Get advice now

Get advice now

Slater And Gordon Uk Limited

0161 383 3500

Also known as - Compass Costs Solutions, Compas Law Solutions, Slater And Gordon Lawyers, Accident Advice Helpline, Fast Claim Ppi, Pannone (Part Of Slater And Gordon), Claims Direct, Fentons (Part Of Slater And Gordon)

View map
Slater And Gordon Uk Limited

How Slater And Gordon Uk Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 47%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Slater And Gordon Uk Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 66%
About Right 33%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 35%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater And Gordon Uk Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Slater And Gordon Uk Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 35%
No 65%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 36%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Slater And Gordon Uk Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Slater And Gordon Uk Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 36%
No 64%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Slater And Gordon Uk Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Slater And Gordon Uk Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.1/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    22
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    1
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    60

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Mehran

Mehran

May 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Redundancy Review

Ms Karen Murray dealt with my case and did an excellent job in negotiating a great settlement for me.
I strongly recommend Slater & Gordon.

Was this review helpful?

Barry

Barry

April 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful is standard for solicitors.

Slater + Gordon had a slick sales department you would expect from a large company that efficiently answered all questions by phone and email so after paying the deposit they quickly took property details via online portal and provided all the paperwork to begin the process. We received our solicitors details, which I passed on to all parties and downloaded the Slater + Gordon app so progress could be tracked and waited.

And waited.

A few weeks later the Estate agent contacted us saying they could not contact the solicitor to get an update and informed us that our solicitor details were not correct and another solicitor was now dealing with the instruction. Confused, I phoned Slater + Gordon, and soon found out that the slick sales department had another purpose.

First I accepted that the solicitor was busy and so they would call me back, next day no call, so I called S+L again. I was told I must wait 48 hours. Still no call back. A week later and no call back. Several calls to S+L later and I soon questioned if Slater + Gordon actually had any solicitors, or anyone else at the company as I asked to speak to the solicitor, paralegal, anyone in conveyancing, a manager, the managers manager, a partner, director and even the office cleaner.

Phone calls and emails were ignored until some seven weeks later I got an email from a paralegal telling me our identity check had not been done, therefore they were not obliged to carry out any work. WOW. Seven weeks waiting, numerous calls and emails and this is the response.

So we had to search for a local solicitor to verify our identities, costing more time and money. Again most solicitors were working from home so walking up the street knocking on doors was a waste of time, but after a week and lots of phone calls, emails and pleading we managed to find a litigation lawyer who would verify our identities in between representation in court. I won’t say how much it cost, but most people don't earn that much in a day, and could only dream of being paid that much to look at a face, check a passport and sign your name. It took less than two minutes.

We sent the verification to Slater and Gordon and waited. They received the documents so had no excuses, yet still no replies. Both our buyer’s solicitor and estate agent could not get information. Finally our buyer snapped and demanded we change solicitors, which we had to do.

Rather than try locally we decided to try a solicitor nearer the property. Of course this took more time and while doing this I am trying to recover my money from Slater + Gordon. They ignored formal complaints, turned off the phone to the complaints department, so could only be contacted by email and ignored those too.

SRA should be aware Slater + Gordon have only provided a partial refund there is still an outstanding debt.

Was this review helpful?

Prodipto

Prodipto

January 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shocked and disappointing

It's been 1.5 years, 3 change of solicitors, 2 raised complains with the complains team. And the case i have pending with this firm is tied up as the 4th solicitor is to be assigned.

The case to be clear is a straight forward case which requires solicitors to just follow up and not get their hands too dirty.

Management take note. Clearly it's falling on deaf ears. Clealry you are unable to retain solicitors or hiring bad ones. And stop giving timiles that you can't even stick by. Last promise made was a solicitor will be assigned in 24hrs. It's been more than 10 working days now. Client has to ask stays updates when solicitors and the firm should be letting client know next steps.

Shocking and disappointing comes to mind when your firm name comes up. Trust me with this way of working, lasting in this competitive world will be a challenge.

Was this review helpful?

Bobby

Matter Type:

Military

Bobby

January 08, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Military claim

I had an accident in the military which ended with me having a back injury.
It’s been a long time to finally get the pay out but the service has been great. Natasha M always kept me informed with everything as it progressed. She’s very real, I had a pleasant experience. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Rowan

Rowan

January 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Frustrating conveyancing experience

Very poor experience using S&G when selling my flat. Everything went OK until the day when I and the buyer had expected to exchange contracts. Then suddenly S&G demanded I send them certified copies of my identity documents - even though they had seen the originals just two months previously. So I sent the copies, because the b**tards had me over a barrel.

Then I thought that everything was done - remember, I'd already expected to complete the sale on the day of the unexpected demand for ID. But no. They kept delaying and doing 'final checks'. Every day I hoped this would be the day and every day it wasn't. My buyer was tearing his hair out. I was seriously worried he would withdraw from the sale.

Getting hold of S&G staff on the phone was difficult and my buyer's solicitor couldn't get through at all, which is insane. And when I did get through, they kept fobbing me off and refusing to give an exchange date.

I put through a formal complaint to S&G and they've flat out ignored it, which is unacceptable behaviour for a regulated entity.

Was this review helpful?

Len

Len

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Car accident claim

Do not use awful company to deal with. Unhelpful never return calls expect you to book appointments to speak with your designated client support and yet they never return calls. I will never use this poor excuse for solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Isa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Isa

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My property purchase fell through because of Slater and Gordon after 7 months

I would advise against using Slater and Gordan's conveyancing service based out of the Manchester office I cannot comment on their other offices. My purchase fell through because of the length of time and poor information provided by my conveyancer and paralegal.

The communication from the conveyancing team is awful which leaves you with no tools (information) when trying to negotiate with the seller when your purchase is taking longer than anticipated due to the length of time Slater and Gordon were taking. The day before the estate agent was about to recommence viewings (after 6 months). I left multiple messages for my conveyancer to return my calls to explain the options I had so I can have one last attempt to negotiate with the seller. My conveyancer told the call centre staff to tell me ' She was prioritising other cases and would return my call.' I received no calls. The property sold on the Monday for more than I was offering and four days after that my solicitor called to ask me if I was aware and to tell me she would call the estate agent for an 'urgent update'. To be honest it became almost comical. Just to highlight if you still think it is worth the risk. I am now back in the hunt for a property just 7 months later and everything is literally £20-30k more. You are trusting these people with a large part of your life and in some ways finances. Also note that as a lot of people now working from home I would not employ there services even if I lived next door to their office.

They have a large customer services team you will always feel that they have expressed empathy and a bit of reassurance but all that is pointless when you need to speak to you conveyancer / your conveyancer to do their job.

**I am now waiting on the outcome from the customer services team. I will update this post with the outcome**

Note. Slater and Gordon's other services appear to be the reason Slater and Gordon score highly. I also see that others have named the exact Conveyancer and paralegal I was given in my case.

Was this review helpful?

Grace

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Grace

November 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property and Conveyancing

Wow, stay well clear of this firm. They are absolutely usless, you never receive a call back, managers wont speak to you. They do not respond to emails and as a result we have had to pull out of the sale of our property due to this firms incompetence. Its been 6 months since the house was sold and we are still no further down the line. I would urge you to review the reviews on google & solicitor.info before you agree to deal with this outrageous company! Avoid where possible.

Was this review helpful?

Rachael

Rachael

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

No words!

No words can describe the shambolic conveyancing department, had my case since July 2021 still no further forward, they alter use to correspond with the sellers solicitor they refuse to correspond with myself, email daily and my emails continue to be ignored daily, the customer service team and Client care team acknowledge your complaint but do absolutely nothing, since they took my case I have had 3 team member leave the team with another three taking the case over, who are just as bad if not worse as they actually reply to your emails with “we will get back to you today” but don’t! Law society and legal ombudsman are obviously going to ha e to get involved in this one bit please please avoid them for conveyancing at all costs!!

Was this review helpful?

Jay

Matter Type:

Accidents In Public Places

Jay

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Atif lqbal (Saved the day)

This has been a long process dealing with different people from this firm who were giving me the run around but Atif Lqbal SAVED the day. He started working on my case right away getting answers as well as getting things done in a timely manner. If I emailed him that day he would get back to me that same day with an answer or solution to the problem.. I would highly recommend him on any case because HE GETS THE JOB DONE and KEEPS YOU UPDATED and that is a key component to any case.. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR TIME AND DEDICATION!!

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Human Rights
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety