Get advice now

Get advice now

Kew Law LLP

01376 550073

Also known as - Kew Law Llp Incorporating Harvey Escott & Co (Practising Style For Kew Law Llp), Weconvey.Co.Uk

View map
Kew Law LLP

How Kew Law LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 55%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Kew Law LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 16%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 41%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kew Law LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Kew Law LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 41%
No 59%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 44%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Kew Law LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Kew Law LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 44%
No 56%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Kew Law LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Kew Law LLP only have 21 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

3.0/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    9
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    8

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Christine

Christine

January 21, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service buying new build investment flat

Kew Law was the firm recommended by the sales office of the development in order to get the conveyance discount. They were very competitively priced and I am sure that I benefitted from the fact that this wasn't the first property in the development that they had dealt with. They were very efficient and dealt with all my queries promptly and cheerfully. I was kept informed throughout and I thought the whole process - first time I'd bought a new build - was quick and painless! I would gladly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David

December 02, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service selling/ buying house

Kew Law Braintree were recommended to us, and provided a competitive quote. Jinny and Johanna were diligent and efficient, and communication and feedback were excellent throughout the process. We were always able to get hold of someone by email or phone, and responses were generally prompt. We were given clear information and advice, and when the inevitable glitches cropped up they were dealt with smoothly. We thoroughly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Toni-jo

Toni-jo

September 17, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional & Quick To Answer Any Questions

I was recommended Kew Law by a family member when buying our first home! I was informed Jinny was dealing with our account. I think we only had communication with Jinny once throughout the whole process. It seemed most of the communication went though trainees but they were extremely helpful and professional. One small error was made on the day of completion but this was quickly sorted/resolved and all went smoothly as planned. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

August 19, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

The service I received at Kew Law throughout my house move has been second to none and I wouldn’t hesitate but to recommend them. They have provided me with excellent advice and are always quick to respond to emails and phone calls.
I can’t thank Johanna enough for all the work she had put into negotiating the sale and purchase of my property.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

June 10, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly Recommended

Jinny was recommended to us by a friend, and both she and Johanna were fantastic during the purchase of our first home.
We had a particularly difficult situation with a very tight time frame, but the hard work that was put in, their professionalism and friendliness helped us through what was a very stressful time.
Thank you very much to you both for supporting us fully as first-time buyers. We will and already have recommended your services.
Eleanor & Dean

Was this review helpful?

Ben

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Ben

February 28, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Professional Service

I recently used Kew Law (Jinny and Johanna) to do all the legal work relating to my house move. They provided a very comprehensive and professional service along the way and were very helpful making this a very stress free experience.

I would thoroughly recommend them for anyone thinking about moving house soon.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Tony

July 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very Efficient

Emma Crompton and her team in Maldon, pulled out all the stops to beat the stamp duty deadline on a complicated multi title property sale. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful?

Kathleen

Matter Type:

Probate

Kathleen

July 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Extortion

On the 16th June 2021, I contacted the Kew Law LLP Hadleigh office to seek advice in relation to my Mum passing away and that my youngest sister was attempting to sell my Mum’s flat omitting me from my Mum’s estate to cheat me out of my inheritance.

My initial contact was from Emma Donovan (Partnership Member) Hadleigh Office, whom informed me that I required their litigation department and told me she would pass me on to a colleague in that department, and ask them to get in touch with me.

On Wednesday the 16th June 2021, I was contacted by Jennifer Hardy via email who informed me that she could assist me and sought details about myself and my late Mum and my sister. She also told me that the initial step would be for her to conduct an initial appointment to enable her to obtain further details and instructions etc. and advise me thereon. For this she told me that the fixed costs of the appointment would be £243.60 (including VAT and third party disbursement fees) which would include carrying out a probate search and obtaining a copy of the title register in relation to my mother’s property and if the searches reveal that probate has already been granted she can also obtain a copy of the Will or letters of administration at an additional cost of £31.18.

On Thursday the 17th June 2021, I emailed her with the details requested and asked if was OK to have my initial contact as a meeting at her office in Hadleigh.

On Friday the 18th June 2021, Jennifer responded and informed me; (Actual Email) “The initial appointment can be in person at our offices no problem. However we will need you to telephone to book the appointment for a mutually convenient time. Accordingly if you can kindly telephone our Wickford office on 01268 560 176 and speak with my colleague Connie who will be able to arrange the appointment. If you would prefer an appointment at our Hadleigh I would propose that this be at 10:00am on Tuesday 22 June 2021 as I will already be over at that office. I also attach our client account details. Accordingly I would be grateful if you would kindly arrange payment on account of the fixed costs in the sum of £243.60 prior to our appointment wither over the telephone, by bank transfer using the attached details or when
you attend at our offices”.

I contacted Jennifer via email and informed her I had made the requested payment via bank transfer and supplied a copy of the transaction to her:
“Hi Jennifer, I have made the requested payment to you. Regards, Kathleen.

Jennifer responded via email and wrote (Actual Email):

Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for your prompt payment.
I can confirm our appointment is arranged for Tuesday 22 June 2021 at
10:00am at our Hadleigh office at 30 Rectory Road, Wickford, Essex SS12
0AW

Immediately I noticed that the address was incorrect (Wickford SS12 0AW) so I contacted Jennifer to confirm the address. Jennifer responded back to me apologising and informed me that she worked at both offices and the appointment was for 30 Rectory Road, Hadleigh SS7 2ND at 10:00am.

On the morning of the 22nd June 2021, I called accompanied by my husband to the Hadleigh office for my arranged appointment with Jennifer at 9:45am. We rang the doorbell and it was answered. We were asked if we had an appointment to which I said yes at 10:00am with Jennifer Hardy. We were asked to wait and the door was closed on us. Shortly afterwards, the door
opened again and we were told that Jennifer was with a client and we were too early and to come back at 10:00am. We left and waited around outside the office area. At 10:00am we again rang the doorbell and when the door opened this time it was a different person answered. We were asked to wait again and the door was closed on us. Again shortly afterwards the door was opened and we were told that Jennifer was still with the client and it was suggested that we should wait on a bench seat directly outside a public toilet across the road from the office (In the rain) until Jennifer was free to see us?

This really upset me. Just the thought of it. To wait outside the public toilet on a bench seat in the rain. It was now approximately 10:15am, 15 minutes late. I told the person at the door I was sorry but this situation was not right. I was a client and did not deserve to be treated in this manner. I told them that as the meeting did not take place as arranged and I did not enter the offices, I wanted my payment cancelled and returned to me. My details were taken and we left. This was a very bad treatment of a client. We waited all that day for some correspondence from Jennifer to explain herself and nothing, no correspondence from her.

On the 23rd June 2021 we received an email from Jennifer:
“Dear Madam, we acknowledge receipt of your emails below which have been forwarded to our accounts department. We will revert to you substantively as soon as reasonably possible”.

On Monday the 5th July 2021, I contacted Jennifer and inquired where was my repayment for the cancelled fee. Jennifer responded via email:
(Extract from the actual email)
“I confirm that we wrote to you by post on 2 July 2021 in relation to a partial refund to be made to you. We do not propose to repeat matters set out in that correspondence which we trust will be received by you shortly (if not already)”.

* It was now the 9th July 2021, and I still had not received this letter?

It was suggested by Jennifer that there are postal delays due to COVID 19:
Extract from her email: (“With all due respect we have no control over the Royal Mail postal service which continues to experience delays due to the Covid-19 pandemic”).

On Thursday the 8th July 2021, I contacted Jennifer to inform her that I still did not receive the letter she sent out to me on the 2nd July 2021. I asked her to confirm the address she sent both the letter to and the repayment cheque.
Actual email: “We confirm that the cheque was sent to you by our Colchester
office under cover of letter dated 6 July 2021 to: Our previous letter dated 2 July 2021 has been sent to the same address”.

On the 12th July 2021, the letter finally arrived which included an invoice for £183.60. The letter (from Jennifer Hardy) informed me that I was to receive a repayment of £60.00? It also stated that due to her 'Care and conduct throughout' I was charged £150.00 + £30.00 VAT. Plus a further £3.00 + 60p VAT for the 'Land Registry' copy. Totaling £183.60.

"Care and conduct throughout"? There was NO meeting? I got charged £183.60 for a copy of the 'Land Registry' and emails. Total extortion. I would not recommend Jennifer Hardy (Kew Law LLP - Hadleigh, Essex) to anyone.

On the 12th July 2021 I received an email from Stephen Kew (Owner of Kew Law LLP)

I am sorry you have found the service to be unsatisfactory and I attach a copy of our complaints procedure and our general compulsory compliance information sheet which would have been handed to you at the meeting with Ms Hardy if it had happened.

Quite clearly it is very unfortunate that due to our Covid-19 precautions and the previous client meeting running slightly over that you were unable to be admitted to the office. I apologise for this but health and safety concerns are paramount and there was a sign on the door explaining that only one client can be admitted at the time of your appointment.

*There are no signs on the door stating “only one client can be admitted at the time”

The modest fee that you were quoted as a fixed fee to include preliminary work has in my opinion been appropriately levied for the work that was undertaken in advance of the meeting.

*Modest Fee: £243.60? For a copy of the ‘Land Registry’ and a FREE probate search using the Government website. (Is he joking?)

“I apologise that my staff did not bring to Ms Hardy‘s attention your presence outside the office, as she was engaged with a client”

*LIES - Both staff members informed me that after speaking to Jennifer Hardy that morning she relayed her messages through them insofar as 1. I was too early and to come back at 10:00am and 2. She was still with a client (Now at 10:15am)

I would respectfully disagree that a 15 minute wait beyond an appointment time was warrants the comments you have made in respect of my firm. Professional services appointments cannot be timed to an exact minute and it would be wholly inappropriate to terminate a prior appointment that was running a short period over. Doctors and dentists have the same problem when scheduling professional appointments.

*This is a Solicitors office? Not “Doctors and dentists”. Jennifer Hardy knew she had an appointment with me at 10:00am. Yet she ignored that fact and continued with another client for 15 minutes past my scheduled appointment time. This is NOT professional.

Lastly, purely for the record Ms Hardy was with a client and did not even know of any of the events which happened at the front door to the Hadleigh branch until after the event.

*LIES - Both staff members informed me that after speaking to Jennifer Hardy that morning she relayed her messages through them insofar as 1. I was too early and to come back at 10:00am and 2. She was still with a client (Now at 10:15am)

This is the owner of Kew Law LLP. No wonder his staff, Partners and Solicitors act the way they do – Disgraceful.

I would NOT recommend Kew Law LLP to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Kathy

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Kathy

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

AVOID Not recommended

On the 16th June 2021, I contacted this solicitors firm when my Mum passed away and my sister omitted me when handling her estate to cheat me out of my inheritance. I was assigned to Jennifer Hardy. Initially all correspondence was conducted by email. I was then informed by Jennifer that a meeting would be required to continue discussions. An appointment was set up for me at 10:00am on the 22nd June 2021 at the Hadleigh branch office and I had to pay £243.60 before the meeting.

On the morning of the meeting I arrived early at 09:45am and I was told by the staff working there after speaking to Jennifer she said she was with a client and we were too early so come back at 10:00am. We came back at 10:00am only to be told by another staff member that Jennifer said she was still with another client. The staff member told us to wait across the road on a bench seat outside a public toilet (In the rain) until she was free (This was now at 10:15am - 15 minutes late). I said I was not happy with this treatment of me as a client and requested my payment of £243.60 to be cancelled and returned to me.

On the 12th July 2021, I received a letter that included an invoice for £183.60. This included £180.00 for "Care and conduct throughout" and £3.60 for a copy of a 'Land Registry'. I was informed that I was to receive a partial repayment of £60.00? The meeting never took place. "She was with another client running late by then for 15 minutes".

We never even entered into the building yet we were charged £180.00? Total extortion. Avoid at all costs. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Anonymous

June 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Avoid

Unfortunately like other poor reviews we had Victoria (assisted by Liam) representing us when buying and selling a property. Incompetence is probably the best way to describe our experience, we couldn't get hold of her when we needed to, always left a message to get no phone call back and emails took 2 days to get back to if they weren't ignored. At the outset our requirements were believed to be clearly understood but as time went on it was clear Kew Law work on their own terms and not their clients. I think the level of experience shows in the queries raised on the property being purchased, unfortunately at times the questions were laughed off by other solicitors and some even asked three times, which I can only assume was down to the lack of organisation. The most shocking thing was Victoria took a weeks annual leave, which isn't a problem, but it was a week before we were due to exchange and complete and she never handed over the case to anyone else in the company and due to that as well as other mishandling we missed out the stamp duty holiday which before this was easily in achievable, or so we were told to believe.

Instruct at caution if you do!

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety