• Unit 12, Ashford House, Beaufort Court
  • ME2 4FA
  • 01634728110
  • www.martintolhurst.co.uk

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01634728110

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.3/5 217 Customer Reviews 217
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

217 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    165
  • Very Good
    15
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    27

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
michael
michael Added 16 hours ago Report to admin
January 28, 2020 20200128164728

land issue

5

found Kenneth Amakye to be extremely helpful with my issue from start to finish he was knowledgeable and understanding bringing the issue to a successful conclusion would recomend.

Solicitor named in this review: Kenneth Amakye

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 28 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Nicola Added 1 day ago Report to admin
January 27, 2020 20200127172844

Exceptional Service

5

I have found Martin Tolhurst partnership to be extremely professional with fantastic communication. Giles Dobson has provided a first class service from start to finish which turned a potentially difficult time into a smooth process. Giles ensured that I fully understood the process and I was always fully informed of where the case was and what the next steps to be taken were. I found Giles to be friendly, approachable and extremely knowledgable. I will certainly be recommending Giles Dobson and of course Martin Tolhurst partnership to any friends that may require their services.

Solicitor named in this review: Giles Dobson

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 28 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 20, 2020 20200120191248

A Successful sale

4

I found Martin Tolhurst partnership to be professional with great communication.
Giving a smooth process to the final completion of the sale

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 21 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kellie
Kellie Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 15, 2020 20200115215342

Sale/purchase of house

5

Gemma Nie was our solicitor for buying and selling our property we received a professional friendly service and she took away some of the stress of moving . We Would definitely use Martin Tolhurst, and Gemma again and would also recommend to friends and family.
Thank you.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 21 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hannah
Hannah Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
January 14, 2020 20200114154642

Sale

5

We used Marting Tolhurst for our house sale. Yasmin was our Conveyancer and was consistently helpful and patient and made the whole process extremely pain-free.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 14 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kelly-anne
Kelly-anne Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 13, 2019 20191213162814

Disappointed

1

Needed assistance from an employment solicitor to deal with a settlement agreement. On arrival the solicitor was over 30 minutes late, made a brief apology but didn’t bother to ask any of the background regarding the settlement. When I said I wasn’t happy with the settlement amount he said I should be happy with what they’ve offered, if not he could “try” and negotiate a better deal with no guarantee of a better outcome. He then proceeded to tell me he was looking forward to going home. How irrelevant. I put in a counterclaim to my employer myself, who then came back with a much more favourable settlement agreement so I called the solicitors back to try to get an appointment to get the second settlement signed from a legal point of view as he’d already seen the first document. I called on the Wednesday, today is Friday and I’m still waiting for a callback. Needless to say I found myself another local solicitor who was absolutely amazing, asked all about my case in advance, and has helped out immensely in this very difficult time. It’s a shame as this company has great reviews, which is why I chose them over others in the area but sadly I was left disappointed with my own experience .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tori
Tori Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 13, 2019 20191213155805

Excellent service

5

Gemma Nie was the conveyancer for our sale and purchase, and she made it completely seamless and stress free. She answers emails immediately and I felt everything was completely under control and moving quickly. Would highly highly recommend Gemma in future.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 17 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andy
Andy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 04, 2019 20191204090032

First Time Buyer

5

My partner and I have just purchased our first home with the help of Martin Tolhurst and must say we were both extremely satisfied with the professional and concise manner in which our case was dealt with. We’ve just moved into our new home and couldn’t be happier!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Louise
Louise Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 22, 2019 20191122172430

Moving house

5

Brilliant service provided. Kept in the loop at all times, always available to talk to and willing to go above and beyond to help us make the procedure as easy and smooth as possible. Extremely approachable and friendly too. Thank you again for everything.

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 25 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chloe
Chloe Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 10, 2019 20191110073819

Great service

5

We have just purchased our first house and were initially dreading the process. However my partner and I both felt it was not as stressful as anticipated! This was thanks to our solicitors as well as our mortgage advisor. Gemma and her team always gave us timely responses and the service was extremely efficient. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 11 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

kevin
kevin Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 21, 2020
Collected on
20200121211422

kevin

1

Please do not waste your money !!!! this firm is absolutely useless, over a year down the line and 2.5K later we have achieved and gained nothing. if you want a litigation solicitor who does not even reply to your emails and a conveyancing department who let 12 weeks go by with chasing the opponent then this is the form for you !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dean
Dean Added 1 week ago Report to admin
January 15, 2020
Collected on
20200115174656

Dean

5

These guys gave us the personal but professional service. Gemma was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 21 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Janet
Janet Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 26, 2019
Collected on
20191226095028

Janet

5

I used Martin Tolhurst as my solicitors. Sherrie was my conveyencer. She was brilliant. I would definate use them again if I knew Sherrie was dealing with my sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 06 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

George
George Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 20, 2019
Collected on
20191220165058

George

5

I would like to express my deepest appreciation towards Martin Tolhurst and more specifically towards Mr. Dobson and all his administrative and legal associates who worked on my case. My case was about the relocation of my child away from the U.K.. It was extremely confrontational to the degree of utter polarisation – at times probing the limits of civility. However, Giles managed the case impeccably and thanks to his services I can know look forward into the future with the ‘glass half-full instead of half-empty’.
I would like to draw attention specifically to his exemplary customer-calibrated ethos. When the time came and we had to make a choice, while he could easily keep ‘churning out’ legal costs, he leant on me more as a friend and less as a legal counsellor with the aim to bring about closure – which we did.
I, along with my daughter, ‘owe’ him.

Was this review helpful? Yes

SHIRLEY
SHIRLEY Added 1 month ago Report to admin
December 09, 2019
Collected on
20191209113643

SHIRLEY

5

Have just completed on sale of property and Gemma Nie was outstanding, always on the end of the phone and helped me along the way if I had any questions, thanks very much Gemma.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 10 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Litigation Law
  • Part Time Workers
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Transfer of title
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Separation
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Remortgaging
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Pension Law
  • Redundancy
  • Leasehold properties
  • TUPE
  • Buying at auction
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Gardening Leave
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Professional Discipline
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Senior Executives
  • Trusts
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Stress at Work
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Children
  • Flexible Working
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Civil partnerships
  • Housing Associations
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Housing disputes
  • Trusts
  • Family law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Employment Contracts
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Injunctions
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Probate
  • Injunctions
  • Separation Agreement
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Family Leave
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Collaborative Law
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Wills
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Social Services
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Property Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Housing Management
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Repossessions
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Transfers of equity
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Lease Extensions
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Right to Manage
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Extending your Lease
  • Tax
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Financial Matters
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Tax
  • Developer disputes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Agency agreements
  • Franchising
  • Competition law
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Law
  • Finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Leases
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Intellectual Property
  • Setting up a business
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Summary Judgment
  • Management buyouts
  • Asset Tracing
  • Corporate Law
  • Mediation
  • Statutory Demands
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Purchase of development land
  • Employment - business
  • Corporate finance

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000