Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Hansells Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hansells on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Hansells. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hansells and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hansells performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hansells and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hansells compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hansells offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    309
  • Very Good

    32
  • Average

    7
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

April 30, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will and LPA

Carol provided exceptional service in helping me with my will and LPA, health and finances. Her professionalism, efficiency, and extensive knowledge made the process a first-class experience. It was a pleasure dealing with Carol—she was friendly, approachable, and acted with integrity throughout. The process was smooth, with direct contact with my solicitor as she went to my house. Carol provided clear, practical advice that was easy to understand. I appreciated her honesty about costs, with correct billing and fixed fees. Without hesitation, I would recommend Carol's services and would use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Kanta Ramji

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kanta Ramji

April 13, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Always kept informed and proceed at a good pace

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

March 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Emma was very helpful from start to finish, keeping us informed all the time. Despite our emotional personal circumstances she led us through the process with patience, kindness and professionalism.
Thankyou.

Was this review helpful?

S.T.

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

S.T.

February 27, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Update Will

Carol provided a first-class service in updating my will. A pleasure to deal with, her friendly and refreshing approach, coupled with direct contact, made the process smooth and trustworthy. With fixed fees, I would recommend Jennie and choose her services again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?

Pauline Anne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Pauline Anne

February 26, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Calm and professional conveyancing

So pleased we chose Emma, she was calm and professional throughout both our recent sales and she always replies to an email, I felt informed throughout most of the process and would instruct her again when we purchase. Shes a hard worker who will do her best for you.

Was this review helpful?

Robert Paul

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Robert Paul

February 24, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Service

Emma was very friendly and approachable and explained things thoroughly if I didn’t understand. If she was in the office and I called in she was happy to speak face to face with me or phone me back quicker than I expected.

Was this review helpful?

Angela Christine

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Angela Christine

January 10, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

Our Solicitor Emma helped us get through our tricky house sale & purchase with professionalism and confidence and we would definitely recommend her to anyone and everyone!

Was this review helpful?

Julien Keith

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julien Keith

January 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

All very good professional and kept informed

Was this review helpful?

Terence John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Terence John

January 09, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

Very pleasant receptionist and a quick no frills service at a reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful?

Jacqueline

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hansells.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jacqueline

November 15, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional

All my calls and emails were answered very quickly as were the queries I had throughout my house swap with a neighbour. Couldn’t fault the service, great experience.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Allan

Matter Type:

Notary

Allan

May 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Allan

Jane Stockings has been magic,always fitting me in on pretty short notice to get letters signed for my daughter who lives with her mom in New Zealand,I am really grateful.

Was this review helpful?

Brett

Brett

September 26, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brett

Just had a very poor experience with Hansells. I've been using them on a regular basis to complete guarantee forms and certificate of confirmation, including as recently as 3-4 weeks ago. I proceed to use them again for the same service today with the meeting all set up. I attend the meeting and am told the fees have now increased by 67%! No advance notice beforehand so I'm at least prepared and subsequently can make an informed choice. They had a whole week to tell me. Not good customer service. The price they paid is no further business with me including today (I walked out disgusted) and hopefully other people reading this will mean they decide to use a different solicitor.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Adam

March 08, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam

I have been involved with the team at Hansells for a number of months now, and can truly say its been an absolute privilege!
Every team member I have had the pleasure to meet or be in their presence are really something quite special. Their approach to life, work and inspiring others is uplifting, and stands out for their genuine approach.
From a personal perspective I'm inspired by them all every time I'm in thier company and by their amazing work ethic.
Keep up the great work guys, and thank you 😊

Was this review helpful?

Melissa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Melissa

January 25, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Melissa

Myself & my partner recently purchased our first home using Hansells Solicitors.

Millie McAvoy & Emma Duffield were amazing! 🌟 Nothing was ever too much trouble and they always kept us up to date with progress.

Thank you so much ladies for helping us buy our forever home! 🏡

Was this review helpful?

Hansells are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Hansells Solicitors are committed to providing you or your business with first class legal advice. Established in 1827, Hansells head office is located in Tombland, Norwich and has county offices in Aylsham, Cromer, North Walsham, Sheringham and Wymondham. Specialist advice is offered in: inheritance tax planning, wills, probate, divorce and living together, as well as business and employment law, litigation and real estate development. Hansells also provides expert services in charity law, clinical negligence, personal injury, agricultural and aviation law, alongside property and conveyancing and notary. Hansells are regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents At Sea And Cruise Injury
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Energy & Transport
    • Aviation
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment