Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barr Ellison LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barr Ellison LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barr Ellison LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barr Ellison LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barr Ellison LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barr Ellison LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barr Ellison LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    132
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Clare Sharp

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Clare Sharp

November 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Karen Anker

Karen was firm & extremely knowledgeable which was exactly what I needed going through my divorce. Karen explained the legal side & my options clearly when I couldn’t think clearly & doubted myself.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

October 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very excellent service!

My husband and I are absolutely delighted about the service we have received from Helen Murphy of Barr Ellison solicitors as well as the rest of her team. She has been so professional and very helpful all throughout the entire process of buying our new home. She has given us guidance and was very accommodating for all our questions and concerns since we are first time buyers. She constantly communicated with us and assisted us with the paperworks and was very nice and patient too. We are very grateful to Helen, Emma and the rest of the team. We highly recommend Barr ellison and we thank them for their service.

Was this review helpful?

Jake

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Child contact

Jake

October 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Helpful and supportive

I can’t thank Barr Ellison enough for the constant help and support they have offered me. Karen is fantastic and extremely efficient. She has been honest with me from the get go about outcome and cost.
I would highly recommend karen and her team.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

October 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale and purchase

We are full of praise for the high quality and professional service we received with the sale of our house and purchase of our new home. We were kept informed about what was happening, tasks were turned around in good time, and the advice we received was pragmatic and sound. Everyone was really approachable and the whole process kept moving forward at a good pace. We are absolutely delighted with the outcome.

Was this review helpful?

Al Dixon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Al Dixon

September 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A genuinely supportive and professional service.

Looking back at the paperwork of my mothers communications with Seema. Seema seems did a wonderful job supporting my mother as she was deciding on the contents of her will.
As the executor I am glad I handed over the responsibility of the administration to Seema who was very supportive though a difficult period of my life. She is both efficient and approachable. I felt well advised through out the process.

Was this review helpful?

Mills

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mills

August 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

divorce, financial and property

i would highly recommend Sarah Martin and Helen Murphy along with there teams,
very professional at every stage, clear, honest advise and all run to strict timescale as required.
exactly what is required when going through a difficult and life changing experience.
fantastic team of professionals .

Was this review helpful?

Oliver

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Oliver

July 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Many thanks, definitely recommended

Many thanks to Shazad and to the team, throughout the process I found Shazad to be very helpful and friendly which was reassuring as a first time buyer of a property. Whenever I had questions or needed to get in touch, he was quick to respond and detail what needed to happen next. Also, whilst the process was ongoing, I felt assured that he made contact to update me on any developments and the rest of the time, I felt confident that he was working on the case. He was supportive during a setback early on in the process relating to property I was to buy and I am grateful to his advice and professionalism throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Dean

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Dean

July 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service.

Sarah and the team were very professional right from the start. I had an initial consultation for a fixed fee outlining what it was I required before committing to anything further.

Everyone involved was very professional, friendly, and they explained every step of the process so I understood what needed to happen, and what would happen next regarding my issues.

I would highly recommend Barr Ellison.

Was this review helpful?

Duncan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

Duncan

May 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Karen has been very professional and I am always impressed by the timely manner in which she responds to correspondence.

She is pleasant to deal with, while at the same time inspiring confidence that she can be robust if the task calls for it and that she knows what she is talking about.

In general I find Barr Ellison to be professional and competent, and yet their pricing does not make them inaccessible, which to my mind makes them excellent value for money. They are now the first law firm I will approach whenever I'm in need of legal services.

Was this review helpful?

L D West

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barr Ellison LLP.

L D West

May 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My late husband`s estate

Seema Solanki whom I have been dealing with over the last two years has been professional and friendly. It has been a difficult time during Covid working, but responses to emails and correspondence were generally prompt in being dealt with.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Barry

Barry

March 01, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Barry

Karen was a great help to get me through my divorce.
Always gave sound honest advice even if it was things that you didn't want to hear.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

Helen Murphy is exceptional! She is very knowledgeable, diligent and always quick to respond. She provided me with much needed reassurance when dealing with a very difficult and unreasonable developer (Hill Group). I would highly recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell property.

Was this review helpful?

Danielle

Danielle

November 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Danielle

Seema Solanki has handled my will for me. It has been a pleasure dealing with her. She was professional but friendly and approachable throughout. One very happy client!

Was this review helpful?

Tessa

Tessa

November 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tessa

As a lawyer if I need professional advice in a personal capacity I always use Barr Ellison to support me. Their service is exemplary.

I have recently used Sarah Payne a litigation solicitor. Her advice is always legally sound, robust and pragmatic I always feel that Sarah is on my side but with an eye to delivering the best solution for all parties.

I have also recently instructed Kelly Peck a partner in the property division. Her advice, too, is clear, pragmatic and commercially oriented. With her advice I got the outcome I was hoping for.

I cannot recommend Barr Ellison more highly (and often do to friends and colleagues).

Was this review helpful?

Klaudia

Klaudia

October 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Klaudia

Mark Copley handled my case and besides succeeding in obtaining a great settlement for me following my car accident, he has also gone above and beyond to obtain some legal work experience for me - as I am currently studying law.

Mark had no responsibility to do this for me, however, he had chose to go above and beyond to make a difference and improve my life in any way he could.

I definitely recommend Barr Ellison Solicitors and Mark especially. This Law Firm not only handle their cases very well, but additionally, as I have experienced, they genuinely care for their customers.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Description

Since 1874 we have been trusted legal advisors to successful people and businesses. A firm of solicitors based at the heart of Cambridge, we promote our clients’ interests throughout East Anglia. Going beyond great service, we enable opportunities for our clients.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Tax
Book an appointment