Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barr Ellison LLP Compares

Value for money

!

Limited data.

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barr Ellison LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 100%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 100%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barr Ellison LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barr Ellison LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 100%
No 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barr Ellison LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barr Ellison LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barr Ellison LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    130
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Jim

Jim

September 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My Claim

Mark Copley pursued my claim to a successful conclusion after four and a half years.
I cannot stress enough the professional way in which he dealt with the whole case,keeping me informed every step of the way and I really appreciate the hard work which was involved.
I would have no hesitation in using once his services once again or recommending Barr Ellison.

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

January 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly, professional service

Although we couldn't meet in person due to covid, we found Seema both professional and friendly. She answered all are questions honestly and timely, and we were very pleased with the ease of the service provided.

Was this review helpful?

Maggie

Maggie

December 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

You are a very special person and I have been exceptionally fortunate to have your support.

Emma, I scarcely know where to start in thanking you and Barr Ellison for the way you have supported and helped me through one of the most difficult periods of my life. I think that wuthout your empathy and understanding, coming to terms with my life adter the accident, learning to adapt to new circumstances and being able to look forwards to the future positively would almost certainly not have happened. For that I will always be grateful. I can only thank you from the bottom of my heart and send every good wish for your future.

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Matter Type:

Personal Injury Law

Caroline

December 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic throughout my claim

Daryl Robinson has been fantastic throughout my claim. Knowing that I had someone this good in my corner while I was recovering from my injury was so reassuring. He fought hard for a good settlement, and secured compensation that I felt was fair. At the same time, he's very reassuring and calm, as well as efficient and well organised - all the things you need in a very stressful situation. I can't recommend him highly enough.

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Peter

November 25, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

5*

All was done well; there was nothing that could have been done better.

Was this review helpful?

Mat

Mat

November 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Couldn't have been better

Emily Brisley dealt with our house sale and purchase and our experience couldn't have been better. Her perseverance and pragmatic approach in dealing with some difficult parties was the catalyst in getting the transaction over the line. Well done Emily!

Was this review helpful?

Wick

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Wick

November 22, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property sale and purchase

Words cannot express how grateful we are for all your help in pushing matters along over the last few months and getting a conclusion on our sale and purchase. The world is a much better place with Marie around. There should be more of you!!

Was this review helpful?

P

P

November 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you again

I would like to thank you again, Emma, for your patience and efficient professionalism - it was a pleasure to work with you and throughout I felt reassured that I was in good hands.

Was this review helpful?

Victoria

Victoria

November 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

5* Barr Ellison

My grandson has received his money all safely in the bank. Thank you so much Daryl for all your work on his behalf. He now has the means to go forward. We can hope for a better future.

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Caroline

November 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Patient and professional

I would like to thank Sarah Payne for her patient and professional approach. It took away a lot of the stress knowing that my case was in more than capable hands.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

A.

A.

May 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Thanks to Marie, we bought our first home in less then 3 months. She done everything from her part in time and keeping us informed all the process. THANK YOU MARIE!

Was this review helpful?

Adrienne

Adrienne

December 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adrienne

Emma Hunt at Barr Ellison handled our conveyancing this year and I recommend her unhesitatingly. She was efficient, effective and always responsive. I felt completely in safe hands and it was an almost painless process, despite living overseas with the complications of different time zones. Their fees were also very reasonable and competitive with other local solicitors. Five stars!

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

November 05, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

We were very lucky to have Shaz. He was always there to help us when we needed it.
I only picked Barr Ellison because it was convenient for me as I work at CUH. I am so pleased we did. Shaz helped us sell our bungalow. He was always there to help with our random questions. I couldn't ask for a better service. Thank you for all your hard work Shaz!

Was this review helpful?

Roul

Roul

August 12, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Roul

Very accommodating

Was this review helpful?

Cate

Cate

December 20, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cate

Excellent service! Shazad was brilliant, very helpful and responsive. Would certainly return in the future.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Description

When a firm of Cambridge solicitors tells you they’ve been around for over 130 years, it can make them sound rather stuffy. The reality, however, would surprise you. We’re certainly proud of our long history of good, old-fashioned client care – but there are other, equally important qualities that have made us what we are: the ability to anticipate and adapt to change, keeping abreast of the latest developments, being constantly prepared for the future.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Benefits
    • Housing
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Commercial Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Debt Recovery
    • Tax
Book an appointment