Request an appointment

Request an appointment

Kew Law LLP

01268560176

Also known as :

  • Kew Law Llp Incorporating Harvey Escott & Co (Practising Style For Kew Law Llp)
  • Weconvey.Co.Uk
View map
Kew Law LLP

How Kew Law LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 54%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Kew Law LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Kew Law LLP. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 100%
About Right 0%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 44%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kew Law LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Kew Law LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 44%
No 56%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 44%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kew Law LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Kew Law LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 44%
No 56%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Kew Law LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Kew Law LLP only have 32 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    13
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    14

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Arjun

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Arjun

May 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incompetence, delays and excuses

I recently, just about completed a property transaction by target date with Kew Law, handled by Victoria and Liam Ridyard. The experience was awful. The case is extremely simple - a sale of property from personal ownership to my company's ownership. No estate agents and 1 was representing the buying and selling side. It took 4 months.

Victoria wasn't aware of the stamp duty implications of a LTD SPV purchase, with the wrong bill sent out initially. She also assumed both sides of the transaction could be handled by one solicitors and informed me of this.

With shifting workloads, after stating my case, Victoria handed over to Liam. The handover was poor, resulting in poor direction and contant fumbling by Liam. There was over charging as a result of poor advice in relation to building regulations - which resulted in the requirements to carry out a structural survey (£600), more expensive insurance (+ £150) and also Kew Law charged for the time to locate this insurance (approx. £100). At the end, Liam also added an extra charge that I was not about, bank-side insurance for my personal guarantee The overall costs, had changed from a initial legal only costs of £1300 to £3000 (including second legal team) - over double the costs due to poor communication and advice.

The bill at the end was also incomprehensible, with numbers that had no reflection of due costs. It has also been over a week since completion (finally!) and I have yet to receive a completion pack, and have needed to chase this up.

I do not recommend this company at all.

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Linda

March 29, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lost my property deeds

Incompetent I gave them my property deeds for safekeeping and they have lost them and taking no responsibility for it

Was this review helpful?

Samuel Gower

Samuel Gower

February 23, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam & Fiona Were Brilliant

Adam & Fiona at Kew law Maldon have been excellent. Timely responses, have always kept us updated on our house purchase progress. Cannot fault them, they have been excellent.

Was this review helpful?

Elizabeth

Elizabeth

July 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor service

From start to finish my father and myself had an unpleasant experience with kew law.
I am never usually a person to write a public bad review, however I would not recommend this solicitors.
I still have not received my paperwork months on.
But strangely I have received a letter from the solicitor in question very promptly within a day of asking for the email of the relevant person to make a complaint to.
Quite clearly I will not be conversing with said solicitor any longer so I'm unsure why she has sent a letter.
Moreover the letter was addressed to the wrong person, another example of the lack of care .


Was this review helpful?

N

N

July 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Poor experience

From the start I should have known something was wrong. But I waited too long in hopes that everything had been done behind the scenes. I was dealing with a trainee who said that they were doing things and checking documents but nearly a month on and they hadn't corrected an issue. They hadn't contacted the developer's solicitor for the document/s they required to correct this issue. They hadn't looked at at my documents properly to process them until after house searches came back, which took 3 weeks. Now I'm delayed moving into my property by possibly up to two weeks because they hadn't done any checks during the time the searches were happening.

Communication is poor and infrequent. They want to charge me for contacting them via email, even though they are not being transparent about what stage they are at. They are unapologetic for their delays.

Horrible service and too expensive for no work done.

Was this review helpful?

Matthew

Matthew

May 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from the Sudbury office of Kew Law

Many thanks to Christina and the team in the Sudbury office of Kew Law who provided an exceptional level of service to my family in a difficult time of bereavement. Very professional and courteous and I would highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?

David

David

March 05, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

We are delighted with the help and service that we received from Kew Law in Purchasing our new house in Burnham on Crouch. Every member of staff we came into contact with during our purchase was extremely helpful and polite. We would also like to give a special mention to Mandy Mapes who handled our conveyancing throughout the purchase, as she was always available to talk to us, helpful, extremely professional, and a delight to work with throughout the whole procedure. We would thoroughly recommend Mandy and Kew Law.

Was this review helpful?

justin

justin

October 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rude and costly

Sudbury branch

Awful Awful Awful. I had to give one star because it wouldn’t allow me to give 0.

Almost lost a house because of this firm. Insisted on paperwork that was not required, if I had remained with them my mortgage offer would have expired and the seller would have pulled out. I had to move to another solicitor mid way through who luckily saved me the purchase.

Avoid at all costs, extremely rude and arrogant solicitors, impossible to get hold of , never return calls and charge for correspondence that they don’t even send out. When you complain, it is swept under the carpet. For leaving the firm I was charged near on full price for not even a fraction of the work completed but ‘as a gesture of goodwill’ they refunded £100. Nothing compared to what I paid.

Save yourself time and money and go with someone else.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rude and unhelpful

The solicitor (Kirstie Tompkins) was rude and unhelpful and often worked from home but had no phone set up so it was impossible to get in touch with her. All communications went through junior staff who couldn’t answer any questions and we had to constantly chase for a reply to any questions. Paperwork had incorrect spelling of our names multiple times even after letting them know their error. For the amount of money you pay you would expect competent people who care. They are arrogant and do not care at all about making what is already an incredibly stressful time any easier! Avoid.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Commercial Leases

Paul

March 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

appalling service - extortionate fees

Appalling service with my business dealings being passed from one person to another, all based in different offices! and mostly "trainee solicitiors" - most unhelpful - charged me to provide a report on my lease which when received was full of legal jargon (think it was a paste of copy job) so I could have just dealt with reading the lease myself and saving £834.00!!!, then charged me an extortionate fee to register the lease with land registry which didn't happen (due to an existing expired lease already being assigned to the property which they told me that I had to get sorted personally as it wasn't part of their agreed work to do for me!!!) this took them over a year to let me know and the extended deadline from Land Registry (due to Covid) has now expired so I now have to start the process all over again - but NOT with them but at an extra cost to me. They still hold £150.00 of my money which I am trying to get back. I would never recommend this firm to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety