Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Kitsons LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Kitsons LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kitsons LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Kitsons LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 88%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kitsons LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Kitsons LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Kitsons LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    45
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    2
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    4

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
PAT

PAT

July 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Jayme Nicholson and Rosie Evans were both fantastic working on an employment case for me. They were both very friendly, helpful, and provided me with great advice, and nothing was too much trouble to discuss over the phone. The costs were very reasonable, but most importantly they achieved a positive result for me in my case. Would highly recommend them to anybody with an employment dispute anywhere in the country. I'm not from the south-west myself, but they came highly recommended from a close friend, and I'm very glad I chose them over any of my local firms.

Was this review helpful?

Janet

Janet

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dispute with Teignbridge

Kitson’s Exeter, in particular Katy Sandel handled the legal work required in our dispute. Katy worked over and above what was required, she was always available for a telephone call or a visit and offered tireless support and advice.
Well done Kitson’s

Was this review helpful?

Emily

Emily

June 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Thank you Amy and Alana

We’ve just completed on our gorgeous brand new home and we are so grateful to Amy Pierce and Alana nightingale for their hard work. They went above and beyond to ensure we completed in a quick timeframe, whilst ensuring the work was done efficiently. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend kitsons to friends and family. Thank you Amy and Alana.

Was this review helpful?

Nick

Nick

November 14, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dreadful Service

This company dealt with the probate for both of my parents when they died. They were very reluctant to pay over funds as they are released, making excuse after excuse as to why they had not paid, they needed constant chasing up and delayed, delayed delayed whilst they had huge sums residing in their bank account that should have been paid over to my siblings and me.
Because of the poor service when my father died, my siblings and I completed all of the probate forms that we could and agreed a fee with Kitsons for "rubber stamping" them. Again, they delayed, delayed, delayed, then tried to overcharge us and then hung onto the last payment without notifying us for months and only paid up once reminded, giving yet another excuse. AVOID

Was this review helpful?

French

French

September 11, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

I would certainly recommend you and all your staff.

You have exceeded our expectations and we would like to thank Michelle Gilbert in particular.

Was this review helpful?

Lin

Lin

September 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

I found Mr Dickson extremely helpful in explaining things I did not understand.

He was very thorough and I would have no hesitation in using him again.

Was this review helpful?

Amy

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Amy

July 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Positive experience and results

Cannot recommend these women enough, both Rosie Evans and Jayme Nicholson had my best interests in mind throughout the whole process. Their communication was friendly and professional, via phone and email. Both of them were astute, tenacious and concise. I felt like I was in safe hands at all times during what could have been a stressful employment agreement process.
Thank you so much for the positive experience.

Was this review helpful?

Carol

Carol

October 06, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

EVRS SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

I believe I have been afforded excellent service from everyone concerned with my decision to take the EVRS offered by Plymouth City Council. Every step along the way has been so easy to follow and implement and has gone really smoothly - thank you to one and all.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

September 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Friendly service

Always willing to chase things up and keep us informed

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Hannah

Hannah

June 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hannah

Amy and Alana are very professional and thorough solicitors. I would highly recommend their service, they will always email you back even when they are super busy. Thank you girls for such a smooth process in buying any house!

Was this review helpful?

dan

dan

January 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

dan

great

Was this review helpful?

spy

spy

September 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

spy

Sound advice from professionals who took the time to understand my situation and laid out my options very clearly. Looking forward to moving forward with the future now.

Was this review helpful?

Julia

Julia

April 15, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Julia

Very professional, competent and friendly service . ... highly recommended !!

Was this review helpful?

colin

colin

March 19, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

colin

Organised

Was this review helpful?

Kitsons LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

The first thing you want to know about Kitsons is do we have the skills and experience to do the job you need? Well the answer to that question is yes. At Kitsons Solicitors you’ll be reassured to know that you are dealing with a credible, professional organisation. We are still true to the core values set by our founder, Torquay entrepreneur and philanthropist William Kitson who over 175 years ago aimed to; “provide an incomparable service for our customers, at an honest price.” We have a number of recognised legal accreditations and memberships of relevant industry bodies. We are also recommended in the two major industry guides for the legal profession: Chambers and Legal 500. We hope this demonstrates our commitment to excellence and gives you confidence that we continually maintain the standards required by an established law firm.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment