Request a callback

Book an appointment

How J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 16%
Overpriced 1%
About Right 81%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    448
  • Very Good

    6
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    17

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Flydemm

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Flydemm

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Best help

I wasn’t aware of any arrangements however upon arrival I was greeted by Umar he was very understanding and helpful . Done as he was instructed aswell as advised me more . Maybe too confident though but he gets the job done perfectly.

Was this review helpful?

Patricia Smith

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Patricia Smith

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fast service

Lisa always does an excellent job for our famliy

Was this review helpful?

Tony Stevenson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Tony Stevenson

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Definitely best lawyers

Umar Zeb is fearless in court and absolutely is the best solicitor at Brent court.

Was this review helpful?

Jay Singh

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Assault

Jay Singh

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent solicitors

I needed some advice on a legal matter and this firm was available to give it to me right away.

I was not charged for the advice and left fully satisfied that my issue was resolved.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Anonymous

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Clearly The best

Thank you for helping me at court and providing free advice on my case. I was not able to see the duty solicitor at court as I was not eligible for a non-imprisonable offence. The offence would have had a serious impact on my livelihood as a driver. Good advice from you led me to raising my defence with the prosecution at the early stage and then dropping the case that day.

Was this review helpful?

Anthony Baker

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Criminal defence - All

Anthony Baker

December 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service even on Christmas Day !

Found ourselves in trouble with the law on Xmas day. Called the firms 24 hr line on Xmas eve. They continued to provide out of hours free advice on Xmas day. The Solicitor on call was pleasant and professional. Problem resolved and son released from custody in time for a late Xmas dinner. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Caroline

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Careless driving

Caroline

December 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic Crime Lawyer

Use the best use JD Spicer Zeb!!
The police can be put in their place with a good defence lawyer as we discovered. Thank you Umar & team.

Was this review helpful?

Gzim mohamed

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Gzim mohamed

December 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Oustanding solicitors

Excellent team of lawyers so helpful and knowledgeable. They always do the best for you at police station.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew Banton

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors.

Andrew Banton

December 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Caring and professional

lovely firm always have the client s interests at heart, they are also professional in every step.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

ASHROF

ASHROF

January 17, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

ASHROF

Absolutely terrible service. Telling me I can’t afford them. Don’t bother waisting your time with these people. I feel very offended.

Was this review helpful?

Geri

Geri

December 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Geri

Reliable, trustworthy solicitors. Great service and professional.

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Richard

November 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Richard

I highly recommend this law firm, as my long term legal matter was finalised and with an excellent result. I should have employed their services from the beginning. I also want too say a big thank you to Dan & especially James whom listened, were realistic about the outcomes and in turn gained a much better result than expected - this review is no way endorsed or was asked for by JD Spicer Zeb.

Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Bridgette

Bridgette

November 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bridgette

I write this review with huge pleasure and admiration for JD Spicer Zeb. Firstly I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at Spicer Zeb solicitors and in particular the partners Mr Zeb and Mr Spicer who were key to this outcome and justice for our family.

My recent graduate adult son was unfortunate enough to get caught up in alleged low-level criminal offending which could have ruined his career post obtaining a first class degree from University. Having spent hundreds of thousands of pounds on education the absolute nightmare last thing a parent wishes to hear is that it’s all now at risk due to foolish behaviour and false allegations.

We were panicking and foolishly asked the police to help with a lawyer.
The police initially gave my son a duty solicitor for the voluntary interview who we tried to contact in advance. Finally we got through to him after 3 days and he didn’t seem interested and said he would just turn up on the day and spend 10 minutes with us to talk. The duty solicitor told my son on the telephone he could just say what he wanted in police interview if he was that innocent.

The other duty solicitor even tried to organise the interview late in the evening because it suited him rather than us.

I found this to be highly unsatisfactory given what was at stake for my son.

We even offered to pay for a meeting but he said that he didn’t have time to see us and his Zoom was not set up and he is working from home. I was quite shocked that a solicitor approved by the police as a duty solicitor was refusing to accept a private client in desperate need of help. My sons life could have been ruined by this allegation.

I have never used a solicitor other than for conveyancing and probate matters more recently only remotely. We previously naively thought criminal lawyers just got off people who are guilty having Senior Barrister friends who deal with much more serious cases.

We soon made enquiries with our Barrister friends who recommended JD Spicer Zeb solicitors. This firm was recommended by two Barristers. We were told that they had an excellent client care attitude and that the partners were leaders in their field. This became apparent right away as they returned our call out of hours and followed up with a detailed explanatory email. Fortunately my mind was at rest immediately and I was able to sleep that night. We made the right decision to instruct this firm and they promptly contacted the police to find out what I now know is called disclosure.

We opted for the private service and it was clear that it made a huge difference to what little the duty solicitor from the other firm was offering.

We were able to have two meetings with my son on Zoom and myself present at their offices.

The lawyer knew his stuff and the advice was strategic and spot on. We were given clear options of whether to talk in interview or not. The disclosure was analysed thoroughly by Mr Zeb and it was clear that the police had no case.

My son vehemently denied the allegation and wanted to talk in the police interview but Mr Zeb advised him correctly not to say anything as there was no case against him in the first place.

Prior to the interview the police were called on our behalf and the weakness in the case was put to them. to seek an early resolution. They asked for my son to come in and he attended. Having followed the correct advice to give a no comment interview the police officer immediately decided not to proceed with the case any further. I am told by my son that the police officer used various tactics to get my son to talk in the interview and to incriminate himself. Our lawyer on the day Danny Parkash was robust and stood up to the tactics of the interviewing officer.

It is absolutely clear why this firm was awarded the Law Society Excellence Award in 2020 for Excellence in Client Service.
Please choose your solicitor carefully and I highly recommend this firm to you. Avoid random duty solicitors unless you want things to go wrong. Five stars are not enough for this level of service.

Was this review helpful?

Asif

Asif

November 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Asif

The firms customer service and professionalism I received was exceptional. This firm is highly experienced and provides excellent advocacy at criminal trials.
The crown were given a hard time at trial whilst answering to all the flaws in the case and in the end the judge decided to dismiss the charges against us as the judge stated that the evidence was insufficient to support the charges.

I highly recommend, and would like to thank all the solicitors at JD Spicer Zeb for all their hard work and dedication! 👍

Was this review helpful?

J D Spicer Zeb Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We offer a premier league service in criminal law 24/7. We cover the Police Station and Court hearings. Whilst the firm was founded in 1977 in London, we now have 3 offices which are located in London, Birmingham, and Manchester. In October 2020 we were awarded the Law Society Excellence Award for Excellence in Client Service. These awards showcase excellence across the legal profession. We were awarded by Law society previously for Excellence in Practice Management. We are known as a premium criminal law firm. We cover many types of general cases but have expertise in complex and high profile criminal, fraud, terrorism. We have acted in a significant number of the largest criminal and fraud cases in the United Kingdom. The team at the firm are recognised for their considerable expertise and results.

Practice areas

24 Hour Criminal Lawyers

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Driving offences
    • Appeal driving conviction
    • Careless driving
    • Convicted in absence
    • Dangerous driving
    • Dangerous vehicle conditions
    • Death By Careless Driving
    • Death by dangerous driving
    • Discretionary disqualification
    • Disqualification removal
    • Drink driving
    • Driving Whilst Unfit
    • Driving Without Due Care
    • Driving whilst disqualified
    • Driving without a licence
    • Driving without insurance
    • Drug driving
    • Drunk in charge
    • Early return of driving licence
    • Exceptional Hardship
    • Failing to notify DVLA
    • Failure to furnish identification
    • Failure to provide a blood sample
    • Failure to provide a specimen
    • Goods vehicles - operators licence
    • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
    • Mobile phone offences
    • New Driver Provisions
    • Notice of intended prosecution
    • Recognition of disqualification
    • Restoration of licence
    • Road rage incidents
    • Serious injury by dangerous driving
    • Signs and signal offences
    • Special Reasons
    • Speeding offences
    • Stopping and reporting
    • Taxi offences
    • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
    • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
    • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
    • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum and Deportation
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Refugee Family Reunion
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Company & Commercial
    • Employment - business
Book an appointment