Very Good

    87
  • Average

    12
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

November 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent, approachable solicitors

Boys and Maughan recently did the conveyancing for the purchase of a house.
They were very informative, professional, and best of all, easy to contact and speak to!
Brilliant. Always able to speak to the same solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Eric

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Eric

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Impression

Satisfied , smooth process ,happy camper

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Brian

November 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sale of house

Boys & Maughan handled a long drawn out sale of my late parents home and their estate in a most professional manner. This while having to cope with Covid lockdown and associated delays.

Was this review helpful?

Joanna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Joanna

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Almost worth an official complaint!

Very poor slow service. The worst I've ever experienced. Actually managing to get through on the phone to them was extremely difficult. The phone was often engaged for hours at a time. When I did get through to their switchboard there could be long delays in getting put through to the correct office. On international roaming charges this became very expensive
I buy/sell several properties each year and I have never experienced the delays and repeated requests for information which had already been supplied. I would never use them for conveyancing again. Sufficient to say I arranged another sale and a purchase, (not linked) that were started and completed while still waiting for this one to go through.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Mark

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Christine Anderson 5 stars!

Christie was absolutely incredible during what was a very stressful sale and purchase. She fought on all the way through and worked so hard for us and we cannot thank her enough. I would only recommend Christine to anyone who is looking at recommendations for solicitors. She deserved so much more than the gin!

Was this review helpful?

Nigel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Nigel

November 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Selling my property

Because of lockdown and all of the Covid restrictions I thought they handled my situation extremely professionally and everything they told me was very honest, keeping me informed by telephone a lot of the time. Would use them again and recommend them to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

November 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making new wills

Very professional, efficient service that was friendly and approachable. Our solicitor, Paula, was a pleasure to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Good experience

I have used Boys & Maughan before and I was pleased to find four years on the same staff members were there. Mrs McQuire is extremely efficient and helpful, as is her secretary.

Was this review helpful?

J.Lavender

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

J.Lavender

November 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Grant of probate

Very helpful team. Paula made everything very clear.

Was this review helpful?

Ann

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Ann

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Handling probate

This is the second time I have used this solicitor for the execution of probate, and on each occasion have been very pleased with the efficiency and care I received.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Ryan

Ryan

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ryan

Christine Anderson, completed our sale and purchase, I could not fault her work and was very professional, and excellent at giving updates on the progress.

Was this review helpful?

Jo

Jo

October 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Overall the experience was good but I did have to chase a couple of times to get a response. I appreciate that with stamp duty increases etc and everyone trying to move at once put a lot of pressure on conveyancing firms but when I had to chase several times for someone to acknowledge me on more than one occasion, or when my estate agent seemed to know more than my solicitor, it did become a little frustrating. However, overall the experience was good and I am still using them for my purchase. They are thorough which is a very good thing and can argue on your behalf to get what you need to get. So yes I would recommend them as a conveyancing solicitor firm.

Was this review helpful?

jacqui

jacqui

September 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

jacqui

My house purchase with Boys and Maughan was dealt with at the highest standard and fully recommend them 100%

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Ben

July 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ben

Efficient and professional service

Was this review helpful?

Vasyl

Vasyl

June 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Vasyl

It was amazing, sellers solicitors were slow, but on my side they were great. All resolved and fixed quickly. Christine Anderson was great in dealing with all the issues.

Was this review helpful?

Boys & Maughan Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Boys & Maughan Solicitors is an award winning law firm offering local legal services to individuals and businesses. Founded more than two centuries ago, we have offices in Margate, Birchington, Broadstairs, Canterbury and Ramsgate. Our specialisms include conveyancing, commercial property, landlord & tenant, divorce and family law, disputes & litigation, personal injury, wills & probate, and employment law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
Book an appointment